Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel du Port 3 stars

Rue du Quai 6, 1844 Villeneuve, Switzerland

#3 of 4 hotels in Villeneuve

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 213 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress not really comfortable and rooms need a bit of renovation. It feels a bit dated but its a good value for money paid .

    Good value for money! Close to restaurants and bars. I was there for one night only and i think it great for that. The gentlemen in reception was the BEST! I can't remember his name but he made everything possible to make us comfortable and even organised a breakfast bag the night before because we were leaving very early. Im so sad I can't remember his name but thanks for being so amazing mate.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel in a wonderful location, friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were cosy but a bit on the smaller side and the breakfast options could have been better.

    The location was great - the hotel was less than five min away from Villeneuve. It took us a good half hour stroll to Chateau de Chillion and an hour to Montreux. A good way to soak up the beauty of the Lake and mountains. The restaurant Oasis had v tasty food and the bed was comfy! There was a fan too in the room which I was thankful for in the summer heat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.1
    The situation in front of the lake, good breakfast, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking. You have to park on the street with parkimeter and maximum parking hours. No problems on our case, nevertheless on high/medium season would be expected issues for parking. A bit expensive in relation with facilities and services.

    The situation in front of the lake, good breakfast, friendly and professional staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.4
    Overpriced overnight pit stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated, gloomy furnishings with uncomfortable beds and lifeless pillows. Wi-if was weak and kept cutting out. Bathroom shower had to be held by hand - toiletries cheap. Unpleasant dusty odour in room. Continental breakfast was not bad.

    Exceptional views west over lake Geneva but that’s about it. Very poor value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    The hotel is basic but clean and efficient, like most Swiss...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was rather small with only very basic furnishing. Parking is possible in the street outside and in an adjacent square, but you have to pay and get a maximum of 4 hours during the day. It took a couple of enquiries to be told that there is free and unlimited parking ten minutes walk away - not very easy to find.

    The hotel is basic but clean and efficient, like most Swiss hotels, with excellent breakfast. We had a lake view which would have been even better in better weather. Hotel guests get a free pass for public transport (bus, tram, rail) in the area as far as Vevey, and there is a tram terminus and railway station just a few minutes walk from the hotel with very frequent services. This opens up the whole area of Montreux and Vevey for sightseeing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.3
    Lovely situation on the lake with helpful staff and pleasant rooms. Chargeable roadside parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The website states "Public parking is available on site (reservation is not possible) and costs CHF 6.40 per day." This is inaccurate. There is no on site parking, only parking on the road outside. We had no difficulty parking but the parking is metred so you have to work out when to feed the metre and how much to put in to avoid getting a ticket, which takes a bit of thought and can be inconvenient. Luckily money put in during the afternoon carries forward to the next morning.

    Wonderful location overlooking the Lake just over the road and a couple of hundred metres to the boat stop. Frequent buses to Montreux just along the road, as is the train station. Room a little small although comfortable. Good bed. Good buffet breakfast in the hotel. The hotel restaurant "Oasis" just across the road served good food at reasonable prices (for Switzerland!). The hotel offers free passes for the local buses and trains along the lake for the duration of your stay - a great service!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    Slightly faded but comfortable lake-front hotel with outstanding views and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is showing its age a little and in truth could probably do with some refurbishment in places. Parking is a bit awkward as the hotel doesn't have its own parking area but the staff are helpful in advising on how best to manage with the local public parking areas.

    I have stayed at this hotel about a dozen times over the last 20 years. It is a modernised old building with only the road between itself and the lake. Also within two minutes walk of the lovely old main street through Villeneuve. Lake view rooms have an unbeatable view of the lake. The hotel has a restaurant which is partly located on a covered jetty on the lake - eating there on a warm summer evening is an outstanding experience. The bedrooms are comfortable and staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    one immediately feels like in a Southern French beach hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The street in front of the hotel can be quite noisy.

    one immediately feels like in a Southern French beach hotel :) By bicycle it is about 20 minutes from here to Montreux - where all the Jazz festival activity is.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    Hotel du Port lives up to its name
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the room overlooked the lake, it also overlooked the road. The room was very hot but would have been noisy to have window open

    Very quiet inside; we were unaware of any other guests except at breakfast. Room overlooked the lake

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.3
    The location with the view on the lake is very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has no parking. But if you only have to stay over night and need your car during the day, there is free overnight parking available in front of the hotel. If you do not want to move the car during the day, you need to find a long term parking that you may need to pay. The ones in front of the hotel are limited duration during the day.

    The location with the view on the lake is very nice. There is a pub associated to the hotel which has nice beer selections if you are an amateur of Belgian beers - unfortunately the pub closes at midnight.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Lovely place with an extrardinary view on the Lake!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    I didn't 'dislike' anything, so this is just a tiny detail, but from the description of this hotel, I was under the understanding there was a parking on the premises and I could pay a small amount per day to leave my car there. Having said that, a free/safe parking option is just 5 minutes walk away and it was explained very well by my receptionist and I actually grew to enjoy this daily walk. Free parking = more money to do other things! that's how I look at it. During the night, you can easily find a parking spot right underneath the hotel (no meters between 6 pm and 7 am).

    i enjoyed my stay at this hotel very much. The staff both at the reception and breakfast room is just delightful and they went out of their way to make my stay perfect. They even offered to have a unofficial quick breakfast for me on my last morning, as I was leaving very early for the airport. I was very moved by that gesture. The breakfast room is comforting and offers a really nice display of foods, an the coffees/cappuccinos are delicious! The view offered on the lake is extraordinary! I love the free commuting card I received on the first day. It allowed you to travel on buses and trains around the area for free. I went to Montreux, Vevey, Mont Pelerin (extraordinary view on lake from there) and Blonay as well, with no need to pay. I will definitely return!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    5.8
    Fair, nice view in the morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged 15 euros for a baby bed without telling us that there was an extra charge for it ... we even had a camping baby bed with us but they told us they had it for us... didn't like it

    View of the lake

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    8.3
    Good value and lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant across the road is owned by the hotel and is convenient but very pricey, though the food is quite good.

    Room was basic but clean and comfortable with a small balcony and beautiful view over the lake. Quiet area on outskirts of Montreal.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    9.2
    Perfect view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Aircondition. Very hot so we had to open the window - then the road was very noisy all night.

    Perfect view from the balcony. Gave us free bustickets to the area. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    7.9
    Re-confirm your booking details
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't get what we booked and had to end up paying more, and still not getting what we were told. The online booking we made was for a room with 3 twin beds. On check-in, Ms Fernandes at the reception informed us that they didn't have such a room, only a room with 3 single beds. She offered us a larger room with a large double bed and a sofa bed. After, we agreed to pay the difference and take this room, we were told it was a room with 2 single beds and a double bed as the room we were offered was also offered to a walk-in old client. Also, there was no on-site parking as stated on booking.com

    Good, clean hotel with very friendly staff. Lovely location on the lake with ample parking around the place.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Simple but great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    close to the main street (and possible night club, to be confirmed), so could be a bit noisy sometimes.

    Very clean, and great view on the lake

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful views over the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fairly busy road outside.

    Great view over the lake. Big, comfortable room. Helpful staff at check-in, good garage provided for bicycles.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location just on the board of the lake, very friendly...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location just on the board of the lake, very friendly and helpful staff, easy to park at public parking (no payment for the night hours)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent facilities and very convenient for visiting local attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No steps up to main reception from road

    Everything was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Kind staff
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Business Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kind staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful view on the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the lake with amazing view. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No minibar and no waterheater for tea or coffee in room

    View on the wonderful lake

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    8.3
    Very kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very kind staff. Breads at breakfast. Good location, close to the train station and in front of the lake.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.1
    Situation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Design vintage 80s !

    Situation

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.6
    Very convenient location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.......

    Very convenient location. And wonderful View of lake. Arise and look out the windows....

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    8.3
    Beautiful lake view.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful lake view.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    7.1
    Good standard hotel and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem is the very busy road below.

    Good standard hotel and great location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    9.6
    Romantic Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to write

    People friendly, location friendly, good atmosphere, Romantic and homely

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    8.8
    Nice hotel with an amazing view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was a expensive for a place with no air conditioning!!

    Breakfast was good and included in room price! Room was very clean and shower was good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    8.3
    Small Hotel, located directly vis a vis the Lac Léman.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A broader selection of cheeses and cold cut ( there is only one of each to choose from) would have been nice.

    Small Hotel, located directly vis a vis the Lac Léman. The hotel meets all standard requirements and is absolutely clean. Breakfast with Cappucino, Coffee, Tee, Juice. Different choices of bread, brekfast rolls, croissants, jam, cheese and cold cut. Freshly boiled eggs. The rooms are well maintained and clean. In room safe for depositing valueables. Flat screen tv, shower. Parking almost in front of the hotel, free from 6 p.m. until 8 a.m. Close to Montreaux, Chateau de Chillon. The highway is a 5 minutes drive and gets you to all destinations. Decently priced. I would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    7.9
    Location was great for access to many local attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Road in front of hotels means that you cannot really use the balcony due to noise and privacy. Which is a shame as the views over Lake Geneva are wonderful.

    Location was great for access to many local attractions. Front desk receptionist was very friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    8.8
    Great view from balcony room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Were over charged for room, promptly took debit card to fix, however, money still had not appeared in account a week later. Refund only appeared after sending an email query. No explanation given.

    Great view from balcony room. Staff helpful, loved the location

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    5.0
    We enjoyed the nice view of Lac Leman.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is located by a busy road along the coast of Lac Leman. There was no air-conditioning, and therefore we could not close windows to shutdown traffic noise, which was awful indeed. We spent a sleepless night because of the noise almost all over the night.

    We enjoyed the nice view of Lac Leman. This is also a convenient place to visit chateau du Chillon, just a couple of stops away of city bus.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not value for monies... Facilities old and broken... Our room fan was broken mid night and the room feel like an OVEN!!! Not able to sleep whole night and traffic noise unbearable with window open.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    9.6
    Lovely room with balcony overlooking lake and road but no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't realise it would be on street parking and we would have to keep feeding the meter. It is free from 18.00 till 08.00.

    Lovely room with balcony overlooking lake and road but no problem. Good view of the Ferraris and Maseratis passing by.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    9.2
    lack of conditioned air in summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    lack of conditioned air in summer

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    9.6
    Lack of parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lack of parking

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    4.6
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not much you can do in the area unless you travel to the next town.

    Great location!

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing in specific, Breakfast options could have been better, but it still was Good!

    Location Staff Facilities

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    9.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could have been a bit more varied

    Good location Nice welcoming staff Great view on the lake from the room

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: