Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel du Théâtre By Fassbind 3 stars

Seilergraben 69, City Centre, 8001 Zürich, Switzerland

#87 of 122 hotels in Zürich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1205 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    7.5
    Amazing location !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel website states all rooms have air conditioning and that is not true . Also states there is gym access. Also not true . The deluxe room is tiny and I could barely sleep because I was so hot the first night ( in October !!!! ) . Beds not all that comfortable.

    Amazing location ! Clean and decent rooms .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    9.2
    Overnight stay in Sept 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were helpful rather than very welcoming but we did leave very early!

    Hotel was perfect for our needs. We arrived from the airport by taxi (short journey) and left very early the following morning to catch a train to Italy (station is 5mins walk). Though the room was on the small side the bed was very comfortable, everything was spotless and the bathroom was bright with a good hot shower. The hotel is just next to the Old Town so we had a great stroll round in the afternoon sunshine when we arrived , a drink outside overlooking the river and the choice of lots of lovely restaurants for our evening meal. We had one of the best meals of our holiday 5 mins from the hotel. We had to leave before breakfast so can’t comment on quality.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    6.3
    Location to train station convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property across from a rowdy bar crowd that overflowed to the front of the bar. Very loud till about 3 am. It was a Saturday night but they party like it was their last. Side of hotel that faced the street may be better. We had no a/c and the noise kept the windows closed.

    Location to train station convenient.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.6
    The location was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was superb. Near Zurich HB which was convenient for our rail journey holiday. Major tourists attractions nearby. Very friendly staff. We arrived early and got our room for check-in by 12:15 pm.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.3
    Great location & friendly staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location at the central tram stop, across the bridge from the Hauptbahnhof, on the left bank edge of old town and a short walk from Bahnhofstrasse the main shopping street. Added bonus you can get a number 10 tram direct to the airport from the central tram stop, much, much easier than from the Hauptbahnhof. Hotel is near to the restaurants and central railway station Zurich HB (5-10 mins walk). staffs are very accommodating and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    5.0
    It was not so good experience of stay at this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet bowl seat was installed using the wrong type of seat and toilet bowl cover always dropped to my back when I used it. The wall light was also not working during our last night of stay.

    Centrally located, close to the Train station and easy to find food.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    7.1
    It was a fair experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffe/tea maker in room.

    Convenient location, across the river from the train station. Many bus stops and tram stops around. Many restaurants around. Easy access to WiFi.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    1.Walking distance from the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road noise, if the window was kept open.

    1.Walking distance from the train station 2. Very thoughtfully arranged fittings. 3. Very clean room and bathroom . 4. Polite and helpful staff. 5. Really effective and sound proof window

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location. Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only complaint was I had a single room and there was no air con, even though there were controls in the room. It was quite humid and sticky, and too noisy outside to have the window open. I did use the fan provided, but I would think in summer this room would be a bit uncomfortable.

    The hotel was very convenient. Staff friendly. Walking distance from the railway station so easy to get to from the airport. It was also very close to the older historical area so very good to walk around close by.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.8
    Very central location with many restaurants around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is just fine. The bed would bend in the middle, so it was not very comfortable. Rather packed roon. For what you pay for, you would expect something a little bit better.

    Very central location with many restaurants around. The main Zurich attractions are within a walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.9
    Awesome location and considerate staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to pay extra for AC room and negotiate even getting one when we arrived.

    Staff was great and we got an air-conditioned room which was important as it got hot outside. Accidentally left medicine and staff was able to mail back to home in USA with credit card.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.8
    Convenient for the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very impersonal. I'd hardly call it a hotel - more a collection of rooms. It's just an expensive place to sleep. Check-in check-out.

    Convenient stopover for the railway station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    4.6
    Cold water in the shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower did not work and the water was really cold becouse the mixer of the water did not work when i complained they told me i am sorry . Terrible

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    While the housekeeping forgot to prepare the crib for our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small: when the crib was put in there wasn't much room left but this is what we expected for the price.

    While the housekeeping forgot to prepare the crib for our arrival, the front desk manager was able to resolve this issue quickly. Location was great: close to the train station, old city and the river.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.5
    Stay in zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, there is no air Air conditioning .not all the time was hot water . If I have anther chance to visit zurich I will pay lettle more and find another place ..

    The place is perfect near the trams and the main center of the trains..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Very Good for Central Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The standard room is very small. You dont feel it from the pictures. Shower unit and lavatory were designed well according to the room size, they are ok, but the closet area which was separately located , was very narrow.

    Location is very good. Either you would go to Old Down or you would use train to another city, Fassbind is the right choice. Front office Staff All are very helpful, day shift and night shift, all are providing suggestions and are problem solver. Hotel is very suitable for short time staying because of the location and staff. For long term staying, I advise to book the larger rooms, especially for the families.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.0
    Looks really nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be easier if other currencies like euros were accepted.

    The breakfast was good. The hotel was in a very good location. The train station, bus, tram were all in walking distance. Lots of cafes around. A very good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floor drain in the bathroom is bad. Water accumulate when you take shower.

    Nice location! You may walk for around 5 minutes to the train station. The food street and the old town is around the corner. Coop is nearby which open until 10pm. Room are alright. Toilet are clean and rather big.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    In walking distance from Zurich Main station, this is a nice...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No issues whatsoever.

    In walking distance from Zurich Main station, this is a nice little hotel with everything one needs for one or a few nights. Rooms are quiet, sufficiently large for a shorter stay, with air condition. Equipment in good state. Good bed. Check-in and out were efficient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    👍👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    kicked out of pool area because of functions. Just would have been nice if we were told on booking, rather then reading a sign in the lift!! But apart from that, place was nice

    Was a eally nice place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.4
    Superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no one at the reception desk for nearly 10 minutes at check in. The tea and coffee was not replenished on day two. The carpet in the room was worn and dirty.

    Superb location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.3
    I was double charged when I checked out .
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was double charged when I checked out .. hope booking.com can look into it There is no aircond (was not stated in the website) Only have one small fan and window direct opposite the busy road Kind of noisy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Zurich is super expensive so this was quite a good find.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a little facelift but absolutely fine for a few nights

    Zurich is super expensive so this was quite a good find. It’s not very modern inside but super clean and the beds are very comfortable. Location is good, just a short walk from the station (and a direct train to there from the airport).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.0
    Overpriced and false advertising. Don’t go
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beware of false advertising. I was quite upset when I arrived because I reserved a double room and I was presented with a small room that had a bed of 1m20 and told this was a double according to swiss law! The front desk manager found a solution in the end but check in was a bad surprise

    Very friendly front desk manager who tried to be accomodating

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    It was ok but could have been a little better.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    20 francs for a very mediocre breakfast not included, room 212 is too small for two people, we had to move.

    LOCATION, VIEW DURING BREAKFAST, GOOD WIFI, VERY CLEAN.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    The room was very central for the brief time we were in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we are both relatively tall it would have been better to have a Queen sized bed although the bed was very comfortable.

    The room was very central for the brief time we were in Zurich - close to the station for our airport transfer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Good location, room is very clean, near by lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check-in personnel wasn't so welcoming, at 6 a.m. was very noisy if your windows are opened.

    Good location, room is very clean, near by lots of restaurants and shops

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Overall would definitely come here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff while wonderful would give us conflicting information about what was available nearby and times of certain events.

    Everything was very clean and the staff were friendly. Great location. Rooms were a bit small but it was just like anywhere else in Europe.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    A comfortable hotel which has a good location in the centre of Zurich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise in the street and consequently the windows had to remain shut. It was very hot and stuffy in the room as a result.

    Location. Very close to the main train station, trams and the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay and would come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed frame was too big for the limited space and had a sharp edge. Could have used an extra pillow. Poor ventilation, but too noisy with window open.

    Helpful and friendly staff. Convenient location. Extensive breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    I would stay here again and highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small for the price, but it is Switzerland after all!

    I loved the location! It was the closest location to ammeneties that I have had in my travels, which says a lot! Close to attractions and Starbucks at your doorstep. You also get a coupon at the hotel for a buy 1 get a tall free, and it made a difference because Zürich is pricey! I also loved the clean tub, I bought a bath bomb from Lush and had an awesome bath!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.9
    Good for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since it is located on main street, loud noise during day time until early evening.

    amenities provided in the room such as boiler, coffee, safe box, toiletries and etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Perfect Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room could have been bigger considering the price (which was the highest we have paid in Switzerland). No chair for luggage. The bed and mattress was double, but with two single blankets, which was quite uncomfortable as the sheets were slipping off the bed. However we loved the soft and comfortable pillows :)

    Great location near the main station, handy to walk in the old town. A very good option for a short city-break.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Very nice for a short trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Besides the man everyone else on the reception was not very helpful ....

    The gentlemen on the reception was very helpful and nice - that stuck with me. Also the rooms were clean and it was nicely located

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Easy and convenient walking location to train station,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely noisy throughout the night (we were there on weekend) with young people from the nearby university in the streets and bars. Higher floor rooms may be better and with windows closed.

    Easy and convenient walking location to train station, trolleys, buses, shops and restaurants. Very quick train ride to airport. Room was small but efficient and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow check in, request for double bed not met. Too expensive Found lid left on the floor from former guest Loud from the street

    Location Comfortable beds Big bathroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.7
    great location,
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cover on the bed was so thin & only a small blanket to go on top. The bed was not particularly comfortable and the bed was tucked against the wall like a child's bedroom with the door opening right next to it. The shower did not reach a good temperature in the morning & the water did not drain properly.

    The pillow was soft. The receptionist was very helpful. Easy to access wifi. Decent TV channels

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very much small Bed not comfortable , bed size is also very small No space to move and sit

    Location, tram is very nearby The main station is near Starbucks is at main door Everything in the room Very clean hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.5
    Not the first time we've stayed here - in fact the fourth - but the bedding does want upgrading.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedding. Although it was a proper double bed and mattress, the sheets were single bed sized and we were given two sets. Also the pillows were very thin; there was an extra one in the wardrobe for my wife but I had to bundle all the clean towels up under mine!

    Good breakfast with nice view of the antique funicular railway. Great location near the lake and the main station, handy for good cafes and restaurants in the old town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant, trustworthy and a good location.
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A room with a better view. But not complaining.

    The staff was extremely friendly and very honest. I had misplaced an expensive box at the main reception and totally forgot until the next day. I quickly reached out to the person at the reception and they had safely kept it aside. Truly trustworthy and professional people with a big wide smile on their face always. I’ll definitely stay in the same place on my next visit. Both me and my wife felt very safe and comfortable during our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.3
    Awesome, cosy hotel near city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was outdated and the shower didn't work properly, but when we said that they were very nice and welcoming from the tip.

    The staff was very nice, very welcoming and helpful with my German. We could leave the baggage there, since we arrived before the check-in time. Room was great, a little bit warm, but that seems to be an ongoing theme in Switzerland.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no control for the temperature in the room. The window didn’t open enough to let fresh air in and even with that it was very noisy with the window open. The bed was very small for just my husband and I. The bathroom was also very small and you can hear other guest when they are showering or when they flush the toilet.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    6.7
    Location is fantastic, less than 10 minutes walking from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable, late night noise was problematic because we were unable to control the thermostat and were forced to open the window for any air circulation.

    Location is fantastic, less than 10 minutes walking from the central train station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    Fairly priced, well located and good rooms
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a room facing the street and was a little Noisy. However, this you can expect from being in a big city.

    We only stayed there over night to take our flights in the early morning of the next day. It is extremely close to the train station and there are several tram and bus stops very close to it. We had a very late check in, since we were coming from interlaken, and the host at the reception was extremely welcoming. Everything was very clean and the rooms were quite spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are some stairs at the main entrance, which is not a big deal because later you have a lift in the building.

    Really really great location. Less than 5 minutes from the Zürich HB station. It was very useful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location but room was hot and noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot so we had to open the window while sleeping but the location of our room was overlooking the main road which was very very noisy.

    The location. Close to rail station and right in old town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    6.3
    The WiFi was fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are bit small & I stay at that room was very noise. I had to upgrade my room to another side of street.

    The WiFi was fantastic! The staff were very helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    Hotel is absolute fine for people, who do not care much for comfort, but look for fine location.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - The room is small for family with small kid, but it is OK for 1-2 persons. - Small bed, a little discomfort for family with small kid. - The room was not dirty, but there was dust under bed. Again, should be careful if you travel with small kid.

    - The staff was very friendly to us. We appreciate that. - The location is absolute perfect, it is in old town and very close to main train station (5-7 mins of walk), and at Tram station "Central", which is connecting many Trams. - Close to hotel, there are many restaurants and pubs. - The shopping center is not far (5-10 mins to walk) and many other nice and historic places to spend time. - Very close to river to walk in the evening. - In our room the bathroom was not small. Cannot say about others. - Cleaning service was working OK. - Fine WLAN connection quality. - In general, even if bed was too small for us (2 adults + small kid), we do not regret. It was fine value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.9
    Strategic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive, but this is Zurich, everything is expensive here...

    Just stay one night here before flying back home. The location is very strategic, just in front of central tram and bus stop. You can take tram no. 10 to the airport from here. Also, Take the Polybahn funicular to the terrace of university for bird-eye view of the city. Check in process was quick, although the room initially given to us was smell bad (smoky smell), they quickly change to the other room. Anyway, the room is modern and chic, and what I like most is in room portable heater, very useful during winter time...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed walking around Zürich and exploring the old area, but found everything very expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning couldn’t be controlled and the room was too hot at night. If you opened the window the noise of the traffic which was busy all night prevented sleep. No power point in bathroom

    Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    A comfortable hotel close to the Train Station in Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast not included in the room rate and was at an extra high cost so we opted out to having breakfast at the hotel.

    Very comfortable and clean room. Extremely close to the train station which was very convenient. Friendly staff The check in was at 14:00 however our room was ready at 11:00.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    Perfect Location in Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to say anything less then positive it would be that the room was on the “smallish” side and amenities were basic but it provided all you needed incuding tea and coffee.

    The location was perfect. Short walk from HB and old town. Staff were more then helpful. They made our stay comfortable. Really enjoyed it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    3.8
    Not recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From I step in the moment I already started to feel uncomfortable, no greeting no smiling from the receptions, specially the black guy, showing attitude during the whole check in process! I have been travelling around Switzerland for the past two week, this is the worst hotel I’ve stayed in! Not worth for the price at all!

    non

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    4.2
    Budget 3star absolutely zero thrills
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Noisy, dirty unkempt room, bathroom from 1974, broken showerhead. Dreadful check in- no interest or information.

    Great location very convinient for Zurich HB. Pleasant checkout. Very good budget hotel for larger than budget price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.2
    Great stay ;)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little uncomfortable a bit like sleeping on a camp bed and the curtains are not lined and there is a lot of street lighting outside which disturbs sleep.

    The location was perfect for access to the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Would definitely stay here again, perfect base to explore Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just the smell in our room

    Excellent location, lovely staff, only complaint was that there was a smell in our room not sure what it was but after a short while we got used to it, only noticed it when entering our room 403. Tip, from the airport take tram 10 to Central cost CHF6.90 and stops opposite hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel, good location, very clean, every
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's expensive - but everything is expensive in Zurich unfortunately, and the pillows were flimsy!

    The automatic shutters on the windows were great, total black out and could get a good sleep. Decent wifi and very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.8
    comfortable, convenient and relatively reasonable price for Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being central and on a busy road, window needed to be closed to cut out traffic and passers by noise.

    Room very comfortable, including the beds. Good breakfast with lots of fresh fruit and juices. Everything fresh.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel to stay when youre travelling with kids. At the centre of Zurich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small elevator

    perfect hotel for family, at fantastic location in zurich. Near rail station. You can explore city of zurich a step frm hotel doors. By walking or train and boat. Location in old town withfully of resto and cafe.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    Great City Centre Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pricey but this is Zurich which you'd therefore expect even though I was surprised to find that we weren't paying much more for the Renaissance in London, St Pancras.

    Good city centre location. Nice but small room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Friendly and helpful staff. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. We arrived by train and it was an easy walk to the Hotel and there was a lift to our room. The Hotel was very central and an easy walk to shops and sites and the old part of Zurich. We loved that there were tea/coffee making facilities in the room, hard to get when travelling through Switzerland.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable and convenient hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was smaller than expected and hotel furnishing getting a bit tired.

    The hotel location was excellent, close to transport, river and shops. Train station was a 5 minute walk and trams close to the door. Good selection of cafes in close walking distance. Easy walking access to shopping area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    6.7
    Good location but too noisy to get a good night’s sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street noise in our room was almost unbearable. After our first sleepless night we consulted the front desk staff. They acknowledged that they knew the hotel is noisy. They couldn’t change our room because they had no other rooms available (except for a suite). The offered us earplugs, and given the size of the basket they were in it appears that they have had this complaint before. If you want a good rest, avoid this hotel.

    The hotel is conveniently located only a five-minute walk from the train station and is in the midst of old-town Zurich.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic location and easily accessible from Zurich main train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed width is quite small, the neighbourhood can be a little noisy at night so recommend ear plugs for light sleepers

    Fantastic location, clean room, friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.1
    Very noisy even when our room was on the backside which is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy even when our room was on the backside which is supposed to be quiet. There is a club on the street where guests were noisy the whole night .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.2
    Very easy to find and good quality of staff, very quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area also has a couple of seedy bars within walking distance which can be intimidating to the unwary.

    Very easy to find and good quality of staff, very quite rooms and easy access to local facilities

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    6.3
    Not confortable for two
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no air-condition so we had to leave the window open and got disturbed by ambulance and all the traffic noise all night. Bed in double room is very small, not comfortable for two. There should be a slope at the entrance

    Very convenient location. Clean and new.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel, all the best accommodations, great price price, perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was a little steep but found out it is very expensive in Zurich everywhere!

    Easy walk from the main train station, located just at the beginning of the Old Town where all the best cafes and restaurants and shops are located. One block from the river. So clean, so comfortable!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.9
    Tight but comfortable room close to the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was pretty small overall.

    The location was very convenient as it was right next to the central station. The staff was friendly and helpful with things like getting taxis. The breakfast buffet had a nice spread and everything was very tasty. Our room had an interesting view of the main street and the funicular track in the neighborhood.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.5
    Ok for a short term stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm but noisy if you opened the window.

    The hotel was in a good location for tourists wanting to walk around the old city area. Reception staff were friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    Friendly reception staff, proximity to train station
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was the second time we stayed in this hotel and would not mind staying again. However, they seem to provide two single sheets on a double bed rather than a double sheet. It can get annoying with the sheets slipping off the bed in the middle of the night. Other than that, no complaints at all.

    Friendly reception staff, proximity to train station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Very nice stay and great shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noting

    The hotel is within walking distance from the main train station ... Very close to the old town ... They were very nice with us allowing for late check out :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    Location is GREAT.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Air Conditioning. Not unusual, but on a warm day that can be annoying as the street noise will not allow leaving the window open at night. On Saturday, the city resurfaced the street and started at 4AM. We were up anyway to make our flight out but it would have been too noisy to sleep if we had the window open -- probably ok with it closed. Room is pretty tight, but you should be out seeing Zurich versus being in the room :-) It was a very a small walkway around the bed. It was okay for the 2 nights we needed in Zurich. Glad we stayed in Germany most of our vacation from a cost perspective -- that is a Zurich thing, not hotel specific.

    Location is GREAT. An easy walk (5-10 minutes) from Zurich HB as long as you exit on the proper end. When you arrive at HB, grab a map and go UP to the main shops level to walk inside to the exit on the Bahnhofquai end. It is also close to the Landesmuseum (one of the best I've seen as far as technology). Walking requires going across streets and tram lines, but it is easy. You will see a Starbucks on the corner about 2 blocks from the HB. This hotel is across the street on from the back side where Starbucks is located. The room was okay - I should have checked pricing a couple days before and could have cancelled and rebooked cheaper.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing in all aspects.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much. The front reception staff seemed as though they didn't want to be there. The room was small, the shower was extremely small, each time you turned around you opened the shower door and all the water came out on the floor. There was no air con only a small desk fan and you couldn't open the window. The bed was an iron squeaky bed, so very difficult to sleep because each time you roll over you woke up.

    Not a lot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    Good location, practical, clean.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was really noisy outside ( lively street with outdoor restaurants) and the sound proofing is not great ( it was a saturday eve).

    Good location, practical, clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel du Théâtre By Fassbind traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: