Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gasthaus Steinbock Hotel Garni 2 stars

Gsteig 6, 3814 Wilderswil, Switzerland

#13 of 23 hotels in Wilderswil

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 619 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing at all!

    A wonderful period dwelling that incorporated all that Switzerland is renowned for, Travel from here to anywhere in the country is easy, only a short walk to the local station. Just sit by the river that runs alongside the property for relaxing in splendour.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable. The pillow provided had no stuffing at all i.e it was flat. There was a church next door which chimed every quarter hour and longer on the hour all night long. At 20:00 hours it rang for 15 minutes non stop and again at 08:30 for 5 minutes non-stop. No sleep that night! We were told it was a tradition in Switzerland but it didn’t happen in any other Swiss town. The included breakfast was very good and the hotel hostess was friendly and helpful and recommended a good place for a dinner, which was excellent.

    A beautiful old hotel circa 1790, which has been renovated but the room was very small with only a bed and two dining chairs with no table. A jug was provided for a cup of tea.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location and its history. The hotel is comfortable and the staff was very friendly, however, what it made it stand out for me was the feeling I got from being next to the forest (behind the hotel) and facing an old bridge linked to a distant past of the building.... It used to be a tax office demanding contributions from the farmers coming down from the mountain with lifestock. The lady in reception was very kind to tell me about the history when monks had spare beds for travelers in the ground level. The building dates back from a couple of centuries at least ( forgot the details..). The walk through the forest behind the hotel can summarise you the beauty of the region in just a couple of hours... definitely worth doing it. Finally.. within a 5 min walk there is a good restaurant with good portions and value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet kept kicking me off my phone even though I could see the modem in the hallway.

    Walking distance to train , groceries and restaurants. Free parking. Cute town close to big mountain atttactions. Free breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    B’fast could have bread with toaster at least.

    Location was very nice, very near to Wilderswill train station. Rooms were ok, b’fast was ok. Lady at reception is very nice and soul of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress - very poor quality. There is a church next to the property and the church bell went off every 15-30 minutes all night long and could barely sleep. Internet wasn't working, at least not on the 2nd floor. The entrance and reception were smelling bad.

    Very friendly receptionist lady Breakfast was quite good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was clean and functional but a bit old fashioned compared to what is available in other parts of this country. Unfortunately their credit card machine did not work which made our check out very awkward and difficult. My card worked at the shop across the road and at the atm. My bank insisted they were not getting any input from the machine at the guesthouse. The owner of the guesthouse was not helpful insisting there was nothing they could do. Renata was embarrassed. We finally withdrew cash from the atm and paid up. They really need to get this fixed

    The location was excellent. Along the banks of the river luchine in a heritage village and adjacent to an old and unique wooden bridge that has its own spectacular conservation story! The room was quaint and well maintained. The breakfast was good. Renata the housekeeper was amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a nice cozy old property. Very well maintained. Renata at reception is a excellent lady and was always there to help us with whatever we needed. Rooms are good with good view. Wilderswil railway station and bus stop are at just 5 mins. Walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel does not have restaurant, so for lunch and dinner we have to go somewhere else every day.

    The staff. The lady is super friendly. The room is very clean. The surrounding area is very peaceful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet connection can be improved, its not that great.(But heard that in whole of wilderswil area, internet connection is a problem).

    Hotel is right in front of big stream & you have a mountain view also,so it has a very pleasing environment.Just 5 mins walk to Train station. Its a very old hotel & it has classic traditional touch to it.(Well maintained) The caretaker lady is really an awesome person,very friendly & helpful. Even you have cloth ironing table in down stairs, where you can iron your cloths for free(Really impressive). ( One of our friend stayed in bit more expensive hotel than this hotel,they did not have this facility) Good dining area, quite spacious. The rooms are well lit & airy because of big windows. All the neighboring building are also have classic traditional touch & you really feel that you are out of the stress-fully city life & you have come to a right place to relax (Relive stress) & enjoy your holidays.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed here several times for the last 4 years. Value for money quality accommodation around this area, which normally more expensive. Good service and friendly also helpful staff. Great location and very near to the train station. Free parking also a bonus

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady that runs the gasthaus was wonderful and so helpful. The rooms were very clean and simple. It was located in a beautiful little village on the river and very near to the train station. Perfect for an overnight trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing... We loved it there.

    Everything! Especially the breathtaking view! Reñata was very friendly & helpful. The room was very clean. Tea/coffee & toiletries were provided. We had a balcony and the room was spacious enough...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value for money at this delightful and well-located guesthouse. The owner was exceptionally friendly and helpful and couldn’t do enough for us. Only a two minute walk from the station and very good local restaurants. This quiet town is more accessible to the Jungfrau region than the busy tourist hub of Interlaken. The Steinbock had everything we needed and overlooked a lovely river and covered bridge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have no hair dryer.

    Great location, really pleasant, clean and tiny room. Staff is very friendly and helpful with very warm welcome . Nice hotel with good view. Necessary facilities are provided.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice view to the montains. The hotel provides a card that allows you to do Wilderswill-Interlanken Ost for free. The staff suggested places to visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was very poor. The view from our room was not good considering the location of the hotel. The church nearby made sure we woke up every hour the entire night.

    The person at reception was really helpful and very responsive. The location was good. Good parking facility.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    A wonderful region that I have visited many times before. Staying at Gasthaus Steinbock just adds to this experience, by having lovely staff, comfort and cosy rooms, and a wonderful view from the hotel. Close to Wilderswil train station, which will bring you to any city and up any mountain in the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not easy to find entrance, You need to ring the bell near side door.

    Very unique and historic hotel. Located not far from train station and you can also take a bus to Interlaken. There is an antique bridge in front and a and church beside the hotel. Renata is very warm and friendly. And there is a fat lovely cat coming by. Room is very cozy and warm. Excellent place, I will be back again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our stay was so amazing and we were greeted with such warmth! Everything was absolutely perfect! This location is right where you want to be! Interlaken is right down the road and transportation to get you into the mountains by train/cable car is steps away! I recommend doing a short hike along the river, the views are amazing!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi signal wasn’t stable. The room was small than expected. There was only one one croissant for each person as the staff said she hadn’t done the grocery. (There was a loaf of hard bread provided too)

    The staff was very friendly and nice. As the room was too cold, she placed an extra heater in our room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi is okay. gets disconnected in between.

    The lady was very polite and helpful. Requested her baby cot and water heater and it was ready when we checked in. Nice location. Comfortable and clean rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The light sensor in the hall way did not work for me at all, it was always my boyfriend walking after me turned it on. No warm water in the bathroom sink, only in shower place.

    Really nice lady at the reception, providing us all we needed(e.g. utensils). Nice room on the second floor (1. O.G.) with balcony. Easy to travel to mountain and city center with train and bus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular

    Cosy place close to wilderswil train station. The lady running the place was quite charming and helpful. The place has a genuine old world feel and having breakfast here in the wooden dining hall on an early morning with Christmas decorations all around was a memorable experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a little cold for the child in the room. But the Granny,maybe the host of this hotel, gave us a electric heater.

    very nice staff wait for us patiently even on the christmas eve.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all. All facilities were amazing and place was easy to find located very near to wilderswill station where u can take the train to Jungfraujoch

    Amazing location and a very kind host. Very elaborate breakfast. Close to Jungfraujoch. Located near a church and small river. Host was kind to accomode us even when we arrived a bit late

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    next to the church: bell every 15 minutes, if you do not sleep well, take the ear plugs

    owner is fantastic, place is nice, good breakfast, room was big enough and comfy, close to all key touristic spots

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Steps to the second floor were very steep and narrow, difficult for elders with heavy baggage. The rooms on 2nd floor had slanting beams which were very low over one side of the bed, quite dangerous, especially at night.

    The Manageress, Renata, is the backbone of the property, very informative, and very helpful, always ready to make the extra effort for the well-being of guests. Sound of the stream and the wind in the trees very relaxing and peaceful. Very rustic appearance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lady maybe very sweet and polite, but she is far from innocent. She indicated a restaurant in Wilderswil being the cheapest around, but it was quite clear that it was just an internal recommendation (for extra-profit, I presume).

    The lady managing the hotel, tries with great effort to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The river outside and the hilly views, makes this a beautiful place to stay (off-the grid). Finally, the breakfast was satisfying.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not comfortable and its smells are annoying and I have booked through the booking with the city tax and when i check out the city tax was deducted again... Pei told the booking team and the did not cooperate with me when deducted the city tax twice.. I would not recommend it at all

    Breakfast is not good and she prepare breakfast at night ... and breakfast is repeated every day ... I do not recommend it at all

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would love to have a small freezer at the property, I need to keep the milk for my son fresh , and i felt that need badly.

    The location was too good..you will hear the river noise and that will make you feel fantastic for sure. The train station is juts 5 mints walk and you have nearby shop similar to Tesco express, where you can get ur necessary and mandatory stuff!! The lady who took care care of us was too good and very humble , my son liked her a lot!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection was very poor. No coverage to the room.

    The hotel is very near to the Wilderswil train station. So easy commuting to all the tourist spots are possible.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small clean place with amazing location. Very ideally located in a quintessential Alps Village. Very picturesque has a rapid flowing right outside and a pretty church next to it. Fabulous stay. Would definitely come back again. Rooms are simple but have all the essentials.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great older hotel with a woman who did just about everything. Would stay there again. Did have one day when there was not enough staff to clean our room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The church bell nearby sounds even during the night and irritates shallow sleepers.

    Renata, the mature lady receptionist is exceptionally nice, chatting with us and giving us advice on where to go, what to see, where to eat etc. the hotel is a typical Swiss lodge with wooden architecture in a secluded corner near the river.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No double beds available- apparently not just here but across Switzerland. Lighting is a bit poor in barhroom.

    Staff is good! Rooms are nice anf cosy. Very close to train station. Amazing view from room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The women who owned the hotel were very nice and welcoming and they helped us a lot, the room was very clean, the view was beautiful, the bathrooms had hot water for showers, the breakfast was simple and lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    We have used the Steinbock on and off for quite a few years. It has changed hands two or three times over that period. It is now bed & breakfast only,breakfast being quite basic but adequate, coffee so so.Main reason for staying is the location. Very quite and peaceful, and only five minute walk to Wildeswil Station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room bit suffocating and mosquitos if u open the windows.

    Hotel location from interlaken ost station is 5 mins by train. Beautiful location of hotel. River just in front of river. Great customer service by hotel owner. Great lady with great attitude to work. Great value for money and still close to interlaken, lauterbrunnen and Grindelwald.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough Parking, I reached hotel when it was dark and parked car in one of the horizontal available bay like other cars only to find out in morning when I saw the board that it was reserved for Church next door. -- Just to point out few things (I cannot say I didn't like it but its more like suggestions). 1) Breakfast is just basic, one hot item (scrambled/fried eggs) could fill in that gap. 2) Can't stand straight on top floor bathrooms if you want to take a shower. 3) No window view from the top floor rooms. 4) Room with one additional bed is available for three people, making it bunker bed would make it easier for families with two kids.

    Big comfortable rooms, beds were comfortable and there is a soothing river noise (closing windows can take it away if u don't like it). The hotel is located just under the hill next to river and its a lovely location, not far from the train/bus station either (around 5 to 10 minutes walk). The owner is super friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    n/a

    excellent location , away from the crowd, Interlaken is few minutes drive from the facility. staff was helpful and cooperative. fresh water river , coming from the glaciers and natural springs is next to the facility, i will recommend every one to at least try once this facility

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The booking reservation terms were not respected. The payment was completly charged from my credit card and not reserved as it should. Because of this, I had to pay extra bank fees. The variety of food at breakfast is null and the food quality is low for swiss standards. If you pay swiss prices you expect swiss quality. There were days when not even the garbage was not taken from the room. The internet quality is very bad. You get disconnected from the hotspot often and speed is very low.

    We got one of the best rooms with view to the river. The room size is good and overall money/value is ok for accomodations in Swiss. The location is very good if you plan to visit more of the Interlaken region, just 4 minutes away from the train station. You can also exchage CHF there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea / coffee facility

    Very comfortable bed. Very clean. Beautiful view of river and over Wilderswil. Fast free WIFI. Pet friendly. Our Jack Russell loved the room and hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No offence.... but the eveyhour Church bell was kinda.... sleep hindering

    Location..... The Administrator..... Rennata...... She was very helpful and accommodating.....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Even though the booking was confirmed as pay later at the property with a credit card guarantee, they charged my credit card about a week prior to my check in...

    Superb location, about 5 minutes train journey from Interlaken OST, right on the river banks. one can hear the noise of flowing water during night which soothes mind. Some tables and chairs are arranged right in front of hotel on the side of river which we enjoyed a lot. One can sit there and relax with amazing surrounding environment. Though the check in time was 14.00 hours, Ms. Renata, the care taker did all possible things and alloted us the room by 11.30 since we had a long flight from India into Zurich and then train travel to Interlaken. Also, Wilderswil falls into the route to Jungfrouch and other mountain excursions and so we are not required to go back to Interlaken OST to catch a train....Overall a very nice experience and a place which can be recommended to family and friends.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was hot when we arrived there and asked for a fan and they did not have it. We had to buy our own and then donated it to the guest house :) I would advise the property owners to invest in fans and hot water kettles for guests when needed. They could charge extra if required.

    The host of the property was lovely and helpful. She was available for any support and helped with whenever needed. Great lady!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved our stay but warning for those light-sleepers out there. The hotel is next to a church that rings its bells every 15 mins all day until midnight and starting again at 5am.

    The staff was very friendly and the location was excellent for exploring the Berner Oberland area. Clean and comfortable rooms with great breakfast included. Best hotel of our Switzerland trip by far.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi

    The owner/manager was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were exceptionaly clean. We chose this place as we were going to Grindelwald. The location was perfect for us. Good value for money comparing Switzerland wise. Nice old style swiss neighbourhood.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There should have been little more options in breakfast little scrambled eggs etc.

    Ms. Renata is a wonderful lady and she made our stay really really beautiful. Thank you.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom was dated, breakfast was average, cereal and croissants, no toast or hot food, bells at church next door rang twice an hour early till late, no tea making facilities, no uk tv channels, room a bit small, no air con

    The staff were very helpful, town was very pretty, parking was good, restaurants were near by, station was close, room was clean,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was very good; fresh bread and croissants. Excellent location for convenience to station, yet quiet. Hostess (Renata) was really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eurail pass does not include travelling from/to Wilderswill train station, so need to change the train at Interaken Ost station (Do not forget to ask for Blue Card from the hotel -- to get free ride from Wilderswill to Interlaken Ost and West by train and bus)

    Location near the train station (Wilderswill) and surrounded by beautiful nature, nice staff, easy to go to Jungfraujoch (can buy ticket at the Wilderswill station)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host Renata was lovely, the best host I have come across so farm she ensured our stay was most comfortable and went out of her way to help us. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you are a very light sleeper, ask for a room away from the church next to the hotel. The bells can be very loud at night. Otherwise, its a wonderful place.

    Everything! The lady running the place was super nice, friendly, willing to accommodate us, and informative of the area. Train service into town and the Jungfrau region is a 5 minute walk away. There is a hiking trail behind the hotel. If you want access to shopping and Interlaken, but still want to stay in nature, the location couldn't be better. Breakfast was always fresh!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pity there isn't an on site restaurant, but there are other places to eat nearby

    The prime spot near Interlaken. Located in a beautiful village. Riding over an old covered bridge to the property was a memorable experience. Were given a free bus/train pass into Interlaken. Renata very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a church nearby, and it ring the bell every 15mins, EVEN IN THE NIGHT!!! It's very noise.

    The host is very kind, and breakfest is very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing.

    Lovely location in the charming resort of Wilderswil - the train station and shops are only a short walk less than 5 mins - the proprietor was always there when needed and went out of her way to help us and advise best things to do locally in the area of Interlaken. Even ensured that we had breakfast one morning as we overslept. The small things meant a lot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had asked a for an extra bed for my 4 old. Owner did not see the request. Instead of offering to bring one to the room, she just said that then bed was big enough for all us. Which was fine, but would have been nice if she'd tried to make it right.

    Beautiful church and bridge next door, walking distance to town, very clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was abit of a let down. It would have been nice to have something warm , maybe im too used to an english cooked breakfast.

    Loved the hospitality of Renata, the owner. She was very friendly and approachable. Went out of her way to help with anything. Our room had great views and the river flowing right outside was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A better variatey on the breakfast would definatley bring me back to the hotel (if i ever visit interlaken again)

    Eagerness to assist with all the requests made & the possibility to accomodate infants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some vegetable salad would have been like icing on the top

    The room was very clean, cozy and had a small balcony which had a beautiful view. The staff was very friendly and had taken care of all our requirements. For the breakfast we were also given hot milk on request.The breads were fresh and breakfast was good.Loved the hotel and would book again next time

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything

    Great location in quiet back street. Excellent staff that welcomed and couldn't do enough for us a o make our stay very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was outside & the street is very narrow. Was not very easy to locate the hotel. They need to keep more signs to find hotel entrance. No Elevator.

    Very Good BreakFast. Quite Location & Balcony View was nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows. Sheets. And cleanliness

    Thanks to Reneta she's very handful. She gave us more pillows and tired to find the good sheets because they were either broken or have some stains.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi

    Close to nature; Close to Wilderswil station; quiet & peaceful ; from your room you can hear the sound of water flowing which was just amazing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows were a bit too soft for my liking, but my husband slept great :)

    A very kind and helpful lady is running the place. Really making sure you have a good time! Yummy breakfast with enough choice. Room was very clean, beautiful view on the mountains. Prices are generally quite high in Switserland, but considering the higher prices overall in Switserland this is good value for money!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No omelette option at breakfast. No room service but i guess you can expect that at guest houses.

    The croissants at breakfast were good. Bedroom was nice. Had a nice balcony too. Location was very close to Wilderswil station. Town was very quiet and nice. Host was very helpful. Really hot water and a bath tub too!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could be improved.

    We spent 4 days at Gasthaus Steinbock Hotel Garni. B&B is in an historical building and it looks really good. Nice location. Only 25mins drive to local ski resorts: Wengen, Lauterbrunnen and Grindelwald. Decent room and facilities wit great views of the Oberland Bernese Alps.Renata- the hostess was really nice. I would come back here.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Church is super close to the place - they ring bell like every 15 mins. Not that loud, but if you are a light sleeper - might be disturbing.

    The owner was super friendly lady.Our stay was comfortable. The best thing was the location. It has such great view - right beside a river with snow caped mountains in the background.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit difficult to find the hotel in darkness. Perhaps a sign would help. We were rather reluctant to cross the stream over the old (otherwise beautiful) wooden bridge. We dared to do so only after when we had seen a local car driving over! I was missing vegetables and fruits at the breakfast.

    Finally a hotel room, that has adequate illumination! In spite that it was generally cold in the hotel, our room was warm and cozy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The host was very friendly and accommodating. The location is nice and iftravelling with Pets - there is the possibility to walk the dog right from the Hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The church next door won't let you sleep with opened windows which is intentional in summer. wifi could have a better coverage.

    Overall it was a nice place to stay. Decent breakfast, clean room. Staff was very helpful and friendly! Special thanks for waiting us until late for check-in. Close to Interlaken / Grindelwald / Lauterbrunnen.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable stay. Wilderswil is one rail stop up from Interlaken, great starting point for day trips into the Alps, to Murren, Gilderswill, Lauterbrunnen, etc. Excellent breakfast at the hotel. All around a great stay!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    We always had a parking space and the owner assured us there are always enough. The owner does everything she can to ensure you enjoy your stay - nothing is too much trouble for her. We wanted to stay just out of Interlaken and found this location ideal. It was a 40 minute walk at most to the centre but we could also enjoy the peace of Wildeswil

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated bathroom but that seems to be the norm in Wilderswil.

    Fantastic location just a short walk from the station. Very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable staff . Good WIFI and free parking. Very quiet, right next to river with nice views.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: