Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Federale 3 stars

via Paolo Regazzoni 8, 6900 Lugano, Switzerland

#12 of 102 hotels in Lugano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 630 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was an upgrade (possibly because we were staying more than one night) from a standard twin to a superior double and the view took in the mountains to the left side of the city. The original booking would have given us only a view of the steep incline going up to the station that immediately faces the entrance to the hotel, which is still, at least, shady and lushly green. We did not have a lake view, and the man who booked us in said that there are no real lake views from the hotel rooms because there is a tall building blocking the view on the lake side. The rooms at the very top on the lake side did actually look as though there could be lake views from them.

    This is one of the grand old hotels from the early 20th century, reminiscent of the types of places that Agatha Christie characters stayed in. The silver coffee and tea pots are engraved with the hotel name, the towels have the name imprinted in the cloth. It has a very good restaurant, where we had dinner twice, both times excellent. Someone who was perhaps the owner greeted every one who came to dinner and wished them buon appetito, speaking whichever language was necessary. The waiters and staff in the hotel are very efficient, and speak many languages. Breakfast was very good, including bacon and eggs. The room was spotlessly clean, and felt cosy but with plenty of light. Plenty of well placed lamps and outlets for electric plugs, small table and two chairs, as well as a desk and chair comfortable for working. Small fridge and electric kettle. The hotel was a very easy 2 minute walk down a zigzag ramp from the station. It is about a five minute walk down to the centre of town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the rooms were quite and clean, the staff were very friendly and helped in every aspect they could. Breakfast had variety of option and was good. Location was great, minutes away from down town and from train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was very difficult to use. There was no plastic curtain so you had to hold onto the hand held shower to ensure no water leaked out and it made for a very awkward experience.

    The complimentary breakfast was extraordinary. The staff was exceptional. The location fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving.

    Great location, close to the banhoff, and the funicular. Very clean and great staff. The boat ride was a great scenic tour of the surrounding small towns that are situated around the lake. Nice old piazza's for anyone to tour. Lots to check out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcoming staff provide professional services. Breakfast is nice and the dining hall is elegant.

    Very clean and close to the train station as well as shopping area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives - great experience.

    Best location, steps from Train Station, City Center, Lake Lugano. Very professional staff, particularly Luisa who was very helpful and kind. Very comfortable, clean and equipped room with an spectacular view of the Lake and the city. Delicious buffet breakfast and Dinner. Very relaxing atmosphere. We'll definitely come back and recommend it highly to all our friends and family.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, very clean spacious room with a wonderful view, the staff are friendly, efficient and helpful and the breakfast has so much choices. I would stay in this hotel again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillows...either super soft with no padding, or hard as a rock :( Breakfast - could change the variety from day to day. No croissants on Sundays?? Always ran out of bacon, when someone asked to have more, about 5 or 6 pieces were cooked. For a large hotel, we thought this was not acceptable. Shouldn't have had to keep asking?? As a restaurant, you should over cater not under cater. Toiletries were never replenished. Thought maybe after 1st night, but stayed for 4 nights, and never replaced? Foam soap in bath was useless....had to use the hand wash from basin! And from other reviewers, agree about having paper cups for tea / coffee. Expect for price, and style of hotel, there would be real cups. And no milk supplied..not even UHT milk?

    Great location, just across from train station. Easy walk down to lake. Can either walk back or take funicular. Large , clean rooms, excellent wifi. Very quiet location. Free bottles of sparkling water were replaced daily. Refrigerator in room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was just behind the lift. I heared it quite well.

    The location is perfect for public transport. The staff was nice and let me work in the morning to let me work in the bar

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No easy public transport access (I guess the elevated private location warrants it?).

    Everything: staff courtesy, sophisticated room design, perfect view of the city, excellent breakfast buffet, elegant silverware.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The location was superb. It's just across the road, almost right opposite the train station. Going to the hotel from the hotel is very easy cause it's a downhill walk. But going back to the train station can be a bit difficult cause it's an uphill climb. However we were given a funicular pass. So you can walk further down to take the funicular back to the train station. It's very close to the old town and shopping street. We bought a huge pizza for lunch and had half pizza left. The staff at the restaurant downstairs kindly reheated the pizza for us! There was a wide selection of food for the breakfast. It was the best breakfast that we had throughout our Swiss trip so far.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was excellent both for exploring around the city and for hopping the train to Milan. We stayed in the annex part of the hotel which had a kitchenette and air conditioning. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was very clean inside and out. We had a great balcony view of the lake and beautiful city! Our room was always cleaned everyday. The beds were very comfortable. The staff was helpful for us to get a taxi and offer directions around town. We enjoyed the hot breakfast buffet every morning we were there and it was no extra cost. We were given a coupon for the hotel restaurant for dinner but with our busy schedule we didn't get a chance to use it. The location of the hotel was excellent for us because it is located at the train station and locating near the shopping and eating district. The WiFi was fast and we never had any trouble with it. We are planning a return visit a few times a year to visit our daughter and we will return to Federale. Thank you for the great service!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing worth drawing attention to.

    Very close to train station and short walk to town center with great shopping. Very friendly staff really wanted us to have a nice stay. Nicely quiet - more than you'd expect being so close to the train station. Breakfast was above average compared to other EU breakfasts I've had. Nice little outdoor seating area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had no air conditioning so it was very hot and uncomfortable

    We were upgraded to a room with a balcony which was good to sit out on with a glass of wine. The breakfast and dinner were good, it was nice to be able to dine on the terrace

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building site at station sometimes noisy at night

    Excellent location near station and centre of town. Very attentive staff. Good facilities and comfortable room. Great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There's a kettle in the room, along with some tea bags, coffee and small biscuits. This was very nice, but nothing was replenished during the week. It would have been nice to have these restocked and perhaps some of the coffee creamer pots, even every other day.

    This is one of our favourite hotels: it's ideally located near the train station but very little noise. The rooms are nicely furnished, comfortable and very clean. Having a refrigerator and air conditioning are bonuses. The building itself has plenty of character and an interesting history. Having breakfast outside is something we particularly enjoy and the choice and quality of items available is just right to set you up for the day. The staff are very approachable and helpful--we would stay here again and again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this hotel was really very good.

    Staff friendly especially reception desk who gave us lots of information about the area and transportation. Rest of staff very friendly and our room had new linen every day as well as towels. Restaurant was good and the all in breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the best hotel we experienced during traveling ten days in Switzerland. Everything was so nice. The guy from receiption helped us to park car, greeting us in very fluently Chinese, Surpriced and happy! The room faced the Lugano lake with two balconies. Was it treatment for Genius member? Breakfast was fantastic!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good in lovely room. Decided to eat in the lovely traditional dining room. The Italian style food was really nice and service in the old fashioned way was something to enjoy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony and the little table with 2 chairs, very cute. I don't know if all the rooms have it thought. Also our rooms had windows on both sides nor being a corner room. Cozy and great view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is in a beautiful location. The staff arranged for us to have the same room as in a previous year with a beautiful balcony overlooking the mountains. The breakfasts here are incredible! The evening meals are also very delicious. We will definitely be returning to this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there in summer so no need for the facility, but the spa area was a little less impressive. But honestly this is very minor, I would stay again in a heartbeat!

    The staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating, very noteworthy treatment! The location is also fairly perfect as it's just minutes walk from the train station and views are lovely! You can take the funicular from the center city to the station so no need to walk uphill if there is anyone with limited mobility.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing what so ever.

    Extremely friendly staff, everybody greeted you with a smile and was helpful but never overbearing. Even got a free upgrade due to the fact that our room did not have an AC.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was excellent, big clean and with balcony. 200 metres from train station, close to all the buses and cog train to and from down town. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was some auto and foot traffic noise one night of the five I stayed, but closing the window took care of that. (Replacing the windows was part of the renovations over the years, and they are first-rate.)

    The property is located close to both the railway station (which serves as a transportation center for buses and airport shuttles as well) and downtown Lugano. The hotel literature says they've made numerous improvements and modernizations over the years, and it has been done well. Desk and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. My daughter was a student in Lugano, and this was one of the facilities she and her fellow students and their families recommend. Hotel stays in Ticino apparently now include a free pass for public transportation and discounts on some activities; very useful and convenient, particularly being that close to the railway station!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a three star hotel with rather old and poor facilities the price is very high. All in all we payed for one night CHF 310.-, inkl. parking, taxes and fee for the dog. But Lugano is a rather expensive city. You probably wont find much better for less money.

    The Staff was really frendly. They even let us stay until half a hour before the next check in, since my girfriend had a run and needed the room afterwards. The Location is also perfect. Only a few steps away from the station and 5min on foot from the city center (all down hill though, so when you return, better take the funicolare).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Close to station and able to walk down hill to hotel just a 150 m but no train noise in our room. Transport up the hill to station provided. Nice room with balcony and good view. Great reception. Good facilities in the room. Great dinner and breakfast available.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location. From the train station just a few minutes walk down some stairs (there are ramps for big luggage). Also it is within walking distance to the city centre. There is a funicular station at the train station to get into the city centre if you prefer not to walk. Very friendly receptionist (I think his name was Paolo). He gave us a small bottle of traditional local apple cider as a gift. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check-in we received free travel cards for funicular( goes down the hill to the city centre) and also we could travel to Melide ( Swiss miniature park) for free. Also the some tickets gives you 30% discount on other Attractions. I was very happy to find at the breakfast buffet a good warriety of gluten free products (it is not displayed but if you ask the server will show all selection to you). It was very nice welcome and on departure we received a small bottle of local vinegar from house!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My friend had a problem walking up and down from the train station with bad knees

    the breakfast that came with the room was perfect and the service very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None of the BBC TV channels worked in my room, I wish someone could have checked these out. Some real china cups (even IKEA ones) would have been better than flimsy cardboard ones. Some people like to put milk into their black tea, but there was none in the room. Something hot at breakfast would have been really helpful, especially on a cold and wet day. It wouldn't inconvenience them that much to offer this surely? Dinner in the evening, though was nicely presented, small portions were served, somewhat disappointing. Eating out is more expensive (Lugano is more expensive that Zurich!), but the ambience and portion sizes are better.

    The room was to the rear overlooking the mountain. The bed was good, the room was clean, the WiFi worked without much problem, the view would have been good if it weren't for the large amount of mist....! I imagine that the view must be spectacular at night when there isn't any. Single room was quiet despite being situated next to the lift shaft, but the hotel wasn't that busy, so I wonder how noisy the room is when the hotel is busier...?

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There not much variety of food in the breakfast

    -The location was 5 min away from city centre and near to the railway station -The recipients were nice and helpful especially ms. Stefanie

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you like a really soft mattress you may struggle

    Really friendly staff, who make you feel like you`re at home. Nothing goes wrong, and nothing is too much trouble. Everything just works and that`s because the team work hard to make it seem effortless

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great sized room with a balcony looking down to the lake. Easy access to the station and a short walk down to the town. For those not happy to climb back up it comes with free funiculare back up the hill leaving a short 100 metres walk down to the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is conveniently located below the Lugano main train station, very easy to find. There are many nice shops and restaurants easy walk to town and lake, enjoyed shopping and sightseeing. Room was upgraded to a better one, upper floor!! very nice room, very comfortable and lovely view from room. Very attentive and helpful staff, really appreciated their help and service. We had dinner at their restaurant with special discount coupon, fantastic restaurant it was delicious. Breakfast was great value. Lugano is a pretty city with a lovely lakefront location. FoxTown Factory Stores just 20 mins by train, recommended!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a steep climb up from the city. There is also a steep climb from the hotel to the train station.

    I accidentally left 2 fragile souvenirs behind. The hotel very kindly repacked and posted them to Australia for me. To my surprise they arrived in tact.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The construction near the train station made our journey a bit confusing. Once we found Hotel Federale, all was well. The cot was a bit hard, as were some of the pillows.

    Breakfast, location, friendly and helpful staff, classic hotel room, cleanliness, WiFi, views of Lugano, spaciousness of room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is a bit "cramped' behind other buildings with hardly any views of the lake.

    Lcated close to the train station. Nice size room with comfortable bed. Tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bedroom lacked decorative charm. Ceiling was polystyrene panels, paper cups to drink from, bath shower screen was a plastic curtain, breakfast food was inadequate--no hot options such as scrambled eggs, bacon, baked beans, etc. The Booking.com photographs made the hotel look like a score of 9.0. The reality was more like a 6.5. Very disappointing for a 6 night stay. The view from the bedroom was very good, but spoilt by graffiti on a building opposite. The hotel needs to make arrangements with the municipal authorities to rectify the unsightliness. The hotel account initially appeared twice on our VISA card account and was subsequently rectified. I can add photographs at some later date to confirm the above comments once I have downloaded my SD card.

    The view from the bedroom window

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though it was indeed close to the train station, directions did not indicate that walking involved a zigzag path up/down a steep hill. No restaurants or shops nearby

    The spinach ravioli was a HUGE plate, as was the risotto with shrimp, and they were both delicious

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable pillows. eventhough the fitted carpets seem new and clean after being vacuumed by the cleaning ladies the room smelled of dust! (Vaccum cleaner in need of maintenance???) The hotel charges extra 20euro for the car park.

    Spacious spotless room. Attentive professional friendly staff. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No functioning fan in the toilet. Paper cups supplied in the room - had to ask for wine glasses

    Very friendly staff, allowed us a early check in which made a big difference when travelling with a baby. Able to meet our every need. Nice room with terrace, good hotel restaurant with menu changing every day.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing .. If and when I return to have a quiet room, which I requested, but room 329, was a little noisy yet the view was amazing

    The welcoming attitude of the staff, nothing was too much trouble ..

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - the studio is very, very close to a church, the bells woke us up a couple of times in the morning - the check-in and check-out times mentioned on Booking.com are not the right ones. earliest check-in is at 15:00 and check-out is 11:00 (according to the infos found in the studio) - we couldn't make the air conditioner work (auto mode wouldn't work), and there was no instruction manual

    - very well located, clean, comfortable studio - good bathroom - kitchen: all the basic utensils + ceramic hobs, oven, kettle, etc. we only used it for breakfast though - lovely pillows and duvet. the bed is firm, I liked it, my partner didn't

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were tryng to get the place for two adults and two kifs. This hotel offered family room with four beds. We decided to call the hotel to get more information about the room, because we were affraid that there will be no space for four people. The staff has promised on the phone two rooms connected together and assured us that the offer on booking.com is about two rooms - one with balcony and one smaller. To our surprise we were stuffed in the single room with double bed and two folding beds when we arrived. We were told that this was a mistake of the person who picked up the phone, and he was not entitled to give any promises of that kind. Be careful when you book a room there and dont trust anyone. I would simply avoid booking in this hotel. Keep away from liers.

    Nothing special

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were not really impressed by the breakfast. There wasn't much selection with what to have bread with.

    Room was up to standard, very clean, comfy bed, modern bathroom. We also had dinner at their restaurant and it was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower... Water pressure was very weak and shower head didn't stay at angle I put it at... Also the temperature didn't mix well.

    The room is spacious and clean, bed is comfortable ... There's a powerful stand up fan for hot days... The bathroom is clean and looks nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room on top floor quite hot on arrival, adequately air conditioned but took some time to work (I'm American).

    Super convenient location close to train station; lovely old palazzo; friendly, relaxed atmosphere; large, comfortable family room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 800 metre uphill climb back to the train station! But it had pedestrian ramps so it wasn't too bad. Only paper cups for tea/coffee in room and ours had been used and not replaced (the dirty ones were still there). Tip - don't leave your breakfast unattended or you may come back to find a sparrow nibbling your cheese.

    Close to the train station. Balcony and window with views over the city and across to the mountains. Older family style hotel with lovely timber panelled dining room and chandeliers. Good sized functional bathroom ( shower in bath). Gluten free available on request. Boil your own eggs at breakfast. Good restaurant and bar with reasonable prices ( cheaper than city) and option to sit outside in summer months. Tea/coffee making facilities and fridge in room ( no mini- bar)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, one slight point of criticism could be that there is only soap in a big bottle provided in the shower and no extra shampoo. The hotel is not cheap but definitely worth the price.

    Amazing staff, everyone was extremely pleasant, helpful and attentive. They made us feel really welcome and at home. One of the best hotel experiences ever. Very central location between station and city centre. We had a room with a cosy balcony with partial view over the lake. Great breakfast buffet on a terrace. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The condition of the hotel/room wasn't superb but for a three star one it was what you could expect.

    The location and breakfast were really good, the staff was friendly and the room was quiet and clean.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    STAFF WAS EXCELLENT, ROOM WAS SPACIOUS AND ROOMY

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious family room, 2 rooms connected with hallway.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Availability of food... it's not available always

    Location and hospitality

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Terrible shower. I was expecting lake views but had a school view. No heating cooling controls

    Nice staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff was very very nice. This is the key value of this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room, dinner at their restaurant, beds, view from our room, absolutely everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is great just turn back from the train station. Close to everywhere. Breakfast is good but no refill on bacon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant staff were particularly lovely. The chef, Thomas, gave our stay a particularly personal touch and made our Easter extra special.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great people and very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing of consequence.

    Close to station. Large unit. fresh air with window opened. Staff at desk very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel in excellent location, great views from balcony

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough tables for the guest at breakfast, was unorganised and uncomfortable.

    Location, view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price too high compare to the facilities

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken blinds

    Late check-in, breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flat access difficult for baggage, hill, steps

    Flat with kitchen

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely family-run hotel with a cosy atmosphere. Close to the train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room, great family run hotel with excellently location, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, excellent location, and clean room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were too hard

    Friendly staff, suitable breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms at the front of the hotel are a little noisy if the windows are open

    The location and the family atmosphere in the restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly helpful staff, comfortable beds, good selection of bread and cake.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close location to train station. Very friendly and helpful staff, the waitress at breakfast was delightful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, friendly staff, room size and decorations. Value of money

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Federale traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: