Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Garni Montaldi

Piazza Stazione, Muralto, 6600 Locarno, Switzerland

#39 of 41 hotels in Locarno

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 817 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    4.2
    Never again! Avoid!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Long could not find a hotel. The night porter, to whom we called, was unable to help us. The request to send a GPS point on Waze, he did not understand - not familiar with the technology. And he spoke rather rudely. The Booking map is also useless, and the GPS point is wrong. When, at last, we entered the hotel - almost at midnight, a nasty smell of either disinfection, or simply defecation, struck the nose. Despite my request to get a quiet room, the room overlooked the bus station. The screams did not abate until morning. We didn't sleep well. The Internet did not work at all. The hotel is undergoing an external repair, which was not mentioned in the description. How was the "Lake view" you can see on attached photos.

    excellent coffee and fresh pastries for breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were uncomfortable and felt lumpy. The router is near the staircase and I was assigned a corner room furthest away from the router so wi-fi strength was really poor and sometimes cannot be received. Also, the property was under renovation during our stay (the lake-facing views). Although that is of low priority to me, I can imagine how that might be important to others, it would have been good if some notification is given during booking that the lake-view rooms are 'unavailable'.

    Breakfast was great!!! Room was tidy and spacious, the fan provided was effective and the and toilet was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    Locarno Escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a bit old hotel, but can't be beaten for 1 night only 95 chf!!! Not the nicest hotel in the world but it did work for me perfectly!

    Location is Great, STAFF is very friendly!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    4.2
    Pretty bad..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is too old and offers too less for the price you pay there.. Infrastructure is not changed a bit from 50s, when it was made.. It even smells pretty bad.. And the pictures on internet don't completely match the real state of the rooms..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Good enough for few days stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra small bathroom In general is an old facility.

    Great position right in front of the train station. 24h desk Room has a nice small balcony Clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.6
    Lovely Locarno
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trying to check out nite before for an early departure on 7:30 train the next day proved problematic. Have set hours they like to do checkout 8-11. After several calls the nonEnglish speaking nite guy made it happen but without taking credit card

    Great location right in front of train station. Very nice quality soft bedding, deep bathtub, cute little sunny balcony . They got my room ready right away for early check-in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    5.4
    Location is good the rest not recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel is dated, should definitely be renovated. the breakfast was poor. the people who were staying in the hotel looked really strange. they looked ill and it seemed that the hotel was their house. quite strange.

    location was good. the room was confortable and quite clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Great location and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very close to train station, staff helped us with information about the beautiful town, room had fantastic views of the mountains - unfortunately it rained most of the time we were there. Would definitely recommend staying here.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    8.8
    Steps away from Locarno's train station, the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Steps away from Locarno's train station, the room was clean and comfortable with a nice view of Lago Maggiore. It is a great value for the money. The wifi also works well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.9
    Location just opposite train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No aircondition. It's summer and very hot.

    Location just opposite train station. Convenient to go anywhere by bus or train. Around plenty of shops. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    5.4
    Very central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful smell in the room, dirty bathroom. Staff is having personal talks while guests are waiting. There is a club right below and you can hear the beats at night

    Very central location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.8
    very convenient location, expectation met
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For summer only (June-July), the small fan may not help..., there's no AC which is normal for many hotels in Europe.

    Location, just few step from Locarno train station, which connects to all bus lines to all places in Locarno. Affordable, compared with the room rate in Switzerland esp. a room with attached bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.5
    A lovely lakeside stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small, comfortable room with windows that opened and a fan ( heatwave at the time). The views of Locarno and the lake were great from our window. Breakfast was basic but good and we could sit outside on the balcony. Lovely, chatty, helpful staff. Had a small but effective lift. The hotel was across the road from the station and on the edge of the shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    Grazie!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is perfect for a weekend in Locarno. Great Lido, Piazza Grande & Public Transportation within walking distance. The hotel is nice and we enjoyed to have the small balcony with lake view. Very friendly staff - we would stay there again!! :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    Good budget hotel near trains and buses, convenient for travelling around
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lack of air conditioning was a real problem for me, because it was very warm when I was there. I had a thermometer which read 27 C in the room in the evening. There is a fan in the room which helps a bit, and my room faced the back so it was not too loud with the window open. The bed was made with clean sheets every night, but it seems that they didn't bother to sweep the floors too well.

    This is a very good choice if you are on a budget and want to travel around a lot for hiking or sightseeing. It's right next to the train station with frequent trains and buses to pretty much all of Ticino. The funicular to the lift to Cardada/Cimetta is not even 100 meters away. All hotels in Ticino will also give you a "Ticino Ticket" which gives you free travel on trains and buses, and discounts on most lifts, so getting around is really easy. The staff was friendly and helpful and spoke good English, and the breakfast was basic but good. WiFi worked nearly all the time and was fast. There's plenty of restaurants around, and there is a small supermarket (open 6-22) just across the street, in the same building as the train station. It's not cheap (this is Switzerland...), but very convenient. If I went back to Locarno I would probably stay here again, unless it was very warm, because then it really is worth paying more for air conditioning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    A stunning family fun hotel so close to the lake and other amenities at budget friendly prices!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved everything!

    My husband and I were celebrating our Wedding Anniversary in Locarno, my husband's home town. We were thrilled to be upgraded to their best rooms with a lovely private balcony with a fabulous view of the lake and the mountains across the lake. We couldn't have been happier, it was just perfect!! Thanks to the wonderful owners of this family run hotel for their great kindness and thoughtfulness. We always enjoy staying in family run hotels, they always offer that much better service and try very hard to make you feel very special...and the owners of Hotel Garni Motaldi were exceptional in this case!! Thank you!! Our room was big with a nice bathroom, everything was spotlessly clean. The beds were very comfortable and the room was light and welcoming. The location was perfect, just across from the train station and even though it's a busy road, we couldn't hear any noise at night at all with double glazing and the shutters pulled down at night. Breakfast was a very nice buffet with a choice of cereals, fruit and yoghurt as well as croissants, buns and bread with different jams offered and cheese and meat. A coffee machine with hot chocoalte and lots of different types of tea too were offered. the breakfast rooom was spacious was in a pleasant room with the option to sit outside in the sun with sun umbrellas for shade. We would highly recommend anyone visiting Locarno to stay at this very special hotel - which is perfectly situated and has a lovely charm and very helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.3
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a triple room for me and my family which included breakfast. For the price I paid for, it was already good value. Hotels in Locarno can be extremely pricey and this hotel was a good deal already plus it was infront of the station, 2-3 minute work to the lakefront and a 3-5 minute walk to the Piazza Grande.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    4.2
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was okay but the bathroom looked dirty and old.

    The location was great. It was right next to the lake, and train station as well as a grocery store/kiosk.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.9
    The quiet view of the Swiss alps.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a tiny bit cleaner the bathroom, from all of the places of a room (that is rented to a vast amount of people) the bathroom must be spotless.

    It is well located, basically you can walk downtown in less than five minutes, the train station it's just crossing by, and the lake no more than a minute walking... The staff was really friendly we appreciate it dearly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    4.6
    More a Hostel, than a Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are visibly not cleaned very good and the breakfast is very simple (instant coffe from a self service coffee maschine...)

    Close to covert parking house, trainstation, the center of the town and the lake.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.2
    First impressions can be deceiving
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place was an absolute surprise. When entering the Hotel from the parking lot it has the ambience of a rundown place, due to stairs that seem in need of repair. However the reception which is downstairs at the street Level is super. We needed a room Change because one of the People didn't make it, and we were treated without difficulty and very efficiently. We didn't expect much for the rate we paid and were pleasantly surprised at the roominess and cleanliness of the rooms (2 rooms). The view from our rooms was toward the back and was outstanding. Quiet as well. I'd recommend the place. The Location is outstanding, smack in the centre, and parking was free. How much better can it be in a busy place like Locarno/Muralto.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    8.8
    Comfort on a Budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance to the hotel is not too obvious and can easily be missed. No free parking, but the hotel provide a reasonable day rate in the park house across the road.

    Excellent location, across the road from the train station and only 5 minutes walk from the lake and Locarno Center. The hotel is right on the main road and looks a little dated, but it was not too noisy and made for a comfortable stay. For a budget hotel, the breakfast was well supplied. Excellent value for money overall.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    The staff was very kind , my bed was very comfortable and...
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very kind , my bed was very comfortable and the view amazing ! I liked very much also the breakfast, because it was very delicious , I would like to come again in this hotel because it is in the center of Locarno city , near the train station.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    An amazing view and position !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing position of the hotel, in the centre of Locarno and near to the train station. Staff is very nice and helpful. The breakfast is very good and with the lake view ! My room was clean and tidy. This hotel has a good price and quality, I recommend it !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Overall good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    easy access

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    good place and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    best location, breakfast, staff, room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.5
    Wasn’t what I had in mind, but wasn’t the worst place I’ve ever stayed either.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a big dried booger on the bathroom wall by the towel rack...it was nasty.

    The location was great and the included breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.8
    very very close to train and bus station, close to grocery...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None

    very very close to train and bus station, close to grocery store, wifi signal is good, room is clean, price is acceptable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.3
    Good location and fair value for the cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sometimes there was a urine smell in the hallways, but not in my room.

    Location and helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable, friendly hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No problems.

    Excellent location, friendly staff and comfortable. Good WiFi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    It's good for 1 night stay but too small for long stays
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, not well equiped

    Location is good, nice staff, clean room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.8
    Good location, but don't expect high quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not very clean. Beds not really comfortable. Breakfast in small quantities and very limited choice. Fridge in the room smelled bad.

    Great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.5
    Night club next door had door open and from 12.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Night club next door had door open and from 12.00 pm you can can hear a thumping of beat when you want to go to sleep.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    4.6
    It was very very very very hot in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very very very very hot in the room. Not possible to sleep

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small. Everything needs a layer of paint.

    The location is perfect. We loved the balcony. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.1
    Locarno with an excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    little bit noisy

    This was an old but well maintained hotel. It had a wonderful terrace overlooking the lake for the breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some parts in the room need doing up. The bathroom is pretty small!

    Fantastic location, really helpful staff. Lovely terrace for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.3
    Close to perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the mattress was very uncomfortable.

    perfectly located near the station. Everything was really nice, except the bed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    8.3
    Easy and enough comfort for some days or a long weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast

    The view from our balcony.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    7.9
    Perfect location opposite train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast items limited and other guests kept taking massive plates away from the breakfast room

    Perfect location opposite train station

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.1
    So strict...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff , time to check out ,time for breakfast is late(8.00).

    Good location near train station

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    7.1
    Very close to railway line
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Small bathroom with noisy fan

    Breakfast was a great inclusion. Wifi very good. Balcony looked lovely. Double glazed Windows thus no traffic noise

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    7.1
    Location great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    5.8
    Convenient location but a dated hotel. Value for money if this is a priority.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small shower room and a deep step to get into bathroom especially for very young children. no lounge facilities.

    Very clean rooms and bed linen

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    6.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toiletries (soap, shampoo, hand wash) not provided. Bathroom was smelly.

    Great location, great breakfast and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    5.0
    Location was great next to the railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room was very cold and personnel was not very willing to help in the evening with the issue. There is a need of update in the rooms as well. Mattress was example already seen it's best days. Breakfast was not that good, but doable.

    Location was great next to the railway station. The lady in the reception was very friendly. Nice view from the room. Great that we got a baby bed.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    5.0
    The view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Awful sewage smell coming from the bathroom, had to sleep with the windows open in winter as the hotel was fully booked that night. All we were told is that during the winter the rooms are not used as much and therefore the water stagnates and that we should just let the water run for a while and open the windows. And even after doing so the smell never went away. They said that sadly all the rooms on our side of the building had the same problem. Even if this is a 2 star hotel, one would expect this to be taken care of by the hotel before the clients are let in. And what are we paying for?? Service no?? We were almost looked at as if we were being picky!! The smell was atrocious!! Night manager was unhelpful when internet wifi wasn't working and rather impolite in his manners and tone of voice.

    The view.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    5.4
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    General renovation needed regarding the reception area, the carpets in corridors, the furniture in rooms, the bathrooms in particular. The breakfast was really poor in terms of choice, quality and quantity.

    The location. The stuff was quite helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    9.2
    I liked the hotel location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bath room is a bit small. However, it worth the money.

    I liked the hotel location. It located closed to train station and bus station. The breakfast is good and sufficient. The room is clean.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    5.0
    Central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms very small and breakfast very poor.

    Central location. TV in each bedroom.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    4.6
    The beds was horrible for this price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds was horrible for this price..

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    Location

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    8.3
    We were very pleased with the breakfast selection and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were very pleased with the breakfast selection and freshness of the food.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    7.5
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff weren't particularly friendly.

    The location.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    6.3
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy Bar downstairs at Saturday with loud bass until 3:20am. Loud people outside the streets yelling around

    Central location

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    6.3
    Very close to Locarno center and just at the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old building, too high price for the offered service. Breakfast quality was awful

    Very close to Locarno center and just at the train station

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    6.7
    Very small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very small room...

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    8.3
    easy,near Raylway-Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cold Breakfastroom

    easy,near Raylway-Station

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    6.7
    There was a strange odor on the 4th floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was a strange odor on the 4th floor. It could have been the old carpet.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    7.1
    Easy to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The noise

    Easy to find

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    10
    Location is very good just next to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    shower too small

    Location is very good just next to train station

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    8.3
    close to shops, train, bus and boat, all staff friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast very basic

    close to shops, train, bus and boat, all staff friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    5.4
    Not much
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    You quoted one price he ask a lot more

    Not much

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Guests also reviewed these properties: