Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ambassador 4 stars

Seftigenstrasse 99, Mattenhof-Weissenbühl, 3007 Bern, Switzerland

#24 of 36 hotels in Bern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1074 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom would be better with a proper shower instead of a bath/shower

    The location is convenient... right opposite ttram stop.... easy access from main train station...the room had a beautiful view and was quiet. It had a bar fridge and hairdryer... the bedding was superb... beautiful fitness facilities... loved the sauna and pool.... remember that use of the public transport Is free!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was uncomfortable, actually, very hard, the mattress felt old and used. The Japanese sitting bath was not easy to get in and the toilet was so small that we could hardly close the door and we are not at all overweight. The breakfast was below average.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The tram stop just outside the door allowed us to go quickly into town. Use of trams and buses are free when you stay at hotel. Indoor pool was sufficiently large and deep to swim laps. Parking is very easy just outside the hotel entrance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not feel at home in restaurant. Room furniture somehow scarce.

    Classy good hotel bringing comfort to almost everybody. Great parking opportunities appreciated and tram 9 in front of the house. Reception staff outstanding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was comfortable and clean, the bathroom small, but very nice and clean. The swimming pool , saunas and fitnessroom had everything we needed. The staff was super friendly and helpful. We had a free parking spot right in front of the hotel and were provided with free public transportation passes for the whole family during our whole stay. We also requested lactose free milk and this was no problem. We were super happy with our stay here and will certainly return!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillows were strange and not comfortable. Staff could do more to be welcoming and acknowledge you when you are passing through reception.

    Large rooms, Beds were ok. Great location, good swimming pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wellness facilities are not worth mentioning them.

    Quick check in. Helpful staff. Great city-view from the 6th floor. Convenient restaurant onsite. Free indoor parking. Tram station going downtown within 50 meters.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    cannot answer because the question - and therefore the answer would not be valid for an average guest - too situation-specific.

    cannot answer because the question - and therefore the answer would not be valid for an average guest - too situation-specific.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a late checkout, as my partner had spent the night feeling ill, I kindly asked what is the latest we could have. One person at the reception said 5pm which I found to be very generous. At 4pm we received a call from another man who basically said he would charge extra for the checkout and after an uncomfortable discussion he still questioned what the other man had said to me. He ruined the experience, and we didn’t even have a chance to use the spa/fitness area as we had forseen to use it after our checkout, which is normally allowed in every hotel we’ve stayed at. The man wanted to charge us un extra fee of 27.- each! We are so annoyed we won’t even want to cross this place again, and it’s a pity because the location and facilities are pretty good.

    Nice location, well maintained.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at check in could be more welcoming. Pillow was too soft, could be made more fluffy.

    Great view of the old city. Very near to the tram station. Room and toilet was very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ramp to parking garage is extremely tight. A/C unit in room was a bit noisy (but opening window was not an option due to street noise - next time we would ask for a room on the other side of the hallway)

    very friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast buffet, contemporary and clean rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The heating system was poor in one of the rooms we booked - was too warm despite trying to regulate the temperature. The response by the staff was very disappointing. The rooms and corridors also a strong smell (not fresh).

    The restaurant service was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has kindly provided us transport tickets for our stay. The room looked refurbished, it was clean, tidy and comfortable with a nice bathroom. The location is good, the tram station is just 2 minutes walk and outside the hotel. The breakfast was nice with lots of options.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    about 30 min from central railway station by feet, no cafes around, but COOP is open from 7am :) just three fitness equipment in gym

    perfect view from the room, quite area, good bed, small gym and swimming pool

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought the hotel was very old in terms of decor and structure and in need of restoration, it has an old smell in the bathroom. The process for visiting the swimming pool is convoluted, you have to visit reception for towels then go to a door and ring the bell. Lockers cost 5chf in the pool, this is a very old system. The swimming pool was cold and the Gym is ancient. You cannot call this a fitness center, the equipment is probably worth about 100 francs in total. The breakfast was average, no fresh vegetables. In the triple room, they promote 3 single beds but there were 2 single beds and camping bed, half a bed thus 2.5 beds. For 230 chf I would expect a little bit more and this would score a 6 to 7 in my view.

    It was clean, which is the most important thing when having kids.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a little cramped and en-suite bathroom rather flimsy offering little privacy for two.

    Quick access to tram stop and free travel pass. Centre of Bern only ten minutes away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is some problem in the bathroom, it is necessary to climb the shower in an uncomfortable staircase, which will be hard for the elderly. Of the minuses, only the field in front of the hotel, with the cows on it, their bells ring at their necks at night and in the daytime, it is problematic to sleep with an open window. In the rest the hotel is simply wonderful.

    Wonderful hotel 20 minutes of walking from the central station or 5 mines on a tram number 9. Very pleased with the ticket for public transport, which the hotel gives for the period of residence and it operates even after check out in this day, which saves time and money (and Switzerland is an insanely expensive country). The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and modern.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Modern hotel with creative internal solution (in the rooms). Nice staff, very useful undergroung parking, free ticket for the public transports, nice area in the surrounding, good restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room interior is very basic, good have more atmosphere.

    Very good Japanese restaurant on site. Furthermore a spa with small swimming pool is also nice bonus. Good bathroom, bed and very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not enjoy looking forward to using the hotel pool (part of the reason why we booked) to find out it was closed. This was not shared on the booking.com website or by staff when we checked in. We found out when we tried to get in! I found this very disappointing and when I mentioned this at the front desk I would have appreciated acknowledgement of this with a gesture of good will.

    I loved the view of Bern from the room! The staff were friendly upon arrival and the room was a good size. The hotel is out of the city centre although there is a tram stop right outside the hotel. Parking was easy and free.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very convenient with parking outside the property that was free and a metro station just outside the hotel to be able to travel to the centre of town. We only stayed one night so didn't really explore the area around the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was closed for renovation. This was not stated on Booking, hotel said this can't be communicated through Booking. Can't believe this. Got a free breakfast as compensation. And as all of Suisse, hotel is overpriced.

    Big hotel with nice modern rooms. Free public transportation to the center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom small.

    The staff is very nice. The parking is free which is rare, quite rare, in Switzerland. You can reach the centre by public transport in less then ten minutes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar service could have been better but one restaurant was closed. Hotel caters for overnight coach parties, hence bar was empty as people went to bed early, hence staff were maintained at low level and multitasking. Hence we had to wait. Try and avoid times when coach parties arrive as reception and lifts packed.

    Situated adjacent to Tram Stop which has a 5 -10 min frequency service to city centre 6 mins away. Outside parking opposite hotel enables one to leave car and travel by public transport. Good Spa area with pool and sauna although steam room was out of use for our stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is unfriendly when I want to discuss the price, parking your car in garage is dangerous due to very small places, I could not enter my car the next morning, next car was parked to close to my car ! I reserved this hotel due to the swiming pool and the Japanese restaurant. Although it is in the middle of the summer the pool is refreshed, no information received or seen on the booking .com Japanese restaurant was closed. No compensation received on the agreed price although both specific items where not available

    Nothing at all !!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower in our room was very impractical. Especially for elderly. also, there was no bathroom door, while the room was one for three people.

    easy to park the car and rooms are modern. it has easy access to the city center using the nearby tram stop.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was too small for 3. Bed was not super comfy.

    Great view of Bern and very friendly guy at reception. Also liked the transport vouchers; tram stop located conveniently outside the hotel and it's a short tram ride to the city centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a junior suite the room was really small and had basic decoration

    When travelling by car the location is perfect and there is underground parking. Awesome surprise was that for the duration of your stay you are given a card to ride the public transport for free. Breakfast was very good although would have liked at least some choice of fresh vegetables (cucumber, tomatoes). View to the old town is perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool is under serious renovation so is not usable even though it's listed in the facilities

    Staff were friendly, easy access to public transport

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff here were very rude. The staff started off telling us how they charged us commission as we didn't book through their website and how much they disliked booking.com. We were then provided with the wrong room, a downgrade from what we paid for. We paid for a triple room and was provided with 2 single beds, completely opposite from what was advertised. When queried we were told they couldn't help us we have to contact booking.com. This fiasco lasted for over half a day, ruining our one day visit. The staff at the desk in the morning finally conceded it was the wrong room but they were only going to give us 50 CHF off a 301 CHF room when they were advertising the downgraded room for 150CHF currently on booking.com. They wanted to give us 50% off but they would have made a loss (??) and booking.com charged them too much commission. Also the main reason we visited this hotel was for the majorily advertised Japanese restaurant inside the hotel(due to my health my diet is serverly limited) to find it was closed through notices in the lift rather than being informed. Overall quite disgusted by this behaviour and lack of customer service, finished by the man behind the check in desk bluntly telling us he'd been "told to apologise from the director".

    The bedroom was clean and the tram made it very easy to access the centre of Bern without the noise.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Do not go to the japanese restaurant in the hotel. We had one of the worst japanese meals ever.

    The rooms were really nice and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel situated in a good location with a tram stop right outside the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has a restaurant that is japanese which is reasonably priced. However, I told them I have an allergy and couldn't have mayonnaise, my order came with mayo 2x and they were simply wiping it off. When I got the most expensive roll on the menu it was supposed to have avocado, salmon, tuna, kingfish and shrimp. There was no kingfish instead there was fake crab, a cheap and crappy substitution. The gym is a joke, 28 degree tiny room next to the sauna. The weights max out at 5kg and out of the three cardio pieces the elliptical is placed upright in a storage position, making it unusable.

    Rooms are nice, but very retro and mildly tacky. View is great, but area is really in the outskirts and industrial. Nice, helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed description on booking.com was not the actual fact. This place classes a double bed as two separate beds. I booked a triple room containing 3 individual beds (either double or single). It turned out to be a single and one double. The staff informed me that is their only option. Not perfect for 3 guys.

    Good underground parking facility. Perfect location for a 5 minute trip to the airport and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the location was sort of nowhere but great as it was quiet

    Out of town a little but otherwise great staff, food and amenities. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The worst trained staff at the bar and breakfast we/ve ever encountered, poor attitudes likely due to the boss lady reprimanding new staff in front of the sparse group of patrons. If I owned the place I'd fire her on the spot. The morning staff was trying, but had no clue what their job was and were "hiding" in the back room.

    Clean room with nice view of the city (6th floor). The front desk staff was nice and competent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was water damage above my bed which look old . As a builder myself this is an easy problem to resolve but to us guests it looks horrific and unbearable to wake up to . Apart from that everything else was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not ideal in terms of using the bathroom facilities. Toilet area had a sliding glass door and was extremely tight. There was no door for the sink and shower/tub area which gave us no privacy when getting into and out of the shower/tub. Not ideal for a dad, mom and a 17 year old son. The shower/tub was also very difficult to get into and out of....accident waiting to happen.

    Hotel was right next to a tram stop. Able to get to Bern HB in 5 minutes or so. The Gurtenpark funicular was two tram stops from the hotel....awesome park where there is something for all ages to enjoy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Close to public transport (50m). Only a 10 minute tram/bus ride into the city centre. All guests get a free public transport ticket for the duration of their stay. Staff very helpful and accommodating - we got an early check in without any trouble. Underground car park is very secure.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You would think a 4 stars hotel would be better than this. The room and the bed was not as clean as it should. We had hair in our bed. The room items were all dated and felt so very old. If i could give the hotel a score it would be 1/5 but booking.com have a stupid scoring system that wont give less than 2.5 tottal.

    The staff - the free parking - the view was OK.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower did not have sufficient flow of water and it took ages to take a shower. Ladies with long hairs, it was just awful. Never more. And access to shower impossible if you are not an acrobat. Last, sink was plugged. Not nice at all

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not helpful at all !!! They didnt want to give us a room because we arrived 1h30 before the check in (I'm a genius member and I'm untitled of early check in !!!). We received instead the free public transport card for visiting the city. Great !!! After a long drive you just want to rest and not have a walk in the city under the rain ! I had to give 3 calls to the reception and wait 20 min before they bring us 2 pillows in the bedroom. Uncomfortable pillows. I hurted my neck. Small bathroom. Dont expect more than a small bottle of shampoo and soap (not a 4 stars standing).

    City center is 10 min away with the tram. Tram stop is in front of the hotel. Swimming pool, hammam and sauna.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was free (as promised) and easily accessible. The public transport was very near and there were regular connections. I could also make a coffee in my room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In - Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel should have maximum 2 stars. The design of the rooms is horrible. The sink is in the middle of the room, bathroom too. Everything inside the hotel is too old and has to be changed! There is no robes or towels in the spa area. The gym is very small and actually the equipment was not working!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the worst designed and most uncomfortable hotel rooms I have ever stayed in. Not four stars by any means. Also, no towels in the 'spa', sauna not on --. why bother? Only good thing about the hotel really was the view of the old town and proximity of tram.

    Staff were cheerful, especially in the restaurant. Parking free and easy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful breakfast !!! nice bedrooms, with enough space, which is not that common in Bern, where most hotels have single rooms looking like corridors... Moreover, bedrooms are modern and comfortable. Hotel is not located in the inner centre of Bern but is very easy to reach from train station and city centre with line 9 of the tramway (about 10 minutes)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -lights in entrance is insufficient

    - nice view! -free perking and wifi = super -free public transport = super -option for a "small breakfast" is appreciated

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not value for money. Like always in Swiss but still ok. Our floor hallway was smellin really bad like cigarettes. And personal con glass walls to separate toilet in the room

    on our way to another destination we stayed at this hotel for a night. And basically I choosed this one because of the Japanese restaraunt . The restaurant was really nice. The stuff in general friendly .and good breakfast and free parking

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They sold us a tripple room, but the third bed was an extra bed, not a proper one, a very bad quality broken base and an awful mattress. My teenage daughter ended up putting the mattress on the floor. The bathroom did not have a door, my teenage girl refused to shower as no privacy. The breakfast is poor, the bakeries were inside still frozen, they were not fresh and that is for 19 CHF per person. If I was on my own I would not take it, but you cannot leave two children without breakfast. It was a very expensive one night stay, little value for money.

    Location is great, short trip with tram 9 to City Centre. The hotel gave free public transport ticket which was helpful. Parking in their garage was also free of charge.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Actually what I like was also what I didn't like. While the intention was good, the double room was very cramped after adding the extra bed. We found it very difficult to move around. While it's already very late when we checked in, we didn't feel like bothering the staff to move it out. This has caused us inconvenience.

    눇The proactive customer service. We asked for a double room without the need of extra bed, as our accompanying child likes to sleep with us. However, we were offered the extra bed with no extra charge. Very thoughtful by the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really conveniently place for public transport, it takes ten minutes to get to the old town and it's super easy with the complimentary transport passs The view from the room over Bern is great Clean and practical room with a giant window Super quiet Nice staff at the reception Close to the Gurten mountain for an even better view

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are plenty to say. Firstly, the tissue box is almost empty with two pathetic pieces left. Secondly, this is the first time I find a empty not nearly but empty coffee area without any tea or coffee, however there are tea sets and kettles, seems we don't deserve their tea? Thirdly, the shower is a tragedy, it seems I living on the top floor of a skyscraper with no pumps. Fourthly, the litter bin in the bathroom is broken. Finally, they do offered a Japanese style bathtub. However, it is so dirty and the edges are so sharp, and there is no handle, which make it really dangerous to use the bathtub.

    Well, it is a modern style hotel, which I think is the only good point.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are too small (for the money). The hotel charged us upfront breakfast (19 CHF per person & day), although we wanted no breakfast. The hotel charged us upfront additional 20 CHF/person/day for minibar!? Although both deposit were returned at check out, this is not a friendly way to welcome gusts.

    There is a free parking and a tram stop near by,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dis-satisfactory. Bathrooms normally have a shower room or a bathtub. Our bathroom was unusual in that you had to climb into it. A sort of wall 3 feet high. It hadn't been cleaned properly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were not what we expected

    We liked the cleanliness part and dinner we had at the restaurant on the last night. We liked the fact that it's just few minutes walk to the tram stop and we had free tickets to use as many times as we like during our stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Junior suite was rather small, NOT luxurious, and overpriced for the size and amenities in the room. As a mature couple we found the bathtub/shower difficult to access. The room safe directions were misleading and we encountered difficulty utilising the room safe.

    The complimentary tram tickets, and the location was easily accessible by tram. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We opted for full spread breakfast and I thought it was slightly expensive.

    The Hotel is located at decent location from City center. The staff is very friendly, rooms are clean and tidy. Also, shared the free public transport tickets for entire day.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Good staff, clean room and very nice facility. Not far from main trian station , The Tram no.9 stop right outside the hotel and took us to center under 10 minutes.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too soft pillows, bathroom's ventilator wasn't working

    Polite staff, great location away from the city buzz but with tram stop right in front of the hotel, fresh breakfast, amazing view of the town from our room (7th floor).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No acknowledgement at breakfast No cleared tables either No ones fault but lifts broke down during our stay, we were on 6th floor and staircase is outside of building

    Free parking Free tram travel Spa facilities

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast buffet was poor (not worth buying) Some towels in the room were dirty

    Nice clean rooms Good views of the city Very convenient to get to city centre in 10 mins with a direct tram

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable and conveniently along tram line.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are too small

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location, Staff is very friendly, facilities are good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An excellent place to stay while in Bern.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    2 pillows not enough and too soft. Should be 4 pillows.

    Customer service and cleanliness.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it's not 4 start hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom/toilet is not fully isolated from bedroom, breakfast is so so.

    Good Location and good spa.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dining room at breakfast was very crowded

    The free parking, the convenient tram to the old town

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    Locations ok. Free shuttle to airport convenient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in all three showers were weak water pressure and shower heads rotated and sprayed anywhere they desired. I’m

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot for the dooner and the two single beds were not successfully joined

    Access to the trams to the city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In - Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was great

    Friendly staff, good food, good price

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Ambassador traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: