Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Donatz 3 stars

Plazzet 15, 7503 Samedan, Switzerland

#1 of 11 hotels in Samedan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 167 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 18

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Amazing price-performance-ratio; could easily pass as a 4* hotel; homey! cozy! we love it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Considering that it is a 3 superior hotel, Donatz really doesn't need to improve anything.

    When it comes to Hotel Donatz, my boyfriend and me love everything. We have visited different hotels in the area within the last 3 years. Hotel Donatz beats them all...:-). We particularly like the friendly and attentive staff: the hotel is run by the family Donatz. While Ms Donatz welcomed us at the reception and showed us to our room, Mr Donatz himself was serving us in the restaurant "La Padella" in the evening (try their bear leek cappucino soup and their Capuns - it was yummy). We loved the cozy, homey and spacious room with "Arvenholz" furniture and the amazingly comfortable beds with super soft cussions. We also loved the breakfast buffet with many fresh and healthy sorts of bread, fruits and cereals and good fresh coffee (no self-service machine!). The hotel even allowed us to late check-out because they didn't need the room the next night! To sum up: it's no wonder that they have an amazing ranking. They really deserve it :-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great place. Clean, quiet and comfortable room in a charmful hotel. Central location, walking distance to restaurants, bars and the train station. Free entrance to the amazing thermal baths, close to the hotel. Definitely a place to stay!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay in beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing we can think of is to have a kettle in the room for tea but otherwise everything was truly perfect !

    Excellent breakfast and restaurant. Free pass to the beautiful baths of Samedan and to the mountain lifts. Hosts were very welcoming and helpful. Authentic and charming hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    9.6
    Confortable clean excellent staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A better selection of pillows. They were to hard for my taste.

    Nice breakfast, a good variety of bread, jams, cheese yogurt and fruit. Everything in the buffet is cold though, except for the eggs, which they prepare according to your request. The room is spacious abd clean. Entrance to the spa is included - which is totally worth it. Very kind staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Bed plus view from the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed plus view from the room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    The aerea and the atmosphere in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot!

    The aerea and the atmosphere in the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.6
    Rooms, Breakfast abd dinner all great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms, Breakfast abd dinner all great!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    8.3
    Breakfast, no fresh fruits.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast, no fresh fruits.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    10
    Loved the location, property, and close access to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some noise in hall in morning.

    Loved the location, property, and close access to the mineral bath. The staff were really lovely! I've been to Samedan a few times and Hotel Donatz is my new go-to hotel. Thanks!

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    8.8
    Bed, duvet and pillows.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Slow internet.

    Bed, duvet and pillows.. Restaurant ood. Austrian wine list. Attentive professional service. Room includes: Free public transport in the Engadine. Free use of high quality nearby spa facility. Underground garage.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    10
    Cornelia kindly dropped us at the station helping my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Cornelia kindly dropped us at the station helping my partially disabled friend avoid the steep grade down to the station.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    8.8
    Wonderful staff in all the aspects.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Wonderful staff in all the aspects. Good quality of bedding.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    9.6
    Great service, very clean and food in restaurant was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great service, very clean and food in restaurant was fantastic. Breakfast was also very good.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    9.2
    The owners were lovely and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The owners were lovely and very helpful. Rooms were comfortable. The restaurant was superb. We had a great stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    10
    Friendly staff and great rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really. They could add a refrigerator in the room though.

    Friendly staff and great rooms

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    10
    Great place great staff !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great place great staff ! Clean, comfortable and quiet hotel!

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    8.8
    Great lush breakfast, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    1 pers room are pretty small

    Great lush breakfast, friendly staff. Perfect location.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    7.9
    modern comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    modern comfortable room

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 18

Guests also reviewed these properties: