Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Garni Nessi 3 stars

Via B. Varenna 79, 6600 Locarno, Switzerland

#27 of 41 hotels in Locarno

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1034 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 74

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a bit a challenge. Spaces are narrow. A little off the beaten track, but accessible by Free Bus Transport.

    Large, clean, comfortable room. We initially booked a room without a balcony, but once we arrived we upgraded to a balcony room for a small price increase. Balcony overlooked the pool and city toward the lake. Nice breeze to keep the room cool. Reception staff gave us free bus passes to use. It was holiday, so the bike shop was closed, but I think guests could use the bikes for free, or a small fee. After a long day of driving we wanted to stretch our legs, so we walked to Ascono...about 20 minutes. Took the boat ride to Locarno, then the bus back to Garni Nessi. Room was quiet, breakfast was good. Elevator lift was not working on one floor the day we arrived. But by the next morning it was back in working order.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing as stayed only one night.

    Quiet as room facing swimming pool below. Free carparking infront of hotel. Nice friendly staff at reception and breakfast lady. Also the free Ticino transport tickets. A good place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - room cleaning was not done after first night - old mattress - out of towncenter - car recommended

    good continental breakfast nice view if you book a room with balcony

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception is closed after 22. No snacks in the mini-bar.

    Staff is very friendly. We arrived late in the night and discovered that reception is closed. However, hotel was expecting us and after a short call we got instructions on how to access our room. In the room there was a minibar with local wine, beer, water and juice, and on the bed we found 2 cookies. Very nice!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little cold in the room. But I may understand because the weather turn out cold really quickly and the building could not warm up that quickly, so still OK and I would book and advice this hotel again.

    Nice, good size and clean room with a cute balcony. Lobby Staff is really nice!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom should be rennovated, although was clean and comfortable.

    Hotel is good, near public transportation and is also possible to walk till the City centre. Falconeria is quite close too (1km more or less). Staff was educated and helpfull, we got an upgrade for free of the room with big balcony and pool view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was insufficient parking,e specially for large cars. The location was somewhat far from any point of interest or restaurants.

    The room was large, clean and quite comfortable. The breakfast buffet was very good. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel welcomed my dog and the CHF15 surcharge was not unreasonable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning...

    I absolutely recommend to book a room with balcony!! The views are very beautiful and room was spacious and bright. Swimming pool was great on a hot day. Free parking in front of the hotel. Good wi-fi. Complimentary breakfast was good enough.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The exterior of the building is plain concrete and masks how beautiful the interior is. Actually not a negative, because we were pleasantly surprised by how nice it was.

    The room was beautifully designed and spotless. The balcony was lovely, with a relaxing view of the mountains. The proprietor was also very kind and accommodating. Wonderful stay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is ridiculous...they had us park around the back. It took a 20 point turn just to get into the parking spot and then we had to back out in the morning. You'll be ok if you drive a smart car though.... Wifi was brutal; essentially non-existent. Pet friendly hotel! Except if you want to eat in the hotel...then you must leave your dog in the room.

    The pool is the only nice thing this hotel has going for it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The comfort of the beds could definetely could have been better - the double bed was wobbly. The pillows were extremely soft and there was no air conditioning so it was very warm at night and therefore didnt have a wonderful nights sleep. The facilities are not modern so view the photos of this hotel before you book so you know what to expect.

    The hotel was clean and the staff were very caring. Breakfast was a good choice too. We had a room with a balcony which i fully recommend because it feels more airy and had a nice view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice big corner room. Spacious and comfortable. Easy free parking. Great breakfast. Good value but it was a considerable reduction (54%) booking on a last minute deal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a fan in the room, but it needed air conditioning as it can get quite hot in Locarno, but I would still visit this hotel again even without A/C.

    We had a nice big room with a beautiful balcony (great view of garden and pool) and sitting area as well as desk. The bed was comfortable, and the breakfast had lots of variety. The bus stop is very close and allows for simple transportation to Locarno/ Ascona.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Airconditioning. Poor internet. Rather pricey for what you get.

    Fast check in/out. Friendly Staff. Nice breakfast included. On-site parking. Basic and clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a single room without balcony. I don't like it. Traffic noise, very poor sound proof between 3 rooms in one hall. There is no even a small table in the room. I would recommend to book rooms with balcony facing the lake. A little more expensive but much more quiet.

    Nice reception stuff, clean, good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No English TV.

    The beds were firm but comfy, the shower is in the bath but ok. Very clean and decent cupboard space. No English TV channels except two US News channels. Pool looked lovely but too cold in April to use. The parking is limited but the Gentleman on the reception showed us where we could park very Close by for free if theirs was full. Breakfast is Basic but adequate and the personnel were excellent. The Hotel is a decent Price for Locarno.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -tiles in entire room-gives cold feeling -beds are very unstable, double bed means just two singles put together...not very comfortable as you have to be carefull when turning around -only cold breakfast

    location and staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were lovely and the room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was good, the coffee great and bread fresh and crispy. I also liked the position of the hotel along the river and slightly outside the town centre

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view is not that great but for one night, it is ok. The parking spaces are not big. We only have a small car and it was tight to park.

    The room was really spacious. Lots of light through the room. Nice bathroom. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel does not have lunch or dinner facilities.

    Good assortment of cold cuts, cheese and jams at breakfast. The hotel owner was really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The WiFi connection was a bit slow at times. Pillow could have been better, tower rack in the room needed to be fixed. Only one chair in the room.

    Free parking in front of the building, helpful staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very good and the staff was very nice and always ready to help. The free parking place is also a plus once in Switzerland parking is very expensive.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great, helpful staff, always with a smile and ready to help! Clean, nice rooms. Good location - 15 minutes of walk from the center of Locarno and the Lago Maggiore, free parking in the hotel. Will stay in this hotel again!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The right-hand side window in our bedroom, Nr. 57, could not be opened properly. Maybe should be checked.

    The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was only small choice but enough. One didn't go hungry. Coffee was very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booking through you we didn't expect it to be so far from the center. Later we discovered a bus. That was positiv. To start with we got cheated by a taxi driver who took us god knows how far to get there! Maybe you should mention the public transport in your offer.

    It is a very pleasant place. Employees nice and all.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon

    This hotel is a short walk approx 15 mins from the centre. Nice clean room with a very comfy bed and excellent breakfast. The staff were lovely would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    People partying very loudly at back of hotel, music, shouting, Moto engine noise, then they sat around pool until 2.30am. Not hotel fault but they seem to be aware of an ongoing problem.

    Great breakfast and little pizzeria just down the road.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, unconfortable bed.

    Close by centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The apartment was nice and it was easy to obtain the keys. Lot of choices for the breakfast and perfect for a family.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was large and quiet, the bed was comfortable, the breakfast was delicious, and the staff were quite helpful. A good value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I did not like. I w

    Everything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Room is Very very clean. Location about 10 minutes from lake

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi is close to be nonexistent Lighting in the room is pretty bad

    Breakfast is great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one thing didn't work very well and that was internet.

    The pool and location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alles top

    Organisation moon and stars shuttle

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    chairs in breakfast room are VERY uncomfortable.

    Very basic room and bathroom but it had all we needed and it was very clean. Great breakfast coffee.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool and pool area were very nice and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is so so

    Spacious room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although not top modern, it was extremly clean and all perfectly in order

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great bad, nice breakfast ...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double room can be modernized to make it more friendly

    Very helpful staff at the reception. Nice and very big apartment room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little too much traffics noise

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comfortable seating area un room for 2 people

    Comfortable bed,excellent breakfast,nice balcony.,good location for walks with the dog

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast can be improved!

    Service, view from the room, clean bathroom, personable staff, position, easy parking...

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi not good...... unable to get on at night when all guests were back at the hotel.

    Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They told me a price for the parking, but forgot to mention it was per night, not total

    Acceptable Quality / Price

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from city center

    Clean and tidy Management involvement Good and friendly service Nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very forthcoming manager and his team is the drawcard of this place. Good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it says it is in the city center, but it is 30 min by foot from it, so this is not really fair

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were just ok, not bad.

    parking is free and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult traffic.

    good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My only complaint. I'm a very large guy, so I thought the shower was a little small for me. And the bed was a little hard for my taste. ( but good quality bedding) I just like a super soft bed.

    They automatically gave us a room upgrade, as they weren't very busy. Extremely friendly staf. Excellent European style breakfast. Everything was extremely clean. And the owner owner let me use the pool after hours.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you are traveling to Locarno by train, the hotel is about a 30 minute walk from the train station. However, there are good buses in Tichino and there's a bus stop about 3 blocks away from the hotel. We enjoyed walking around the town anyway.

    The staff were friendly and accommodating, and fluent in at least 4 languages. Beds were comfy and the room was clean and neat with no frills. This was a great hotel for the money.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was wonderful!

    Hotel Garni Nessi is the perfect place to stay on a visit to Locarno and the surrounding area. We booked a room without a balcony, but we were thrilled when the lovely owner told us he would upgrade us to a large room with balcony! It was just perfect, a very large room with very comfortable bed and lovely bathroom. There were plenty of cupboards for storage if you are staying for a longer period of time. There was also a seating area and the room was lovely and bright with large windows with a stunning view of the mountains, river and a peak of the lake. It felt like we were in a rural area because of the scenic view, yet we were a short walk to everything. The room was spotlessly clean and we slept very soundly as there was no noise at all. Breakfast was great, a buffet served in a pleasant area. There were cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, breads, jams, hard boiled eggs and cheeses. We travelled there by car and it was great that we could park our car for free in the private parking area underneath the building. We would like to thank the wonderful hotel owners for a perfect stay on our wedding anniversary!

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's a great place. About 20 minutes walking to the lake front. Mr. Surinder who is the owner of the hotel is a great and friendly person . Good to talk to. It has about 3 bars in the vicinity. The weather was great when I visited. You should try Crodini in the bar at the hotel. It's a great non alcoholic drink, refreshing. I would recommend this hotel to others for its warm hospitality.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was no WIFI signal in the rooms and hardly any in the main lobby. This could be problematic for people needing internet to work. Luckly, an internet cafe is about 5 minutes walking distance from hotel.

    The room was clean and the extra 6.- chf for a dog (per night) was very fair compared to other hotels in Switzerland (up to 35.- per night in some). There was limited free parking spaces. Very nice walking trails for dogs, hikers, etc. next to the hotel, only minute or so by foot.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The need to travel so far to see the lake. The one way street to find the hotel was tricky. No services nearby such as Co Op or Migros that was open past 1800 hours. Only one restaurant was within 1 kilometre away.

    Mr.Singh was a perfect host. He was friendly, even gave us a quite high floor room and was informative of what to see and do in Locarno. The room was the best in Switzerland we had so far. Modern, clean and even a refrigerator. This seems rare in Switzerland. The breakfast was first class

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small room with non working wifi and TV. The weather was hot and the room was difficult to cool down even with the small fan provided. Far from the lake for an older couple.

    Excellent Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Given the price, we expected more. But we were there during Moons and Stars, perhaps they are cheaper usually.

    Basically, things were all right. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was no air conditioning or fan in the room. Our visit was in summer and I cannot believe a hotel in Locarno doesn't consider the hot weather for their guests.

    Staff, breakfast and free WiFi were very convenient.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the building is a big anonymous

    quiet in the night stuff extremely helpful nice terrace sunny the whole day close to the nature walking distance from Ascona and Locarno

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Liked everything.

    A very clean hotel. Perfect for a weekend trip, or whatever. There is a train stop called the FART about 200m from the hotel, which goes to Locarno or toward Ponte Brolla (about once per hour). There is a grocery store nearby, and some nice restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    friendly staff, free parking, big room, walking distance from city center

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Large room, nice balkony, good shower, value for money

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    brekfast

    Almost everything

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Small parking space.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Great architecture :)

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean room, good breakfast. Functional for two nights. About 10 mins walk from central Locarno.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Extremely comfortable bed Very clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Missed coffee making facilities but that is common in many hotels in Switzerland

    Good breakfast and location. Simple room but very clean.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good price all in all. Friendly staff, great breakfast, comfortable and clean! Also very quiet and can hear the river humming at night!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    During our stay in the hotel in March 2015 free of charge car parking was always available

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A friendly owner, comfortable stay & provided us with tourist info. Ideally located. Voluntarily upgraded our room at no extra cost.

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Guests also reviewed these properties: