Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel du Pont 3 stars

Marktplatz 1, 3900 Brig, Switzerland

#5 of 16 hotels in Brig

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 87 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly people, big room, family like atmospahre. We were offered 2 options of rooms so that we could select after seeing actual rooms and their location. We selected the room in front of river side where we enjoyed and relaxed listning nice sound of Swiss river feel in natural. Great food in dinner, many selections. We enjoyed Winner Schnitzel with beer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a temporary “hiccup” with accessing WiFi from my room, but that cleared up promptly.

    This is a small property that is very attractively maintained in the heart of Brig a short walk from the train stations, both mainline Swiss and Matterhorn excursion trains. The proprietor personally welcomed me on arrival. The next morning, as I was leaving, he actually carried my bag out to the curb for me, providing a handshake farewell. I did not dine at the hotel, but selected another restaurant from a wide choice available within just a few blocks. The breakfast at the hotel was very traditional and generous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything was fine .

    Simple breakfast and no fuss. Restaurant food had wide choice and was excellent. The staff were very friendly and made you feel very welcome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. I only wished there was an electric kettle in the room to make hot tea before my bedtime. Can't say this is a real shortcoming though, I am sure many people wouldn't care.

    This lovely hotel is a 3-min walk from the Brig train station--convenient and quiet. Hospitality and flexibility of the owner and staff were superb. I had a delicious breakfast (of hearty portion) served by the owner himself, and enjoyed afternoon tea in the sunny outdoor area after sightseeing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from the station if you have to pull suitcases over cobblestones. Loud noise from an event in the town square. Having to pay cash because the card machine was blocked.

    The view of the mountains from the terrasse restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Character property in centre of old town - right on main square and easy walk from station. Family run and very friendly. Good breakfast and well presented food in restaraunt. Comfortable bed. Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a need for some small repairs - for instance, noisy bathroom fan, along with the light fixtures in the bedroom (specifically above the bed) being a little shaky). Nothing that can't be fixed easily, and it didn't take away from the overall good experience.

    This was my third visit to the Hotel du Pont, and as always I was impressed with the kindness and professionalism of the staff, as well as the location and overall condition of the room. I'll be sure to come back on future visits to Brig. They've also improved their WiFi capabilities over the years, which was very welcome.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old style room/bathroom. Limited breakfast.

    Location, free bottled sparkling water.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and management very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly family run hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really

    Pleasant but slightly dated hotel in the city centre. Quite a spacious room and breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Central location, friendly helpful staff and great breakfasts and evening meals.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Pleasant location on main square, but terrace more quiet in the back. Super sweet family operation - each one sweater than the next. Standard comforts and clean.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location near the railway station and overlooking the square at the heart of the old town. Lovely views from our window. Perfect, small family-run hotel. Friendly and helpful staff, nice restaurant. What more could anyone want ?

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Two single beds pushed together instead of a double. The lack of air conditioning at our time of stay was a problem and made our stay rather uncomfortable.

    Friendly staff, wonderful location, amazing breakfast. Good sized rooms in a traditional Swiss building

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noise from the river was a little too much, but with earplugs I had a no problem sleeping.

    Excellent location just a few minutes walk from the train station. Right in the old town so everything is just outside the door. Restaurant is open late and the prices are reasonable.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Its more like a family hotel and the owners are always coming up asking you if everything was alright and it was really nice. they even recommended places to visit without us even asking.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very short and unhelpful with my husband when trying to get there attention

    Beautiful views and lovely Thai meal out.only there one night.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    position perfect in the square, near to staion and fabulous restaurant with great atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lovely hotel,good location near train station owner very friendly and excellent breakfast !

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Christian, his mum and all the staff were very friendly and happy to accommodate. The food was amazing and the service exceptional.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    stairs

    The food is honest and hardy

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Guests also reviewed these properties: