Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Garni la Meridiana 4 stars

Piazza G. Motta 61, 6612 Ascona, Switzerland

#12 of 37 hotels in Ascona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 258 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location, right on the lake side with plenty of nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked a room with patio as per description on booking.com. But we were given a room without. I checked with the hotel front desk who confirmed that it is the room that I booked - frankly, I still ain't sure if it is an error in description on booking.com or something else. I had to pay extra to change to the last available room with patio.

    Perfect location, right on the lake side with plenty of nice restaurants just a few steps away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds weren’t well made. I could have used bigger and thicker towels

    The terrace was a real pleasure: to rest, read, just seat and look at the lake...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous location and view.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing we disliked.

    The location and the view was fabulous. Lots of restaurants at the door step. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. You could drive to the entrance for check in and check- out and parking is at a Migros car park close by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi in my room dropped in and out but worked well in all public areas

    Excellent position at the start of the piazza right on the lake. Beautifully appointed boutique hotel, has retained charming period facade but totally modernised inside. Great breakfast included and free tea, or any kind of coffee at any time of the day or night. Lovely reading room in the tower and very nice terrace overlooking the lake and piazza. Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    5.0
    Not a 4 star hotel you pay for a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Panorama Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sheets smelled bad only 2 capsuls of nespresso the standard in 4 star hotels is 6 per day

    The reception staff was excellent and the view right on the lake

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    10
    It's is a well-run hotel which is situated in a perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's is a well-run hotel which is situated in a perfect position by the lake. The hotel is very comfortable and relaxing. The staff are lovely. I enjoyed the complimentary coffees, the prosecco at breakfast, the reading room, the terrace and the farewell gift!! I'd love to stay again!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Excellent bed and breakfast with excellent staff a service. Great views and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was tasty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was tasty. Selection was not very wide, but everything was very high quality, good coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    Slow Wi-Fi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow Wi-Fi

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice Place for a short stay in Ascona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the variation at the breakfast buffet could be a bit bigger.

    Clean room, great location with lake view, cozy bed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable and spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Comfortable and spacious room. Helpful staff. Free bikes were a big plus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful place to stay in Ascona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great place at a great location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    8.8
    bed a little hard
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed a little hard

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    8.8
    great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit noisy in the evening

    great breakfast great location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    9.2
    Service, location and view!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast room feels a bit squeezed, but food and variety is great!

    Service, location and view!!! The hotel offers free wifi and free coffee and tea anytime, 24hours a day.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    9.6
    Free bikes for lakeside & biking to Locarno,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No tea/coffee machine in the room, need to go down to get one, distant parking (but you don't really need a car there)

    Free bikes for lakeside & biking to Locarno, pool&fitness area, good italian food nearby, quiet place (Spring season)

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    10
    I booked a single room and was given a lovely double plush...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The restaurants around it were closed by early evening, apart from one - which was lovely but the variety of food was limited.

    I booked a single room and was given a lovely double plush room on the top floor. Very impressed with the room and the service in this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    8.3
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Some staff were great but others rather sullen. As well as a young child we also travelled with an elderly gentleman who mostly uses a wheelchair. It was after several days that we were told there was a way downstairs using the underground garage so that the disabled person didn't have to climb up and down several stairs. I had phoned the hotel before booking to check disabled access. The way they told me for wheelchair users up a side street does not work for an adult wheelchair user. No way could I push an adult up there with a normal push wheelchair nor was it safe to come down.

    Location is great. On lake front and near to lots of shops and restaurants

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    Everything is perfect in this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I loved everything... I would probably add more fruits and veggies to breakfast choice

    Everything is perfect in this hotel. Location - overlooking the lake; view- breathtaking; very polite receptionist; fantastic breakfast, tea and coffee ( cappuccino, macchiato, espresso) available any time.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    6.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a 4 star.only eggs in the section.fruit just ok.room small.too many steps on arrival with luggage. ,staff didnt tell us side entry where their are no steps.no luggage assistance for older couples. Hotel disjointed.

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.9
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was not at the level of a 4 stars hôtel. An unacceptable self-service cantine, we couldn't find any french viennoiserie, croissant... The mattress was too soft and the room was very small.

    Excellent location. Very nice view on the lake. At the reception, the staff was very kind.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    8.3
    Helpful friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Helpful friendly staff. Liked the water cooler in lobby where we could fill our water bottles with nice cold water. Also liked that we could get coffee and tea whenever we wanted in the dining room.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    7.1
    Location, location, location: The hotel has a superb...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was unattentive. E.g at breakfast: the egg boiler was broken, but instead of being customer friendly and offering to boil a few eggs in the kitchen, the employee instead totally ignored the request and rather condescendingly and snottily replied: " I will not ". The breakfast buffet is ok, but certainly nothing special.

    Location, location, location: The hotel has a superb location, but it also takes advantage thereof and thus is pricey. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Finally an a/c in Switzerland that really works and truly cools down the room !!

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    9.2
    people watching from the Balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    people watching from the Balcony

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Guests also reviewed these properties: