Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Excelsior 4 stars

Sonnenbergstrasse, 7050 Arosa, Switzerland

#34 of 65 hotels in Arosa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 231 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the younger staff lack a bit of exuberance, or is it just experience. Scrambled egg tasted odd, though as a vegetarian I didn't eat it as it was put too close the sausages for my taste. Otherwise breakfast was good.

    Quirky furniture Games room Great sauna etc Comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the restaurant during dinner time was not good. Orders were mixed up, limited variety of food and it took 90 mins to serve us despite the restaurant being empty.

    The common lounge area with the pool table, fuse ball table and separate kids play room. Also the ski bus service was prompt and courteous. The manager was very welcoming and went out of his way to make the kids feel at home. The Wellness area was excellent, very clean and well appointed. Comfy beds. Slept like a baby. Staff very very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    absolute lack of taste throughout the hotel interior, looks like a funky furniture exhibition, but nothing matched, no ambiance. restaurant dinner menues, no choice either you eat fish or you eat meat, a la carte there were 3 plates available, wienerschnitzel, some fish and pasta with 2 different sauces. the a la carte resto, burestuebli, which they advertised so nicely opens only one sunday per months. the sauna didn-t work for 3 days, the complimentary ski shuttle bus stops at 5pm (lifts stope at 4.30 pm, thus no time for a drink ...... or you return by taxi. overall will never again go there.

    heating wasn t working either too hot or too cold

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The worst decoration worlwide° the design is awful. The hotel has not been renovated but only "updated". I had a suite with almost no furniture and a 140cm bed. The bathrooms are still from the 60's. The SPA is sad and very depressing. The breakfast is very basic. No parking! you have to drive to park your car. Just one advice : Don't go there there are much better hôtels in Arosa for the same price

    NOTHING

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    it was extremely hot in the room, even though the central heating was off... the sun came inside the room at 8 am and left only at 5 pm.. there was no way to have the room cool, unless the curtains were completely closed, which obscured the view.. the food in the restaurant at night was definitely very poor for a 4 star hotel... and extremely expensive.. no choice either.. gloomy hotel, no atmosphere at all... and the tv screens showing a nice open fire... TERRIBLE!

    the breakfast was ok, the view from the room fantastic, big room, good beds, staff was friendly but not very knowledgable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cost was way above value, parking was a major problem, the front desk was understaffed and access to ski lifts was not easy.

    The room was clean and the breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in a room (218) with a connecting door to the neigboring room and I literally heard everything from my neighbors. I could follow their conversations ( at normal voice) word by word. No sound isolation at all...If the hotel can't improve this, it's unacceptable to rent out this room separately from the neigboring one... On top, heating wasn't functioning properly.

    Well located hotel, friendly staff, room deco, breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Located quite high, so be ready to walk uphill (but for a beautiful view on the mountains you can do it!). No kettle in the room :( Quite expensive....

    Liked the SPA, the view on the mountains from the room. A comfortable, clean and cosy hotel!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are unbearably hot and dry. Even leaving the door open wouldn't help. If you find it hard to sleep in hot rooms, avoid this hotel. I wasn't able to sleep for an entire week!

    Reception staff were incredibly friendly and always helpful. The only really great thing about the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    lax at breakfast was good, but requires extra horseradish

    excellent room, comfortable bed (one of the comfortable-most beds experienced so far in a hotel),

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sauna not turned on until 4pm.

    Great rooms, great view and good facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for 1 night!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was very good but dinner only so-so

    Furnishings everywhere very tasteful, sauna area excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking was full, street to the hotel was very difficult to walk, slippery because of snow and ice.

    great big room, nice spa, very good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to park around. Very uncomfortable bed / pillow

    Spectacular view from the room. Nice shuttle service

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Small hotel with spacious rooms with great views. Good location. All staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No slippers in the room.

    Good breakfast. Could buy the ski lift at the reception.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is too expensive for what we received The first day we have been the only guests in the restaurant for dinner…...

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff, shuttle service, large room, modern

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great hotel staff. Could not be more welcoming to all the family including our young children. Kids play room separate from lounge so didn't disturb other guests but still in sight. Food very tasty and nice pool area. Rooms also very comfortable and minibus transfers a great extra. Will definitely be back.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff are the best! Excellent customer service! They really care about the quality of your experience. Wonderful breakfast bar with great variety. My children enjoy the pool and playroom. I love how easy they make it to get to the slopes and once you are back at the hotel, you have everything you need in the hotel. We really love this place!

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Décor dated. Lift needs to be upgraded. Long walk to town

    Picked up from station. Staff friendly and very helpful. Free Coffee and cake in the afternoon (nice touch). Breakfast good. View spectacular.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    More on the website would have saved me several emails before we arrived.

    The wellness facilities were good on a bad ski day. Afternoon tea was an unexpected treat. The staff were all friendly. The breakfast selection was good.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good sized rooms with incredible view. Very friendly driver taking you to most important locations. Hotel staff very friendly. Manager very attentive, ensuring all needs are met. Rooms very clean and pool great for post ski swim! Good sauna/steam room area as well. Breakfast choice is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff were extremely polite and welcoming. The manager -Thorsten Knocke was superb, We saw him every day and he was a credit to the hotel. One of our group was on crutches due to a ski accident and Mr Knocke helped us make her stay as comfortable as possible.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very small things - the hotel décor was a bit dated and eclectic colours but in some ways suited the character of the place. The bathroom towels were a bit small, could do with larger so you can really wrap up.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, answering questions before we arrived and helping us get organised with skiing gear and lessons through their in house supplier and instructor. Nice breakfast with super view up the mountains. Courtesy van to the ski lift was regular and prompt - a great plus for the hotel - and they also dropped us in other places when requested too. Rooms were a little on the small side but nice and warm and comfortable. Nice afternoon tea with variety of cakes and drinks, a good way to end the day after skiing in the lounge listening to piano. Good choice of breakfast. A good hotel for kids and families. Has a children's playroom and small pool in case of rainy or non-skiing days.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Was not informed about car parking charges, and charges were added after check out, so had to use credit card again Furniture a bit too eclectic

    Better than average service

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Small rooms, heavily over priced, old building that's trapped in the past and in need of repair. Annoying large and impractical room keys. Staff not as accommodating as the should be given the price.

    Good location, nice view.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very convenient to use the hotel van for pick up and delivery to ski lifts plus elsewhere in Arosa. Staff very friendly and put up with our lack of German well - most spoke English

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, superb personalised service - nothing was a trouble for the management and staff of the Excelsior. As visitors from a continent thousands of miles away from The Swiss Alps we were immediately made to feel welcome.I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi too slow

    Excellent friendly & helpful service from staff. Great tasting food & choice of food. Comfortable recently renovated rooms & Modern bathroom facilities.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff were all so helpful and friendly. Decor is beautiful, especially in the bar / tea room. Rooms are not huge but comfortable and have beautiful views. Complimentary shuttle to the ski lifts and station is a bonus. Great value for money. We would stay again for sure

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Water in the indoor pool was too cold for my liking, but my children didn't mind.

    The staff at the Excelsior was amazing. From the late night pick up at the train station to the pancakes they made my children for breakfast, the staff went above and beyond to make our stay amazing. We loved the kids play room and the food was excellent at their restaurant ( best fondue chinoise). We rented all of our ski/snow board gear at the hotel, which was very convenient. The views from our room were amazing. But most of all, I can't emphasize enough how amazing their staff is. They truly went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The only downside is the wi-fi, which could be much better.

    All the staff in the hotel made us feel very welcome and they could not have been more helpful. Additionally, clean rooms with comfortable beds, a pleasant restaurant with good food, and very nice communal areas made this hotel a hit with us! We would definitely visit again.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Fantastic staff couldn't do more to make our stay great. Our 2 year old loved the pool and the playroom and the shuttle bus to the ski lift made life very easy. Couldn't recommend this hotel more, from the food to the staff. A great 4 nights in the mountains.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Half-board dinner service was a bit drawn out for tired aprés-ski children. But for one night, not a big deal...

    Jan the driver was the best! Always in the right place at the right time, uncomplicated, efficient, polite.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant staff were inattentive and seemed desinterested to understand the local language (should not be in a Swiss hotel) Wellness facilities rather small and not fully appealing

    Warm, friendly and professional reception staff Outstandling view from the hotel room on the montain panorama Hotel is nice positioned between Center and Inner Arosa not to far from mountain railways and restaurants/nightlife

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only one Dinner at restaurant : quality is improvable

    Cosy and spacious suite with mountain view; free wifi; excellent staff at reception and helpfull shuttle driver; good breakfast; quiet location; parking

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food. Asked for twin beds. Got a double with 2 duvets

    Staff very friendly and h elpful

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very frienly stuff and readiness to satisfy cliant needs. Breakfast fiendly talk with management.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly staff, great breakfast and excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Amazing customer service and views.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    WIFI was too slow

    Friendly personal and attention to detail !!!

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a big variety of food at breakfast Too warm in the rooms, especially in the bathroom

    Location, view, room size, new furniture, big Tv screen

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Browse The Excelsior traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: