Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kräuterhotel Edelweiss 3 stars

Bahnstation Rigi Staffelhöhe, 6356 Rigi Kaltbad, Switzerland

#1 of 4 hotels in Rigi Kaltbad

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 87 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 12

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant offers unbelievably good food but also extremely expensive. What is a bit disappointing is that it is clear that one pays for the location and not for some hotel extreme luxus. Of course the view is amazing and the fact that the skying facilities are very close, makes the whole experience very nice. The hotel itself is nothing special. to remember is also the fact that there are only a couple of other restaurants in the whole mountain. Also not cheap. Plus if you are renting skying gear it will run you about 70 Euros a day and the train that brings you up the mountain 30 Euros both ways (good thing, you pay only once. during your stay up the Rigi, one can use the train at no cost).

    Amazing location. The hotel is very nice and welcoming. Beds are great, it's clean and warm. Free apples and wonderful herbs everywhere. Dogs are very welcome and there are beds and bowls for them to use. Sauna and massage center is ok, not super modern though. Breakfast is fantastic, but no sweets and no eggs or vegetables of any kind. Homemade bread, jams and cheeses and hams from the region.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - reception is messy - no one to welcome us - terrasse restaurant doesn't close at 18:00 as indicated but staff is already mopping the floor at 17:20 and make you feel unwelcome - staff tries to hard-sell you dinner at gastronomic restaurant in a haughty tone when inquiring about dinner options available in the area / in the end we just went to a nearby restaurant to have a "simple" fondue (not offered at our hotel / a pity really..) - superior room has no minibar as indicated on booking.com - bedside lamp had no light bulb in superior room and staff didn't give a monkey's when we reported it - internal phone did not work (superior room) so we needed to call reception through external line - no room service unlike what it says on booking.com - overloaded wifi / needed to call reception so that they could reset router to allow our connection in (read to kick out other connections and make room for us) - breakfast is really nothing to write home about- poor choice, deep frozen croissants - nothing like the description on booking.com

    - amazing view - AMAZING VIEW!!! - comfortable bed - quite spacy room (superior room)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For us, the restaurant was the only real disappointment. The information on booking.com says '2 restaurants, and a spa area'. After 18:00, only gourmet cuisine was on offer. This was very expensive and 'complicated' (e.g. a 9 course fixed menu). We were two hot, hungry back packers looking for something much simpler. To his great credit, the chef did cook us something 'off menu' which was much more to our liking. This reflects our personal preference - others appeared to be enjoying their food - but the lack of any 'simple' options on the menu, combined with limited other nearby places to eat, was disappointing. We were not shown a spa area.

    The view from the room and restaurant were exceptional. Despite only booking the most basic room, we had a balcony where we could sit and enjoy the view. There were several nice features in the room, such as books about Rigi, two comfortable chairs, a bath and a set of binoculars. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a nice selection of local and selfmade bread and jam and juice. Staf was helpful and kind. Kitchen had wonderfull chef who used herbs from their own garden and created super delicious and beautiful dishes. And best of all was a BIG playroom with all the cool train and lego toys and books so my todler was also very happy!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Honestly, I can't think of a thing! It's not trying to be a luxury resort, so the rooms are a little rustic. There are other luxury places on the mountain if you want that. Edelweiss was simply peaceful and lovely.

    I loved pretty much everything about the hotel and the surrounding area! I booked it based on the price and fact that I could get a room with mountain and lake views, but I had no idea that I was booking an entire mountain experience! Mt. Rigi is absolutely gorgeous, very accessible to all levels of travelers (easy hikes to expert-level ones), and has the most stunning views of the Alps. The Hotel Edelweiss: EVERYTHING IS WONDERFUL! The pictures do not do it justice. The hotel has extensive gardens and a herd of cows. They make everything on site - jams, jellies, mustards, butters - sourced from their gardens. If they don't get or make it there, it comes from elsewhere on the mountain or in the towns at the base. Plus, they sell some of their house products to take home! The chef and pastry chef could rival any of the best chefs in Europe. The rooms include comfortable beds, good soap, wonderfully soft wool blankets for cold nights, and a carafe of locally-sourced water with fruit and herbs. The restaurant has indoor and outdoor spaces with amazing views, and the restaurant itself is decorated with beautiful candles, paintings and drying herbs. The staff is kind, helpful, knowledgeable, sweet, and will patiently translate the German menu for you. Getting there sounds complicated, but it isn't. From the Luzern train station, the boat dock is across the street, with boats going to Vitznau every hour. When you land at Vitznau, the cogwheel train to take you up the mountain is a few yards away. The train stop is literally at the hotel. Really simple! I enjoyed every minute of my stay there and would go back in a heartbeat!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Enchanting location, with views in all directions and easily accessible (a few paces from the mountain railroad station, Staffelhöhe). Superb concept: Eidelweiss makes the most of the location, mixing local Alpine traditions (wood furnishings) with with (superb) homegrown bio teas, mustards, jams .. Outstanding hospitality, from all staff, including excellent food. The spa offers an incredible view and often plenty of sun even in winter, because it is above mist and clouds of the lake area.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcome from the owners and staff was friendly and welcoming. The hotel has wonderful sunset views and the staff encouraged us to take our drinks out to enjoy. The service in the restaurant was wonderful, friendly, infomative. Excellent food and wines. Comfortable, clean room with amazing views from the balcony.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was good but just a little noisy

    Staff was really friendly and helpful. Location is just next to the train station and on one of the main hiking trails. View from the room was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location for Rigi mountain hiking but bit far if you are going to go around Luzern.

    The staffs were very kind The service and food are almost perfect made with fresh ingredients. Excellent view Child friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly, Helpful and cleanliness is perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gabriella was great. So helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be nice to have a few more vegetarian options in the dinner menu.

    The staff was super friendly and nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 12

Guests also reviewed these properties: