Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Falken

Falkengasse 4+6, 6004 Luzern, Switzerland

#68 of 70 hotels in Luzern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1282 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Really nice staff, great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Got eaten alive by bugs, not sure if bed bugs or mosquitoes Don't get breakfast, it's just a basket of bread

    Really nice staff, great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.0
    if you want to spend time with family its not recommend, good for single traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very compact and small rooms, they are charging 20CHF for using the kitchen, no coffee machine or hot water for coffee in the room, i will not recommend this to any one.

    it was near to the luzern train station, 3 mins walk

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    Good trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too pricey without having any of the star hotel features you can expect for less than Thia price anywhere outside Switzerland

    Location was a big plus and we got a nice apartment adjoining the hotel as we had booked a family room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.7
    Excellent location and near train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not comfortable and it was like sleeping on a hill. Floor was very dirty and bathroom was very small.

    Excellent location and near train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a fairly old hotel, and all furnitures are pretty old.

    Location and friendly staff. Allowed me to store my luggage before check in and after checking out. Despite it being old, it is value for money in a very expensive country.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    4.2
    Bugs everywhere in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bunch of bugs in the blankets that came out and bit at night. Reception closes at 10pm so there no one we can contact during the night. Moreover, the attitude of the staff was terrible when we gave the feedback. Not a single apology but blaming guesses to bring bugs with them in the luggages.

    Great location. Close to attractions and center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location for tourism in Lucerne (Luzern). Staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Might want to note that there was no AC, but the windows all opened onto the street. Weather was not a problem for us in mid-May, but in the summer, this might be an issue.

    The staff was helpful, and all staffers we encountered spoke flawless English, though the front desk is only open from 10AM - 10 PM. The room was small, but furnished well, and the Wi-Fi was very strong. The bathroom had been redone fairly recently, but it too had a lot crammed into a small space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    3.8
    Uncomfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very small with low ceilings. The beds were the worst we have ever encounted, so much so that we asked for a refund for the addtional 3 nights we had booked (which was paid).

    The central location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Impress receptionist, good mood, cute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Impress receptionist, good mood, cute. Provide detailed instructions and explanations for our breakfast, cleaning. Towels changed every day,Peaceful ,The room is small, but the bed is warm to sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.3
    Make customer choice for their meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is too small & the breakfast food is undelicious, the receptionist is not stand by every time

    The place is make us easily to go to tourist location &. Public transport

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable bed, good light in the room, quiet place, very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom not smelling good, small Safe was closed and blocked, therefore no possibility to be used, although I mentioned it 3 times at the reception

    Comfortable bed, good light in the room, quiet place, very close to the city center

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.7
    we booked a double room and the bed wasnt that comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we booked a double room and the bed wasnt that comfortable. we had two separate mattresses which was to be used as two beds. we prefer to have a electric jug in the room to make tea/coffee. But they provided hot water flask when requested. :) overall, the rooms were spacious and clean. and had other facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    The room is small but still acceptable since it has a window...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is small but still acceptable since it has a window that can be opened to get fresh air from outside. The Bed is too soft but still ok. Location is very good, in the center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.8
    Only good thing is it's closer to station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double room cannot be anymore cramped than this one. No space to put luggages which leaves you no space to walk around bedroom. No kettle nor any drier.

    Close to Luzern Station is the only best thing about this property

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.7
    Great location, friendly staff and good internet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk only open from 10:00 am-10:00 pm. Room was hot and no temperature controls and the bed was not very comfortable.

    Great location, friendly staff and good internet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.4
    It was pleasant stay however it would have been better if the rooms were more stay friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very cramped for space. The beds are concaved and one might fall off if not sleeping in the middle. All rooms have 2 single beds irrespective of a couple staying. We had a stuff time as we had a 2 year old son who could not be accommodated.

    The location was a big plus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    Great location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’ve never slept on a mattress that curves up. It was like laying on a boat turned upside down. Very hard too. Everyone has different preferences for their mattress, but we found it very difficult to sleep on.

    Great location, friendly staff. Restaurant below was convenient for coffee and drinks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    4.2
    Not Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged our credit card 2 weeks prior to our visit for full amount. Then they tried to charge us tourist tax again which was already paid on booking.com invoice. Smell from kitchen area, bathroom was too small and dirty toilet seat was fitted off to one side of the toilet. Room was on third floor Reception opens around 10am shutter door down until then. Room decor was old and poor condition, No breakfast on site had to walk elsewhere for breakfast and very poor bread and jam along with a drink. Restaraunt on site was a separate identity so you could not charge anything to your room. List goes on holes in the curtains, 7am in the morning lorries unloading in the street

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.3
    Pretty sure I got bit by bedbugs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty sure I got bit by bedbugs. Both of my arms are covered with bites. The beds were convex, like sleeping on the top of a billowy water filled triangle. The paint was chipping off of the bed and walls and the guard rail on the top bed came off completely on one side (not the part that should have come off). The restaurant downstairs is a Fondue restaurant and the upstairs smells of moldy greasy cheese in the evening. And they charge you extra for offsite parking (not mentioned obviously in the ad) and 20 Swiss Francs a night for the use of a kitchenette. Lots of hidden charges for almost $200 a night. I wouldn't have cared if it were $75 a night, but that was way too expensive for what we got.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    EXCELLENT,,KEEP IT UP
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    EVERYTHING WAS GOOD,BREAKFAST SHOULD HAVE BEEN INCLUDED

    HOTEL STAFF WERE VERY NICE AND WARM,ALWAYS READY TO HELP,I WAS UPGRADED TO AN APARTMENT,,THANKS TO THE 2 LADIES.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    4.2
    Perfectly dissatisfied. Not worth for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really don't like this stay as it really not worth for money that I spent. (165 Euros + 16 Euros for city tax) No compliments given Room is too tiny (dont accept any room in 3rd floor. I have stayed in room 304. The restaurant inside hotel making cheese fondue at evening and that smell is thru out the hotel inside. Personally I hate that smell.

    Only location is good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.3
    Close to town center.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was broken and attendant didn't offer to help bring baggage upstairs. Funny smell throughout hotel. Booking made it sound like breakfast was included, it was extra and in my opinion expensive for the quality.

    Close to town center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    This hotel is situated at the shopping street which is so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No comments.

    This hotel is situated at the shopping street which is so convenient to shop. About 6 -10 minutes walk from the Luzern Bahnhof, but don't worry, nice scenery while walking to the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    3.3
    I have not like anything here..bad hotel we got the room in which heater was not working and it was
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have not like anything here..bad hotel we got the room in which heater was not working and it was winter time. beds were in bad condition we got a backache due to that. overall bad experience. very disappoint.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    A great option to stay in Lucern, great price-quality and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A great option to stay in Lucern, great price-quality and the location is great, in the center with most touristic points easily reached by foot. The best part was the staff, friendly and always helpful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    The location of the Hotel is near to the City for shopping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was very bad. The mattress was bulky in middle and curved at sides. Compact space with very less free space.

    The location of the Hotel is near to the City for shopping and only 8 minutes walking from Luzern Main station. The room amenities were good. Room service was good. City bus travel pass was provided for Zone 10.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    A decent stay with supportive staffs, lie in the middle of the town but still keep your privacy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    might smell little bit of foods during hotel cafe serving hours.

    lie in the heart of the city, supportive staffs, decent bar and foods, parking by request with decent fee (limited, first comes first serves). No free public parking in this area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.7
    The staff was very frindly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is not served at the hotel premise which is a nuisance when the weather is lousy. Beds were more like couches, not real beds.

    The staff was very frindly and helpful. The parking place is covenient and nearby

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.3
    Not bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -narrow rooms. -I went by car. The way to reach to hotel is difficult. Guest must call to reception!

    -Parking is closed parking. Very nice! But a little bit expensive. - City area. - Enough for one day stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.3
    Ecellent location and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cold and there didn't have air conditioner just some heaters and those help but you had to have that thing plugged and pointed directly to a one place of the room and to me that wasn't really practical or comfortable. I would like that have been more sockets for electricity.

    The staff was very nice, helpful and friendly. The hotel has a super location, at the city center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    4.6
    Ok... may not stay here next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free vouchers or discount vouchers as stated in the description. No central heating. 2 portable hit air heaters provided... keep fielding through the temp fluctuations at night.

    Locatiin close to Lucerne nain station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.2
    Location was great, WiFi great, you are given password to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses have some type of air system that doesn’t really work well. I had too single beds, one was inflated like a balloon so you would roll off it when you slept, the other was so under inflated that it was uncomfortable.

    Location was great, WiFi great, you are given password to use WiFi in the town. Free public transport pass. Good staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.5
    cozy affordable room near train
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a little lumpy, heated by space heaters, sometimes not enough power for heat and light

    Good price, just enough space, kitchenette (even though they say not to use it without permission?)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.3
    Good position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell in the hotel. They don't have an electrical heater so we were cold all the night. We ask for a single bed for 2 people, and the give us a double mattress.

    The position was very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.2
    The beds and duvet are comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nicer if there is a kettle in the room to boil hot water. The extra mattress is abit too thin to be comfy

    The beds and duvet are comfy. Nice service by staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location right in the heart of Lucerne.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no kettle in the room. Although they did provide one when we asked, we had to buy our own teabags and milk.

    Excellent location right in the heart of Lucerne. Good value for money. Comfortable bed even though room was a bit small. Really good shower with lots of pressure. We didn't use the breakfast voucher, but the cafe that fulfills them make really good coffee and pastries. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.0
    Conveniently located, frienldly staff but very expensive for the experience: poor installations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entire hotel needs to be refurbished. The room was very dark and small. The bunkbed in the 4 pax room had a bookshelf on one side that invaded part of the bedspace and was perfectly located to knock your head off if you weren't careful at night. The bathroom was cramped and old, shower looked dirty despite it being just cleaned, toilet space was really small. Bad smell in the corridors, not sure if due to restaurant on the first floor. Windows don't block out noise well and they even let cold air in around the frames. Can do much better!

    Location is perfect to visit the old town, reception people were friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.5
    Location is both good and bad, rooms for 3 are small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the location is excellent in terms of proximity to the main part of town, that same feature makes it terrible. I believe trucks can only come into that part of town at night. So the same truck unloaded very noisily immediately beneath our window at 6.30 am both days we were there. Wasn't even for our hotel. So they dragged their rattly trolley to some place nearby, over the cobble stones. Too bad if you want to sleep in a bit.

    Had a problem with a bed. The staff fixed the problem beyond our expectations.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.3
    affordable price, good location, hotel meets the needs but is not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk only opens at 10 am. At other times no staff is on the main floor of the hotel. Additionally, when we arrived (within the proper check-in window) they sent us up to a room that had clearly not been cleaned since the previous guest. There was food, used towels, and trash on the floor. After informing them of the issue, they then asked us to wait 30 min while they cleaned the room. This was inconvenient because we wanted to drop our bags and explore the city. They offered us free non-alcoholic beverages as compensation. Other than that, the room was dark but not terrible.

    Good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    4.2
    Great location. Horrible service, accommodations, and paid half of the stay in hidden pet fees.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the staff. They were rude. I travel with a service dog and pet. I looked up pet friendly locations and although this property popped up, I would never say this is pet friendly.

    I enjoyed the location of the property. It was centrally located.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.1
    Central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold in the room,you cant close the window properly.They don’t have parking for the car.They dont have breakfast.

    Central location.Perfect for 1-2 nights stay.Foundu restaurant inside the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.5
    Luzern was beautiful but quite expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment did not have any elevators and was quite a walk up considering we were carrying large luggages so it became quite inconvenient that they gave the room we booked to someone else despite the fact it was confirmed and paid for.

    We failed to show up on the first day of our booking but when we showed up the next day we were upgraded to a bigger apartment.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is easy to access and the bed is quite comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is small and dark. Sound insulation is not good, people talking outside the room seem like talking next to me. The smell of the aromatherapy in the room was too strong and I didn't like it.

    The hotel is easy to access and the bed is quite comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.3
    Super close to the center of luzern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room for 4 people (bunk bed 2+2) + a dog..as well as small bathroom and closet. I guess you pay a lot the location that is great. Parking is not included.

    Super close to the center of luzern..right in the center. Good friendly staff. Private parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is great. Just a few minutes walk from the train station. The hotel is easy to find. To our surprise we were upgraded to an apartment (a big and comfortable studio with self catering equipment) across the road. The staff is very friendly, speak German, English and Russian.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    6.0
    A cold noisy night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No central heating, no radiator, just two ceramic heaters - so noisy that it was impossible to sleep, In december in Switzerland, I can't believe it !

    The location, a nice room - But please for spring or summer !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    check in was easy on the day of arrival, the staff upgraded...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    check in was easy on the day of arrival, the staff upgraded my buddy and I to an apartment suite for staying 5 nights FOC. would recommend this'll hotel to anyone planning to stay at Lucerne. It's also a very short walk from the train station, other food outlets and souvenir stores.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.5
    Very central and close to the train station and main ameneties
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too cold inside the room

    I just stayed for one night, it was snowing and the hotel does not have a heating system but some small heaters to warm up your room and I was lucky enough to find in my room a not working heater. Apart from this the room was quite comfortable and the staff have been friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.9
    I would recommend for short stays, travelling light.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of in room amenities, we are used to having tea & coffee making facilities, there is coffee 1€ in reception but not much area inside to sit & enjoy it. Fondue House restaurant on site it good but does not do breakfast however there are options close by

    The location was very central to everything. Rooms are small but very comfortable. WiFi is good and elevator much appreciated by my dad who doesn’t handle stairs very well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    6.7
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains of the windows. Not enough to cover the window for privacy.

    Location was good. It’s just few steps from central train station and in the middle of shopping area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.5
    Good but bad location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of the location of the property, we were unable to drive it it. We eneded up circling the area for an hour before the staff stayed on the phone with me to help direct us. The hotel is on pedestrian walking streets in a shopping area so my GPS wouldn't direct me to it. The "hotel parking" also was a bit further away and over priced for what it was. Paid $30 a night to park in front of some apartment building with my car only protected by a rope. Felt the need to go check on my car a few times because of the location being a few minutes away from the hotel in a unguarded area.

    The staff was wonderful and helpful. The location was pretty good being in the center of things we were looking to do. The room was a little small but the beds were comfortable and it was enough space for us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.3
    Handy central location on quiet street...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was pokey and dormer window let lotss light in because didn't have proper blackout curtain

    Well located on a quiet side street in central district

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    4.6
    Overall I liked the location but I believe that you pay too much for the low quality offered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too tiny with only one bunk bed for a family of four. We had no walking room let alone space for luggage. The advertised kitchen doesn't work. I went to the bathroom to give my kids a shower and the dirt in it stroke me, worse the door started falling apart. I complained to front desk about unsanitary and unsafe room and they upgraded us to a two bedroom apartment at no extra cost in an old building. The apartment was on second floor with no elevator and the floor creaked under us at every step and we could hear our neighbors walking up and down the stairs as if we were in the same room. Nonetheless this was way better than where we were. It had everything you needed in an apartment except a microwave.

    The location was great at walking distance from lake, chapel bridge, bus station shopping center at doorsteps. We got free bus tickets from hotel for our stay. The front desk was professional and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    6.7
    Supurb location as it is in the central of world-class...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hot (drinking) water is only available 10 am -10 pm. I did not see microwave as it was shown in a picture displaying on Booking.com

    Supurb location as it is in the central of world-class watches showrooms and just a few minute stall from the wooden bridge. Quiet at night time. Convenience for everything. It s absolutely valuable for each night cost.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    6.3
    Comfortable enough beds, small rooms and smaller bathroom. The staff is was makes the place doable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dingy, bathroom looked grubby and in much need of a deep clean instead of just a wipe down.

    Staff was exceptional- friendly and helpful. Good location to city centre and train station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    6.3
    A cheap hotel good for one or two nights.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the check-in the reception kept my passport forgetting to tell me that the opening time in the morning was at 10:30am. Imagine yourself ready to leave in the morning and finding the hotel reception closed with your passport inside. Luckily, the cleaning woman was there and, seeing that i was upset, she helped me to get back my document. We found it in the copy machine. Clearly that lady wasn’t supposed to open the reception so i could have stayed there untill the opening time and have my day ruined. Unbeliavable policy.

    A cheap hotel good for one or two nights.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    5.0
    Price was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lobby smelled. Everything was dingy. There was a concrete arch that was head high on the side of the bed by the window. VERY DANGEROUS. I would not recommend this hotel.

    Price was ok. Location was great. It was clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Air Conditioner
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities for breakfast, but a cafe was just across the road so no big deal.

    Location was central to everything and in a quiet area. Staff were very helpful and hotel parking was undercover and secure just around the corner. Pet friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Extremely enjoyable and would recommend to friends and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head holder was loose and often fell.

    All staff, especially the manager, was extremely pleasant and welcoming. The rooms were very clean but tight for five people. The Fondue House was a great experience and the hotel was very lively with a warm atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.0
    We wanted to stay in the center of the town -- this hotel is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very noisy outside in the night.. and closing the window was not an option since it would be too warm. Firstly the was some mad guy shouting and then some construction work began.

    We wanted to stay in the center of the town -- this hotel is there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.9
    Staff was very helpful but there was strange smell in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell from restaurant.

    Staff was very helpful but there was strange smell in evenings frim restaurant and it was really unbearable. the smell never got into the room. otherwise room, staff, location was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.9
    The location is probably the biggest selling point of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit tiny for the three of us. We couldn't really find a place to open our suitcases. The toilet was clean from the top but filth from the bottom, which we found out accidentally.

    The location is probably the biggest selling point of the hotel. You can basically get to everywhere important of Luzern within 15-20 mins.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.0
    Good location, Basic accommodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Air Conditioner
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room with air conditioning due to the heat. They mixed up my room and would not refund me the difference. They offered free breakfast as a consolation which was bread and coffee, but I'm gluten intolerant. The place was very expensive for a tiny room, no common areas, and beds that had a hump in the middle so you rolled off all night. I paid less for nicer places in other cities.

    Location was great, very easy walk from the train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    4.2
    Most arrogant staff. Pathetic facility. Cramped up place. But clean room. Will never revisit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I checked in on Sep-05-2017 along with my two family members. It was a rude shock. The Receptionist, Ms. Albina, was extremely rude and arrogant. She threatened me by saying "You will be in big trouble if you don't stay here. This is Switzerland not India". It was insulting. I am planning to write about this to the Mayor of Lucerne. I complained about this to her colleague Ms. Alisha who tried to do her best to make us comfortable. The first impression itself was that of a small bar and NOT AT ALL that of a hotel. It looked like some house converted into a home stay. Actually it is not a hotel in the true sense. We were provided with a small Room which they claimed was sufficient for all three of us. They provided one Bunker Bed that was uncomfortable. It was not easy to climb up. The ceiling was so low that you cant sit straight. The bathroom had worn out fittings and the Shower Door was about to fall off. I have travelled to almost 21 countries and have stayed at & Star Hotels and also Budget Hotels. This was my worst experience.

    I did not opt for the Breakfast Package so I cannot comment on this.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    4.6
    Room size and toilet size so small that use was very...
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only behavior of staff was good mo body remains available since 10 pm to 10 am very badam

    Room size and toilet size so small that use was very difficult mattress quality was so bad that we could not sleep comfortably overall except location it was exceptionaly poor

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location if you are looking for no-frills accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Benefits that were stated on the in-room card, only applied to guests booking direct, but this was not stated. Bed was adequate, but not very comfortable and only one pillow. No shower cap.

    Very conveniently located, in walking distance to everything. Room was ready for early check-in, without having to ask.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.7
    Loved city and beautiful lake. Would choose another place if staying more than 1 night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strong fish / foul smell in stairway and halls. Luckily Air freshener provided pleasant smell in the room. "Double" bed was 2 twin mattresses put together on platform. Mattresses kept sliding apart.

    Waking distance to all sites in old city and lakefront.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.7
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaning staff were in full tilt by 9am - great for cleanliness but bad for a holiday snooze. Reception only opens at 10:00. The bathroom was tiny. There was a peculiar smell at the property.

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    2.9
    This Falken hotel should not just be avoided: it should be CONDEMNED.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staying at Falken was an appallingly poor experience. This is not a hotel, it is a handful of dingy rooms located over an Asian Fondue restaurant. The door to the street is only open during restaurant hours, though the room key can be used to open the front door. From 10am-10pm there is a receptionist, the rest of the time there is no way to contact anyone working in the hotel. The first thing you notice as you walk in is the low light level, the dinginess, the dirt and the cramped confines. The next thing that hits you is the smell, of stale cheese and off-meat, which certainly does not make you want to eat in the restaurant. A small lift connected us to the first floor, though we had to go up two at a time because it was so cramped. There were no fire doors between the rooms and the restaurant area. The corridor to the hotel room had a mouldy curtain to one side, hiding stacked restaurant chairs. The hotel room was ostensibly a "family room". The main bed took up 60% of the room's footprint, despite being only a standard double bed. Set at ninety degrees over this was a bunk bed, constituting the second double bed. However, the frame for this was very wobbly and many slats were missing, making the entire structure unstable and unsafe. The fifth bed space was a small camper bed pushed into the last remaining bit of floor space, which was wedged up against the built-in wardrobe wall, making the wardrobe inaccessible. The walkable floor space was wide enough for one adult to walk at a time, though only with shoulders turned by 45 degrees. Passing another adult involves one person stepping into the bathroom or out of the room to let the other pass, or climbing over the bed. The lighting was very limited - a handful of worn-out free standing lights, one of which did not work, the other two having wires running over the corners of the beds. At night time the sheets and pillows felt itchy and uncomfortable.

    The location of the hotel is good, as it is situated within 10 minutes walk of the railway station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    4.6
    Good location but expensive for such small and budget room with dirty marks on the walls
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was dirty and small. Too small for the price. No kettle given and was told it is due to fire hazard. Understand it could be budget but it was priced lower for this kind of quality

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.5
    Would certainly go back. Cant beat the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking space was a 10 minute walk away from the hotel, up a steep incline. Room was a little cramped.

    The staff are excellent. They are all young students at a local University, studying the hotel and tourism industry, and doing part-time internships at local hotels. The quality of service is excellent and they can teach the 5-star hotels a thing or two! It more than makes up for the inconveniences mentioned below. In particular, Ms. Albina Bailanova deserves special mention - very considerate and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    6.7
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds were very uncomfortable and squeaky. toilet was in a very tight space.

    It was in the heart of Luzern. Internet connection was awesome, a good variety of tv channels.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.3
    Room was terrible, over front street with restaurant below...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was terrible, over front street with restaurant below so noise and with no air con needed to have window open for some air. Generally very outdated, terrible bathroom layout. I would not stay at this property again especially for the money they charge not good value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Best spot in Luzern!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor, but the mattresses sometimes slide apart a bit at night. Everything else was perfect

    Alisa and Arthur were great! They went above and beyond with check in, showed us exactly where to park instead of just describing it. They gave us great tips on where to go, and were really friendly the whole trip! There's an amazing fondue restaurant right in the hotel - it was the best fondue we had during our trip, and we had lots of fondue. The location is amazing - right in the heart of the shopping district. 2 min from a huge Bachmann, 5 minutes from the covered bridge, the lake, and the restaurants along the water, and 10min from the train station. It's really quiet at night so we slept great. The beds were comfortable and clean. This hotel was a gem!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    good cheap hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our triple room had bunk beds; which was fine for us but could be a problem for any older/younger travellers

    Great location Great value for money Free bus pass

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: