Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parkhotel du Sauvage 4 stars

Bahnhofstrasse 30, 3860 Meiringen, Switzerland

Review score

Based on 190 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing in all aspects of what a hotel should offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel and rooms are very much outdated and require a complete renovation. Service was not friendly and breakfast was a disappointment. Price and quality for this hotel is completely out of balance.

    We were welcomed in a friendly way. Meiringen is the perfect starting point for biking tours in the area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.9
    Ifeal jotel for exploring the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Locstion is ideal for exploring the area around Meiringen and four alpine passes.

    Parts of the hotel were being decorated althoigh this did not affect our stay. The room was large,airy and clean. Coffe making facilities were oresent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    Pity about the food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The place seems to cater for large (and at times very noisy) tour groups. We ate at a table for two surrounded by tables for eight. We had paid for dinner, bed and breakfast and being in a Swiss hotel were expecting Swiss cuisine. Instead we got tasteless British sludge. In retrospect we would have been better eating in the town. It was a great pity as everything else was wonderful.

    Fabulously restored and recently refurbished old hotel in a great location. Beautiful big room with fantastic mountain view. Superb public rooms and gardens.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.5
    Good Hotel but a little expensive
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My review score is probably slightly less than this hotel deserves but that is due to the fact that there was renovation work done at the time of our stay. one thing that bugged us a bit was that the pillows were too soft. The biggest issue with the hotel is probably its price, in my opinion its pretty expensive although it is reasonably priced with respect to other hotels in the area (note that Switzerland itself is pretty expensive).

    The hotel had a nice feel to it, it was very spacious. I have read some reviews stating that the wifi was paid but I assume they changed it cause ours was free. The room was nice and big. The bathtub was great and very big. Air con was fine and generally speaking almost everything was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.6
    Meiringen absolutely amazing and hotel did not disappoint
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of attractions were not open, just means we go back next year, so looking forward to and will be coming back to this hotel.

    Excellent location and beautiful scenery, staff were amazing, lots of amazing walks.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    4.6
    The Grand Budapest in Meiringen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are outdated and need refurbishing desperately. Blinds are broken, Service staff don't take notice, unfriendly service. Bar closed from Wed-Sun????

    Front desk staff very friendly, Leopold steakhouse very good food, reasonable breakfast buffet. After approaching complaint with a number of example to front desk that superior rooms are not good value for money (CHF 250 per night incl. b'fast) we were excempted from paying for the first night.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    7.9
    Under renovation, but definitely worth a look.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar looks lovely but wasnt serving, works happening at rear limiting view\balcony use\some noise. Some areas still a bit rundown.

    Excellent v modern renovated room, grand hotel feel to the corridors with some beautiful period features. Easy spacious parking, convenient location. Free lobby wifi worked in room :)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Parkhotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Great location. Views. Interesting hotel and a feel of grandeur. 😎

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.9
    spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    poor breakfest some furniture needs renovation

    spacious room Very good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel and location adjoining restaurant was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great hotel and location adjoining restaurant was great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Free upgrade!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free upgrade! Very nice staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Location, friendly and helpful staff, room size, clean, free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee (only regular coffee or espresso available)

    Location, friendly and helpful staff, room size, clean, free wifi, breakfast (food)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    We had a lovely time there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff were all very kind!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.8
    good location to get on natinal rail
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    friendly saff, good location near the rail station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    Staff of breakfast and bar are friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff of breakfast and bar are friendly. Building is beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.2
    A quirky and unusual hotel to stay in
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was not great

    The location and 'old world' feel of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.6
    Large rooms, good breakfast, nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid wifi

    Large rooms, good breakfast, nice view

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    10
    Sherlock highly recommends it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - classical Victorian Hotel.

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    7.5
    The ambience was highclass.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room was over crowded

    The ambience was highclass. The room was simple but clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful old grand hotel of the glory days of the Grand...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Standard rooms are a bit narrow, shower pressure too low.

    Beautiful old grand hotel of the glory days of the Grand Tour and Sherlock Holmes. In the process of being renovated. Beautiful huge breakfast room with good breakfast buffet, nice evening bar and reataurant. nice views all around, very convenient location for day trips around the area with free car park and walking distance to train station and cable car up the mountains. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    9.6
    The hotel is well decorated both from outside and inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There was one issue with some technical problem in the room. However, the staff solved that to our satisfaction so it is really in their favor.

    The hotel is well decorated both from outside and inside. Many vintage furniture and wall decoration made this hotel really a travel to the past. Walk down the stairs from your room just to enjoy these decorations, if the ones in the corridor is not enough for you. The room is very spacious. We took the basic double room which was excellent for a family with two children. The view from the room was nice (there are some renovation there now) and you can see the valley with cows strolling and waterfalls in the background. The breakfast was rich and excellent. The coffee quality was by far the best one I had in Switzerland so far. The hotel location is excellent, in fact few minutes walking from the train station. Migros supermarket is very close and there are several good restaurants in Meiringen. A lot of parking place next to the hotel. For those of you who like literature: Meiringen is famous for the Sherlock Holmes story. This hotel is the one where Sherlock Holmes stayed in just before going to Reichenbach falls where he confronted Prof. Moriarty. The actual writer Arthur Conan Doyle was staying there during his visit to Swizterland and he like this place so much that he mentioned it in his book. If you want to know more, just visit the Sherlock Holmes museum next to the hotel. In summary our stay was excellent and we will probably go back again to this hotel. It is a very good starting point for many activities in the area especially in summer time.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    5.8
    The room was very big and new.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It claims to be a 4-star hotel but maybe it is 2-star hotel with elegant interiors. It was not possible to connect to the Wi-Fi in the hall of the hotel. It was broken. The reception solved the problem by giving us access to the pay-for-use Wi-Fi for free. Anyway, a 4-star hotel in 2016 should have a Wi-Fi in all rooms for free. The shower was unconfortable. A large cobweb was in the bathroom ceiling. The did not change the small bottle with shampoo that was empty. Reception is limited, it is similar to a 1-star hotel. They close the reception at 22.30 and reopen at 6.30 (only 16 hours open). According to the European Hotelstars Union a 4-star hotel needs to have at least 18 hours of open reception. According to the European Hotelstars Union, they should have nail file, cotton swabs, and vanity mirror. All of them missed in the bathroom The room was simple. Elevator is old. Breakfast was funny. I think a low-budget hostel has a better breakfast. The staff was also limited during breakfast.

    The room was very big and new. Very nice view over mountains. Very close to the train station.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    5.8
    The hotel was very promising from the website and on pulling...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    What we didn't expect was that Meiringen itself and the hotel would be like a ghost town. Everything was shut. The hotel bar and restaurant were shut, the only catering was breakfast in the morning so you had to go off site for food and drink (other than tea/coffee). We had a fridge in the room with nothing in it. No room service. I would like to think it was because it was out of season and I know there was refurb work going on but for the price, we weren't expecting there to be no facilities whatsoever.

    The hotel was very promising from the website and on pulling up and entering the hotel, it was exactly what we expected for our Sherlock Holmes pilgrimage. The staff were friendly, the room was spacious and the location was great. Breakfast was also good. They were also well equipped for our young children giving us joining rooms, a cotbed and sofa beds for the small ones.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast ok, rooms good size and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bar and lobby bar : poor and to be improved. No personnell no drinks.

    Breakfast ok, rooms good size and clean. Building and interior historically in old shape.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    6.3
    The building is quite old and no free wifi in the rooms also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The building is quite old and no free wifi in the rooms also we booked a superior room and were given the standard room with the old bathrooms however after telling the receptionist we were given the room we booked

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    9.2
    Nice breakfast and staff in the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No second key was available for room 445! Receptionist wanted to know why do we need a second key and where is my husband! The door was opened for me with a "pass par tout" key.

    Nice breakfast and staff in the restaurant

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    7.5
    It is located 3mins away from the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi not accessible in the room.

    It is located 3mins away from the train station. the cable car station is 5-10 mins away by feet. Great location. Breakfast provided but oh well is the same choices everyday. Room is clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    8.8
    The breakfast in the hotel was very nice- one of the best we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are very basic but the value for the money is very good.

    The breakfast in the hotel was very nice- one of the best we had in Switzerland so far. Nice selection of everything. The building itself is a bit old but it has beautiful interior with old pieces of furniture and paintings in the hallways. Also, it is very close to the train station and to the cable car as well.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    8.8
    Very easy to reach with a car or a train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very easy to reach with a car or a train. This is the hotel where Sherlock Holmes stayed before going to Reichenbachfall, so if you are there - make sure you visit the waterfall itself, it's 10 minutes away with a car.

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    6.7
    Location is perfect .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Heaters were not working , they gave me portable heaters which made the room smell... But as an overall was okey

    Location is perfect ... Room was huge and clean

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    7.5
    Great location within walking distance to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was rather small and for the price we paid i was expecting something more comfortable. It wasn't worth 4 stars for me.

    Great location within walking distance to the train station. Good breakfast with a lot of choice. Nice staff. The hotel itself is a pretty building, a bit old fashioned but it has its charm.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    7.5
    reminds me The Grand Budapest Hotel from the movie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    With little money and more interior style it could be a gem. Talk to a professional interior designer, this building deserves better interior.

    reminds me The Grand Budapest Hotel from the movie

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    8.3
    Stayed for one night, loved the town and this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    As it is very old hotel can do great by renovating a bit.

    Stayed for one night, loved the town and this hotel. The decor was brilliant. Breakfast was rich with good variety The location is wonderful next to Sherlock Holmes museum and close to train station and supermarket.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    9.2
    Nice antique style, good location, perfect quality for money...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would not give it 4 stars but its price was not as for a 4 star hotel either

    Nice antique style, good location, perfect quality for money you pay

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    10
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Recommended

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    7.5
    Breakfast, centrally located, spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Elderly property, some renovations necessary in the bathroom or windows

    Breakfast, centrally located, spacious room

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    5.8
    Very nice from outside Frühstück war gut.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very poor from Inside

    Very nice from outside Frühstück war gut.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    9.2
    very friendly staff, clean and spacious room
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    very friendly staff, clean and spacious room

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    9.6
    Great location in the village and beautiful hiking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location in the village and beautiful hiking

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    8.3
    Really nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Really nice staff

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    8.8
    Friendly helpful and pro active staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room has seen the best part of the seventies. Could do with a renovation

    Friendly helpful and pro active staff

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    8.3
    Wonderful place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful place!

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.1
    quiet, good bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No heating

    quiet, good bed

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    9.6
    Classic hotel with elegant inlaid wood interior.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Internet in lobby is free, but you have to pay for it in the room

    Classic hotel with elegant inlaid wood interior. Great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    7.9
    location and decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wi fi in room. It was very hot and we had to ask for fans. Took a long time to check in

    location and decor

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: