Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Romantik Hotel Europe 4 stars

Dufourstrasse 4, Seefeld, 8008 Zürich, Switzerland

#40 of 121 hotels in Zürich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 541 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Romantik Hotel Europe
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Power points for charging devices were ramshackle. Lift signs were counter-intuitive. Check in clerk not over-friendly. Bathroom short of shelf space. Breakfast not included and expensive by UK standards - but not expensive by Swiss standards.

    Small room on 5th floor. Clean and characterful. Bathroom well organised but big shower head generated little power. Well-placed shaving mirror. Public areas furnished in belle epoque fashion.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Small charming hotel close to the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are indeed small. Central air conditioning was not working in our room and we had a mobile unit and hence we had a choice - either to sleep in a quiet or in a cool room.

    Great location close to Opera and the lake. Very comfortable bed and linen give you great rest. Nicely decorated room. Small hotel hence they know you from day one. Excellent beer on tap in the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, cosy and pretty boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe I’m wrong and didn’t see those, -but absence of light buttons and electricity socket close to the bed

    Excellent location, cosy and pretty boutique hotel. Clean and very comfortable bed (including pillows and duvet)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.5
    i like the location, it's close to the train station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bed was very small and they told me that the standard for single room is a very small bed and my booking was single room with one twin bed and i was chocked to see how small the bed size is.

    i like the location, it's close to the train station and tram few minutes walking and also close to the lake The cleanliness was perfect and the staff was helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.0
    Not sure in which universe this is a 4.5* hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel falls very far below expectations for a 4-star property. The common areas were stuffy and slightly smelly, the room was extremely poky and dated and the bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on in a hotel. There was no mini bar, no gowns, no tea and coffee making facilities, the towels didn't smell fresh, the shower was dreadful with shonky fittings and the room extremely dated with a wardrobe that my friend described as 'totally useless'. We were actually in pain from the bed, which was very small and I spoke to a woman who was staying in a suite who said that their bed was OK so the standard rooms obviously have different mattresses in them! The bare minimum was done to try and address the situation and staff on the whole were pretty clippy and disinterested, with the exception of Housekeeping who were pretty nice but I'm not sure if that goes with the territory in that neck of the woods. The hotel and especially the bed are so important if you are away from home and it is incumbent on the staff to go out of their way to help you, which they don't and the males especially had quite a lot of attitude. The experience extended to the cafe which had crumbs all over the floor and pretty unhelpful staff, along with sub-standard fare. Such a shame as the location was great but we would NEVER stay in this hotel again as it was severely over-priced and under-par. Not good value for money at all. We are wondering where all the good reviews have come from. Choose somewhere else to stay if the hotel is important to you.

    The location was very good, though it was noisy during the night. We don't have anything else good to say. I've only had two bad hotel experiences in many years of travelling all over the world and this was one of them.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Amazing in every way possible, loved helpful friendly staff ,cleanliness,great location central for
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly everything and everyone was very good also location was perfect. I can’t think of anything I didn’t like , except having to leave.

    The service was excellent , and the bed was so comfortable you really do not want to get out of it. The hotel was so close to everything,lake,tram,station that saved going to main Bahnhof when you need to leave for airport. Easy walk to boats and to old city ,which is a must see .Both evening and morning receptionists were so helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    The location is very central and the room is well decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is a bit soft and the furniture a bit old.

    The location is very central and the room is well decorated. Each room is special and I thought hat gave a special touch.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Excellent stay at Romantik Hotel Europe
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The continential breakfast was quite basic. Would have preferred a wider choice of food e.g. fruit, pastries.

    I really liked how friendly and helpful the staff were. The staff were also very warm and welcoming at breakfast. The hotel facilities were lovely and the room and bathroom were always very clean. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    - Great location, just behind the Opera and right next to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Breakfast was good but I would expect a larger variety of choices - Wifi quite slow

    - Great location, just behind the Opera and right next to the lake of Zurich - Beautifully decorated room, spacious,clean and comfortable - Comfortable, large bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    the rooms were spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast had only boiled eggs, the staff at the breakfast were all over the place.

    the rooms were spacious the front desk staff were super friendly and helpful 1-minute walk to lake Zurich and 10mins to the old town. Water for free and you can refill the bottles in the water room. Parking was a 1 minute walk away at the opera house, it costs 45chf per day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Really great, thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room with Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sign on the front door could be a bit more prominent-I walked past it twice before I realised where it was!

    The hotel was lovely and in the perfect location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    + very friendly staff at reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - queen bed was OK, but not super comfy - room and lobby are rather small

    + very friendly staff at reception + lovely decorations throughout the hotel + much attention to details

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel Great staff just a little noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy with street restaurants, house cleaners very noisy on floors below and above and restaurant at hotel noisy setting up for next day

    Large room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Just steps away from the Opera, the location is ideal for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just steps away from the Opera, the location is ideal for walking by the lake and into the Old Town. Very friendly and helpful staff. The room was small but ideal for a short stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    OLD WORLDLY HOTEL WITH AN EXCELLENT LOCATION!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single lift was very small and slow especially in the morning when guests were departing and staff wanting to use it. However, at least there was a lift that saved lugging suitcases up and down the stairs.

    The Romantik Hotel Europe was easy to get to from the airport if you used public transport. It was within easy walking distance from the station with two large suitcases. The staff at the hotel told us about various sightseeing activities that we could do upon arrival. We arrived early in the morning. Our room was not available but we booked in and later in the afternoon when we returned to the hotel, our luggage was already in our room. The hotel was very quiet and the beds were extremely comfortable. The best part of the hotel was the location which was a short distance to Lake Zurich, the Opera Plaza, the old town and numerous restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    The absolute best hotel we’ve stayed at in all of Europe...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The absolute best hotel we’ve stayed at in all of Europe (and we’ve been all over many many times). Exquisite room, service, and location. Absolutely perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    A little jewel in Zurich Best Hotel to stay in Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I like everything of this beautiful hotel. Front desk staff excellent. Delicious breakfast. Location can, t be better. Wish we could stay longer. Rooms big, neat and comfortable. Great hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.0
    The location is fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is defiantly not worth the value. Almost 1000 bucks for two nights and got a really horrible room. It’s so small and facilities are so old.

    The location is fine

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    I like everything in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like everything in the hotel. It basically has everything you'd ask for. Clean room, nice facilities, friendly staff. I was a little unsure about the location before arriving, but it turned out to be a quite good location, where it has train station close to the hotel. I was living the the hotel next to Zurich HB station for the first several days. Compared with living next to the main station, the hotel here is less expensive, and you can get a bigger room, newer facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Chic and charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was at the rear so the view was not to write home about and air con struggled but it was a very hot weekend.

    Great location, friendly staff. very clean. Pleasant outdoor area for drinks on a warm summer evening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Charming hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved everything. Quirky and very clean. Excellent location on the edge of the Old town and extremely colse to the lake with gorgeous cafes and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location and has a whisky bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was pretty basic for the price.

    Comfortable room and bathroom, great location. The staff were eager to please. Handy to a range of restaurants. Special bonus was the whisky bar!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.3
    Pretty boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy checking us out was not so great. He did not help with the bags at all which was still fine but also told us to move our bags out of the way quickly when we were checking out at 4:30 AM. They have a tiny front desk area not sure where he wanted us to put our luggage while we got our rental cars . Also they have only one tiny little elevator - our group of eight had to make several trips to get our bags down from the 5th floor.

    Our rooms were very pretty with gorgeous wallpaper. Bathrooms were a little bit on the smaller side but enough for us - I really loved the toiletries.The location of the hotel was also really great with plenty of restaurants close by and there was a covered parking lot extremely close to the hotel which was great to park our rental cars in. The front desk person checking us in was excellent- he was so helpful and informative and helped with all our luggage and was generally very personable ( wish I could remember his name).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    4.2
    Service and facilities not so good compared to the money charged by the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Communication facilities are very poor. Restaurant and meals poor. Even at 10 pm no food available in restaurant. No value for the rate the hotel charged from us. Staffs are not co operative.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Very good place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was terrible. We wake up everyday with back pain. Need change the mattress urgent!

    Very good place. Near train station and near the lake. Good region

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful. We will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Raised thresholds in doorways, other one gets used to them after an encounter or two. Unlabeled steps up and down in the basement bathrooms.

    The staff was, to a person, fantastic! Everybody was a joy to meet and they were all very helpful. The restaurant dinner was delicious. It was a little pricey, but not out of line with other hotel restaurants. The bed was extremely comfortable. We plan to return to Zürich as it’s a great starting place to start a vacation . when we come back, we will stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    It's a great location, the staff are friendly and helpful and we had a very comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been useful to have some written information to help understand the process of buying a Train Ticket or Tram Ticket because the ticket machines were quite complicated.

    Each room was cosy and individually decorated. The basket of fruit and biscuits in reception was a nice touch. The shops, bars and restaurants were all in easy reach. There were plenty of transport options near by and Zurich Lake is beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.4
    Poor quality/price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small and decorated in a classic antique style with old uncomfortable beds. The noise from the street below was evident all night long. You can here conversations from the rooms next to yours. Definitely not the hotel I expected to encounter. Breakfast is not worth the price. Overall poor quality for the expensive price of one night.

    Water pressure in the small shower was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    It’s a romantic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The angle of floor is not flat, there is a door in the bathroom, I felt a little afraid, but reception said it’s ok, and no one entered my room during my stay.

    Decor is beautiful, and staff is helpful, everything seems perfect. The location is ok, nearby lake, and train station( to S16, to airport)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Just like what other already commented, this is a very nice...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not really

    Just like what other already commented, this is a very nice hotel, everything is perfect. I am one person, stayed in a tiny room, but it is ok for me, comfort and sufficient. The retaurant downstairs serves good food, cost appox. 45 CHF at least for one main dish and one drink. I think it is a bit expensive, but the food & environment is worthy for it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    The interior is wonderful and the rooms are very clean and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit on the pricey side, but it’s Switzerland...

    The interior is wonderful and the rooms are very clean and neat. I had an amazing bed, with wonderful ‘Austrian’ pillows and duvets. Staff is friendly and the check-in was very efficient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Romantic and Worth Every Penny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    The room was gorgeous, the bed super comfortable. They noticed it was my birthday when I checked in and put a box of chocolates in my room while I was out. The woman at the front desk was helpful and very kind. I had one of the best birthdays I’ve ever had and the romantic setting was key. Check-in and check-out were both fast too. Loved the crystal chandelier. We will definitely be back!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.8
    Very good location, very good staff, very clean room
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so much facilities around the hotel. Breakfast not so good.

    Very good location. In walking distance from train station and public transport, only 3 minutes. Very good staff. Very good cleaness and comfort.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.9
    Convenient but was not up to 4* rating hotels we have stayed at in other countries
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facility in bedroom considering it was a 4*. Had we realised this before booking we would have opted for another hotel that we found with this. The very very small step to the bathroom could have been dangerous if one slipped. Could do with a sign in the bedrooms (rather than in the list in the book) that the shoe cleaner was only on first floor. Bed very firm - husband suffered back pain which he does not usually have.

    Location. Polite and friendly staff. Cleanliness

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    4.2
    Very bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager of the property she was very rude to us The story started when we checked in Miss Patricia was at the front desk and I requested to upgrade 2 rooms to 2 suites after she did this she said that the breakfast is included with the rooms rate After two days the manager of the property came to us and said that she would charge us for the breakfast for the previous 2 days because it's not included in the rate I answered her that this is what we were told by Patricia and Manager says no I would charge it on you although there is no receipts be signed from our side for the breakfast when Patricia came the manager ask her She says yes I told them that the breakfast is included so the manager got angry and says that she will take the money from Patricia which is Fr.200 I gave my credit card to the manager i'd ask her to charge these Fr.200 from my credit card not from Patricia The manager could solve the problem very politely with me I will pay the money I have no problem but because she was very rude this is what make me upset And also the way the manager treated miss Patricia

    The only thing I like in this hotel is one off the stuff the front desk Miss Patricia she was very helpful and kind

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    The Romantic Hotel Europe in Zurich: a delightful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The Romantic Hotel Europe is a delightful find, near Zurich's Opera House and a few steps from the lake. It is cozy and Old World, with a very friendly staff. A highly recommended establishment.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    5.0
    Not worth staying here. Got to be better options in Zürich!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor value for money capped off with the hotel forgetting to service my room! Bed sagged in the middle. Tap fell off in the bathroom. Shower didn't work properly. Needed a PHD to work the lights. In a word..disappointed!

    Not a lot

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.6
    Very nice and welcoming environment, Staff is really helpful...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast is not that big

    Very nice and welcoming environment, Staff is really helpful, kind and nice to interact with. Room is very clean, cozy, new and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.6
    This boutique hotel is a real gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The space downstairs was very limited, with the bar, restaurant and reception area all squeezed in together. There isn't much that can be done with this as that's the space that's available. Just don't expect a large luxurious lobby!

    I'm always in search of quality boutique hotels. This time I found a real gem. Our room was beautifully decorated with all the facilities you would expect in a modern hotel. One thing to note is that the rooms seemed to be upgraded recently or in recent years. The furnishings and carpets were fresh and new although there was a very traditional feel to the room, which we loved. We had a chandelier for goodness sake. Where else would you get that?! And they must have Europe's cutest lift. I'll say no more! The location of the hotel was also excellent, situated right behind the Opera House and just on the lake (note - no lake views). It was a pleasant stroll of 10/15 minutes to old town and the main shopping street. The location of the hotel gave us the best of both worlds. Breakfast was included in our deal and while not extensive, it was more than adequate. Fresh croissants, juice, yogurts, cheese and the usual fayer you expect from a continental breakfast. Note to my Irish readers - you won't be getting a full Irish, but hey, you're in Europe now; experience their food! Finally, the owners and staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. It's worth noting that the hotel is so small that they get to know you if you stay for more than a few nights. All in all it was a very positive experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    A great choice in Zürich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View was nothing special, but were happy to trade that for a good value.

    Very convenient - outside of main tourist area but walkable - charming neighborhood right by Opera and across a plaza from a major train stop / tram hub. Room was charming, wifi reliable, and the staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Great location and great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location bedside the zürich lake and right in the city, staff in the hotel is very nice and professional, rooms are clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    Great location,very friendly and helpful staff,tasty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast has 2 price variations but even if you choose an expensive one the egg dishes are for an extra payment.I think that one 2-egg dish per person should be included in that expensive one.No in room mini bar.

    Great location,very friendly and helpful staff,tasty breakfast.We had a beautiful lake-view room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    Lovely Hotel, Great Location and lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room with Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only issue was that the bathroom filled up with cigarette smoke as I was on the 1st floor and people were smoking in the back courtyard. I brought this up with the receptionist when I left on Sunday, 18TH June.

    The Hotel is beautiful and the staff extremely friendly and professional. My only issue was that the bathroom filled up with cigarette smoke as I was on the 1st floor and people were smoking in the back courtyard. I brought this up with the receptionist when I left on Sunday, 18TH June.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.6
    Great location with very smart rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Breakfast was the biggest let down, the price for a buffet, that hardly matched previous experiences of a buffet, was very high. Choosing individual items was the other option, but you literally get one bread roll, one egg, one serving of bacon etc.

    Very nice traditional hotel, about 100m from the edge of Lake Zurich. Friendly & helpful staff. Clean and well furnished rooms. Parking had to be in a public underground car park, a short drive away.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    5.0
    Terrible hotel over-rated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no soundproof i could hear people walking on above floor and the chandelier was shaking all night everytime people on fourth floor walked??? I Also there is mo AC in the room and it was hot and stuffy. The most shocking thing is for 5 star hotel to charge its customers extra money for ordering eggs even though i paid extra for breakfast!!! Honestly dont bother to stay in this hotel it is not even 3 stars standard

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommend this place..felt like a princess
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't comment on anything I didnt like.

    Very Helpful and Friendly staff,great location, great bar and rooms are beautifully decorated. Good European Breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    NIce hotel for romantik weekend in Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excelent location (near to the Lake, Opera House, city center, train station). Very good service and wonderful breakfast. Very good restaurant inside used to have a Micheline award.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    Wonderful staff and ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only negative thing was that the breakfast included only cold items and no eggs (which are pretty standard fare in Europe). However, since we always eat too much of the delicious European food, a light breakfast was okay.

    The front desk staff were the friendliest and most helpful that I have ever encountered anywhere in Europe. We stayed 2 nights at the hotel separated by a week and all the staff we met were fantastic. They showed us to our room, carried our luggage and had helpful tips about nearby shops. The location of this hotel is ideal, just 2 short blocks from a train station (at which the airport train stops) and only a block from the lake is ideal. The Opera House is across the street. We needed to be at the airport at 6:00 AM on our final day and were able to take a 5:41 AM train by just walking 4 minutes from the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    4.2
    An hotel for people that has more money than good reasons to spend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'm really shocked by the value for money. This hotel is very expensive and old fashioned. The breakfast was a disaster, dry cheese, dry ham - very small choice ... We had diner at the restaurant and paid 120 CHF for 2 glasses of wine, and 2 big tartars ... we went to McDonalds afterward... Extremely disappointed.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    7.5
    We enjoyed the 2 nights and we hope the hotel management take our recommendation as positive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of maintenance on the electrial furniture.cleaning was missing on surfaces of doors, walls and decorations. Bed was very soft and the mattresses needs to be changed.

    The location and staff plus the stylish decor.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    9.2
    Great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is perfect, and the style, decor of the hotel is great. The staff were fantastic, we had gone to Zurich for a music concert but found on the day the concert had been cancelled, the hotel reception telephoned the ticket agency in Switzerland and actually posted our tickets back for us registered mail so that we would receive a refund - fantastic service !

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    8.8
    Everything nice, can improve the breakfast choices
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast limited choices, had to order warm breakfast at a cost

    Staff very nice and friendly and helpful Bonus drink vouchers Nice restaurant for dinner Location Very nice bar - great staff, very friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic location; wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Floor in the room was sloping which gives a rather weird feeling

    Excellent location for Zürich (hard to find a better place for a city trip), very friendly staff, good quality breakfast (not huge but certainly sufficient), nice romantic style of the hotel, bathroom was ok

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room didn't have any tea/coffee facilities. The bed was comfortable, but not stable, on the wheels so kept moving all the time. I expected to have hot breakfast options. Not sure if there was an option as the waiter asked only about the coffee.

    The hotel is in the perfect location, close to everything. Station is couple minutes away and tram is even closer. The room was clean and comfortable. Staff friendly, and very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    9.2
    Always a pleasure, lovely staff and qaint rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The styling of the room and hotel is lovely, I have stayed here a couple of times and will return again. For the location and quality, this is reasonable pricing for Zurich

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    8.3
    The staff at the reception desk were very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no minifridge in the room. I could not find sockets near nightstands to charge my Iphone.

    The staff at the reception desk were very friendly and helpful making sure that I can get the most out of my trip. Good service in the restaurant. Comfortable bed. Excellent location (especially if you are in Zurich for opera).

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    9.6
    A Zurich charmer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms would have been a lovely extra.

    The location was magnificent with proximity to all that Zurich has to offer. The hotel was charming with delightful old world appeal whilst providing modern day comfort. The staff could not be faulted, they were friendly, unerringly helpful and couldn't do enough for us.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    5.8
    would not recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - no hot water, it's just lukewarm at 38C and no way to change it. Feels cold when you get in the shower before the body adjusts to the temperature, which is a bummer after a hard day. I was astonished by this. Is the hotel trying to save on water bills in such a weird way? - the mattress is bad. The pillows are of a wide and flat variety. I don't have back problems but I was uncomfortable because of thisin the mornings. The blanket's too thin for a winter. - no fruit or any fresh produce on breakfast. - a bit loud outside but that's to be expected

    good location. An excellent location fast Internet lovely design, though wallpaper's old and worn a kettle is available on request the staff's ok an adjustable heater in the room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    9.2
    Gem in the heart of Zurich !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room with Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    having to leave ! Will stay longer next time !

    The location is perfect for touring Zurich on foot! It is near everything . Always easy to find as the opera house is a beacon to show you the way ! The young couple who are the owners are charming and very helpful . I came home late from a concert and was very hungry not having had dinner beforehand . A lovely staff person personally made a tray of cheeses, veggies and bread fit for a queen! Just going that extra mile seems the norm in this establishment .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    9.2
    Charming hotel close to Opera
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room with Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included to the price and quite expensive when bought afterwards.

    Lovely boutique hotel close to opera. Very clean, standard room quite small, but sufficient. Very clean and charming. Nice bar and good restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    9.6
    Perfectly placed getaway in the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice to have in-room tea and coffee facilities, thats all!

    Excellent location for multiple restaurants and cafe/bars, close to the waterfront and shopping. Beautiful decor, quite charming! Extra insulation and double-glazed windows were a welcome necessity because of the street noise (nearby restaurants mean deliveries and rubbish pick-ups at all hours) - we were only aware of the noise as we like to sleep with the window open for fresh air - otherwise noise definitely not an issue. Wonderful staff and turn-down service. Restaurant below fantastic and great breakfast. We will be back! Thank you :)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.6
    Great location and value for money! Staff were great!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Where the shower was located. Wasn't easy to have a shower without spraying the floor. Not a deal breaker!!

    Great location and we felt the room was very good value. We got there late and was able to eat in the restaurant which was lovely. Worth a visit

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually I cant remember anything ehat I didn't like:)

    The concept of the rooms and the Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    Good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Food

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location with good restaurants on site and nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location with good restaurants on site and nearby. We had a relaxing walk along the lake. Staff were very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Very quiet room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very quiet room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Expensive

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Small comfortable hotel in the heart of Zurich
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room with Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most TV channels not working

    Friendly, comfortable, great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.8
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    no eggs for breakfast if i really need to find something

    everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.1
    A lovely first trip to Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was slightly uncomfortable andtberoom was a bit small, but wouldn’t put me off staying again.

    Friendly, helpful staff & great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    4.6
    The dictation is to old and ugly and the lift as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dictation is to old and ugly and the lift as well. I paid a considerable amount of money, however I didn’t get what I was expecting.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice and comfy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel management & staff were very helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Very tasty breakfast, nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very tasty breakfast, nice staff. Excellent location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    Great breakfast Good size bathroom Comfy beds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Small room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: