Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Edelweiss Manotel 3 stars

Place de la Navigation 2, Paquis, 1201 Geneva, Switzerland

#41 of 95 hotels in Geneva

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 942 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent quaint Hotel centrally situated with ease of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choice limited

    Excellent quaint Hotel centrally situated with ease of access to Lake Geneva and public transport 😃🇨🇭😃- Brilliant friendly staff especially manager Pierre

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Super!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Swiss hotels are sooo expensive. The total amounts for 4-night stay are far more than 1k Fr. Overall the hotel is very good, however, when entering it we frequently smelled something like fish sauce or oyster sauce in the lobby (poor ventilation of the kitchen?).

    The hotel is nicely placed in a good area in the central part of Geneva (good point of departure to discover the south-western Switzerland and eastern France), close to Lac Leman and Jet d'Eau. Decorated in a traditional Swiss style. The hotel gives you free travel pass for public transport, including bus, tram and rail transportation. The staff has spoken good English.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.1
    The hotel was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel room had a really strong smell to it. We couldn't figure out what that was all about. It was like that the entire time. The room had a view to a sad courtyard. However our biggest complaint was a employee in the hotel restaurant. The restaurant had live music every night which we wanted to go and listen to. The first night we went in we sat down and had a beverage and listened. The second night we wanted to go in the restaurant we noticed there were tons of empty tables. We asked the front desk concierge if we could go in the restaurant and just sit and listen. He said sure no problem. We went and sat at a empty table that was amongst many empty tables. There was a waiter, tall gentleman with glasses, who came over. We told him the situation and he made such a production of us just wanting to sit and listen and not wanting to order that we got up and left. I thought it was in such poor taste of him to make such a production out of it. We were paying guest at the hotel, not taking up a table of guest trying to eat, just wanting to hear some music.

    The hotel was nice. Very quaint. The accommodations were nice as well. The hotel staff was friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.8
    Prelude to REI hike Mont Blanc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location to lake Geneva and the train station were very good. The park outside seemed to attract some “ undesirable “ types especially at night. Saturday night we heard loud talking and laughing until 3:00 am. Even in the daytime hours there were persons congregating in that park.. lookingblike they were just loitering. Otherwise everything was fantastic!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant staff and great proximity to all Geneva has to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a lovely piazza in front of the hotel, but unfortunately the presence of individuals spending the day there with bottles of alcohol on the floor took away the piazza’s charm. I

    Very pleasant and warm atmosphere

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Excellent-recommented
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the service was excellent, they gave us a card for using all public transport in Geneva for free the breakfast was nice and the environment as well mini bar in the room and a kettle was a plus

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    The front desk staff was fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk staff was fantastic! We were slightly disappointed that the restaurant was closed for dinner on Sunday as that was one of the main reasons we booked the stay. She recommended a little fondue restaurant around the corner, but I doubt it would have been the same experience with the music!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Family room just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room just perfect. Enough space, connecting rooms guaranteed upon booking. Walking distance to the train station, the lake and city center. Pharmacy and supermarket across the street. Calm and safe neighborhood.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in Geneva
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the restaurant was closed due to staff holidays... we had to go a long mile to get some food as we arrived around 10h20pm (kitchens close around 10h30).

    Location, staff and room. Great stay thank you

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Room is nice and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is nice but not very helpful Bed is too soft The restaurant was closed during the time of our stay.

    Room is nice and comfy. Also brings you in a really Swiss experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    Would not come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower door was broken, the breakfast was awful. Scrambled eggs not cooked, muesli thick enough that spoon stood out of it, fruits old, unappatising presentation. Also despite advertising children friendly, resto does not work sundays and they did not tell us that when we booked.

    Staff were really friendly, bed comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, would stay here again, but would not eat here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant's atmosphere was adorable, but the food was terrible - esp the dinner. It's a cute local theme, but the food is simply not good: fish was overcooked, roti was undercooked, french fries were good, but not much else.

    The rooms were a good price and it was great to have two adjoining rooms for our family of four, esp while we dealt with jet lag. There was a cute park outside where our kids could run around as well as two grocery stores, great bakeries and gelato mania as well. It was a short walk to the lake, 5mins to bus station and 7min walk to train station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Nice and cosy place, great location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing against; considered the price, I could not have asked for better

    Very kind staff, cosy and warm place, great location and value for the money. At a walkable distance from the station and the main attractions. 25 minutes walk to Palais des Nations

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.7
    Perfect location, 10 min walk from the main station.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath is very dirty. I was scare of taking the shower as the walls has a lot of mold and rust.

    Perfect location, 10 min walk from the main station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    Near Geneva lake, nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking lot, and the staff won't help you parking the car, you can park the car yourself to its sister hotel, but it's not easy drive to there because so many single way around. Not easy to check in if you drive yourself there and with lots of luggages

    Near Geneva lake, nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    A charming Swiss chalet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are pretty thin/no noice cancellation... could literally hear the intimacy of the room next door...

    The Swiss look!!! Go for it, so cute! Staff is lovely and customer centric!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Staff is superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was not what I expected. I thought it's an old wooden hotel, but it happened to be some modern building that is simply decorated with wood. And the biggest disappointent that in most cases it's plywood.

    Staff is superb! Location is pretty close to almost anything: train station, bus station, river-side.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Simple but comfortable place, everything is there the way...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one small elevator, can be slow at busy times; no space to stop in front to offload the luggage

    Simple but comfortable place, everything is there the way you’d expect it. Nice staff and good value

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Booked this particular hotel because of its position &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked this particular hotel because of its position & its typical "Swiss" look in a sea of chain hotels! Good choice as it turned out!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    If I return to Geneva, I'll most probably stay in Edelweiss Hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Coffee served during breakfast did not have consistency in taste/quality; first day taste was "not coffee" at all, tasted more like tea; 2nd day taste was too much coffee I guess it tasted like chocolate, dark or espresso like.

    The restaurant ambience, the staff were exceedingly courteous, helpful and encouraging; the location is perfect, close to the lake and major shopping, food and shops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel if you want something basic in a good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The entrance/lobby always smells. It's a strong, sweet smell that is very overpowering and not very pleasant. This doesn't transfer to the rooms though. Decor is somewhat kitsch but that's not a dealbreaker.

    Clean room and bathroom. Excellent location, just a minute away from the lakefront, and with plenty of restaurants nearby. WiFi is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location and lovely atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well everything is a bit pricey for non - Swiss travellers but that's Switzerland not the hotel

    Very nice atmosphere, perfect location close to lake and also train station. Room was large and clean, breakfast very nice and filling. Super nice lady at reception (who speaks so many languages!) All the wooden decor makes it feel like a nice mountain retreat, loved it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Very nice family run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If like us you sleep with the window open, the noise from the square outside was a pain. If you closed the window however you can't hear much.

    It had a very Swiss feel to it and a family run feel. The restaurant was very nice ,food good and again an experience for people who have a desire to eat fondue.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.3
    Ok, but would probably stay closer to the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was located in a seedy area of town, homeless people everywhere and red light district nearby. Hotel looked tired and old. Not good value for money.

    Location close to the train station and lake Geneva.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    Lovely 2 days stay at Edelweiss Manotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cooking smells from the kitchen during the evening.

    Lovely room with very comfy bed. Close to train station and lake. Fantastic restaurant with excellent service and good traditional Swiss entertainment for the two nights we stayed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.3
    I don’t recommend that hotel at all !
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel charged me additional money Chf 50.— for cleaning the room because the mess I left (seems that they consider I have to clean the room ? ) Chf 33.— for the full use of the minibar. I have not used the minibar at all. I have to initiate a legal procedure against that hotel not because of the “huge” amount But because I don’t like the way they proceeds

    Le décor

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    its a nice hotel , good location and a good local restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bed and the pillows was too soft, lighting is poor , wifi have to login everyday and many TV channels not working

    Hotel staff is amazing and very helpful . wifi speed is very good and its free. hotel has very good local restaurant, couldn't try it because of the short trip but from the crowds can judge its local favorite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Edelweiss Geneva
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little, a tad too warm if anything.

    It had a unique feel to it, was walking distance from the lake, shops, restaurants and train station. The staff were very accomodating and the restaurant was quite amazing. A good selection of UK TV channels too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.5
    Good accommodations for short term stay. Close to train station and lake. Good restaurants nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelled a little like cheese but once the room was closed it didn’t bother us. I think the room adjoining ours had a party going on. We had to call reception to quite down at 1am and then around 30 min later we are pretty sure they were smoking because we could smell it through the adjoining door. We had to open the window to air it out in the middle of February. Not the hotels fault but it was definitely annoying since we booked non smoking rooms.

    We only stayed for one night on each leg of our trip. It was enough space for my husband and I. My dad, his wife and baby seemed happy with their accommodations. Facilities were clean and the staf was helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.9
    Swiss traditionally designed room, upgraded Bathroom.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Entire hotel, including room was smelling fried oil. First night was horrendous due to heavy smell coming from the in-house Swiss traditional restaurant.

    Swiss traditionally designed room, upgraded Bathroom. Although the in-house restaurant seems to be tourist oriented was really interesting, with quality of food and service higher of what were anticipated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely friendly staff who were really helpful. Great location and very pretty decor. The hotel was very clean and generally just right for a wonderful stay in Geneva, very impressed with the hotel for the money paid.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.5
    Not a bad stay and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bar to relax in could be beneficial The smell of cooked cheese could be a little strong at times

    Fanny was very helpful at reception desk There was also a young lady who was very helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.0
    Would not go there again
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant ventilation is extremely poor.. The whole hotel smells of fried food which stuck to my hair and clothes. Walls are so thin, I heard my Neighbour’s phone conversation in full. I even heard him zip up hid suitcase.

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.3
    Did what it had to do.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was on the first floor by the stairs and could smell the kitchen. The Wi-Fi was a bit uneven at times. Had some trouble getting comfortable in the double bed. Whether it was sheets, pillow, size, mattress, temperature I do not know, but I do not usually have issues.

    Location was perfect for me. Staff had an electricity outlet transformer that I had forgotten. I received for loan with a smile after 1 second.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.5
    The location was great, we loved the little mouette (ferry)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was great, we loved the little mouette (ferry) ride into the city and proximity to parks, restaurants and the Jet d'Eau. We were upgraded on arrival and the bed was extremely comfortable. For travellers , you are provided free rides on all public transport.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.8
    Great little hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been a bit better

    Location was great for our needs and very close to the lake. The room was clean and the bed was really comfortable. Perfect for a quick stay. Didn't eat in the restaurant so I couldn't comment on this.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    The Swiss chalet décor is warm and welcoming.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I booked on Booking.com, I was given the price of 171 euros and the reservation said that I will be charged in Swiss francs - this was indeed the case, but I paid 186 euros. Strange that the exchange rate should change so quickly within 18 hours of the booking made...

    The Swiss chalet décor is warm and welcoming. My room was very comfortable and quiet, and it was within 5 minutes' walk from the lake.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.8
    Good on a (relatively small) budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Strange smells in the lobby and paper-thin walls. An extremely ancient system of electric sockets switched on and off with the card; because of this, charging devices whilst not in the room is rather cumbersome (and it's 2018 so...). Other than that there isn't anything to complain about.

    A good hotel considering its price and location in central Geneva.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff. Easy walk from the train station and a short walk to Lake Geneva and restaurants. Mini bar in room stocked local Geneva made wine. Pleased to find spare, non-feather pillow in the wardrobe for allergy sufferers like me

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    7.1
    Great bathroom, but not the best area to walk around
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unpleasant smell at reception (some kind of cleaning product maybe, and smell of food from the kitchen) Very difficult to find parking.

    The bathroom: big, clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.1
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we had had heavy smell of smoke. We hd to change it to another one (after the second request from our side) and the other room was good, even better in terms of style

    Location is good, not very close to old town, but a 30 mins walk

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    The staff were lovely and very helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were lovely and very helpful! As I was travelling solo, the room was very comfortable and an easy walking distance to anywhere I needed to go - train station, bus station, and even over to the old town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Great Christmas break, fantastic location, brilliant staff, great value for money in Geneva
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only drawback was the sound insulation and the coughing of our neighbours was audible enough to keep us awake. Also a shame was that the room was very hot at night but we didn't look to see if there was air con so this is more our error.

    Not every hotel suits everyone- but this hotel suited us perfectly. The charm, fun style, value for money and simple but very efficient layout was perfect for our stay at Christmas. It's a stones throw from the lake without being on the main drag, sheltered in a lovely square with supermarkets all around and restaurants in every surrounding street. The staff were superb and the on site restaurant is a gem. Really fun place to be whilst in Geneva 😄

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    A very pleasant, charming and cozy hotel in a good location in Geneva, not far from the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    We thought the Edelweiss Hotel felt very Swiss & very charming, compared to other, more modern hotels we considered in Geneva. The room was a bit small but very comfortable. Good value for what we paid, considering Geneva prices.The front-desk staffer, Fanny, was helpful and friendly. We enjoyed a delicious raclette dinner one night in the hotel's busy restaurant. I would definitely go back!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    8.3
    Nice clean rooms in a great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is outrageously expensive, for 18 franks per day. Also, often you can hear a lot of what's going on in the room next door, I had to sleep with earplugs both nights as I was hearing the conversations of my neighbours (and I'm not too sensitive to noises normally).

    I've stayed in this hotel several times before - the rooms are nice and comfy, the room size is perfect, beds are comfortable too. Location is lovely, close to the lake, as well as to Gare du Cornavin, and there's an amazing Lebanese restaurant next door.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Quite simple but very authentic hotel rooms- just what we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really it met all expectations

    Quite simple but very authentic hotel rooms- just what we wanted - had all comforts we were looking for. Restaurant was fantastic - definitely recommend

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    One night in Geneva :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, few min walk from the train station.I loved the decor in the whole hotel. Our room was big enough, comfortable bed. Nice and cosy. Can't say anything bad. The staff was very nice and they let us check in earlier :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable stay, value for money, only 20mins walk into Geneva city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't take the shortcuts from the Train Station to the Hotel via googlemaps .... some seedy looking streets this way and not the best introduction to Geneva. Go the main roads, it's the same timing and more people around.

    Staff were very helpful and we could leave our luggage after check out to collect later in the afternoon to enjoy a stroll around town before leaving that night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.1
    Cute ambience and a short walk to the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to leave earlier than usual after checkout to deal with the car that was parked at the "sister" hotel. Because of construction we had to allow extra time to get there. So we didn't have much time for a big breakfast. I was glad breakfast was included, though. Not the best place to stay if you had a car. The room was a nice size for a European hotel and the water pressure in the shower (important to me) was excellent. Wish the weather was better while we were there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    4.6
    Not to be visited unless they do something about it....even for international guests
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It smells (in an unacceptable way) "Fondue" up o the 5th floor (where I had my room) even in the room. I like to eat a "Fondue" or any cheese specialty but I could not visit their restaurant (I was already disgusted before going down). I really think that smell up to this extend is just inappropriate for a hotel. They do not have the adequate ventilation to serve this type of food. It is a pity ! They really have to work on that... bad image of swissness... and I am swiss and I like the cheese...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.2
    Very cozy hotel, but no dinner without prior reservation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no room in the restaurant. As a hotel guest, that was a disappointment. Upon arrival, I informed that you have to reserve the restaurant with the hotel booking; however, this information is not provided on the Booking site.

    I love the chalet style rooms. Very cozy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    A good base to explore the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV didn't work at all and the shower was at an odd angle so we got water all over the floor. The location was a bit dodgy at night with groups of men smoking weed and drinking until the early hours

    A very Swiss chalet themed hotel in the enter of Geneva and about a ten min walk to the train station. Very clean with helpful staff and although we didn't eat in the restaurant it was really busy. Close to busses which run to the botanic gardens and around the otherside of the lake.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Very good hotel, maybe excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast - lots of fat and bad cholesterol, expensive .

    Nice people at reception and generally all staff; the room had a lot of space; in the city center, very close to the building I visited for business; perfect silence in the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    A Good Hotel in Geneva
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small plaza directly in front of the hotel was a bit noisy with late night talkers and early morning service vehicles. Alternatively, there were several moderately priced restaurants fronting on the plaza.

    The Edelweiss is very well located a few blocks below the main Geneva train/bus station, and above the parks running along the Lake Geneva shoreline. A bus stop is located a few short steps across the small plaza at the front of the hotel. We were given a free transit pass at check-in covering from check-in through check-out days, thus making travel on public transit (buses, trams, even the train to the airport) across the city readily accessible and costless.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely stay in Geneva!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the Place near the hotel.

    Hotel was quaint and staff very helpful. Very clean and modern bathroom. Beds comfy and hotel was within walking distance of the lake.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.8
    A Fun Place to Stay in a Fun City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a quaint little property designed like a Swiss chalet. Not elegant, but fun. Its location about 3 blocks from the lake is very convenient. High point is definitely the restaurant downstairs with a great live band.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.3
    nice hotel but would re-concider staying again because of poor facilities in room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Room 724 - Plug or Floor light behind couch was not working - some switchers of lamps not working, had to force - cheese smell all over the hotel - even on Top floor, made me wanna through up when I smelled first thing in the morning - Check in Cards not working - we and our neighbours we had to call staff at Reception 3 times to help us - In the end we got new cards but still it was trouble - Remote-control was not there when we arrived. We where told later, a remote-control in another room was broken and they used instead the one of our room! Had to wait for ages to get a replacement remote control, which is ridiculous for the room-price you pay - husband wanted to watch football

    - Bed super comfy - Cushion perfect - Breakfast done with love - variety of TV channels - German & Portuguese - it does not even happen in Dubai! - Staff helpful, polite and quick - cleaning lady very nice and did a great job -

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    It was convenient and truly met our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staffs were wonderful and it is quaint hotel with a true swiss feel. Breakfast was great if you like pastry and bread, the hot options were not that good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    Fair price, clean room, helpfull staff, free transportation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    People outside the hotel in the evening.

    Fair price, clean room, helpfull staff, free transportation in front of the hotel, two big supermarkets very near, good italian restaurant and the hotel is near the lake.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    We liked the woody style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception had a very unusual smell and when we asked the front desk they said it's the cheese smell!!! Totally a turn off for us.

    Location was super good close to the lake

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    3.3
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small and old, smelled like strong cheese. There are other hotels close by that are more modern for the same money. Also, be aware that just two blocks away, is one of the streets where you can see prostitutes. This is legal and normal here and even with this, the area is safe, but may not be suitable for all.

    Nothing. If you have not visited Switzerland then this hotel offers you a glimpse of what the country side offers but if you have seen it, it seems cheesy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.3
    The location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    The location is excellent. So close to almost everything, shops, restaurants, cafes, pharmacies and supermarkets. The staff are amazingly friendly and helpful. They offer free transportation tickets that can be used for trains and buses all day. The hotel is so close to the seaside where you can enjoy the view of the fountain. The decoration of the furniture, the mountain style is awesome. I highly recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.9
    The room was relatively spacious, nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Opening the door was a bit tricky, and the staff wasn't the most helpful in explaining the right way to do it. The immediate area of the hotel is definitely not the most pleasing area of Geneva, but we didn't have any bother other than some drunk men trying to talk to us.

    The room was relatively spacious, nice and clean. The location is not exactly the center of Geneva, but close to the lake and the train station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Good location, friendly and well-informed staff, good chef, comfortable bed, good windows. Great.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was excellent, including the shower which was lovely. The dinner in the restaurant was really excellent, even though I was quite late to order. Fresh Perch, from the lake [Lake Geneva/Lac Leman] perfectly cooked, with a lovely cream and dill sauce. Was there a touch of Tarragon there too? Possibly. And the green salad - old fashioned style of the region, takes me back to my first visit to Switzerland as a child nearly half a century ago - just perfect. And delicious regional beer. Friendly staff. All this put me in a good mood for the week. Many thanks.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.7
    It is clean and no noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The left was busy most of the time, so, we had to use the stair with luggage

    It is clean and no noise. The check in process was fast and before the time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    A perfect place to be based when working in Geneva.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The swiss chalet/wood look was a little bit kitch and tired looking - but they had spruced it up with a few modern pieces... so its getting there.

    Reception staff were very efficient, friendly and generally welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    3.8
    nice hotel in a bad neighborhood!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel located in a very bad and dirty neighborhood, you should see it after 8pm when you walk with your family and it's full with weird people and ladies all around the streets waiting to be picked up.

    The only lady who was at the reception second day was very helpful and gave good suggestions to see in the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    Very nice for a business trip or a city break
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WIFI was a bit laggy. The login window took some minutes to open. It was too hot in the bed, during the summer you don't need such a warm blanket. The restaurant went on a holiday, a bit unexpected from a chain hotel (small local chain, but still) - but it appears to be customary in Switzerland, so no hard feelings.

    Quite authentic style, very friendly and helpful staff. I got checked in at 11 am, much appreciated. Good location. The hotel gives you a free ticket for public transport for the length of the trip (maybe it is customary everywhere, but still appreciated)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    6.7
    The staff were helpful and location is good.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was b it run down and dingy. Needs upgrading.

    The staff were helpful and location is good. Waling distance to the train and to Lake Geneva. Shops , restaurant and supermarket all close by.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel, if they got rid of the smell in the lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a really bad stench throughout the hotel as soon as you walk in the hotel but not in the rooms.

    Location and friendliness of staff. Good sized rooms also connecting rooms were available.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.5
    staff helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom outdated, out front of the hotel people in the square were concerning looking. The restaurant was fun but our waiter was pushy about us ordering more and food went to waste and it was expensive.

    staff helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    A pleasant hotel, overpriced for 3 star in a very over-priced City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Funky electrics in bedroom. Turn on lights to work certain plugs. Breakfast very mediocre.

    Well planned bedroom. Spacious with fridge, safe, chairs and table. Excellent bathroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    Charmingly kitschy and well worth a stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Herbal/sweet smell in the lobby was slightly odd.

    Staff were friendly, helpful and familiar with the area. Rooms were comfortable and clean and basic toiletries were available. Convenient location and easy to get to even for someone unfamiliar with Geneva.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.9
    Lovely service with a Swiss twist
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was ok but in the red light district. Not sure how safe it was walking around at night.

    Staff were lovely and very helpful. Restaurant was beautiful with a very nice breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    4.6
    too expensive for what you get
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    they don't have a parking in the hotel but 10 minutes walk and with additional 30 chf cost. I chose the hotel as in the description they mention "parking"

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: