Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Edelweiss Swiss Quality Hotel 4 stars

Via da Marias 33, 7514 Sils Maria, Switzerland

#4 of 19 hotels in Sils Maria

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 150 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel staff were so accomodating. The room is very swiss. It's like staying in a cabin lodge. Breakfast room was superb. The sauna is brilliant. Location is very central. Not far from the bus stop. Definitely coming back if there is a chance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Amazing breakfast, amazing location, great staff, extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very slow internet.

    Amazing breakfast, amazing location, great staff, extremely clean, nice little spa after a day hiking, amazing little village (way better than St Moritz).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Very nice standard, reasonable price for single room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Compared to a lot of other often overpriced bit run down hotels in Switzerland this place was truly a very nice surprise. Cant fault anything really. There was a problem with the internet in my room (regular drops outs, slow) but I think that had more to do that my room was a corner room. I informed the reception and they will look into it with a technician. So probably fixed by now.

    Nice surprise. Very nice standard, despite reasonable price for the single room. Friendly reception. Quiet room in modern classic standard. very clean. Good breakfast in wonderful decorated room. Locked skiroom. Very close to cross country tracks. The wellness sauna was also spanking clean and very nice. The finnish sauna is separate to low heat saunas, not a problem, well organised dressing rooms there. Bathrobe provided. As I came back from XC at around 15, there was hardly anyone there, cant say how full the wellness gets in the evening or high season. Didnt try the restaurant other than breakfast. Fast internet in the lobby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Location, cleanliness and the staff very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much choice for restaurant I really recommend a fast food restaurant in this area.

    Location, cleanliness and the staff very friendly and helpful I really recommend this hotel to everyone.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent place to stay in Sils-Maria
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was a bit small and the bed was quite small.

    Great hotel. Excellent location. Very helpful and friendly staff. The food in the restaurant and at breakfast was quite good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Quality hotel with good facilities and excellent reasturant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Motorcycles being asked to park out of site at the rear. This was a bad mistake. Complained about this and offered free secure parking in hotels garage. Pity this happened as I don't like being stereotyped. My motorcycle was far more expensive than some of the cars parked in front of the hotel. The issue was resolved but spoilt an otherwise excellent stay.

    The quality of the food in the reasturant was excellent as was the resident pianist. Management making personal contact with you during your stay, interested, friendly and helpful following a rocky start about parking of motorcycle.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Family trip to St. Moritz Switzerland..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing like .. didn't like .. but there is no electric kettle provided in the rooms to prepare early morning coffee / tea once you get up .. that was lot inconvenient for people like us who are accustomed to have a cup of tea after getting up ..

    The people .. yes, the people are the most likeable .. they make you very comfortable and helpful .. Laura, Jennifer, Martina all whom I interacted with and the Main Person .. name I forgot 🙂.. The location, ambience, layout, naturalised interiors, vintage looks .. all were so very nice.. Chef was helpful in cooking rice & vegetables for us too ..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    Classy and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been good to have a kettle in the room for an early morning cup of tea or an evening drink.

    Single rooms were a good size and the bathrooms were well appointed. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was excellent, with excellent service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.2
    Almost perfect Sils Maria expierence adjecent Nietzsche Haus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The salmon at breakfast was not very good -- too much dyed & salted.

    The king-sized bed was the best we had in our three-weeks journey. And there were two blankets, not just one (always a little bit too small). The staff maintained perfect, friendly, professional countenance when I (a man) turned up dressed as a woman. The breakfast room was beautifully decorated with fin de ciecle parisian type ornamentation; like the ones recorded in Owen Jones' "Grammar of Ornament." The hotel is adjacent to the Nietzsche Haus, where Nietzsche spent some of his lonely summers. Some of the rooms have direct view of this house.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Excellent staff and quality service at all levels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff and quality service at all levels. Rare to find such attention to quality. Highly recommend

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Enjoyed the location - staff friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent , prime location! Hiking trails judt outside the door.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much help on the hiking front from reception despite their best efforts

    Great location, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Alpine sophistication and grandeur in a down-to-earth and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Alpine sophistication and grandeur in a down-to-earth and cozy environment. The place to stay in Sils Maria! (Just ask Nietzsche.)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    10
    Great breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    Definitely, will revist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location; incredible Christmas tree located in the main dining room; kindness of staff; and nice breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    7.5
    Excellent Location, friendly staff, great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The door of the shower did not work properly, so the bathroom would get flooded each time. The staff aparently knew of this problem before, said it was a construction error. Was not given any recompensation. In my opinion, they should not have rented out the room in the first place.

    Excellent Location, friendly staff, great food

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    This hotel exceeded my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel exceeded my expectations. The service was outstanding. The front desk people, the host, and the servers were all very polite and doing everything to make our stay as pleasant as it could be. I highly recommend purchasing their meal plan (breakfast and dinner). The breakfast has a large selection of meats, cheeses, breads, yogurts, fruits, etc. If you are a coffee lover, they make amazing cappuccinos. The dinner is a four-course meal where for each course you have two items to choose from. Everything was delicious. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. The location of the hotel is superb. The hotel is located in the middle of the town and only a short walk from a beautiful lake. I would stay there again without any hesitation.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    10
    Beautiful hotel with curteous staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful hotel with curteous staff. Breakfast is good (eggs, bacon, breakfast sausage, grilled mushrooms, cheeses, fruits, vegetables, assortment of breads, cereal, yogurt,...) - great spread. Room was clean and comfortable. No tea/coffee facility in the room (for those who care about that - we did not). We received a transportation pass for the area (upon checking in), which included the use of the cablecars & gondolas. The in-house à-la-carte restaurant was good - we had dinner there.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    3.8
    The location in the middle of the village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything maximizing to profit: no hair conditioner but only one "hair-body" shampoo, very small bathrooms, very modest portions (so called full portions) in restaurant for a steep price plus a refill at an additional cost (I ve never experienced that before!!), breakfast buffet understaffed, staff stressed out and therefore unhelpful and semi-motivated - also in the restaurant. Definitively not a 4 star place.

    The location in the middle of the village. The receptionists competences.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2015

    9.6
    Nothing more than perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing more than perfect!

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2015

    10
    great dining, spa, ski pass deals, the list goes on and on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    great dining, spa, ski pass deals, the list goes on and on. One of the best Swiss travel experiences I have had.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    7.5
    Warm, comfortable and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service at dinner was very slow.

    Warm, comfortable and friendly.

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Guests also reviewed these properties: