Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Einstein St. Gallen 4 stars

Berneggstrasse 2, 9000 St. Gallen, Switzerland

#3 of 26 hotels in St. Gallen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 654 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to the spa is through a very long corridor

    Absolute clean. Comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast. Access to a spectacular and immaculate spa with a slarge wimming pool with glass walls so that when swimming it is possible to look through to the lower level. Location very close to the famous Abbey Library of Sankt Gallen and the nice old town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The “Comfort Rooms” did not have air conditioning! I had to pay extra to have a room with air conditioning!

    Bed was comfy! Staff especially at the reception were super friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was expensive. Had to go out of the hotel and cross the road to get breakfast. Not a problem but it was cold and raining, so had to bring a jacket and umbrella (Hotel had loads available in the lobby)

    Free access to the Migros Fitness Center beside the hotel, had an underground walkway connection.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was good.

    Hotel is very modern and comfortable. The bathroom is exquisite and the beds very soft. They even had a speaker in the room which was very nice. But those are standard things which you can witness in many good hotels. What struck us the most was absolutely amazing spa with one of the best pools I ever saw. We only stayed for one night but personnel asked if we would like to visit spa even after our check out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mold on the dry apples in the breakfast.

    Attendants in the restaurant were all fantastic!!! Greets to them. Very nice breakfast! Very comfortable room and bathroom. Good internet!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the atmosphere in the rooms was very dried and too hot - mirro only available in the bathroom, not full length

    very smooth bed, quiet neighboorhood, very friendly staff, amazing breakfast - did not get the chance to try the fitness room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly, room and public spaces spotless, good breakfast and great location. We also enjoyed spending an evening in the bar, trying the local beer and enjoying a cocktail.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually me nothing. But my 10 year old daughter was disappointed that she couldn't use the pool due to an age restriction to 16 year (It's a fitness center).

    Great location right at the edge of the gorgeous old town. All amenities in great shape. Room was spacious as well. And the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful at any time. Great place

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    see above

    Hotel is very well located...was not impressed that parking costs were not covered. If a room is advertised as a double room, I do not see the necessity to pay extra for an additional guest in the room (except for special charges of course). All in all a pleasant stay, for weekends the hotel or this platform should consider including breakfast charges...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Sauna was nit really a sauna because it was not really warm. This would make it perfect.

    Nice breakfast, quiet and confi room. Very nice Fitness - very big!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was warm but when windows were opened, there was a lot of noise throughout the night and into the early morning.

    Great location; very helpful staff and excellent breakfadt

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes people chatting and smoking in front of the hotel.

    Comfortable room, new and functional bathroom, good wifi. Great location and friendly welcome. Definitely like to come again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely expensive parking (CHF 30 per day) The check-in procedure for the gym / spa, which is operated by third party provider next door, is very cumbersome and time consuming, while the staff there did not seem to be very forthcoming.

    Comfortable beds, choice of pillows, stone floors (with bathroom floor heated), Nespresso machine in the room, enough space for clothes etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Our trip was a two week tour of Switzerland with my wife, our daughter and her fiance. We booked two nights at Hotel Einstein, a first day to travel in and look around and a second for me to work with a new client. The hotel upgraded our rooms as they had availability. One of the rooms overlooked the town and the other faced trees and gardens out the back. The rooms were spotlessly clean and very large. I've stayed in junior suites that were smaller. Very comfortable bed, chairs and work desk arrangement. Equally large and clean bathroom. A separate building ( Einstein Congress ) has, I believe, an affiliation with the University of St. Gallen. This building is where the dining rooms are located on the ground floor. Food and service were excellent. And to top it off, the prices were very reasonable particularly when compared to the larger cities and tourist destinations in Switzerland. I can't recommend the lovely town and the Einstein hotel highly enough. One last thing - the excellent Swiss rail system offers a train that leaves St. Gallen and goes to Geneva Airport with no changes.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View on first floor, couldn't open blinds because of exposure to the public view. No AC and it was hot when we were there.

    Very nice rooms, clean bath rooms. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was tough to figure out...there was a car parked in the drop-off area and I couldn't fit behind it without blocking the road. So I had to drive around in a circle behind the hotel and when I came from the other direction, the car was still there. My boyfriend went inside and asked what to do, we were told to pull up behind but again there wasn't room. So we ended up asking them to pull up (they had just sat there staring, watching this unfold). Once they did, we were fine but having someone address the parking situation more quickly would be helpful.

    Great location very close to the central area, staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The lobby bar is beautiful and very cozy!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too tiny room - I had DBL for SGL use and I was not able to open my suitcase in the room, because of space missing and no air conditioning at all! I would also expect slightly better choice at breakfast in such an expensive hotel. The hotel is definitely overpriced, very overpriced!

    Calm place if you ask for window into the back courtyard, confortable beds, good spa facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - we were missing a possibility to make coffee and tea in the room, in a 4star hotel we would expect a water cooker; - the light in the room was not sufficient.

    Attendance at reception was very friendly. The room was not ready but we left luggage at the reception and went to the town, coming back the luggage was already in our room. The room was very quiet with a small view over part of the town. The bathroom has a good shower (the option we prefer above a bath)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast : Warm dishes were empty.... no eggs, no scrambled eggs, no pancakes and it took relatively long before it was filled up.. even after mentionning it to the staff Best tables were reserved without a show up during the time I was there And for the drinks.... some people were served warm drinks.. I was never asked what I wanted and had to help myself to the machine

    location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked 10 rooms and needed 11. The hotel was full booked and so they offered us a flat in the congress center for the same price! Thats generosity and flexibility. Even the price was superb, because I booked 3 months ahead. So it was even cheaper than the most of the hotels in town. Short before the stay it would have been nearly dopple the price. Perfect stay, perfect staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, only the breakfast is a bit expensive.

    The hotel is at an excellent location. Quiet but right in the center. The rooms are large, clean, and up to date. The hotel has some classic "grandeur" making it an enjoyable place to be.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good hotel in St Gallen although getting a bit old. Bathroom was nicely renovated. Central location. They seem to have a good bar and convention center although I didnt have time to go.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) One day my room`s key was deactivated from unknown reason- it made me to waste quite a deal of my time; 2) During check-in day administrator gave me false information about every-day`s breakfast, i.e. during check-out it became clear that there was not made the pay for last day`s breakfast though I asked administrator during check-in for several if it was ok and paid. She confirmed that yes it was ok. So I had to pay once again when I checked out. Fortunately I had enough money on my bank-account. But all the situation was frustrating and humiliating; 3) I expect that when client arrives hotel 15:00 p.m. the room is set and ready to enter. I had to wait in the lobbey 20 min before I got my room`s key.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit hilly so quite difficult to pull all the heavy luggages up to check in. Didn't connect well from the congress centre.

    Good breakfast, especially nice omelette. 1min walk to the Abbey & beautiful Library heritage site.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities for swimming and spa was from a 3rd party which is closed after 6pm during the weekends! Which was a bit pity as we wanted to swim and take a massage but we were unable as we were after 6pm! A hotel with 4 stars with considerable room rate should have facilities of their own or if it is a 3rd party, should have a deal which keeps open till late so the guests can access it.

    The hotel was quite in a nice location. The staffs were really friendly and were helpful as we had a mistake in our reservations. They quickly solved the problem and provided us with a good room. The breakfast is also really good as food in St.Gallen is generally expensive!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast room is a bit of a marble hall, lacking a bit of coziness IMHO

    Proximity to the old city center. In walking distance to the train station. Spacious and comfortable room with a very comfortable bed. They even have a pillow menu if you're very picky. Very nice and complete breakfast, I didn't miss a single thing. Very clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No balcony and just a bit too expensive.

    St Gallen town was truly wonderful. Cannot recommend it enough. Hotel Einstein was in a very good location, close to the old town centre. Room was spacious and spotless. Car parking (not cheap) was under the Einstein Conference Centre next door.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t find negative something to say here.

    Everything was perfect. Just keep at the same manner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need renovation ... the interiors are outdated

    The location is perfectly in the centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was limited and basic

    Check-in was super fast, huge room, and friendly staff, close to station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 30 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old rooms.

    Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was just perfect!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room a bit dark, hard to work there

    fitness has nice pool

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Rooms are exceedingly clean and the beds are very comfortable. All Staff are extremely efficient, professional, friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the spa and pool with glass bottom. They gave me a free transport card which was a wonderful perk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    perfect location for old town

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's nothing not to like.

    Comfortable room in a top hotel close to the city centre. Friendly staff, excellent service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    its such a lovely hotel in st gallen, very close to town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Spacious rooms...awesome staff...perfect location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice room, small but new bathroom. Apples.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too soft for us.

    Breakfast. Comfortable clean room with windows openable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The adaptor situation was very special so very difficult to charge if u don't have the right one with u

    The room was great!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It doesn't have cooling system is very bad didn't tell us vary bad I wish we know be for booking it no good we didn't have good sleep 😠

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath would be nice

    Spa. Room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel with good services and nice location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to go outside to another building for breakfast

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Top hotel in St.Gallen

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    curtains don't blind the room

    very good service and got free upgrade to jnr suite

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    that you pay for parking

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff, comfort, room size, ambience

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lacking a little charm and originality

    Very nice staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice place at fantastic location; just few minutes from the city center and historical attractions. Very helpful and hospitable staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No ventilation in Bathroom. Unacceptable in a 4 star hotel.

    Gluten free cereal available

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very nice environment! Ecellent service. suitable for business trip.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location to station and center.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    billows would need to be more comfortable

    The room was very comfortable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking is not cheap in the garage outside of the hotel.

    Almost everything. Service, room, view on the city, Wi-Fi internet.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well located nice and renovated restroom and good gym.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking expensive

    Clean, Nespresso in room, comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cushion and mattress were too soft

    Was very nice place with great gym access and good food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to note. All was good.

    Great gym! Nice room service.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    excellemt location

    close to old town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel and St Gallen were both a very positive surprise. Wonderful library, interesting Saturday market, great old town. A great hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ladies Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air-con, super quite

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly and welcoming staff. Very good breakfast. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Good pool and facilities. Excellent hotel bar.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-con. It's pretty hot in the summer

    Great pool. Very close to the old town. Really comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The Bed was supper comfortable Nice easy location to the square

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning & it was warm at night

    It's walkable to the lovely library, unesco building & nice places to eat nearby

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows

    Convenient

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: