Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Forni 2 stars

Via della Stazione 19, 6780 Airolo, Switzerland

#3 of 8 hotels in Airolo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 346 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property locks main entrance at midnight; surrounding bars open later. No hairdryer in room.

    Friendly staff, sparkling clean rooms, comfortable beds. Nice restaurant on site & other options within close walking distance. Great, extensive continental breakfast included.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In sterling terms it is rather expensive, but that’s the fault of Brexit.

    Perfect for the overnight stay on the long distance drive from UK to Italy - just south of the Gottard Tunnel. Very quiet location, with stunning views of the surrounding Alps and two minutes drive from the motorway. Very good breakfast and a high end dining restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, it was really good. Of course, everything is too expensive in Switzerland...the hotel is fair in this sense

    staff was really helpful with baby and dinner was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area in general is of course quite expensive so that isnt the fault of the hotel. The furnishings deserve a revamp.

    Convenient stop in the alps. We were a large family and rented the dormitory which was like an apartment. Very spacious. A restaurant downstairs is convenient in the small village and though expensive and not great size portions the food was quite good. The violet gnocchi was excellent! A little grocery store next door. The staff was friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were stranded in Swiss, because our car failed when we were driving back home. We had to wait to be picked up by family and therefore we stayed in this hotel. The people who worked there were amazing! We weren't in our best mood, but with the lovely employees it made our stay much better. The food was very good and the bed was great! Thank you for all the support during our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit small bathroom (for a family room of 4). A bit noisy (road just outside the hotel). Price quite high.

    Perfect location. Very kind staff. Nice big room with comfortable beds. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning, but we managed to get the room cool enough

    The pasta dish we had for dinner was excellent. The original booking via Bookings.com turned out to be the attic room and the staff were great in suggesting a move to another room as it was so hot that day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like everything else in Switzerland, prices are high and relativly speaking, you get a lot more value for money in Austria or Germany. But that is not something the hotel can be blamed for as their prices are in line with other hotels in the region.

    Nice family hotel with friendly staff. Good location, good food. Hotel is properly maintained.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above .Basic facilities , old ski lodge interior, great food and friendly service- but50% too expensive.

    Food was excellent but incredibly expensive . We went on to stay at Plaza Vittoria in Verona- unbelievably Forni was More expensive than Plaza. Vittoria in Verona ,and frankly Forni is a second rate ski lodge looking over the Gotthard railway . Priced right it would be fine- but it needs to be dinner bed and breakfast c E 200. Our bill was E380

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture and deco in rooms could be a bit more modern..

    Very good restaurant. Also flexible about customer requests. Very helpful staff ( called a mountain hut for us). Rooms very spacious.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great views of mountains and Gotthard pass. Nice room with down-filled blankets. Elevator and very nice restaurant downstairs (one of the best meals of our trip). Free parking across the street. Appreciated the paperwork indicating which TV Channels were English-speaking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful and friendly staff. We ate at the hotel restaurant for both dinner and the breakfast buffet, and the food was excellent. They also offer bike storage to cyclists staying at the hotel. Definitely would stay here again, and recommend to others as well.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The extra bed was mal-functional. The evening meal was the most expensive of our whole week's hiking (5 hotels) and by far not the best.

    We were glad the hotel found a room for us by adding an extra bed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a lot going on in this town! Right beside busy railway. No private parking, must use some public spaces opposite but still no concerns re security of bikes.

    Best value hotel in a town with very limited options. Much cheaper than Andermatt. We stayed in the 6 person apartment, handy for group of Motorcyclists. Has its own bar and restaurant though more are available right beside it.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower size too small and unacceptable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    $$$ for what you get even by swiss standards

    traditional swiss lodge

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower is not great suggest to install a proper shower box

    Bed are comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very heavy and warm blankets for the bed (too much hot)

    Very good place in general

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was not great

    Very large apartment and good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing see above

    everything the hotel is brilliant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't know

    Friendly staff. Excellent service. Tasty breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly people

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The cuisine was outstandingly good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meal menu. Breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    In front of the train station (noise). Lots of light come through the windows and wakes you up. Old facilities. Not too many choice for the breakfast.

    Kind staff, clean room, comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Needs better lighting on stairs and corridor. fire extinguisher at bottom of stairs health & safety hazard.

    Good position in small town...nice big bedroom. we enjoyed a lovely meal if a bit pricey.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No air conditioning in the room which was a little uncomfortable as the temperature outside was in the 30s

    The owner greeted us as we arrived and all the staff were really friendly. The hotel was very clean and the breakfast was nice

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I suspect some people would say that the rooms are a bit dated, but this was not an issue for me. The only other minor point was that the options at breakfast were a bit limited, but again this really wouldn't put me off visiting again.

    As a cyclist this is the perfect spot to base yourself for some excellent riding. All the staff were very friendly and spoke good English. The room was comfortable, the wi-fi worked well, and they made a great cup of coffee!

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    price-quality relation. Price is high for offered accommodation, rooms are outdated and noisy. You can hear the steps of ppl from the upper floor. Restaurant food is good but expensive. i.e. 40 euros for a steak and 13 euros for a tiny child portion of spaghetti with basic tomato sauce.

    location, we were traveling from The Netherlands to Italy. Clean rooms

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    On a warm summer's night open windows let in a lot of noise from the train line The restaurant is expensive

    Very comfortable and friendly family run hotel. Good restaurant with large selection of local produce including regional wines and beers Charming little town with good views of the mountains

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff disorganised and nervous. Although we are elderly and partially handicapped, no one suggested assisting us with our luggage. Breakfast buffet very limited: when we wrapped a little bread and 4 wafer-thin slices of salami to eat later, we were charged 12 francs! We have lived many years in Switzerland and never experienced this sort of stinginess. Swiss tourism was badly served!

    The bedroom windows did a good job of silencing the road and railway noise.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Dinner was served every attention to detail. Fresh produce, excellent wine, beautiful environ. Staff were friendly and accommodating. One of us had specific dietary needs and they made a delicious meal to order taking time to listen and get it right.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad about this hotel. It's just that Switzerland is so expensive.

    Best thing was the Lovely evening meal. Three course set menu for 37 CHF which is not too bad for Switzerland. Freshly cooked, good quality ingredients, nicely presented.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Opposite the very busy train line through the St gotthard tunnel, although it did not disturb us at the back of the hotel

    The food in the restaurant is fantastic, and very well prepared. Tasting menu to your standard pasta, it has it all. The tasting menu was very well executed by the chef team and the restaurant has won accolades for its food so well worth trying.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel is in the downtown area. Easy to walk around town. Restaurant in the hotel is good. Restaurant owner is nice. His son was on hand and speaks English.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi was intermittent and the room was on the backside and thus did not have much natural light.

    Very nice restaurant and extremely pleasant, helpful staff made for a relaxing stay. We stayed in a room for 3 with an extra bed and were very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was the perfect place to stay with my two young boys for us to go skiing at Airolo Pescium. It's right across from the train station, where we could easily move with all our gear and get to the shuttle bus easily in the morning. The staff was very nice to us and tolerant of the little guys, who can be quite the little maniacs. The room was a good size with no noise from the trains and nicely clean.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    some staff were not friendly 2 cheese sandwiches were $20 (totally insane) the room was very old and out dated the price, when booked, was not the same when paid. there is not enough parking places for the cars.

    it is quiet it is near the alps and you get an amazing view.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    All the staff were exceedingly helpful and friendly

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    For the price, I was expecting more from the breakfast.

    The staff was very friendly and kind. The room was simple but really clean.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Price and location

    Stuff kindness

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Good value (for Switzerland). Helpful staff. Good food.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The evening meal was superb, but a bit expensive.

    The people were very friendly and helpful and everything was spotlessly clean.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Helpful friendly staff. Great location for station.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Friendly, helpful staff Excellent cuisine, beautifully cooked The most comfortable hotel beds anywhere

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: