Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Boutique Hotel du Pillon This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Chemin des Bovets 16, 1865 Les Diablerets, Switzerland

#1 of 6 hotels in Les Diablerets

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 171 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    8.8
    The host, Frank, was very helpful and friendly in helping us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower door was see through which made it a bit awkward and this was not something that I had realised before booking the place. Room was also slightly smaller than it appeared in pictures.

    The host, Frank, was very helpful and friendly in helping us with our many queries. The room had great views from the windows. Very peaceful location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel in the excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent, charming hotel. Very homely, beautifully decorated, extremely helpful staff and all is set in the most spectacular location. We will definitely be back! Also the hotel suggested wonderful skiing instructor who looked after our son beautifully.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel with very warm and family atmosphere and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beautiful hotel with very warm and family atmosphere and amazing view! The photos correspont to reality. Comfortable room in nordic style. In the lobby there is a true fireplace with the sofas where you can relax and enjoy. But what make this place exceptional is the team who make you feel at home. Thank you Francis, Nahomi and Michelle! My stay was wonderful like a Christmas story. I will come back for sure!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2017

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A beautiful hotel in a beautiful location! The staff was warm and welcoming, the room was charming and clean, and the view of the mountains from the balcony was incredible! I also very much enjoyed the delicious breakfast that was included with my stay. My only complaint is that I couldn't stay an additional week. The perfect place for some quiet relaxation or a romantic getaway.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2017

    10
    The perfect stay in a perfect place. Just lovely!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A most beautiful place that we will remember forever. Frances and the cook were both awesome hosts. Did not want to leave. Lovely room. Enjoyed hearing the cowbells in early evening. Perfect all the way around!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2016

    8.3
    - Friendliness and easy-going manner of the owner and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Cowbells sound beautiful in the day but not at 3am continuously for an hour; we didn't know the shutters should be closed for extra sound proofing; but, live and learn!

    - Friendliness and easy-going manner of the owner and the staff - Attention to detail for the historical furnishings in the property - Good wine collection - Great shower and lovely balcony overlooking the mountains

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2016

    8.8
    Welcoming, relaxed, comdortable and cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hand held shower head only, a head height holder etc would have been much better.

    Location away from the road, with lovely views in all directions, traditional and cosy, beautifully furnished and decorated to match the building. Lovely common areas, home from home. Nice toiletries, comfortable beds, good linen. Our own little balcony with table and chairs to relax on. Home made and local produce for breakfast - simple but lovely.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2016

    9.6
    The staff was very friendly.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was very friendly. We just felt at home... Unfortunately, we had only booked for one night: the children had to go back to school... Otherwise we would have stayed much longer.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2016

    9.6
    Lovely, quiet hotel with friendly staff. Excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was late with the earliest breakfast time being 8.30am.

    Very friendly, family-run, quiet hotel. Very tasteful decor, rooms done out all in wood. Excellent fixed menu dinner in the evening, sitting on the terrace overlooking the Les Diablerets mountain scenery. About 15min by foot to the village centre. Excellent, simple breakfast, with local produce.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2016

    9.2
    Fantasic hotel with the best views in the villiage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was brilliant with spectacular views across the valley. Extremely friendly staff and the breakfast was amazing. Many thanks for a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2016

    2.9
    Really don't understand this hotel gets a 8,9 on booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Room not clean! Probably nobody ever is cleaning behind an opened door? - Lot of broken things in the room. - A creaking wooden floor in the room making a lot of noise, and so does the bed when you turn around. - We had to wait 10 minutes before someone showed up for checking us in. - 45 euro/person for a simple mixed salad + a pasta...?

    The hotel could be charmant, the internal design is nice and the view on the terrace is nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2016

    5.0
    Lipstick on a pig
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked this because of good reviews the past few years but I sense it may be going downhill from here. Elitist, burnt out and overworked manager that does not act like this is a international hotel although it advertises as such. Updated yes, historical yes, but poorly, a lot of bad art on walls, bad refinishing, strange shared balconies with no privacy. Minimum breakfast. Waited 45 minutes for our table for dinner at the restaurant we reserved in the morning. We finally left and drove to the village. The next morning the manager tried to blame us for misunderstanding due to language differences ...the client who waited politely in the lobby right under their noses, to be seated. It was simply very poor hosting and front of house skills. The manager acted as if none of this service issue was a problem, then he blamed everyone but himself. We live in the area, Swiss citizens, plenty of other 3 star hotels in the area that are better. Also...15 minute walk to village which is ok if your fit, but along a main road and at night dangerous.

    Clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    9.6
    Traditional Hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Traditional Swiss Hotel. Kind and attentive Owner. Simple delicious food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    J'ai apprécié la gentillesse du personnel et le côté familial de l'hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    10
    I got stuck in the snow with my car, and the owner rescued...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I got stuck in the snow with my car, and the owner rescued us, and he let me his own car for the next days, unbelievable!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2017

    9.6
    A CHARMING HOTEL REFLECTING ITS`OWNERS PERSONALITY AND PARISIAN STYLE.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    OWNER MADE DINNER FOR US EVENTHOUGH WE ARRIVED LATE.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    9.6
    Great experience in the Vaud mountains!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quality of matresses.

    Characteristic jotel in superbe environment. Friendly staff and clean rooms. Recommended !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2017

    10
    I will be back!! Great Place to unwind and reflect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent property and excellent proprietor!! I love the Terrace and the View and one of the best Cheese Fondues I had!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2017

    10
    Lovely Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    All good will be coming back in the near future :-)

    Great atmosphere, lovely food & cosy woodburner

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful old building, cozy and warm atmosphere, helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in opens only at 4pm

    Beautiful old building, cozy and warm atmosphere, helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2017

    7.1
    There is a cat if you have an allergy to animals
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is a cat if you have an allergy to animals

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2016

    10
    Hidden gem in the Swiss Alps
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nicely appointed small hotel. Very comfortable rooms, great bed and very nice and friendly owner who looks after the place

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2016

    7.9
    Wonderful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful view. Quiet. Not too central

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2016

    7.1
    The location alone is simply great !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing is lack of public transport access, except using the car.

    The location alone is simply great !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2016

    10
    Lovely location, friendly hosts and nice place to relax, accessible to many walks and sights around
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The ambiance was very nice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2016

    10
    the right place for interesting and diverse hiking, far from the crowd of posh resorts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the friendliness of the team. The authenticity of the place. The diners, nice but without affectation.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2016

    8.8
    The hosts felt like family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was basic (cereal, toasts, cheese, confitures etc and tea and coffee was at extra charge (although the hosts kindly did not charge us in the end for it). A hot breakfast would have been great.

    The hosts felt like family. The hotel felt like home. Beautiful décor. Stunning views. Very warm service; hosts went out of their way to accommodate guests, including ferrying us car-free folk to and from town.

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2016

    10
    Best Chalet and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    NOTHING

    Best Chalet and location Best owners and staff Best breakfast and dinner Best prices for Glacier 3000 and Gstaad Very near to ski Glacier 3000 and Gstaad

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2015

    10
    Awesome location, amazing reception, great host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Honestly at this level it's one of the best offers I've seen and can't think of any downsides

    Awesome location, amazing reception, great host.

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2015

    10
    Loved everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved everything. Beautiful hotel. Friendly staff. Lovely location and views. Fantastic food - the best tarte tatin I have ever tasted. Francis picked us up and dropped us if at the nearby train station. Excellent!

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2015

    7.9
    The hotel has a stunning view of the massif of Les...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The will to make the best possible is great but it does not always succeed.

    The hotel has a stunning view of the massif of Les Diablerets from the lovely terrace and from the rooms at the front. The hotel features an a variety of beautiful art to enjoy.

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2015

    10
    The view of the mountains from our balcony and the terrace...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our dogs were fine but the house cat may not have agreed. Apart from that, there was nothing to find fault with. Personal service from the owner.

    The view of the mountains from our balcony and the terrace is fantastic. The rooms are lined with interesting paintings and whole place is a credit to the owner.

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2015

    8.8
    Excellent and quiet location but close to the resort,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Breakfast selection was rather narrow if you are not a milk and chees person

    Excellent and quiet location but close to the resort, beautiful old house with tasteful decorated rooms.

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2015

    10
    Very friendly, quiet, cosy small hotel with character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly, quiet, cosy small hotel with character. Run in a family, relaxed and informal atmosphere while professional at the same time. It is pleasure to stay in the lounge, reading a book in front of the fire. Rooms are good, without frills and well designed, location is good with beautiful view, and . Certainly a place to return to!

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2016

    9.6
    Very cozy family run hotel, lovely food at dinner and while...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very cozy family run hotel, lovely food at dinner and while breakfast is not very varied it is good quality

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2016

    9.2
    The style of hotel is unique and has its own...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The style of hotel is unique and has its own 'character'. Perfect for a group of people and / or family

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2016

    6.7
    SITUATIONS CALME TRANQUILITER SILENCE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    DOUCHE ENTRETIEN EXTERRIEUR VERGLAS

    SITUATIONS CALME TRANQUILITER SILENCE

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2016

    9.2
    The hotel was warm and friendly and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel was warm and friendly and very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2015

    8.8
    Silence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slightly away from the main village. Basic (but tasty) dinner. No hot breakfast choice.

    Silence. Fantastic views. Cozy feel.

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2015

    9.2
    location and view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing, we will go again

    location and view! welcoming and friendly staff dinner style like guest house

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2015

    10
    A very comfortable hotel in an excellent location with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very comfortable hotel in an excellent location with extremely helpful and friendly owners. Superb food!

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2015

    10
    The location, the facilities, the people, the food -...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Nothing

    The location, the facilities, the people, the food - everything

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2015

    7.5
    Nice classic hotel with a comfortable lounge area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff did not make the effort to speak English, even though they noticed us struggling with French.

    Nice classic hotel with a comfortable lounge area.

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2015

    10
    This is my fifth time at Hotel du Pillon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    This is my fifth time at Hotel du Pillon. As always, it was perfect.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: