Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gasthof Hirschen

Untergass 28, 8193 Eglisau, Switzerland

#1 of 2 hotels in Eglisau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 44 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 12

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    A spectacular view of the Rhine river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed on a Friday evening and it was noisy outside with people, kids and motor boats. There is no air conditioning, so you have to keep the windows open. Perhaps ceiling fans would be a good addition.

    A spectacular view of the Rhine river. It is directly out the window. The place is very old and tilted! which is great fun. It has been updated very tastefully so you can enjoy it's age, but still have all your need, such as modern bath, Internet, TV, etc. Very good restaurant downstairs which serves you a great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Definitely planning to come back here! The perfect getaway!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was wonderful.

    Beautiful room and furniture, extra big bed, super friendly staff -- everything was wonderful!! Very pet friendly all around, lovely view of the Rhine river from our hotel room and from the hotel restaurant, we loved this place! Great walks around the hotel and pretty little village. Can't wait tocome back!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Lovely start to vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was lovely as was the staff. Our room overlooked the river and was just gorgeous!! They reserved a table for us outside for dinner before we checked in to make sure that we were accommodated which was very thoughtful. The dinner was delicious as was the view. We were on a tight schedule so didn't have breakfast so I can't comment on that but if it was anything like dinner I'm sure it was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.8
    a historic hotel, with comfortable rooms with character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was not used and dinner was served on the terrace. OK but not the option expected from the hotel description. Food expensive. Parking is some distance from the hotel.

    a historic hotel, with comfortable rooms with character.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    10
    Worth visiting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi coverage was not good. Too many stairs. They should install a lift so that elderly people are not inconvenienced.

    Classic property with a fantastic location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Seriously. So wonderful.

    Everything! The river view ... the staff ... the food ... the bike parking ... the location. Literally everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no wi-fi in the room.

    Everything. Very beautiful place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    A jewel in Eglisau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The staff was so friendly and efficient, the view from our room on the Rhine River was superb, hotel was quiet and we slept well.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant romantic hideaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Position requires a car

    Quiet, peaceful, rustic old building

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    9.6
    Nice old house with all modern needs.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice old house with all modern needs.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    9.6
    It is always a treat to stay in a renovated historic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is always a treat to stay in a renovated historic building. So much charm and uniqueness!

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    Delightful staff charming bedroom & bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Delightful staff charming bedroom & bathroom

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 12

Guests also reviewed these properties: