Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ambiente Hotel Freieck 3 stars

Reichsgasse 44, 7000 Chur, Switzerland

#2 of 13 hotels in Chur

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 894 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is located in a very quiet area of the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is located in a very quiet area of the old town. About five minute walk to the centre and ten to the railway station. Friendly staff. My room was comfortable with good views of the surrounding rooftops and of local mountains. Lift to all floors. The buffet-breakfast was varied and tasty. This was my third visit, hope to return next year.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Charming hotel in Chur
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I could criticize would be that, since the rooms do not have air conditioning (which is not a problem), it would be great if the hotel could invest in light summer duvets rather than the heavy blankets year round.

    The hotel had an excellent location, nice decor, and friendly staff. They also were very good about recommending places to eat in the town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Friendly hotel with character and charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The glowing light switches in the bathroom shone through the bathroom glass door and were difficult to black out.

    Our 2nd stay at this hotel and we once again found it relaxing and comfortable. Good breakfast and nice breakfast room. Convenient parking right outside (we got lucky finding a space) although there is a charge. Very central location. Loved the church bells and the view of the church from our room. Receptionist was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.4
    The hotel was a convenient stop over prior to the Bernina Express the following day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no air conditioning and the room which was stifling and uncomfortably hot for sleeping. There were few extras in the room and no tea/coffee making facility

    location was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    This hotel is really well located, clean and comfortable - loved the armchair in the room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle and some mugs in the room for a cup of tea would be more convenient.

    Wonderful - hospitable and comfortable lodgings. Great location in the old town and very efficient and accommodating service - nothing was a problem. We liked the atmosphere of trust and respect. We also loved the sunshine pouring into the bathroom and the views of the rooftops.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    This was the second time we stayed here and in two years...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was the second time we stayed here and in two years nothing had changed, everything is still perfect. The lady at the reception was friendly and helpful. Location couldn't be more better, it's in the middle of the old town and view is fantastic. Breakfast is served on the ground floor restaurant and view is to the bustling streets of the old town. One of a kind location definitely! Also parking is very good if you request the parking space early on while doing the reservation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was good enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the bedsheets or pillow case may not have been as clean. My wife was ‘beaten’ by something and had rashes on one side of her face. We had an antiseptic cream that cleared them by the next day.

    Breakfast was good enough.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice location. Clean and comfortable! Good breakfast. Nice for a Bernina Express stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor complaint here - Breakfast juices weren't that great. Prefer fresh juice to the long-shelf life kind.

    I made a gamble with this hotel as it looked a little strange from the photos. I am glad I did as the hotel was great. We had the room with the red bathroom in the photos. It was stiflingly hot and we were so happy there was a fan in the room. Made the night much more pleasant. The room was perfectly clean and spacious. Breakfast was good with lots of variety. Nice croissants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.3
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The public areas are really nice but the bedroom we had was dated and totally impersonal, no pictures on the walls etc, so it felt a bit bleak.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Just loved it !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just loved it ! Fantastic location and the owner was amazing. The rooms are spectacular with care taken for the smallest of detailing. The beds were amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    A good option for a family in Chur
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in a quad room as a family. A good sized comfortable room for that type. The hotel is quiet and well-located, with a very good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.1
    Great breakfast spread & quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price is high even for Swiss standards.

    Great breakfast spread & quality. The hotel has a nice cosy feel. Room was comfortable. Checking in & out was fuss-free.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    A pleasant and comfortable hotel in a nice area of a lovely town, close enough to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was never at the reception desk whenever I went, they had to be called each time and took a while to come. Rather strange that they weren't there at check-out time!

    The bathroom was modern and spacious, the bed was comfortable, the location was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Good breakfast buffet. Good location. Nice view over rooftops to click tower. Had nice ambience about the place. Good for station and town

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel in centre of Chur
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe a kettle in the room

    Excellent location in the old town a short walk from the station. Good sized triple room, good choice of food at breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    We stayed in Chur to take the Bernina Express.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The baby cot would be free of charge as most of the hotel.

    We stayed in Chur to take the Bernina Express. The hotel is 10 minutes walking distance from the train station. It is a nice family owned hotel. The best thing ı liked was the breakfast. We are travelling with our 1 year old son therefore the food quality is important for me. They have a good variety at the breakfast and nice cozy breakfast room. The room is not fancy but we liked the cleanliness and the comfortable bed. They have also baby cot with additional 20 chf. Friendly people, good service and a good location. I would definitly recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    The hotel generally closes reception at 10PM during the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel generally closes reception at 10PM during the night, while the time I arrived there was almost 11PM. It was unforgettable when the hotel owner quickly opened the front door of hotel for me and gave me a heart-warming welcome...that warm hospitality was the best experience I have ever had!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.9
    Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. Location not the closest to the station but still within walking distance. Not the greatest bang for buck given that Chur isn't really a tourist destination.

    Great breakfast. Bacon! 10-15 stroll from the main station. Modern bathroom with great water pressure. Large-size room especially for European standards.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was located in a very picturesque part of town. We had a lovely view of the mountains too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was located in a very picturesque part of town and our room had a lovely view of the mountains. It was extremely comfortable for a one night stay. The bathroom was very modern with a relaxing deep bath. Worth including the breakfast as there was a nice selection and good coffee.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.9
    Quiet location easy access to everything. Room clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms in need of a good face-lift.

    Great location! Pedestrian mall, shops, restaurants etc just a minute away. Train station within an easy ten minute walk. Breakfast was good. Bathroom excellent, appeared to have been recently renovated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.8
    Very comfortable hotel in the centre of Chur.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Welcome was a little impersonal, especially at breakfast.

    Large room, good location about 400m from station, quiet aspect. Reasonable breakfast choices

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    Large, comfortable room with very modern stylish bathroom:...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was good !

    Large, comfortable room with very modern stylish bathroom: great real shower ! Nice atmosphere in the hotel which is right in the old mediaeval heart of Chur. Helpful staff and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Bed for solo traveller was a double.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A second pillow (but I’ve never had that in any of these kinds of hotels, so it could just be me).

    Bed for solo traveller was a double. Usually hotels provide a single and I have to be careful not to fall out when I toss and turn. The room was also larger than most that I have been in. The lobby was quiet and picturesque- I spent a relaxing time there. Location near train station, in the old town, shops and restaurants close by. Friendly staff and super clean room. Near a small park with trees.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.2
    Best value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    We stayed 3 nights in the hotel. It has great location and just in the middle of the city center, the distance from train station is literally 500 meters. There are a lot of restaurants and bars around. The rooms are very spacious and clean, we had an amazing view from the room with church, cute streets and Alps further away . The service was great and employees were very helpful. We needed to leave the hotel before breakfast time and they kindly open for us the breakfast room 30 minutes earlier than they start serving! Highly recommend the hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Unique hotel, great location, yummy breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3rd night price doubled, so I changed hotels unfortunately

    Loved my5th floor alcove room with angled walls. Staff guys were delightful and very helpful. Breakfast and coffee was excellent. Close to train, sights.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    This was perfect for our overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except a lower price 😏

    Helpful and friendly receptionist, good breakfast- many options from pastries to eggs and fruits and meats- many drink options.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.6
    In the heart of the old town, easily accessible from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the heart of the old town, easily accessible from the railway station. A good base from which to explore the old town and very handy for the Bernina Express, the next stage of our journey.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    A really great family owned place that was as close to a home away from home that a hotel could be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't anything that we didn't like or found fault with.

    We ended up staying an extra night because this family owned hotel was a home away from home and the local area was quaint, historic, safe, and easy to walk around with everything accessible. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, the reception, dining room, breakfast - all spot on. Lovely breakfast including eggs and bacon. Our room was large and included a couch and lounge chair, a large flat screen tv, wifi, a large gorgeous modern bathroom with high quality everything, and our bed and doonas very cosy. We highly recommended this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.8
    A good hotel with old town charm !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows were uncomfortable- far too soft. A kettle and fridge in room would have been perfect.

    Room spacious and clean with a breathtaking view of mountains. Breakfasts delicious and generous.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    A perfect score.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving. But I'll be back.

    Everything was spot on, lovely quiet understated hotel in a peaceful location. Superb breakfast and possibly the tastiest bacon in Switzerland.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Chur was a lovely surprise and the hotel staff were attentive, friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in a lovely position in the old town and our spacious room looked out over a beautiful old cathedral. The staff were lovely, great bed and bathroom and the breakfast was generous and delicious. We loved staying there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    6.3
    Switzerland doesn't compare with France or Italy for service to visitors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was located up many stairs despite tiny lift. Had to threaten to cancel before they would change us to a better room. Not a good attitude in service industry.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.8
    Overnight Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike here. If you need a kettle or fridge in the room you may need to check this request with them when booking.

    Great location in historical section of Chur. Rear entrance is right onto cobbled laneways filled with beautiful shops, galleries, restaurants and small bars. Our room was on the first floor and although the decor was not an asset to the beauty of an historic building, the room was spacious and clean. Breakfast included some hot dishes as well as continental, all you need before boarding Bernina Express. Takes about 10 min to walk to train station where Bernina leaves from .. all pretty much down slight hill ..we had large suitcases and it was still not difficult. Staff are helpful to point you in the right direction. We were also able to walk here ..took about 25 min lazy strolling from Hertz hire car depot ..dropped bags first at hotel, easy in fine weather, would probably not recommend doing it at night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Super easy, very accommodating stay in Chur
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The proximity to the train station cannot be praised enough - very easy walk. Also large rooms with very modern facilities were fantastic. The breakfast was delicious and the woman working reception was beyond helpful in explaining everything we needed to know about the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Excellent breakfast and spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows Only other issue was the noise from returning guests past 10pm which made them enter through the back door which was below our room

    Excellent breakfast and spacious room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was slightly dated but comfortable

    The hotel is in a good location. From the back of the property you are straight into the old traffic free party of town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    The view from our attic room over the roofs of Chur to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is 2 blocks (3 minutes walk) away. At least at the weekend, it is easier to park in the metered parking directly outside the hotel, which is free overnight.

    The view from our attic room over the roofs of Chur to the mountains was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    3.8
    Worst stay ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible attitude of the staff. Since all over the world the check out time is 12, we thought the checkout time would be 12 here too. When we were getting ready to check out around 11.15 the lady at the reception called us and screamed at me for not leaving. Literally screaming "What don't you understand, leave right now or I'll charge you for an extra night!" She was so mean and disrespectful. No one has the right to scream at me. I had paid 240 francs for the night. Pathetic! Otherwise too comfort wise, service wise it wasn't good. I will never go to this hotel again and will never recommend it to anyone! Terrible!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    It is a very nice hotel, located in a quiet place (although...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It is a very nice hotel, located in a quiet place (although it should not matter that the next church bells ring every quarter of an hour), in the center of Chur and only five minutes walk from the station. The room and bathroom are spacious, the beds comfortable, and the breakfast plentiful and good. All the hotel staff was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was refurbished around 3 years ago. The rooms are above average size, the shower was excellent. This Hotel is clean and tidy with excellent breakfast and plenty of choice. It is about 7 minutes walk from the railway station and situated in the Old Town which is relatively quiet. This is the second time we have stayed here, the first was very good but the second was even better. Both times we had large rooms, the only downside is the church bells which ring early and late but you get used to them. At the railway station there are excellent bus and rail services to several parts of Switzerland. If we visit Chur again we will be booking the Freieck.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel but poor experience with staff and check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel has strict 10 pm check in that I failed to notice. We arrived a 7-10 mins later than 10 pm from train station due to longer than expected walk to hotel. This was after a change in plan where we should have arrived by 7 pm. One part of our group checked in Hotel Post easily at 10.10 pm while for hotel Freieck the reception was closed and Staff left with our room keys. Luckily we had friendly neighbor lady and Hotel Post (next door) manager tried helping us for over 2 hrs to help us get in. Even booking.com could not contact anyone at Hotel and were unable to help. Not sure it's safe to be in hotel with no possible way to reach anyone. Both lady and manager of Post hotel felt embarrassed and wanted to ensure we had good experience in Chur so they tried all possible way to contact staff. We experienced both best and worst of Swiss hospitality the same day. One one hand the next door lady offered her house for 8 of us including 4 young children while we fail to make any contact with owner or staff through emergency contact info. Finally after 1 hr 45mins staff arrived with keys they have taken with them. The staff lady seemed unhappy with our late arrival and all the fuss that was created by locals trying to help us. Am assuming someone from staff was assigned task to check us in but since onsite owner was away or out of town staff took off with keys promptly at 10. Even more uncomfortable was check out process when I found the room was already fully charged at 8.30pm. Our review is probably unfair to owner who has built nice property but is based on experience with staff that made no effort through this process. I recommend staying at Hotel Post instead.

    Quadruple room was spacious, beds were very comfortable and bathroom was renovated and rain shower was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely friendly hotel in a lovely old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facilities in room

    The breakfast was excellent, hotel in old part of town lovely evening walks , we arrived on Sunday and struggled to find a restaurant open on the evening meal

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel with a good location and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no fridge in the room. No information that you can pay only in cash for parking.

    It was nice, location is great, on the edge of old town, which gives great access with car. Staff was friendly, breakfast options were good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.9
    Location and breakfast were very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room on the 5th floor was incredibly hot - we were told we should have asked for a fan - so if it is hot, they apparently have fans available, but they must be requested.

    Location and breakfast were very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.9
    Well located in old part of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Somewhat expensive; reception staff efficient but don't express friendliness.

    Excellent location; very good buffet breakfast; clean, good sized room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    Character hotel in old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Character property in centre of old town - easy walk from train station. Excellent choice for breakfast but no restaraunt. Comfortable bed and lovely shower.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee was yummy, the location was perfect, the view out the window was beautiful, the room was comfortable and modern and the whole hotel was beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    The perfect stopover in Chur
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    Indeed, the bed was supremely comfy. We had a lovely room on the 5th floor overlooking the city and the hills. We spent one night there before taking the Bernina Express, and it worked perfectly. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the train station, is right in the center of the old town, and provides a very lovely breakfast. The staff were professional and efficient, and it made for a perfect stopover. The design of the bathroom was particularly well done.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Best bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small breakfast selection but adequate

    The best bathroom in a six week itinerary. Nice spacious room and extra helpful staff. Easy to get to from train station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.3
    Great Overnight Stay With Children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast and friendly staff. Location great. In the Old Town with great bars and restaurants nearby. No A/C, fridge or tea/coffee in room, however, an upright fan was provided due to the temperature being in the high 30's celsius. This was a nice touch! We stayed in a quadruple room with 2 children under 13. It was a spacious room with a lovely bathroom. Small bar and nice lounge area in lobby.Good for an overnight stay before taking the Bernina Express. 9 min walk from station. Not so good value for money but it seems that all hotels are pricier in Chur due to being a starting point of the Bernina Express.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    6.3
    Room was good, nice bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was very unfriendly and non-flexible. We asked for an earlier breakfast (before 07:00), something we have found possible in any of the well over 50 hotels we stayed at during our hiking tours in the region. We did not ask for much and would have accepted a friendly no. But it the very rude reply.

    Room was good, nice bathroom

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Nice room, good location and a great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom were modern and looked to be recently renovated. We were on the fourth floor in a very quiet room. The breakfast buffet was very substantial and even included bacon, a variety of cooked eggs and champagne. The hotel was in a nice location in the old part of town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Convenient, comfortable and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We chose Chur as our flight into Zirich arrived at 6.30 am and we wanted to connect with the UNESCO BERNINA Express Tran so staying out of Zurich and on the train line was a great match. It meant a decent hour for hotel check in and connection to BERNINA (coz we were later down the line). Lovely small private hotel right in the heart of the old town with little traffic and really close to eating and shopping options. Stayed two nights and loved the town with lots to see. It was a 10 minute easy walk (with wheeled cases) from train and bus station (taxi available if you couldn't walk due to weather). Tourism Office is at Train Station and suggested a short bus ride up the valley and connected to a Vable Car ride to an Alpone Village...great way to see more and spend a couple of hours.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.8
    A taste of the old Switzerland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little too far walking from m the station.

    I requested a room with a view and this was indeed a beautiful view of the old city. The church bells rang lustily and in the early morning the cow bells were tinkling. A ver good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful old city and spectacular surrounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite warm when we arrived . There was no air conditioner but it quickly cooled down once we switched on the fan. Staff kept it cool by shutting windows and curtains each morning and we opened both at night.

    Friendly helpful staff and super comfortable bed and Doona. We could open our windows to get fresh air and could see the mountain rising above the town. We had a wonderful experience taking a gondola to the top of the mountain and wandering in the meadows up there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Ambiente Charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a small point, but we did not find an English television channel.

    The room was spotlessly clean, attractive and comfortable. The ultra-modern bath was the most impressive during our trip. Our window overlooked a bell-tower of a church--lovely view. Breakfast was marvelous! It was simply the most complete buffet we have enjoyed. The location is ideal for taking the Bernina Express or the Glacier Express.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    Best value for three (or six) travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an extra travel fee per traveler assessed outside of the booking.com rate. Otherwise the hotel fit our needs well.

    Very close to train station (Chur isn't that big anyway), free wifi, modern bathroom, great breakfast (be on time since they close promptly and quickly at end of breakfast time).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.6
    A really good place to stay in Church
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clocktower

    The only reason we gave it 4/5 is because it is near a clocktower that chimes through the night - thankfully not too loud. We are light sleepers and noise easily keeps us awake but we did have a good night's sleep. Excellent location for walking to the train/bus stations and the centre of town. Plenty of good restaurants and cafes nearby. Very modern, well designed hotel. Staff were very helpful. Very good breakfast - not extensive but good on quality and a good filler to start the day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    5.4
    Nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very basic beds uncomfortable with just a thick Doona far too hot to sleep comfortably no toiletries towels very thin and rough staff very defensive when we mentioned the Doona said "its Switzerland "

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Nice hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed at this hotel before taking the Bernina Express train. The location is great in the center of town and within walking distance of the train station. Staff said the walk was 5 minutes, but we are older and it took us nearly 20 pulling luggage. The bathroom in this hotel was great with lighting near the mirror that was bright enough to do makeup. There is even a night light. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Like most of Switzerland, our stay was expensive, but this was one of the few hotels that included breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Lovely Hotel in good position in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After settling our bill the night before and then deciding to get coffees at the bar due to no coffee making facilities in room, we weren't able to pay by credit card.

    Comfortable beds, lovely Buffett breakfast, good position in town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Chur overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing I didn't like

    If I were to visit Chur again I would stay here. Unfortunately we were in Chur for about enough time to put our heads down on the pillow. The room was very spacious and clean. The location was right in Old Town and only about a 5 minute walk to the train station. Breakfast was included in the price, it was the best breakfast of the vacation. They even had scrambled eggs and bacon. Chur also had the best shopping, prices in shops were very reasonable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.8
    Lovely and comfortable stay for the whole family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much. It's a simple and cosy hotel, just don't expect anything overly fanciful and you'll be fine. It was just right for my family of 5 and we really enjoyed ourselves.

    The staff were awesome! They were so friendly and helpful that we felt really welcomed, relaxed and had a very happy and comfortable stay. :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel in the old town in Chur
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have preferred a double bed rather than two single beds pushed together. This was a large and impersonal hotel, but still very charming. Breakfast was hotel style with a serve-yourself buffet and the cooked food (e.g. sausages), while appreciated, was not brilliant.

    Buffet breakfast had a great variety of choices of food and drink - even prosecco! We had a large room in the attic with a sofa and amazing views (room 501) - the views were the best part. Location of the hotel is excellent, in the old town, which is beautiful to walk around. The bed was comfortable. Having a lift was useful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    10
    Delightful hotel in the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A perfectly positioned hotel- just a few minutes from the station but in the old town. Our economy room was spacious and very comfortable, with a modern bathroom and an excellent (huge!) shower. The breakfast was terrific and staff were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    7.1
    I was disappointed because breakfast was described as being...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was disappointed because breakfast was described as being exceptional. We arrived down for breakfast 9.45 (7 to 10) and the staff member cleared the food and drinks away exactly at 10, so no chance to finish a proper breakfast - not what I call good customer service

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    9.6
    Great family room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Family room with the bathroom dividing the double bed area from the single - great use of space and made it possible to read when daughter was asleep. Good choice at breakfast and a lovely light breakfast room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel for a stay in Chur.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a solid bathroom door to cut down noise.

    Lovely small hotel in a great location near restaurants, shops and the railway station. Very clean and comfortable. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.1
    Hotel is nice and is very central Cost high for what is offered. Improvement needed on the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asked for a wake up call. It was not made. Make sure you have alternative alarms. The fan in the bathroom ran continuously. Staff reset the power and it stopped. We spent the rest of the night going into the bathroom without switching the light on for fear it would start again. Breakfast poor. Eggs cold. Fruit not fresh. Poor service.

    Staff friendly and very helpful. Room clean. Bathroom very nice. Location central with good access to Chur centre and railway station.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    10
    Gorgeous place, centrally located, and great staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was very expensive for one person, one night. For Switzerland, I suppose it's not bad. There were no soaps, only this all-purpose squeeze shampoo/soap in the shower. I brought my own so it wasn't bad, but I can see how it would be a little awkward. Although there is a gorgeous mirror and huge basin where you can put all your products in the morning, the room was quite dark so it was difficult to appropriately apply my makeup. Really, these are very minor things.... I was extremely satisfied with my stay.

    Everything was very good. It was very beautiful and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. My bed was very comfortable, and the room was quiet and clean. The bathroom was small, but very nice. It's perfect for one person. The staff was very accommodating, letting me check in a bit early and keep my car there until 12 the next day while I went off for a business appointment. The breakfast was plentiful and the location was perfect. I really liked staying here!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    8.8
    Modern facilities in the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As others have remarked, maybe a kettle would have been good.

    Great location in the old town and easy walking distance to the station. Very friendly staff, nice breakfast. Triple room was of a very good size with one bed well separated from the others.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    8.8
    Nce hotel with reasonable quality-price ratio
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good choice at the breakfast. Possibility to park in front of the hotel with free parking on Sunday. Good location next to the city centre and ideal if one wants to go skiing in the region.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room's decor was a bit businessy, but it was clean and comfortable and a great size, so can't really fault it.

    The hotel was in such a beautiful area of Chur and everything was in walking distance. There were hilarious coloured lights in the bathroom, which was awesome!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    7.1
    I think early November is a low season for tourists the price is a bit steep for a low season.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is very cold although the staff did bring a small portable heater for me but didn't help very much.

    I like the hot food that was served in the morning. The staff is very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel in the middle of the old town of the oldest town in Switzerland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bathroom door was half transparent glass and from the sides there was a 2cm gap from each side and since it was right next to the bed it was kind of awkward at times. At least fill the gap on sides.

    Hotel was situated in the middle of the old town. All the restaurants really close, great views. Hotel staff was helpful in recommennding places to eat. Perfect location for a place to stay while travelling around Switzerland.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: