Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Franziskaner

Kupfergasse 18, 7000 Chur, Switzerland

#11 of 13 hotels in Chur

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 828 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    We had a very warm welcome and were allowed to leave our luggage as we arrived a few hours early. They even carried our case up to our room (on the top floor, so we were especially pleased.) Plenty of choice for continental breakfast included with our stay. Remember there is no lift so you should request a low level room if you are not good with steps. The shared facilities were very clean with plenty of hot water and we never had to queue to use them. Not a complaint, but there was a bell tower not far from our window which chimed regularly through the night which some might find a problem.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator makes higher floor lifting suitcases a bit difficult.

    The breakfast is really excellent, staff is helpful, room is clean, good location in the old town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced is an understatement. Booked a double bed room for my partner and I. Upon arrival we were told the room only fitted 1 person (even though it had a double bed!!) and we were told to pay almost double for the extra person...which was about $130 aussie dollars (originally priced at $80). After paying the extra money and climbing up to the 4th floor we then found the room had only 2 squeeky single beds instead of the original double. Not to mention the shared bathroom. Breakfast the next morning was terrible. No hot food, instant coffee. Not worth the money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't dislike anything but other visitors should be aware that rooms are basic & there is noise from the street

    Clean basic room good value in an excellent location. Friendly staff good breakfast & very pleasant restaurant /bar.Good WiFi

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Like your auntie's attic, there are no lifts. So if you have a lot of luggage, it can be a hassle. The rooms are basic, and the cafes in the square can be noisy.

    The hotel is as advertised. It is a spartan place in a fantastic location in the center of Chur - directly across the square from the Obertor and a few short steps from a PostBus station. The place is family-owned and feels like you are staying in your auntie's attic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On booking.com it was mentioned that room choice is with single bad or two beds. Don't be surprised - hotel doesn't have big single beds at all. Breakfast at each day was the same and was actually poor. Every evening it was very noisy outside so if you are planning to have a rest after hard day then you must be prepared for a noise outside.

    Quite close to Chur train station, but at first it wasn't easy to find neither hotel no entrance. Staff is very friendly and even if you don't know Deutsch you may find a contact. Big shower room in some facilities impressed! Cosy atmosphere in restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are very nice and helpful. However there is no elevator. If visitors carry a large luggage, they may carry it up to 3rd floor. Despite of this, the room is clean and comfortable. I love that the staff are always smile and welcome. I would recommend to my friends.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife was uncomfortable with the shared toilets. There were 2 on our floor and 1 shower, but it wasn’t a problem. There is no elevator-warm up before hauling your luggage down in the morning.

    The setting on an old world plaza with a small fountain and working bell tower is memorable. The room was comfortable and clean. The waitress at the restaurant checked us in and later served our meal. The fondue was a treat while seated outside, but be ready for Swiss prices. Breakfast, included, do had a lot of variety, served in a quaint dining room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    5 star customer service from a lady name "Olga". Olga is an asset to the hotel and she is one of the best customer service representative that we have ever come across. She is hard working and look after the customers to her best of ability. Hotel is in a perfect location, breakfast was super delicious, bed is very comfortable. We had a great stay there and will definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was VERY small - fine for me, but others may not like that. No elevator, which would have been a problem for me except the (young) receptionist carried my suitcase up the 2 flights of stairs.

    This hotel is in the old part of town, which was a plus for me. Although I had difficulty communicating with staff (my lack of linguistic expertise, not theirs), they were warm and welcoming. I ended up having both dinner and breakfast (included) at the hotel, and both were terrific! Then, when I went back to pick up my suitcase after sightseeing, the hotel's restaurant had warm kuchen available, and I had some. Yum! Bed was really comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very bad sound isolation, don't expect to have any sleep starting from 7h when room doors start slamming.

    Old style pure wood furniture. Cleanliness, nice view on the mountain.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy due to the location of restaurants but not sufficient to prevent sleep. No loud music etc.

    Lovely European style breakfast. Bread was excellent and beds very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift but that wasn’t a huge problem

    It’s perfectly located on one end of the town and is within walking distance from almost everything you might plan to visit. The staff are very kind. The room was very clean and ideal for a few nights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower water was luke warm and the room lacked a hair dryer. The hotel was a little difficult to locate via GPS

    Excellent location in the old city, close to station for Bernina Express, excellent venue to make new friends

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I watched TV in the morning (around 7 am), the guest next to my room knocked the door and asked me to reduce the TV volume. I was surprised, because I watched Switzerland tourism program with instrumental music and the sound was soft. Don't get me wrong, I respect the guest and then turn off the TV, but I tought the wall that separate my room and that guest was too thin, so she can hear clearly instrumental music :)

    Clean room, good location, nice breakfast, and nice lady in the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a single room! very very small and needs renovation. Water was brown when i opened the water tab. No tv! When you book they say room without shower. Ok i understand and thats why the price is low but the have walk to another floor for shower!?!?

    Good location in centre of Chur. 10 minutes walk from the main trainsstation. Food in the restaurant is excellent. Staff is nice and made me breakfast to take away sinds i had to leave before breakfast started. Price was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff weren’t all that friendly. There was no elevator, so be prepared to carry your bags up a few flight of stairs. It was quite loud, you can hear people passing in the street easily and everyone’s movements inside (I had ear plugs in and the noise was still a problem).

    The bed was really comfy. The room was clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the curten did not work well, I was bothered by the light and noise from the street.

    The staff were really helpful, delicous breakfirst, good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was charged again when I arrived, even though my confirmation email said the booking was paid. Also, there was no lift at the property so I had to leave my suitcase downstairs. I couldn't carry it up two flights of stairs.

    The restaurant was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    None

    First all the staff were very friendly and helpful especially Olga.The room was great and spotless.The bed very comfy.The breakfast was plentiful and even made a small lunch for my time on the bernina express.Would definitely stay there again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very pleasant accommodation in the old town, perfect location and is close to the train station. The room was comfortable and facilities were nice and clean. The highlight was the tasty breakfast and the amazing coffee in the cozy restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Further from rail station than expected No lift Smell of cooking strong even on 2nd floor- ventilation only by window which did not fasten on open position No fuss payment

    Good meal in bar Packed breakfast due to v early departure In old town

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs only with no lift for heavy bags. Shared shower and loo though just down the hallway from room.

    Location was good and centrally located in the old town. Lots of eateries within easy reach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We might have been warned that there would be a market being put up outside our windows! Loved the market, but not the noise.

    We really liked the location -- and the restaurant!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator. I like taking stairs but not with a 28 inches luggage (20kg) together, I still survive though.

    Good location, cozy rooms, and nice staff. It's less than 10 mins walk from train station. This hotel is also a restaurant with good business and food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to take into account that it's an old-fashioned hotel with a single bathroom per floor.

    Convenient place for a short stay, situated in old part of the city. Excellent breakfast in the hotel's restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    City parking crazy. 20CHF for 10 hours. Room very basic. Bathrooms old fashioned. No black out curtains. VERY noisy, noisy people in the street kepr us awake until 3am.

    Convenient for city centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed overnight as we were going on the Benina express the next day & all night there was partying in the street outside & screaming & yelling which went till about 4am the next morning it was a very unnerving experience & not very pleasant at all.

    The closeness to the old town & it had a restaurant which was handy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff don't speak english. But Carlos can understand your basic needs. Double Room is not spacious at all.

    Staff person, Carlos was very helpful. Wifi signal is strong enough and breakfast is good with dilicious croissants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cozy and very confortable bedroom, in the heart if the old town. Even though toilets and shower are shared, it was not a problem, as they have enough per floor. Everything was perfectly clean and well organized. Really good for the price. Staff is nice, and breakfast was basic but good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Others have noted that the street outside can get a little loud, and that was true on Saturday night, although I was so tired that it hardly mattered.

    Great location in Chur's old town and very budget-friendly. The restaurant serves excellent fondue.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are a little small, but in general, sufficient for our needs.

    Good location, staff friendly and efficient, clean accommodation, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A 3 star hotel charging around £80 a night should provide a lift - my partner counted 35 stairs to negotiate going up and down with heavy luggage. No ensuite, but a shared shower and toilet - again, one expects an ensuite when paying that price. The sink plug didn't work. The decor could do with improvement. Staff OK but not great. No proper reception area. It seems that the Hotel Fransiskaner is exploiting tourists' desire to stay overnight close to the start/finish of the Bernina Express to charge over the odds for the facilities it provides.

    Nearness to the rail station for the Bernina Express

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unfriendly person when checking in. The room was basic to say the least. No power points that were safe to use (one was hanging out of the wall) and the other was almost under the bed. No fridge. No hairdryer.

    The location in the old town is excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be careful if you don't speak or are not comfortable speaking German. The staff are lovely and so friendly but if communication is difficult for you maybe think elsewhere. (They are so friendly and accommodating it's easy enough to get by though. This is such a minor complaint)

    Cute apartment and quite clean. The shared bathroom was really clean and well kept. Excellent value for money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That hotel was nice but stuff was not nice except one. Some of them was little bit rude. Even their breakfast 🍳 was poor. It was not nice but coffee was nice. Thanks

    The hotel was the centre of chur and nice location, we enjoyed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    4th floor room...... No lifts..... on the up side, there was a roof terrace with stunning views to sit upon and recover from hauling your luggage so high!

    Right in the old town, this cute guest house is perfectly located for a cheap (by Swiss standards) and comfortable stay in Chur. The traditional restaurant below fires up a tasty fondue!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly and unhelpful staff. No elevator. Disgusting shared bathrooms for the whole floor. Not kid friendly at all. Very ordinary breakfast.

    Only the location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise at night, from the restaurants and bars in the square outside the hotel and from the hotel's own restaurant and kitchen, was really bad and went on until the early hours. The toiletries were very basic (cheap sachets of shower gel) and weren't replaced each day; I had to ask every evening for more shower gel, and it was never willingly given. I was given a 3-day Wi-Fi code for a 4-night stay, and the staff were "too busy" to give me a new code on day 4. Getting a second cup of coffee at breakfast was a challenge.

    Good location, 10 minutes' easy walk from the main railway station. The breakfast was good and served early (from 7am). Free Wi-Fi. Inexpensive (for Switzerland).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was hot, there wasn't a fan so I had to sleep with the windows open and it was very noisy outside. The WC was very nearby but the shower room wasn't even on the same floor! There was a noise from running water very loudly all night, it woke me up many times. I kept thinking it was raining heavily but it wasn't. I had a room on the top floor, maybe the others didn't get that noise.

    The room was really nice, super clean. I turned up a few hours before check in and they made me a tea whilst getting my room ready early, which was very nice. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. The staff were lovely. And the location was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a fan in the room- as street noise at night is loud with windows open!

    Right in the center of the charming bold town, 8 min walk from station. Had one of the only restaurants in the old town that was opened on a Sunday- we had their famous fondue. We stayed just one night because it was near the Bernina Express that we took the next morning. Great staff. Take the cable car to the top of the mountain - glorious Switzerland!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beer choice is limited (although plenty of other choices nearby) and room was not en-suite.

    Located in the old city centre. Very friendly staff - food excellent. Great value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy, and breakfast very average. Staff have very little English speaking ability and does not not handle larger groups very well for breakfasts. Would not stay here again

    Location was excellent, only 5 minutes from the railway station. Handy to all attractions

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very helpful with assisting my simple request. Attitude was always pleasant. Room was clean as were the rest of the observed facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan or air conditioning. The hotel is just above a pub/restaurant with people sitting outside and drinking and making a ruckus till the early morning hours. We could not close the windows as that was the only source of ventilation. Could not sleep all night because of the noise. Breakfast did not have any vegetarian option except for bread, cereal.

    Clean sheets and towels, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lift to the higher floors would be appreciated - hard work with heavy cases. But being an older hotel with period features this is probably not possible.

    Very clean. Nice location in the old part of town. Staff very courteous & obliging.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    when i open the door, its the bed head too close the opening. window facing street is noisy in the night.

    i like the breakfast in the hotel is excellent, simple but very healthy, tasty very good. the room is small but very clean and comfortable for one person, shared toilet and shower are not crowded at all even this hotel was full booked during my stay. The staffs are working there is very good service and very friendly, i would like to go back there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of sockets for charging phones/tablets

    Friendly and welcoming staff, great centre location close to the secure public parking (20 francs overnights) rooms basic but clean and well presented, shared toilets spotless

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly loud! There is a bar next door that was open until about 3AM and the farmer's market sets up on the streets at 5AM.

    Beautiful breakfast and in the center of everything! Really cool city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevators, no air conditioning, no private bath/toilet, street noise at night, very old facility but CHF 65 per night.

    Walking distance from train station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator and shower room may not be on your floor. I had to get down to one floor bottom to take a shower, but it was not a big thing(It might be matter if the hotel is crowed or full. It was just not the case for me though.)

    Breakfast was really nice. They serve 4 kinds of hams with a cheese, bread yogurt, coffee, honey and to name a few. Host was kind and tried to provide you the things you need like storing luggages or late check-in. Room was clean, and towels, soap, and shampoo were provided.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no elevator! no hair dryer! Booking.com, you should have told me before I booked the hotel. I'd have taken my own hair dryer with me

    Friendliest staff! everybody is soooo friendly and helpful. very impressive!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was so friendly and helpful. They went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable! Would stay there again in a heartbeat if ever I am in Chur again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs without an elevator is harder as I get older, but very normal.

    Very traditional European hotel with twin beds pushed together, a sink in the room and a bathroom down the hall. The staff was helpful and very friendly. Everything was very clean and roomy enough for comfort. The special part of the hotel is dining room. We had the fondue for dinner and it was wonderful. Everything about it was great, the food, the room, the wine, the beer, and the staff - a very wonderful night. Breakfast was a great start to the day and the street out front is a wonder on the way back to the train station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The square was noisy making sleep difficult even with the window closed. Both nights the voices of revellers walking through until 3am echoed loudly off the square walls. One night a band was playing loudly next door until midnight then there was the usual loud break-up of the party-goers. Go elsewhere for a decent night's sleep. Shower cold one morning and tepid the other.

    The location in a square on the old town was picturesque. The staff were friendly but very amateurish, one not even knowing how to check us in.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed on a Saturday evening and unfortunately the noise from the street-side was loud into the night. If you are looking for a quiet room probably the back of the hotel would be better.

    The location is good , located in the old city but within walking distance to the train station. The breakfast provided lots of choices, great coffee.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were really small. We requested an extra bed for a child by email- but there was no response to it. The description of rooms (sufficient for two adults and one child) is not accurate as the beds are hardly enough for two adults. The hotel is overpriced for the small rooms and shared bathrooms-way down the corridor. Has to carry luggage up two floors too. The rooms alternated between overheated and cold in the night. To add to the misery- as other reviewers pointed out-the bells- they chimed all day and all night. Right outside the hotel.

    The hotel was centrally located in the old town and 10 minutes walk from the bus and railway stations. A nice breakfast was served in the downstairs cosy restaurant

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi works just for one device. I asked for an iron and they didn't have one, it would be convenient for them to get one for the costumers who travel for business.

    The staff was very friendly. The place was clean, peaceful, and very well located. I had a mushroom cream, it was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very warm welcome. Had dinner in the restaurant - THE BEST PASTA EVER! Tried Quarkpizokels (local pasta speciality) with spinach and alp cheese. You MUST have this. Congratulated the chef! Breakfast was also really good. Shared bathroom facilities but this wasn't a problem - very clean. Accommodation was in really good location - wish we had had more time to stay. Would definitely recommend this accommodation.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is NOT the yellow tower with black & red shutters shown in their photos. That's the room view-- if you hang out the window and look left. The hotel was hard to find because we were expecting it was that tower. When we did find it (GPS), it was on a small side road and had a different name on door. There was no lobby- only a 'ticket sales' style booth, where they'd left the key for us. The room was maybe 2 feet wider than the bed, had a small sink and was simply furnished with well-used furniture. The shared single shower would've definitely been an issue if there were more than 4 people. However, the room was clean and I'd highly recommend it for it's zen location inside the old walls

    You can't beat the 'old town' location and they had a nice breakfast in their cute fondue restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing fancy but decent value for price paid. Friendly staff. Good location in old city center . Single room is small with low ceiling but clean. Perfectly fine for one night stopover. Good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. We booked 2 double rooms,one was only a single room with an extra bed,far to small for 2 people the bathroom was minute,shower spray inadequate but we were charged the same price for both rooms. No hairdryer. Cooking smells and noise from the restaurant kitchen. On booking 1 gluten free diet was requested but not provided. Bread readily available in local supermarket but had to buy my own.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small for two people, but that is what you get in general in Chur for the comparatively moderate price.

    Great breakfast and very kind staff. Extremely clean shared toilet and shower room. Within walking distance of train station. Also, good typical Swiss meals for supper in hotel. Would highly recommend!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room with shared barhroom. The toilet was also inside the shared bathroom, and there were no seperate toilets on the corridor. That means if someonevis talking a dump and you want to shower, ...

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Also some fruit at breakfast. Clearer wifi details had to ask for them.

    Great location in the old historic town of Chur. Hotel was very welcoming and clean including the shared shower facilities. Great value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked the location in the 'old town', within easy walking distance from the main station. My single room and the shared bathroom facilities were very clean, and I liked the timber furnishings. Breakfast was also good. Would be happy to recommend.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift, I have to carry my luggage to the 4th floor. Breakfast can provide more choices of food. The pillow is too soft.

    The bed is comfortable, clean and good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was very noise at night especially during weekends. Although I have closed my window to avoid the sound, I still heard them very clearly when people was talking and singing on the street. I could hardly sleep until 2 am.

    Everything was good: location is easy to find, staffs are nice and breakfasts are basic but sufficient.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcoming, clean rooms (Swiss touch!) for an inexpensive hotel, excellent breakfast. Great location in the old city - pedestrian zone.Just be ready to walk up a lot of stairs to the rooms!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The most expensive accommodations during my whole trip, and not the most beautiful/ cool/ convenient/ rustic.

    Centrally located with clean facilities.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a bit simple, but then again you get much out of the money. I missed boiled eggs.

    Nice hotel with a friendly personnel, who were very helpful when asked. Perfect situated in the old town.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel ignored request for twin room rather than double, then ended up charging us even more for a twin with ensuite.. Was very expensive - most expensive night of the trip, however this is probably due to being in Switzerland.

    Location in the centre of Chur was handy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was tiny. They had managed to put a bed, a closet a table and a tv in there, but I could not use table nor closet as The acces was blocked by the bed. I couldn't even put my bag anywhere. A small window was placed too high to have a view. Started to feel claustrophobic at night. I could hear every tiny noise in the room next to me. So when other guests returnes I woke up. When my neighbour turned on the tv at 0.30 It scared the hell out of me. The breakfast could have been more healthy and diverse.

    The location of this hotel is great. Right in the old town, from where you can take beautiful strawls

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not stay sufficiently long to really assess the hotel. It is small and might be not the ideal location for a longer stay with partner or family.

    I needed a simple room for one night and enjoyed the location in the old city of Chur, near train station, very convenient. Very friendly hotel staff, flexible regarding of late arrival and early leaving. Small, clean bedroom with furniture made of Arvenholz with its typical very nice scent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no elevator and it's a 4 or 5 storey building

    Breakfast was croissant, bread and cold cuts, cereal. Sufficient. The staff were great. Everyone was very charming and accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Franziskaner traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: