Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Edelweiss 2 stars

Am Acher, 3823 Wengen, Switzerland

#2 of 40 hotels in Wengen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 791 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Great location (close to train station and jungfrau).
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location (close to train station and jungfrau). Dinner was absolutely amazing. Daniel, the host, was very helpful and sincere. Laundry was reasonably priced for switzerland.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Edelweiss is a cute little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Edelweiss is a cute little hotel. Very clean, comfy beds, extremely friendly staff. It is a few minutes hike down and up from the station. They offer a Swiss buffet breakfast with eggs from their poultry, milk and cheese from their cows and homemade jams, marmalade etc. The staff go above and beyond to make your stay comfortable. We had the dinner too one night. The soup salad and dessert was good but entree was so so.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Daniel was a wonderful host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Daniel was a wonderful host! He made sure we were comfortable and made excellent recommendations for daily itineraries. I was 5+ months pregnant when we stayed and he recommended a few hikes that were perfect. He also was very flexible with dietary restrictions. Just make sure you tell him in advance if you need fish, chicken, or vegetarian substitutions for dinner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    We stayed in a 3 beds room for 2 nights with nice breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad. Just a suggestion that if the hotel provides free ride from/to Wengen station would be prefect for rainy days or in the winter. Summer is ok for the 5 mins walk if not rain.

    We enjoyed the 4 courses dinner in their new restaurant, it were yummy and valuable price. It made our stays more unforgettable. Hotel is just 5mins walk which is easy found. Daniel and his staffs were all very helpful, nice, friendly, flexable and eager to help. I like their services which made us felt very warm. Thank you Daniel and his team.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Great hostel, very pleased with the experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I was staying in was 8 beds. I knew that in advance though and it wasn't an issue

    Friendly staff, I was allowed to check in earlier because the bed was already ready. Beds were very comfortable and the sheets were clean. Very clean bathrooms and showers as well. Great location too. Overall - great value, highly recommended!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    The staff are excellent and make you feel like you’re...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are excellent and make you feel like you’re staying at a bed and breakfast. We got upgraded to a balcony room with no extra cost and the room was perfect- small but cute and big enough for 2. Wouldn’t recommend going anywhere else for dinner as it’s by far the best value in town. Complimentary breakfast was great and the area was perfect for hiking. Would recommend this place to anyone going to Switzerland.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, not far from Wengen station, 5mins walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is also a downside. Hotel is located downhill from station, so to get to station in reverse direction you have to walk uphill. Maybe not too good for people with mobility issues and/or elderly. However they do provide taxi service if required, at a cost of course.

    Great location, not far from Wengen station, 5mins walk maybe. Great friendly staffs that would try to cater all your travel needs and directions. They have monitor at reception that shows live video of weather condition at the peaks of Jungfrau and Schilthorn to let you decide whether or not to go up there. Great breakfast buffet Very clean bedroom/bathroom The mattress is here is the best out of all the hotel rooms i stayed in my travel. Its not too soft, not too firm. But this is personal opinion. Breezy and quick check in check out Walking sticks provided to be borrowed for free

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Extremely comfortable and homely. Made the trip to Switzerland a even more memorable one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room & toilet seems to be lightly dimmed when nightfall. But overall it was very pleasant.

    The room with balcony has extremely awesome view! The staffs are extremely friend and remembers your name by heart.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Staff there are so nice and so helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff there are so nice and so helpful! You feel that their smiles are sincere rather than merely being professional. It feels like being home. Dinner is good too and definitely worth a try.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    The most charming home away from home. This would be my go-to hotel for the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The views from the hotel take your breath away. We especially loved the outdoor areas, where you can lounge and gaze upon the mountains, listen to birds sing and twitter round the bird feeder and vegetable garden. There was a piano that my wife would play to relax, while I sipped on aromatic alpine tea. They've also got an assortment of very fun-looking beers that you could order. Rooms were clean and cosy, and we had many great nights of sleep. Every morning, we'd have a delightful breakfast, and chose to have dinner at the restaurant as often as we could, not only because of the great food at fantastic value, but just so we could spend more time enjoying the homely vibes The service was impeccable. Daniel and his staff are such lovely, welcoming people, always ready to help you with recommendations and advice for your itinerary, or even share a bit of their culture and remarkable life stories. As visitors to Switzerland, we found a family in these very special staff. The place is also not overcrowded with guests, so it kind of felt like a little community of travellers. Hotel Edelweiss was truly a home away from home, surrounded by the most magnificent views that the region offers. Top notch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant homely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is small but adequate if only 1 person is using it at a time. No coffee/tea inside the room but available in the lobby. No hairdryer in the room as well but may be possible to request from staff.

    The view is absolutely gorgeous. Imagine waking up to the view of the mountains and getting fresh mountain air every morning. Breakfast was also pleasant with selection of cold cuts, bread, cheeses, yogurt, and cereal. They also had a toaster for bread. Eggs available to boil. A 4-course dinner is available for 25 CHF per person. We had it for one night and it was excellent. The wine soup was out of this world. Staff were also friendly and helpful. Facilities at the hotel itself were plentiful. There was a sauna which we didn't use but you could book it for private use. There was also a playroom for children. Overall it was a very pleasant stay and we would recommend to friends and family!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    I will definitely go back. Loved it:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and amazing location. Also single room was bigger than I expected! The dinner at the restaurant was very nice, different menu every night and perfectly cooked. I stayed 4 nights and booked the dinner every night after first night's dinner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Perfect stay in Wengen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Host was extremely kind and helpful. Hotel is close to the train station and surrounded by beautiful scenery. We had dinner at the hotel twice and it was fantastic! Thanks for making our stay comfortable and memorable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Incredible staff, views, amenities. Highly recommend!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were AMAZING. We told two different people at different times that we would be leaving extremely early on our check-out date in order to catch our flight and both people (Thomas and the owner-I forget his name) both offered to put together a bag of food to take with us. And they did! We checked the little downstairs fridge and there was a bag with our room number with two sandwiches, two apples, two candy bars, and two coca colas. Incredible hospitality. The food for dinner was delicious. The building and room was quality, the bathroom was small but equipped with everything we needed, the views from all windows and the balcony were to die for, simply EVERYTHING was just amazing!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    This hotel was the gem of our entire stay in Switzerland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel stood out as a gem in our entire stay in Switzerland. We appreciated the comfortable and immaculate room, an extremely personable and helpful staff, and a generous breakfast in a delightfully decorated dining room. The nightly and reasonably priced dinners prepared by the accomplished chef were the finest meals of our trip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Charming, friendly Inn in the Alps
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff went out of their way to welcome me, suggest hikes, introduce me to the bunny, Emma, etc. The evening's menu was outstanding, and the breakfast sumptuous. My room had a little balcony overlooking the mountains. Will definitely return!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Excellent service. Provided free taxi service going up the hill after a 6-night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is down the hill. Hard to carry luggage down and up to the train station which is about 5 minutes away.

    A lot of extra services and provisions were extended to us. Feel like family. The view from the room is awesome. Met a lot of Christians.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, the shower room was very compact, it really would only be an issue if you were not very mobile or larger.

    Very pretty, traditional Swiss chalet with beautiful views and lovely service, very friendly and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Best place we have ever stayed on a vacation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was incredibly welcoming and nice the entire time. We had amazing 5 star meals every night for relatively cheap in Switzerland. It was a great location in the Lauterbrunnen Valley because we were close to a lot of great hikes but out of the very touristy places. The room was very clean and had an amazing view of the Jung Frau. We highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Completely worth a journey from London- wonderful
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It's a pleasure to recommend Edelweiss- it's a gem of a hotel and I can't wait to return. I stayed for over a week and was very sad to leave. Wengen is magic- no cars, amazing hiking, perfect scenery. From now on it will always be my choice of town in Switzerland over busier places I already knew like Gstaad, Davos & St Moritz (which are also lovely). Daniel and his staff couldn't have done more to make guests welcome, everyone was so helpful. I tried to extend my stay and was unable to due to availability, & I'm not surprised because this is a genuinely wonderful hotel! So be fast in booking because guests like myself don't want to leave & will try not to :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Ideal spot to stay during your Lauterbrunnen visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Due to the wooden construction of the building you can hear if someone above you is moving in the room. For light sleepers this might mean being woken up in the middle of the night. The hotel has its own restaurant, but you need to sign for a daily menu and show up on time for dinner - not very practical for hikers.

    The hotel is situated in a little village up the mountain accessible by train - very romantic. The building is mainly wooden-based, but all the comfort you might need is right there. Including wonderful view of the main mountain peaks directly from the balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Wow, what a gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wow, what a gem! Close to Wengen train station, incredible views of the valley and mountains, very friendly and helpful team, clean and tidy. I'll definitely be back :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    The hosts are absolutely wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located at the bottom of hill so it’s a steep walk up, however, this is the Alps !

    The hosts are absolutely wonderful. This was our 2nd stay at hotel edelweiss. Rooms are clean and comfortable with gorgeous views. Nice grounds around the hotel allow you to enjoy the views,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    The hotel was nice, pleasant and clean. The Staff was nice and the food was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel does not have a train station pick-up/drop facility. While I mentioned that the hotel is just a few minutes walk from the train station, with luggage it is inconvenient due to the steep slopes. It would be difficult for elder folks. While one can hire a taxi, I genuinely feel a pick-up/drop facility on demand should be available and included in the cost.

    In a Fantastic location and the view from the hotel was just awesome. The staff and especially the owner was really friendly and extremely friendly. The owner is a local from Jungfrau area which makes a lot of difference in knowing the place around. The hotel in itself was also very nice and very well located from the Bahnhoff, just a 6-8 minutes walk. The breakfast was wonderful and the food prepared for dinner by the chef was also very tasty. Now the most important part, I feel the hotel offers good value for money. I highly recommend anyone who is visiting Jungreaugh area to stay at the Hotel Edelweiss in Wengen. Cheers!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Perfect place, perfect views and amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was a little too tight. Also, in May, even though the outside temperature was pleasant, the rooms would get really warm at night, if you don't open your windows. A desk fan would have been helpful.

    Hotel Edelweiss is conveniently located, about 300 mts. from the Wengen train station. It is a beautiful hotel with great staff. The staff is extremely friendly and leaves no stone unturned to make you feel at home. We had booked a room without a balcony (by mistake) - Although the room was small, it was clean and had amazing views from the window. The owner, Daniel was very impressive and had great stories to share. Thomas was really friendly and helped us with all the questions we had. We were extremely happy with the hospitality offered at this place. The hotel looks like a typical swiss chalet, but has all the required amenities. There is a coffee room open 24/7 to the guests. The kids have an amazing playroom stacked with toys and books to enjoy their day. The breakfast spread (cold breakfast) was good too. They also serve a lip-smacking 4-course dinner (that you can pre-register or) for only 25 CHF per person. Wengen is an extremely pretty town and is central to the Jungfrau region. Perfect to stay if you are looking to do some easy or difficult hikes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent location just a few minutes walk from the train station. The views are amazing! Very clean and cozy rooms with comfortable beds. What really sets this hotel apart is the owners and staff. They work very hard to make sure your stay is the best it can be. We have stayed at other hotels in the area on a previous trip and wish we had chosen Hotel Edelweiss.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Exceptional!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Our room was warm and stuffy and the only way to cool it off was to open the balcony door at night as the windows did not open. This led to us sleeping with the balcony door open when our balcony connected to other balconies. Also, the WiFi was quite poor, but this was a very minor inconvenience because, obviously, you don't go to Wengen to be on the internet.

    The staff was extremely polite, attentive, accommodating, and welcoming. Daniel and Thomas especially ensure that every guest feels like they are at home. The breakfasts and dinners were also amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Wish we should have stayed longer. A really nice place. Exceeds our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breathtaking view of mountain alps...... Food was excellent, money worth to dine in..... All the staff are courteous... Your feel at home in this place...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful place and staff went out of their way to give...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were stiff, not soft and it was great to have a balcony but it could have been nicer

    Beautiful place and staff went out of their way to give directions for fun walk and other area help

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed the amazing views and good food. Staff is very friendly and hospitable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are very small. Overall look and feel of the room and the bathroom is quite ordinary. Walk from hotel to train station is a steep uphill walk, which is quite difficult with lot of luggage.

    Dinner was a four course meal for 70 francs for a family of four. Quite tasty. Can see the Jungfrau glacier from the hotel. Location is fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Nice and cosy place to stay in Wengen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom too small for a big size person. Would be better if a kettle was provided in the room although free flow of coffee and tea was provided in the common area.

    Nice view, friendly staff and dinner provided was value for money. Location was very near to the train station but be prepared to pull your luggage down and up the slope.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Truly exceeding expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Dinner was the most amazing steal for just CHF 25 per meal. The staff members are the absolute star, and the little gestures are what make them stand out! I was badly sunburnt and they kindly gave me a pot of yoghurt and suncream - without me even asking! Thomas also made a point to remember each guest’s itinerary and made sure that we enjoyed our stay. Couldn’t have expected more!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely spot with excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is out of this world! Thomas in particular was a real gem. He wears many hats and goes out of his way to get to know you, give you advice and tips on places to see and was genuinely one of the nicest people I’ve had the pleasure of meeting. The staff in general were awesome and I would return just to have the pleasure of seeing them again. Also, make sure to stay for dinner, their chef was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Near perfection!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great hosts - Daniel and Tom are extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was fantastic - clean and comfortable with gorgeous view of the mountains. Breakfast was wonderful with a nice selection of bread, ham, cheese, cereals, etc. I would definitely come back to stay at this hotel again if I were to visit Switzerland next time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    The best holidays we have ever had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally, everything was amazing!! The Hotel Edelweiss was confortable, clean, cosy and its food was tasty. The service we got was friendly and close. We really appreciate the support from Thomas, Daniel and Anda. They were very kind, helpful and gave us fast response to our requirements.The scenery from the hotel was simply gorgeous and majestic. The hotel had a lot of amenities and touchable details that made our stay really special. We felt like if we were in home.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows could be firmer, but that is it, everything else met or exceeded expectations!

    Staff were all VERY friendly and made us feel welcome. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    Perfect skiing hotel thoroghly enjoyed my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints at all. Location is downhill from the station so this involves a short uphill walk in the mornings. I don't see this as a drawback as it acts as a warm up for the session and if you leave your skis at a ski rental place (the hotel has an arrangement with Central Sport) you are not overburdened with equipment.

    Staff were first rate. Extremely friendly and helpful. Room just what I was looking for simple, comfortable, quiet with good heating control and windows that open. Very good value for money. The honesty fridge system worked well with a good choice of drinks and in particular beer. For those who like skiing hard with plenty of rest in between this is a great place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    The owner and staff were extremely pleasant and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was a little small

    The owner and staff were extremely pleasant and welcoming. The evening meal proposed was excellent and very good value for money. We would go again and recommend the hotel to others.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Super experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was absolutely great. We got an upgrade room despite booking a budget one,for no extra cost. All staff are very nice, welcoming and helpful. Food was good, both for breakfast and dinner and I recommend having a founde at the hotels’s restaurant!We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely come again. Location was also very convenient, only 5 min walk from the train station!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    A great place to be !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff is wonderful and tries in every way possible to make your stay more enjoyable. In Wegen finding a good place to eat at night for a correct price is not that easy: the diner (first course, main course, dessert) at the Edelweiss is very good and affordable. If you go skiing the hotel will provide a free depot for skis and shoes near the cable car.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    We had a fabulous time and want to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all so friendly and helpful! It felt like staying in someone’s home. The meals were all excellent and they were very accommodating of any request we had.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    Incredibly friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly friendly and helpful staff. As many reviewers have said, this place felt like home because of the people there. Located very close to the Wengen train station, which means easy access to Jungfrau and other towns. Sauna is a nice feature, breakfast and dinner are served in a bright and lovely room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Cleanliness, friendly and hospitable staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    none

    Cleanliness, friendly and hospitable staffs. Complementary tea and coffee are available at all time. The owner let us borrow equipment and some warm cloth to go sledging. Also excellent dinner at affordable price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.3
    Was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small. Also no help getting to hotel from station and to station from hotel. Taxi is extortionate fees.

    Staff friendly and helpful. Clean and food was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Very impressed and we will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    NOTHING!

    Staff, Staff, Staff!!! We were greeted outside by the owner who is a fabulous person and very helpful. Very clean, comfortable, and great food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was lovely and we had a room with a balcony so we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was lovely and we had a room with a balcony so we enjoyed a spectacular view. The best part of our experience was the staff. From when we arrived right up until we left the staff were so helpful and hospitable. This hotel was well worth the stay. I would highly recommend this lovely hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Fantastico !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastico ! Gorgeaus staff, grat location, very nice room. excellent food, very kind staff. I had a skiing accident and they treated me like I was in family. I highly recommend it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Hospitality, cleanliness, great staff, amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel exceeded our expectations! The staff were all fantastic, going above and beyond to help out in any way and they were all so friendly, they couldn’t have made us feel more welcome. As for the food, I must recommend the half board package. We didn’t sign up for it initially, but after eating our first night at the hotel we loved the food so much we decided to eat there every night. (Not to mention it’s a good deal). The food and service in the restaurant were excellent. Our room was spotless and very cute. The view from the balcony of the mountains and glaciers was unbelievable. We enjoyed free access to snowshoes and sleds provided by the hotel as well. The included breakfast is a huge bonus and was a very nice spread every morning. I truly look forward to returning the this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Warm welcome awaits
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic staff, so friendly and helpful especially Tomas.. In a great location close to everything but still very peaceful. Very clean comfortable room with lovely views. They provide a very nice breakfast. We didn't eat dinner. They gave us a breakfast sandwich to take away on the last day as we were leaving very early which was a lovely touch. We would return.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    friendly, welcoming and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The communication from the hotel was welcoming, friendly and comprehensive. The hotel facilities were simple but sufficient. I was travelling with my 27 year old daughter and the room was very spacious and allowed us a bit of our own space. The breakfast was excellent, with a fabulous range of fresh baked bread, along with meats, cheeses, cereals, fruit etc. There were lots of little touches all over the hotel that made it a warm and welcoming place to stay. This was a great base for skiing, but would also be a lovely location for enjoying the mountains in the summer. I would definitely stay at the Edelweiss again,m winter or summer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    Staff were all fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath towels rather small and personally don t like soap dispensers, so updating these little things will enhance the quality

    Staff were all fantastic. Hotel has huge potential and as a new business will require some investment to achieve the owners goals. In the meantime staff do everything they can to make up for small shortfalls and if you take this into consideration you won t be disappointed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Perfect affordable place in Wengen
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Food. Staff. The hotel is in 5 mins walk to the Wengen station if you don’t carry lots of luggage and the weather is fine. If you carry heavy luggages and came in a bad weather, taxi is highly recommended.( 18-20 local currency, remember to change some CHF first. If you pay with euro, it is 1:1.) The food and kind staff are amazing. The dinner needs reservation. Don’t hesitate to book one. Totally worth it. (Our bill shows 25 CHF each person for one dinner.) On the arrival day, though we didn’t book any dinner, the staff is so helpful and the chef used some rest materials to make us a pasta and dessert which is so delicious that we didn’t hesitate to book next day’s dinner without evening looking at the menu. The breakfast is excellent too. We like the ham and the sauce very much. Anyway, food here is so totally worth the price. I left my wallet on the train back to Wengen and I was so frustrated. Fortunately, the staff here kindly contacted the people on the train station and before I sorted out everything, the wallet was found. I am so grateful. The staff here is so kind and warm. I already recommended this hotel to my friends. Hope I will come back again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    We were at several hotels during our holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit tight, but workable

    We were at several hotels during our holiday. Some had better accommodations, but our favorite was here because of the people; the owner, Thomas, Alex and “Oma”. Top notch dinners and wine pairings at very reasonable prices.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.5
    The hotel offers a perfect stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have more options. I would have loved to have French Croissant in it.

    Staff amazingly helpful. Perfect Location. 4 minute walk from Wengen train station. View of Jungfrau from the gallery. Aesthetically designed rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    If going to Switzerland, stay here. Central to everything, incredible views, wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That we couldn't stay longer!!

    Everything. We usually eat at different restaurants but after our first dinner decided to eat every night at the hotel. Price was great but FOOD WAS FANTASTIC. Incredible chef (caught him one morning picking fresh herbs out of the garden for dinner that night). Staff was friendliest ever.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Clean, spacious room with a balcony facing amazing view, breakfast (included) & excellent dinner at very reasonable price. Basically we didn't see a reason to leave the hotel once we came back from a long hiking day. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    We'd go back in a heartbeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather.

    This is a beautiful, traditional Swiss hotel with a wonderful view of the Jungfrau and two glaciers. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Both breakfasts and dinners (which we opted for) were delicious and very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Great service, No frills, bang for your buck
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a no frills place that offers you just what you need and no more which worked fine mostly for us. They have a set dinner menu that we ended up not going for. Checking for meal preferences and planning dinner accordingly would be a good idea.

    What sets this place apart is their Extremely warm and helpful staff. They helped plan our day itinieraies for us. While we had booked for 5 days and as per booking.com and hotel policy changing dates would have incurred full penalty, the hotel was very understanding and offered to change our booking dates at no penalty to us. Such customer focus is expected but rare in this industry.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    I will be comming back to this hotel again and again - perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, keep on going!

    Our stay in the hotel was excellent! It has exceeded my expectations by far, as absolutely everything about it was great. The hotel deserve at least 4 stars for the service and amenities that it is providing. The room was spacious, very clean and nicely furbished. Our room had a huge balcony with the perfect view on Jungfrau. I think the hotel has the best location in Wengen in term of the view. The attention to details is amazing, each room has a powerful hairdryer, safe, chocolates for the guests, and a beautiful postcard that you can send back home! Breakfast in the hotel was great, with broad chose of local charcuterie, bakery products and broad selection of coffee. In additional to the breakfast, through out the day, you can find refreshment drinks in the lounge area free of charge. But what is most important is that the hotel atmosphere. You feel very welcomed in the hotel, and the hotel is run by the family in a very professional way.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended hotel with a sensational view !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Fantastic hotel to stay in with sensational view toward the Eiger and Jungfrau. Easy walking distance downhill from the train station. Staff were very friendly and helpful with every enquiry. The restaurant provided an excellent breakfast and dinner at a very reasonable price (great value).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Absolutely loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was brilliant, especially Thomas, his enthusiasm was exceptional. Dinner was available at the hotel and was excellent value for money. Book a room with a view, it is worth it! This is not a luxury hotel but the staff and the views made up for it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    We absolutely LOVED our stay at Hotel Edelweiss and actually...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We absolutely LOVED our stay at Hotel Edelweiss and actually extended our stay by 2 more nights since we were having such a great time. Thomas and Daniel were so friendly and helpful. We felt like we were family. We loved the extra attention they gave our daughter which made her stay so special. She will always remember Anja hiding candy for her. The meals were delicious and we highly recommend eating at the hotel. We hope that we can return some day!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    great place in wengen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    a view of the jung frau would have been nice.

    Edelweiss is a guesthouse experience. The family room was the smallest room we have had on this trip. But there is a games room, free sauna, reading room, terrace, and kids play room. This was luck since we hit bad weather so the kids had things to do. Dinner is reasonable, and the staff are extremely friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Overall, a fantastic value in a pricy town. We'd love to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was a little noise from other guests, but it is rather to be expected.

    Adding dinner was well worth it, and the food was excellent. While portions looked small, we were always full by the end. One night, we swapped one main for the fondue, which was lovely. Wengen is a pricy town, and having a 25Fr pp dinner was an option we employed all but one night. Loved breakfast! Upgrading to a Jungfrau-facing balcony was worth it for us - we had a corner wraparound balcony with table and chairs, which we used daily. Hot drinks available 24/7 in a sitting room with a good selection of teas. The staff was very helpful in advising on daily options, whether it was which hike to choose, which town to visit, or which day to head up the Jungfraubahn based on the weather.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Thanks for the walking path advice - got the best out of the locale from that knowledge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Took a single room - slightly small maybe but all more than functional and spotlessly clean.

    This was spot on for my needs - easy walk from the rail station, not too expensive, clean and a touch of 'hyggelig'. The breakfast and the evening meal were both good and very good value in a somewhat pricey country. The proprietor's knowledge of walks/wanderweg was extremely useful. Would I return to Edelweiss - yes. Would I recommend to friends - again, yes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Solid choice away from town center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I appreciated quiet location away from commercial area but others might not want uphill walk to town center.

    Basic but comfortable and clean room. We had a corner room w/great view and deck. Complimentary wine and cheese tasting w/enthusiastic host.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    We traveled from Croatia to Zurich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Leaving!

    We traveled from Croatia to Zurich. Unfortunately our luggage didn't so we had no warm clothes or decent footwear. Daniel, the Manager was amazing - he loaned us some clothes and we were lucky to each find a jacket and hiking boots that fitted - that meant we were able to explore and walk everywhere, even heading up to the snow which wouldn't have been possible without Daniel's generosity. The hotel was warm and cosy, tea and coffee on tap, the food great, the staff lovely and the sauna a great way to ease aches after a day of hiking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Awesome Wengen
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is clean, warm and cozy. Breakfast and dinner are excellent. Staff is welcoming and caring, Daniel gives great tips about the walks in the region.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    A gem of a place which I would recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    Welcoming and helpful staff, in a well run hotel with fantastic views of the Jungfrau. Excellent food with free tea and coffee on tap.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stayed 3 nights. Our balcony looked right out on the Jungfrau. Excellent restaurant with reasonable prices for dinner and a good included breakfast. Very friendly and helpful service. My third trip to Wengen, my favorite place in the Alps, but my first stay at the Hotel Edelweiss, and I will stay here in the future. When we left, we asked to have the manager call a taxi - and to our surprise, when we arrived at the Train Station the taxi driver told us that the Hotel had paid for the taxi!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    The Edelweiss surprised us as everything and more than we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Edelweiss surprised us as everything and more than we expected. After taking the cog train up to Wengen we hiked with our luggage to a quiet part of the village. The room was very nice with a view of Staubach Falls down in the valley. The Inn has an incredible restaurant and chef who grows his own herbs and vegetables and the venison meal was very good and very reasonably priced. The staff was extremely personable. The traditionally Swiss breakfast was very good but we were mostly impressed by the startling view of the Jungfrau when we looked up from the breakfast table. In all ways we were pleased with the accommodations.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Swiss Alps!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms were a little on the small side, but we were not in them for any length of time except to sleep. Beds were just ok.

    Daniel was an exceptional host who has people that work for and with him who are second to none. Everybody at Edelweiss were truly engaging and honestly interested in how and what you did during your day. There are SO many places to go and see from Wengen just ask Daniel, Tomas or anybody else and they will help steer you in an exciting direction. Or just walk out the door and find your own adventure. This is a place I would not hesitate to return. Breakfast was a big plus to start the day. Dinner at the Edelweiss was excellent. Views are phenomenal for the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked it all.

    The staff was amazing. Especially Thomas- Very happy and welcoming. The owners are great. The dinner offered every night was a 4 course meal for only 25 euros. Optional. I do know they are remodeling their dining room so this price may have to be increased. The food is local and fresh. They have tables outside to sit and picnic. Comfortable deck furniture in back with view. One night we did not finish our bottle of wine and they kept it in their cooler for later without us asking. There is a hotel next door that has amazing food. There is a playground right outside. We truly enjoyed our stay. I hope to be back with all my girlfriends for the yummy coffee and breakfast and to get a true Sauna experience!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    The Edelweiss is the perfect place to stay in wengen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Making your own hard boiled eggs. More often than not they weren't fully cooked.

    The staff was amazing. Beyond personable. They made sure everything you needed was taken care of.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Just about everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Absolutely nothing, except the rain on Saturday!

    Just about everything! I had never stayed in Wengen before but I think it is much better than Interlaken, less crowded, quieter and the views are absolutely stunning! Daniel, Susannah and especial Tomas were helpful in all ways and nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfasts were very good (buffet) and the four course dinners outstanding in every way. I will certainly stay here if ever I visit the Bernese Oberland again! All in all absolutely first class plus!

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: