Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Dufour 3 stars

Rue General Dufour 31, 2500 Biel, Switzerland

#10 of 11 hotels in Biel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 222 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 16

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.3
    Not clean enough, not kind enough, good location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The reception closes at 22h (read careful "check-in" times!). They insist on paying in advance for the whole expected stay, but then you have to ask for receipt. My wife joined me for 3 nights in the middle of my long stay, in the same room for too high price (50 CHF/night, also insisted on paying in advance). The receptionist tried to enter my room without knocking (could not, my key was in the lock). Explanation: "room inspection". Cleaning was not thorough (found some pieces from last visitor under table). Breakfast is basic (but good coffee). What seems like a desk on pictures is a board under windows, too low for "real" desk (I needed to work with my laptop). In some rooms you cannot even place your legs under it. Some rooms have bad smell (I asked for change and got a better one). Sound insulation is too weak with respect to the noise from the street. Sometimes cigarette smoke comes from the street (people smoking in front). The walls are dirty, furniture is old and scratched. Mattress is old and cheap (could feel the springs), sheets are old, with holes.

    The hotel is located 10 mins walk from the centre with many bus stops around. Migros supermarket is across the road. The lady during the breakfast was very kind, the coffee is good. The rooms are quite spacious with big windows (a lot of light). WiFi was perfect most of the time. Bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.5
    Convenient, clean and comfortable, but 1.5km from the train station!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not there long enough to find much to criticise

    Because I checked out very early, they kindly gave me a packed breakfast which I chose, and ate on the train!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    5.4
    devastating.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was horrible. there was no free parking as stated when booking the room. i didn't find a direction for the WIFI connection. The lobby is tiny and there is no permanent person available. There used to be a lot of noise coming from the street, street cleaning vehicles and in the neighborhood a church was ringing each 1/4 of hours… So the main concern are bed and noise coming for the street. It’s almost impossible to sleep.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    4.6
    I didn’t get the comfort for the value of my money i paid comparing to other hôtels around.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Receptionist ask me to pay, and I had already paid my room when I made the booking in PayPal. So i told him I have already pay and he had to check it again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    5.8
    nasty surprise with no parking possibility
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    this hotel has ABSOLUTELY NO own PARKING possibility at its location. Just after arrived I was charged by police the fine of 40 CHF because I stood with the car on the side of the street in front of the hotel. Everything around was full. At the Booking page by reserving there was nothing to make me aware of this, otherwise I would choose another place. And I was not the only one, this happens to incoming guests once or twice per week here.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    6.7
    Clean but noisy road
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's way overpriced - but that seems to be the standard in Biel (and Switzerland in general). It just surprises me that hotels in Biel are even more expensive than Zurich. Breakfast should be included at this rate. Because you had to pay extra i didn't try it. You can get away way cheaper at the Migros or Coop...Unfortunately i didn't sleep well at all. The hotel is right next to a busy road where the trucks start flying by at 5 a.m. really loud and the windows don't cancel any of the noise at all.

    It's okay for couples or business travelers if you're just there to sleep. The beds are comfy and we had a quiet room as far as noise from other roms was concerned. It was clean. The staff was nice. It's quite a walk from the main station but i don't mind. There's a lovely bakery across the street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    7.1
    Had to leave one day earlier due to illness.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to leave one day earlier due to illness. Personell was not allowed to decide if I get reimbursement for the missed night (Had to pay at check-in). Director is unavailable by phone / email, no reaction yet (4 weeks!)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    4.2
    bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived in a room that wasn't clean. the toilet were dirty (some urine on the seat) and the bathroom smelled weird. After two days nobody cleaned the room even when we asked the reception. and we had one towel for two

    close to the train station

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Very good breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    The curtains in the room, it was too light in the room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The curtains in the room, it was too light in the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Excellent service widely recommend jt
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent service widely recommend jt

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    2.5
    The hotel was not quiet and was absolutely not adapted for...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was not quiet and was absolutely not adapted for business trip...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    6.7
    Wi-Fi doesn't work at all.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi doesn't work at all. Basic breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    4.2
    Very helpful staff members.
    • Solo traveller

    There wasn't an isolation between the rooms and one could hear everything from other rooms. I didn't have one night of good sleep due to an uncomfortable bed and constant street and other rooms noise.

    Very helpful staff members.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    3.3
    Wi-fi : does not work.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-fi : does not work. Noises caused to pipes (water, drainage and heating) during the night.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    7.1
    Good Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor Facility

    Good Location

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 16

Guests also reviewed these properties: