Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ermitage 3 stars

Bei Sesselbahn Oeschinensee, 3718 Kandersteg, Switzerland

Review score

Based on 190 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony South Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!Loved

    Superb hotel in great location, quiet and peaceful with gorgeous mountain views. Close by the gondola station, which provides access to superb hiking. Appreciated free gondola passes. Excellent breakfasts.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Breakfast was excellent. Very fresh. Location also very nice. Just opposite to the Rope car. Received free ticket from hotel for that. Enough car parking is there and it is free. Overall everything went fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, fantastic staff, rooms were very clean and had a phenomenal view! Loved the stay. They also gave free passes for the Cable car ride which is less than 20 yards from the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony Southside
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property has rooms varying in size and comfort, all very clean and quite modern. I would like to thank the owner for giving us a superb suite this time. We were lucky to have a huge room with a great balcony and a jacuzzi in the bathroom. It made our short holiday unforgettable. Breakfast was very good and I wouldlike to warmly recommend the restaurant where they serve truly tasty dishes. Parking lot was large. A big plus are the gondola tickets one receives for free during the summer season

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room without Balcony South Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has a great location next to cross country pists and the lift to Oeschinensee. The staff is very friendly. The hotel has a great nice price-value ratio.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good quality breakfast with local products. Proximity to the Ski area Oeschinen is ideal. Gondola station just accross the road. Ski rental outlet Intersport at the gondola station. Ermitage has a very practical store room for skis and shoes. Sledges are complimentary to enjoy the nearby sledging run

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room without Balcony South Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds are a bit too firm for me, but that's not a deal breaker either.

    The Hotel is in a perfect location for skiing and sledding, just by the gondolabahn and the sports store. Breakfast is very good and the restaurant at night has excellent food. The staff and owner are delightful. I have stayed here with my family and friends a multitude of times.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning service is very poor. We had lunch in the room and the plates with leftover were left in the room for two days.

    Location is perfect. Hospitality of the owner and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony South Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in the "standard room without balcony, south side". By American standards the room was very small and the bathroom was below par. Really no place to put the luggage to unpack without using the only chair.

    Restaurant and bar staff was excellent. Food was good and the quantity was large.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    May be little tray for coffee and tea will be nice, but that is a minor thing

    Brilliant, we all love it, nice family room, nice location, very polite staff. The owner was very helpful when we asked for help.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location next to gondola. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Facility is spotless and modernized while maintaining Swiss charm. Very good breakfast. Very convenient to activities around Kanderstag.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place literally just few steps from the cable car station, very friendly staffs and most importantly they have indoor and outdoor play areas which are more than enough to entertain my kids

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony Southside
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is different from the picture. Would be great to know the room style in advance.

    Perfect location. Excellent service. Helpful staff. Tasty food for both breakfast and dinner. Overall a very comfortable stay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony Southside
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no lift. not a problem for us but not great for older guests. flies in restaurant.

    nice location beside gondola. great view from balcony. lovely relaxed setting. restaurant was very good. comfortable room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The inn keeper works very hard to keep restaurant and inn running smoothly. But for the first three days of our visit their ice-maker was broken so he became frustrated with me each day as I asked for ice. But in every other way he was gracious and accommodating.

    Hotel is about a 5-10 min walk slightly uphill from "downtown." Right at base of lift and trailhead. Super quiet and peaceful. The views are staggering! All hotel staff try their best to make you feel welcome and at home. Food is excellent. Our family room room was very spacious. We enjoyed having what felt like our own terrace with table & chairs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony Southside
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are a little dated.

    There is a lot of traffic in Kandersteg, however the great location of the hotel a little outside the village means it is very quiet and peaceful. There is a wonderful view from the room and the cable car station lies just next to the hotel. The beds are very comfortable. The staff is perfect, very attentive and helpful but never pushy. Breakfast is very good with high quality products. All in all a very good hotel in that price range. The area is stunningly beautiful and Ermitage is a wonderful place to stay and have a relaxing time and discover nature.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room without Balcony South Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit hot in the room, surprisingly, as it was freezing cold outside.compared to the rest of the area, the restaurant isn't pricy, but compared to my moral standard it is.

    The bed sheets are super comfy, it's right at the bottom of the gondola, and the owner was super amazing friendly! He even had free passes up the gondola for guests! Great hot chocolate, and nice rooms. Super clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to not like.

    Everything was great! Location, staff, manager, the restaurant food options, the breakfast. Easy to call this our best experience of staying at a hotel in Switzerland till date. A lot also has to do with the wonderful place that Kandersteg is.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room without Balcony South Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's not that we didn't like it, we just wish that breakfast had a little more variety, or at least few more fruits and vegetable options.

    Proximity to the gondola and hiking trails all around. Hotel is in town but yet not in town, so perfect that we didn't want to leave. You can easily walk into town via the walking and very scenic path. Very clean and spacious rooms and updated bathrooms. Restaurant on site was a bonus. They even allowed us to use their sleds free of charge which saved us some money. If opportunity comes up, we will be back.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every courtesy was extended to us. The staff, room and breakfast was excellent . We stayed for an evening meal for two nights at the restaurant and found the meal to be excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony Southside
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For our stay had no dislikes.

    A warm happy welcome. Very comfortable, spotless room. Really wonderful delicious , beautifully cooked, all local food. Not a cheap stay, but my husband and I thought it was great value for money. Great location, for walkers.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Every thing was wonderful and the owner very nice man really and also the stuff they are very friendly I took family room it's was big and the food OMG delicious 100% I give him 5 star .. When I come back I will stay in same hotel ..

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony South Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. Had a corner room with great view of mountains. Comfortable with all amenities one would like plus great variety for breakfast including homemade bread. Staff and owner very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect accommodation, great owner and his stuff, clean and spacious room, calm location,... and try a lunch/dinner for sure, owner's wife cooks really delicious meals. Nothing to complain at all.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room without Balcony South Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What was there not to like....nothing. It was excellent.

    The breakfast was excellent and the dinner wonderful!!!! Spotlessly clean. Loved everything about the Ermitage and will return to Switzerland in 2 years. We will stay here again but longer as you can get around by train to many places. The waitress was delightful and I will be sending her a picture soon. Thank you for a great stay. See you in 2 years.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony South Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Better to be at breakfast before 0930 otherwise no yoghurt/bread/eggs

    Private sauna when you make reservations - perfect!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Missing some indoor spaces for kids to play

    The room was very nice and the food too. We enjoyed our stay and we'll surely be back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony Southside
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super friendly staff, well located room was very clean free wifi

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony South Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Optimal location for viking om the Alps.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony Southside
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms and bed

    Good restaurants, convenient location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flies in the restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Needed thinner duvets for summer

    Fantastic location for walkers just by cable car up to Oechinensee, fabulous views Great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony Southside
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a big bag, and they didn't want to give us a ride to (or from) hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony Southside
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    About 1km from main bus and train.

    Close to gondola station for oeschinensee. Wandeepass was included. Free lift and bus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location to beautiful hiking, helpful staff, good food, clean and comfortable rooms. Would stay here again and highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony Southside
    • Stayed 1 night

    the restaurant is not so clean because many flys around us during the breakfast

    the location is perfect, surrounding is so beautiful!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room without Balcony South Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable.. very friendly hosts

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony Southside
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was Perfect

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room was a bit dark

    The location is very convenient (just in front of the Oeschinensee cable car). Nice restaurant and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable family room, nice to have pool table and excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, friendliness of staff, breakfast, good value lunch deal

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 11 nights

    a bit more light and an extra chair in the appartment would be great.

    Just a great place to be!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Nothing, we come back there.

    Alles war nur gut!!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony Southside
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The home cooking at the restaurant was superb!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room without Balcony South Side
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find anything to fault

    The service, food and location were outstanding

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony Southside
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Flies, but these are difficult to control

    Location and everything about the hotel and staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Would have like a balcony

    The surrounding green area

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    there were so many flies in the breakfast room and on the food!! we didn't eat the breakfast because it was very ugly (see photos)

    the location is near the Gandola and Sauna was modern and new.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The breakfast time was a bit short, only until 10 am.

    The location was excellent, right next to the lift to go up the mountain for the Alpine Slide. We were well accommodated despite our late arrival after midnight. Breakfast was sufficient. There were good facilities for the kids at the location as well.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is a typical Swiss hotel (one of the good ones). - The room is very clean, the furniture and bed linen are of high quality. -The location and FREE parking are a plus. - Prices in the hotel's restaurant are decent, compared to other places. - I appreciated the most that the hotel's building was built for the purpose and there is good sound proofing. Most of the hotels I stayed in the Kandertal or Jungfrau are older buildings and quality of sleep is poor there. At Ermitage Hotel one can get a good night's sleep even if the room is located on top of the restaurant. That is the most important to me!

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although this is clearly a ski lodge, we were here in the fall and loved its location right at the gondola station, making it easy to head up to the high country for spectacular hiking. The breakfast was excellent, the dinner menu diverse and not unreasonable for Switzerland.. We extended our stay for a day and we're glad we did.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not an issue for us, but no lift and 3 floors.

    Cannot fault this hotel. Spotlessly clean, lovely staff, great food (and wine) - great location - try it!

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    None

    We are from Beijing China. The owner of this hotel is very kind. The food is fantastic and the room is very comfortable. English speaking staff is very helpful. We will come back again!

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Its just a bit annoying when it rains as the station is like 15 minutes walking distance but even though the hotel provides free bus service to pick up and drop off.

    The location of this Hotel is just perfect if you want to be lost in the nature and just across the road you have the cable car to take you up in the mountains to Oceanna Lake.The Manager and the staff was very nice and helpful. Breakfast was nice though there was not any fruits except peach. We really enjoyed the fresh home made bread.The manager goes beyond extent just to make us feel at home. The dinner was very classy and delicious and A Star Rate. I had the best time jumping in the trampoline and swinging.I would recommend this hotel to everyone and I would definitely go back there with friends and family.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Fantastic restaurant which provided superb food in spacious yet very cosy surroundings run by very pleasant husband and wife team . Spacious spotlessly clean rooms. The hotel is very modern but with a very homely and comfortable feel about it. We thoroughly enjoyed our 6 day stay in Ermitage and hope to return soon

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only criticism was a lack of English speaking tv.

    The lovely atmosphere in the hotel. The hotel was spotlessly clean. And the food was excellent. We had a perfect time.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, except you need to carry your luggage on the staircase.

    Great staff team, good location, delicious food

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This a clean, well-run hotel just beside the gondola cars.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location View Staff Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing- we would go back!

    Great location. Very clean. Great service and helpful. Nice breakfast. Nice room with deep balcony and big bath. All good!

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: