Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Frohe Aussicht

Küchenrain 11, 9057 Weissbad, Switzerland

#2 of 5 hotels in Weissbad

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 218 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel is located in Schwende, good location as a base to hike in Appenzell. 5 mins up hill walk from Schwende station. Fantastic view from hotel. Big and clean room. Friendly owner. We stayed 3 nights and was given Appenzell card. Very useful for travel around Appenzell and taking cable card

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly cold at night (but what do you expect at 1000m). Slightly difficult to find, use car navigation or prepare yourself via Google Maps.

    LOVELY place at the end of a beautiful picture-perfect Suisse valley. I wish we could have stayed there longer but unfortunately we only had one day. Waking up in the morning with this view was perfect! Lovely owners, good breakfast, quiet, nice roomkey and front door system. I wonder why this place has not been flooded yet by tourists ;)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Cold breakfast, no hot dishes like bacon, sausages or omelette =( - Overpriced for this type of accommodation

    - View from the breakfast room was fantastic - The bed was like a cloud - Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. A lovely small country hotel.

    Lovely quiet hotel in gorgeous countryside, surrounded by mountains and pastoral scenes. Perfect for those who like hiking as we do. Food was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I am staying in Frohe Aussicht since 2007 and it is still my favorite hotel in this region of Switzerland. The breakfast is marvellous - famous Appenzeller cheese, delicios ham and incredible "Bircher müsli" (believe me, you have to try that one!). The restaurant is fantastic. You can look at the beautiful picturesque mountains and enjoy fine dining. And it is really that sort of fine dining you could look for in Paris or London - very nice fusion of local traditional German Swiss cuisine and international food (they even have Dim Sum and burgers and it's all just great). Need I say that the location is perfect if you plan to hike? Yeah. I will definitely come back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very professional, great breakfasts with local food. Very clean, peaceful and beautiful surroundings !

    No AC and only one window had a screen. Recommend screens on the windows because there are flies in the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think it's time to put in air conditioning. It was a really hot day, and it was unpleasant in the rooms. If you think than air conditioning is unnecessary, even a fan would be welcomed.

    We had to live before 8:00 a.m. and the breakfast time is between 8:00-10:00 (quite strange, but considering almost everybody are going there for vacations I can understand it) When we told that we're leaving early, they immediately suggested that we can go have coffee and some fruits or bread before we leave. I liked it

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked it all.

    The owners were super friendly and helpful. We had an amazing schnitzel dinner prepared by Arlo. Their view from the dining room is beautiful! We ended up staying another night to hike the Ebenalp and explore Appenzill another day. The Alpenhof pizzeria in Weissbad was also excellent. Much more than just a pizzeria... You can walk to it from the hotel in Schwende.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant in the facility was overpriced for the fare offered. Of course, it is Switzerland, and everything is expensive, but I thought that the food was decent but nothing special, and thus overpriced by my standards.

    The location is delightful, with gorgeous views of the surrounding mountains and countryside. The young couple that runs the inn are very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room (no. 5), on first floor, was on the back of the building, directly facing a garage used as storage, from which garbage odors rose.

    Young team, which receives customers in a very friendly way. The food and service in the restaurant were good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the day I check out, cleaning lady came into my room with her keys before 10am without knocking. That was strange. Told hotel staff.

    Staff is very helpful and accommodating. Big balcony and clean room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't had an english menu, we could not eat there because of that. Small bathroom.

    The view was great, the room was big and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful situation, nice and quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast and dinner at the restaurant was excellent.. staff is extremely friendly and helpful .. hotel has a warm and cosy atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Greeat location. Very friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small.

    Very friendly staff. Baby cot was provided free of charge. Late check-out was possible.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing location, superb breakfast and awesome cuisine, don't miss it. Room clean and confy. Personnel helpful and kind. Fully recommend it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive due to currency rates - appreciate unavoidable!

    Excellent food and service / lovely location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family owned hotel, amazing! Everyone are so kind. They will provide you sruff you might need upon asking. Totaly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is very beautiful. Traditional style hospitality. Recommended.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The view, hi tech key access, great room, breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really Friendly and helpful owners. Beautiful sceneries from the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi doesn't cover all the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful views, great sauna, lovely breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location, fantastic view, efficient staff and very helpful. We would return.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly and pleasnant atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No couple likes to have wood between them in bed.

    The view, the location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view! Waking up in the mountains is surreal and this hotel has one of the best views in Alpenzell

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all

    Perfect view. Great service.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    iF YOU ARE FROM A BUSY CITY, THIS IS A PLACE TO RELAX. WE SPENT A LOT OF TIME WALKING. iF MY WIFE HAD BROUGHT HER PAINTS, SHE WOULD HAVE SPENT ALL HER TIME PAINTING. FOOD WAS EXCELLENT.

    tHE SCENERY AND AMBIANCE WERE EXCELLENT

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    understaffed on Sunday night. Walked down the hill to a great meal at another hotel because we were ignored in the dining area of this hotel.

    views from property were outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was a little small.

    The room was spacious and quiet. The view from the front of the property was spectacular. We went up to Mt Ebenalp in the morning and thought we'd miss breakfast but the staff were very accommodating and let us eat it late.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everyone is friendly and ado learning, answering my many questions. The breakfast is fresh and I eat it outside every morning while enjoying the beautiful view from the place. Well located and easy to just hop on the train or to walk to hiking paths.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff went out of their way to help out a poor- german speaking American- lots of suggestions- saved me a long drive to Santis with a local lift ( Ebanalp was closed for repairs) -

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is poor...

    Everything was perfect,except breakfast

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    -

    Clean & cosy

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good view, Good location. They have small play ground for my son.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Smell from the cows.

    Fantastic location. I enjoyed the view a lot.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location near Appenzell and mountains. Definitely worth the money. Spacious and clean room. Great staff with a great restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    late breakfast. it starts 8:00 am.

    location. cleaness. comfy bed. kind staff

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable scenery and air unlike the daily life that I never get tired of. I want to go even immediately.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi didn't work in the room

    Comfortable beds, great location for hiking. Able to check-in after hours.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was large and comfortable. Shower nice and powerful. Breakfast in the morning had a small but good selection and a great view!

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the view

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was lovely and perfect. The dinner was fantastic.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: