Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Excelsior 3 stars

34 Rue Rousseau, Saint-Gervais / des Grottes, 1201 Geneva, Switzerland

#71 of 95 hotels in Geneva

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1667 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Geneva Police are picky on parked cars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Geneva Police are picky on parked cars. Almost no room in front of the Hotel. It is even officially forbidden to enter the one way street unless your car is a taxi. I was blessed with a 40 CHF fine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff, escellent breakfoast, central. near the train and bus staion.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only misadvantage was that the room was facing the street and I could not keep the windows open. If you go there, ask for a room in an upper floor.

    Near the station and the lake! The room was small but comfortable. The breakfast fullfilling. Friendly staff and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Very good hotel, kind and helpful reception staff, good location, I would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price.....very,very expensive for a single room, but this is Geneve and Switzerland.

    Very good hotel, in the city center, few steps from the railway station and few minutes from the Rhone and the lake. Manor store in front of the hotel and some restaurants nearby. Bus to the airport just around the corner. Reception staff very friendly and helpfull, reception is open all day, all night. The hotel is very clean and the breakfast is very good. Good wifi, very good bathroom. The single room was enough big with many amenities, including fridge. Nice view on the main street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.3
    Location is very good & the staff was very helpful
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no AC in the room & with a weather of 32 degrees we couldn’t stay for the intended 2 nights & we had to change the hotel

    Location is very good & the staff was very helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    This hotel was absolutely great in terms of location, value...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was absolutely great in terms of location, value for money, service and rooms! I’ve spend one night here as I had business trip but it was extremely easy to reach hotel from the railway station (3-5 minutes walk) and easy as well to reach airport from the hotel (bus stop just in from of the entrance and 20-25 minutes by bus). Room was a little bit small, but exceptionally clean! Reception service very friendly and operating 24/7 even at late night. It was very cool to wake up in the morning and to see city center which is almost there)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.7
    The room and its bathroom were very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it did not have air conditioning, I had to leave the windows open and a lot of noice came from the street at night and early morning.

    The room and its bathroom were very clean. It had hot water and wifi. It was close to everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    Standard city hotel in convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning so hot ...were aware of this & fan provided. ..feel the reasonable price reflected this

    Large room very comfortable bed . Excellent shower with really decent towels. Decent breakfast. Good location near the station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Great downtown Geneva alternative to expensive luxury hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heads up, the elevator is tiny, so a bit of a challenge with the suitcase. For American travelers, you may find the accommodations small. Though perfectly fine by European standards.

    The room was comfortable, not too big, not too small. Since I was in Geneva as a layover between flight and bus, it was perfect...just a 5 minute walk from the bus station!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    It is located very close to the train station and there is a...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet connection was very bad, even not working in the room. There is no air conditioning and the bath water gets once hot and then cold, even if you do not touch anything.

    It is located very close to the train station and there is a big shopping mall with restaurant just opposite the hotel. It is perfectly clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.8
    Basic 2 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was mostly clean, there was no air conditioning.

    The breakfast in the morning was fantastic. 24/7 open reception was great too for our late flight that came in. Close enough to the train station to walk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Great choice at the heart of Genève
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much to dislike :)

    Great location, good breakfast, comfortable beds, large room! Helpful staff, with good tips on where to travel etc. Gave us the full access geneva pass, allowing us to explore the city!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, spacious and clean room, helpful staffs.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked and paid for a single room on booking.com, but upon arrival, the staff told me that there was a mistake in the system and there was no single room left. He first asked me to pay more in order to get the triple room which was the only one he had left, which I of course refused as it wasn't my fault. He agreed and gave me the upgrade to triple room without additional fee. You should check the efficiency of your booking system in order to avoid this kind of annoying problems in the future.

    The room was spacious and clean. Thick curtain was missing, so be careful if you're light sensitive for sleeping. The staff was helpful. Breakfast was OK, nothing special but correct. Location is great, only few steps from the main train station and the lake side. Hotel provides as well a day ticket for transportation in Geneva, which is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.0
    Was good all in all
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The floor made up of uneven tiles makes dragging of luggage very noisy and uncomfortable for people sleeping or even trying to relax

    The property was good in all aspects, in terms of accessibility to all the city places, but the rooms next to the elevator exit are not comfortable because of noise produced by people going in and out in the middle of the night!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    2.5
    The room was quite okay but they did not release the amount...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was quite okay but they did not release the amount from my creditcard and now I paid double and last week I already contacted them to release the amount. Now I have to call and get through the trouble to get the amount back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.8
    It's completely dysfunctional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's completely dysfunctional. The rooms look strange and the comod was not fixed properly. The Wi-Fi is non existent so is the TV, which didn't work both the days we stayed there. The location is good and that's the only positive factor about the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Really enjoyed the stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower is a little cramped to move around in, and the mattress slides forward on the bed if you sit on it leaning against the wall to watch TV. (Got round this by moving some of the furniture to the end of the bed, to stop it.) These are only minor issues though.

    A well equipped room, very clean, and helful friendly staff. Good pillows, with a spare. The shower is powerful. Good TV, and hairdryer included. Quiet. Very close to the station - about 5 mins walk if that. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inadequate power points (only 1 in the room). We had a courtyard view room - there was no 'view' and more a dirty yard than courtyard. Quite noisy.

    Staff were friendly, nice clean room. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Value for money, super close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the decor upstairs seemed a little tacky. Changing the pictures for modern ones, and perhaps removing the gold ceiling in the bathroom would make a world of difference.

    This is an older style hotel with the expected problems where noise carries through walls. The room was good for the price and the service was wonderful. The front desk staff made you feel very welcome. The breakfast was also good and the team held my bag whilst I went exploring on checkout day. VERY close to all the necessary shops, train, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Good size rooms, clean rooms comfortable bed and great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less variety of breakfast than other places we stayed at, and was a little noisy with other guests traveling in hallways

    Good size rooms, clean rooms comfortable bed and great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    OK and a good lower cost option if you care about breakfast with a wide choice including cheese
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Like elsewhere in Geneva, the rooms are too warm and without a (proper) way to regulate temperature. Opening windows is not really an option as early morning the city gets cleaned and garbage is collected, making lots of noise. But I experienced that in most locations I stayed in (if you get a street-side room), even in more expensive ones.

    Nice breakfast. Nice outdated (design) hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.8
    extremely average. Slightly dated. nothing made me think this was great i want to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel should not be advertised as having parking. hotel is down a one way system with only parking for taxis outside. You need to drive around to find a space or try the parking they offer discounted a the train station. 5 mins walk from the hotel expect to pay £10 a night to park(with discount)

    Staff where friendly, breakfast was good and service there was great. Apart from that a very average hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    Cheaper than other hotels in the area but still too expensive for the standard experienced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast room is too small for a hotel of this size and very hot as they appear to cook at end of room (?)... constantly side stepping around other guests and selection of food was not good. Noisy at night due to tiled flooring so don't expect to get a good nights sleep. Staff helpful and pleasant though.

    Location very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    Location near railway station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wifi wasn't connecting on my smartphone There were no channels programmed on the TV, I could not receive any program Other guests were loud until 2-3am, you could clearly hear them in the corridor so not so isolated rooms

    Location near railway station Friendly reception Good breakfast buffet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.5
    good place, good location, welcoming staff, reasonable price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wireless connection was poor; the hotel should invest in a wider bandwidth and modems on each floor, to ensure the connection is good and stable. when all people access it in the evening, it is poor and unstable. thanks for considering it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    I like it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its not clearly explained to me by the reception that the paid parking have a vip discount to us. Only on last night i came to know that

    Perfect breakfast venue

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    Great location, super friendly staff with an excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative issues that we experienced.

    The location is excellent and the staff very professional and friendly, the hotel was very clean and the room a good size. The breakfast was very good above the normal continental breakfast standard. For the price I feel it was really good value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    Clean cold room. Small breakfast hall.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold. There s no temperature control in the room. Breakfast hall is small, gets crowded very easily. Although I had breakfast included, I prefered not to take it because it was uncomfortable to be jammed in that room.

    Breakfast could have been nice. Room was very clean. Most of the front desk staff was friendly. Good informative check in and good easy check out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.9
    It is not the Hilton but a good hotel to stay if you do not want to blow a hole in your wallet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could use a lower room rate and a change in the breakfast content. After all for how many days can one eat scrambled eggs in a row??😀😀

    Allowed us to check in early. Room and bed were comfortable though we could have done with a room with a view. The location is excellent and central and in close proximity to train and tram stations. Good restaurants and eateries around the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    4.6
    Only stay there as a last resort
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms. WiFi connection always down, TV does not always work and one of the days even though I vacated the room early morning, house keeper only came to clean the room at around 17hrs, when I returned from work and wanted to rest a bit. To make things worse, when you do complain staff does not seem to bother and always try to come up with excuses, such as.. The electrician will come to fix it tomorrow, etc, etc

    Location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.9
    Stay at Excelsior
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is very convenient,near to cornovin station and airport. Prices compare to other hotels are comparatively low. Access to malls and old City is step away. Reception is very friendly. Thanks to Rachid.

    Calm environment. Very good breakfast and accessable for new commers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.3
    Worth for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are small-- okay if you are traveling solo or for work. The internet was slow, which could be problem if you're traveling for work.

    Very convenient location- this hotel is at a walking distance from the Geneve train station. The rooms are small, but have good facilities. Rooms and the entire hotel was very clean. Staff is friendly and co-operative. Breakfast is good with quality and choices.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    4.6
    the price was unbelievably expensive and booking.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the price was unbelievably expensive and booking.com didn't help by offering cheaper hotels knowing that I had already booked a non-refundable hotel place. Tweak your algorithms for goodness sake

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    6.7
    Average hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is small, shower is not very comfortable. They charge additional tax which is not mentioned on the booking website.

    Does what it says on the tin. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.9
    Fair value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Since the hotel is located just across the main station, it is in fact very noisy. Furthermore, some of the furniture needed to be updated. The breakfast could have been slightly better, given the low variety of choice.

    The room was quite spacious, as well as the bathroom. Moreover, the room was very warm, which during Winter is highly appreciated. It is very good located, near Gare Cornavin and the main retailer Manor, with a bunch of restaurants near by.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    You will not regret staying at Excelsior Geneva
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff could remind the guess about free use of umbrella, it rains everyday when I was there.

    I have stayed at Excelsior before, what has improved from good to better is the breakfast, television & lobby. Staff, cleanliness and location stay great. Room temperature is perfect for winter. Wifi is fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Good value central location for exploring Geneva
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Excelsior is very close to the central Geneva railway station. It is also very close to Lake Geneva and within easy walking distance of the Old City. A small hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Double room was spacious enough for two. View to Rousseau Street is not exciting but it's not a busy street so noise level is minimal and you get a good night's sleep. Good modern bathroom. Breakfast is buffet style with a good choice of hot and cold selections. Hotel patrons are a mix of business and independent travellers. There were no bus tour groups during the two nights we spent there. A good value choice for Geneva.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.5
    Overall good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall the Hotel is quite od fashioned and Needs a fresh up!

    Very friendly staff (Young Student from Kazakhstan), very good English. The rooms were very clean! The breakfast was good, there was fresh fruit, Juices, Croissants, good Swiss cheese, Salami, ham ... all good. Very good jam!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Cleanliness, location, front disk staff were very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the nights I stayed in a single room in the fourth floor, it wasn't sound proof, and very small

    Cleanliness, location, front disk staff were very friendly specially Mr. Rachid

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    next time I would take the same place
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in few hotels with the same stars in Geneva and there is very good one. I need the hotel around main station so, localization was perfect for me. The room was spacious with big bathroom and little room which replaced a wardrobe. Very clean and comfortable, the breakfast was included and was just perfect start of the day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    The hotel gives me a warm feeling from inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    well... I reported a safety incident about the shower head, which could jump off by high water pressure. Pls look into it, thanks!

    The hotel gives me a warm feeling from inside. You can see that many small details are well thought of. Staff is super friendly and welcomed me to the "civilization" :-)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    beautiful room (recently renovated) with balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    beautiful room (recently renovated) with balcony. Bathroom with rainforest shower. Very comfortable bed. Nespresso machine in lobby (1 capsule = 2SFr but it’s worth it) but there is also a kettle in the room and tea& nescafe. mini bar in room. free WiFi. Manor department store just across the road. Free transport ticket for all of Geneva even the train to the airport. Train station within 270 m from hotel. Friendly & helpful staff. I will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.9
    Very Local to station and metro system and shops
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small Lift -No tea / coffee making facilities

    view from room- Free breakfast -comfortable beds-ease of check in and free public transport not expected!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.3
    Good Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing much... they need to find a way to close the shower in the bathroom so that the water don't splash everywhere...

    Good Breakfast. Nice Room. 24/24 reception ready to answer you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location.... clean and comfortable rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area of reception can be improved by some renovation...

    Excellent location....good very clean rooms... staff was very helpful and courteous, excellent experience of staying... single rooms are excellent and comfortable...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    6.3
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was very expensive for single bed room. Heating was high (26°) and could not be adjusted.

    Fantastic location. Close to major train and bus station. Very good breakfast included.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in the centre of Geneva
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tea and coffee making facilties in the room.

    Room very comfortable and great breakfast. No coffee or tea making facilities in the room though which is something I would expect from a three star hotel and which I, especially like to have, being an avid coffee drinker.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.9
    Was extreamly close to everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was extremely bad in our room. Couldn’t even check into my flight had to go sit in the hall to actually connect and have pages load.

    Was extreamly close to everything! Also big bonus was the transit card you get for all types of transit.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to mention

    I liked everything, especialy my room extremely quite on the highest floor with a view on the famous fountain, early check in and late check out without extra fee, very helpfull personnel, location is excellent , seafod department in Manor shop opposite hotel offers great variety of seafood delikatessen, etc

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.6
    Very good place and price!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facade illumination. When you are going to sleep it a bit annoying.

    Very good and tasty continental breakfast with fresh juices and coffee. Hotel located between railway station and Lèman lake.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.5
    good budget accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom smelt heavily of smoke which was difficult to shift as there did not seem to be a functioning extractor fan. Shame as the bathroom was also very clean.

    Hotel is a good budget hotel in a central location. Basic room facilities as expected with the price, but the room itself was very clean. Friendly and helpful staff. no street noise considering central location. Good powerful shower

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit tired and could do with a lick of paint. Lamps look cheap and out of place. A tea tray with a kettle and a couple of cups would make a difference.

    Helpful staff. Great location. A free card for the public transport (which includes a lift to the airport) is an added bonus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Compact in its facilities, Convenient location and Delightful service from the front desk (Lucien!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On the third and final day of my stay, a lady who had not been working in the restaurant until this day appeared in the restaurant at breakfast time. She was frantic in her work and seemed annoyed by the smallest of decisions by diners (e.g. their decision not to sit at tables she had earmarked for them to be seated at). She was also quite abrupt to the non-Swiss-national employees, mostly young Asian women, working there. Much of her apparent frustration appeared overzealous and it made watching others' experiences feel unpleasant, even for a bystander who was simply trying to enjoy the morning paper and plan the day ahead. Some training on 360 degree understanding of customer experiences should be delivered to this lady. Oh, and they need to sort out the large matting area immediately outside of the building - it is loose and arguably a health and safety risk!

    The location is a couple of minutes walk from the central train station (which also has the bus / tram station sat outside of it); the presentation of the hotel is generally above average with quite a few facilities available in such a condense area; the staff on the front desk were helpful throughout my stay - e.g. from loaning me a UK-EU phone charger for free, providing free printing of tickets from their internet-cafe-style desktop computer and accommodating wider conversation surrounding local and national culture as well as suggestions for activities to do in the area depending on the time of year. Lucien, in particular, was very helpful in these areas. The inclusive breakfast is good value too (the little sausages were delicious).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.8
    It was not good value or money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very dark overlooking air shaft and was very ver hot. Beds were not comfy and kept moving away from the wall or to the left or right, which was very annoying, no bed head!! Noise from rooms above left or right each time a tap turned on or toilet flashed could be heard in the room. It was cleaned and nicely made each day though.

    Breakfast was good and plenty. Staff was helpful at the restaurant and reception.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Hotel Excelsior was amazing. The location was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit hard.

    The breakfast was amazing. The location is superb. Centrally locates and close to all amenities. Plus, you get free public transport.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.3
    Nothing to do, too hot in Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was like a sauna, no heater in the room or A/c to cool down. Not english channels on the tv. No sound proofing within rooms could here everything outside. Do not recommend city view room if you wish to sleep could here every noise outside.

    Had a comfortable bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    7.1
    The location and breakfast were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was construction occurring on our floor which resulted in: noise, dust paint fumes etc. Our bathroom also smelt like mould even though it was very clean and recently renovated.

    The location and breakfast were fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel with very good breakfast buffet and friendly...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Depending on the location of your room with respect to the hallway and street side, it may be quite noisy.

    Nice hotel with very good breakfast buffet and friendly staff. This accomodation looks slightly dated but actually provides very good value for money. Its location in between the train station and the city centre is a plus.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.9
    Ideal for our short stay, can't complain at the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was surprised there was no facilities for making hot drinks in the room. Lots of TV channels, but all either French or German.

    The location is excellent. 5 minute walk from the train station and also the lake. Room was functional, very clean and in a good state of refurbishment, had safety deposit box and small fridge. Breakfast selection was good by Swiss standards and included a couple of hot choices.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Comfortable room overall, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Uncomforable at breakfast when a member of staff was insisting asking me for our room number.I had to speak loudly that it is the suite. There was no number anywhere, only the title of the suite.

    breakfast was fairly continental. Croissants were the best I had in a hotel. The suite extremely good, spacious,comfortable, bathroom enormous. The bed mattress very good, didn't want to go off of it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.5
    If location is your concern, this hotel is for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one vacant power point. Amenities are as good as none.

    Nice selection of breakfast. Perfect location with train station less than 5 mins away and Manor 30 seconds across.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.7
    Just so so.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked two same rooms, but they gave different rooms. One is small and the top level corridor is being decorated. The elevator is too small. The elevator can't arrive at the top level.

    酒店位置。

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.5
    Location near the train station and many attractions and big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator does not reach the last floor. This has to be announced before booking and not to be just discovered when one is already there.

    Location near the train station and many attractions and big shops

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    5.8
    Overall we were disappointed with the hotel and Geneva in general and much preferred Montreux.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was quite small and the TV only had two english speaking news channels so very limited. Breakfast was passable although when I asked for a fresh boiled egg this wasn't available.

    Good location to the train station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.5
    The hotel is very convenient to the main train station,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was stiflingly over-heated, with no way for the guest to control it. It was centrally controlled, and unbearably hot. I kept the door ajar, but it wasn't enough. They shouldn't keep it so hot in the winter.

    The hotel is very convenient to the main train station, local transportation, and central Geneva. The breakfast was nice, and I would definitely return (frequent meetings in Geneva at CICG). The wifi was strong (though did go up and down a few times). I had a courtyard room, so it was also nice and quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    I really liked the hotel;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really liked the hotel; clean and tidy with good breakfast! The front desk guy with a mole on the face was really cute. Wanted to ask for his number. Lol

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.3
    Absolutely loved Hotel Excelsior and if we're back in Geneva we will definitely be coming back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside was not being able to control the heat in the room. Coming from a hot climate, we like our rooms to be cooler, but it was always set at 24 degrees with on a large blanket on the beds (no lighter options). But that's really personal preference.

    The staff were lovely and helpful, the room was central to the lake, shopping district and beautiful monuments, and the included breakfast was fantastic. The room was also close to the main station so easy to get in and out for travellers.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.2
    Great location, Great Staff, good spot to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is just amazing, less than 5min walk from main Station. Luggage room accessible all day. We've got a free public transport card for all weekend which was awesome. We've got a room upgrade that made us really delightful. Great service, great staff, friendly giving us a lot of tips of places to visit and restaurants for Cheese Fondue.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    The hotel's lovely but it's the location that makes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel's lovely but it's the location that makes it really excellent value for money. It couldn't be more convenient. I'll definitely be going back!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.9
    Good location for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little hard and lots of light through the window even with the blinds closed

    Nice hotel,good location for a stopover (close to trains and buses), and the staff were excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    5.0
    Unless this place is renovated completely, I will never stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was extremely hot in my room. I asked the staff at the reception desk for a solution, they told me I had to wait until the morning before someone could check the heating system. I only stayed for one night, so I had to open my window to let the room cool down, while it was freezing outside. There is free wifi in the hotel. Too bad it doesn't work in the rooms. There's so much lag on the wifi that it's impossible to open a website. The hotel was old and worn down. This building needs to be renovated.

    Breakfast was OK. The beds were nice as well. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    6.7
    Plus: Location and Breakfast. Minus: annoying noise from rooms door, chaking with air/wind all nigh
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    What was really bad is that room door did not close properly so it was all day and night hitting and chaking, cousing an annoying noise that avoid me to sleep. It is simple to correct (just small foam solve problem). From the noise I heard this was a problem in all other rooms. Another negative point was the shower. It was so thin that hurt. A pity these 2 negative details becuase they were quiet impacting.

    Nice location. Nice breakfast. Resonable cost (expensive as always but on average for Geneva 3 start hotel best prices).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    6.7
    Good. Staff helful n friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities in room. Would not even mind if just a kettle was provided.

    The room was v hot. Had no air conditioning but the staff kindly provide us with a fan.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    100% Satisfaction
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everthing except a slight problem with the shower head. I informed Reception who immediately informed Housekeeping and thanked me for telling them. Just a small thing but if you dont tell them they often dont know there are any issues. Still worth a 10 rating

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    Lovely place to stay in Geneva
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the early morning there was noise outside of hotel (probably garbage truck). But in general it was quiet place.

    Location was perfect - close to old town and city center and also close to train station. Breakfast was good. Hotel also had a computer with printer for guests, where guests could print their boarding passes. Room was spacious and clean. Hotel provided us with transportation card and city map. They kindly took our luggege so we could explore Geneva more conveniently - we arrived before check in time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    On the whole this hotel was great for adult travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant for dinner. Acoustic hallway meant we heard every door open and close.

    Great breakfast, friendly helpful staff, fast cleaning service, comfy beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: