Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Genève Centre 4 stars

Rue De Zurich 19, Paquis, 1201 Geneva, Switzerland

#77 of 95 hotels in Geneva

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1957 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Excellent room, got a bargain price to, clean large Exec...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking this hotel they fail to mention its in a dodgy area riddled with kebab shops, knocking shops whores and drug dealers...bit of an omission dont you think? Also reception was poorly manned leading to frustrating waits and queues.

    Excellent room, got a bargain price to, clean large Exec room, good facilities, coffee machine, free mini bar, toiletries etc

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Fine stay
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The problem is that is located in very bad and noisy area, where you could find sex workers and drug dealers at day or night. There were as well a lot of noise at night (not isolated building) so we couldn't rest at night. Most of the rooms face the street. At the end of the timetable for breakfast due to the small area and the number of clients , it's over crowded and unpleasant to have breakfast. The clients are a bit unpolite and the staff can not cope with it.

    The location close to the center and the Station. The staff were very nice and helpful. One of the best breakfast ever had. Good price for Geneve.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Good value for Geneva
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were a little bit hard, location is easy and there is restaurant in the same street but don't stay out too late around the church near by...

    Room was clean and size was nice, AC works great, view was nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    Ambivalent experience of Geneva
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too small wrong arranged, bathroom. I think they need to review the operation of elevators, annoying how them works or not works. Unfortunately, even the hotel is in a great location if you see the walking distance of the lake or boat/rail/bus station, but the environment is terrible for a family or girl guests. Around the hotel, too many sluggish, obscure men staying in the street, stare the next opportunities (be careful), prostitutes in the far corner of the hotel. All day! Maybe consider as a no-go zone.

    Enough large, clean room for a family with 2 teenagers. Friendly, helpful staff. They offered us a better room than I booked (which was not available at the booking time) without request. Good, French style breakfast. Strong, cool air conditioner, you can turn off at night when maybe too windy. Big TV screen with phone screen mirroring function. Good WiFi connection for many devices.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Geneva Cornavin Station with regular facilities. Surrounded by night life :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Near Cornavin Station ( ± 1 KM ), Near a working quarter, with regular restaurants. All the night life one can ask for....the street in front and on the side of the hotel gets busy during weekends.. Walk to the lake front and its numerous bars and restaurants...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the location is central to bus and train, there is definitely a seedy, dodgy feel if you turn left out of the front door. If you turn right, it's fine. Felt a bit uncomfortable walking a particular area by myself, and wouldn't take my kids after dark.

    Overall, nice clean standard hotel that met expectations. Staff were kind.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    My stay was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My stay was perfect. The room was big and comfortable. And it’s location is also very central. Would love to go again. The staff is very helping esp the guy in the reception. I don’t remember his name.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    4.2
    Bed and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom feels like you are in a hospital not a hotel.. reception is understaffed after 5 pm.. always crowded.. which makes the staff very nervous and unresponsive

    Location is great near Geneva lake and many restaurants and shops.. car park is useful.. but you have to pay 10 CHF PER DAY..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    Basic business hotel in a convenient but slightly seedy area post dark.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area after evening got a little seedy to walk around with young children when we wanted to go out for dinner. The main Breakfast items were all bunched together on one table which got really crowded and cluttered to serve one's self from coz everyone will inevitably go towards the bread and eggs and pancake machine. Room facilities had paper cups for tea and coffee. Not cool in an increasingly environment conscious era. Better to have reusable mugs & spoons please.

    Nice room with 2 double beds for a family... Basic breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.4
    The sauna and steam room were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast hall is absolute mayhem in the morning with screaming and running kids, overwhelmed staff, messy buffets and overall chaos that no one wants in the morning. The rooms are old, small and could do with a refurbishment. The streets around the hotel are rough and sketchy. Would not stay again.

    The sauna and steam room were great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Would love to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was bit far from city centre still awesome

    A bit away from city but hotel was awesome, staff very good and helped us in all the ways.great eateries nearby

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    Prestigious Hotel Chain with bad location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is located in a bad area of the city. Getting there at night was a bit worrisome. The next morning walking around the corner, found few prostitutes at their posts!!! The sheets for the pull-out bed were dirty and stained, they were promptly changed as we requested.

    Modern property. Good breakfast. OK for business.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    Stuff is very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the card for room and elevator is not work that good, it need to upgrade it, and the water in the shower is draining too slow, we couldn’t take normal shower, it almost flood in the bathroom.

    The location is very convenience for us, the ppl in reception are very friendly, we had great time!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast variety is quite small. Toilet is separated from bathroom.

    Very clean and comfortable room. Staff are very nice, helpful and speaks good English. Love the decor of the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Great location, staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One bottle from minibar was opened but I talked at reception and resolved this issue.

    Great location, staff. Lovely breakfast with everything you need. Parking under the hotel. A little expensive but that’s it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    We were comfortable and had what we needed at a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The eggs at the breakfast buffet were not good. they were watery and had a slightly artificial taste, as though maybe they weren't really eggs...

    It was a very practical place to stay -- near enough to the Lake and public transportation, the rooms had what we needed, including an iron and a coffee machine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the elevators are in need of maintenance.. they dont operate with more than 2 people and the slot to insert the room keys only work about 1 in 10 tries... HORRIBLE.. dated rooms..

    good location to train station and lake.. lots of restaurants around.. friendly staff.. parking garage.. ( max height 1.7meter good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.1
    A good option in the Paquis
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is somewhat refurbished, but I would expect more for a 4-star hotel and the price. The heater kept on self-regulating to 18C, and I was frozen. The water in the tap and the shower was lukewarm, regardless of the time of day I took a shower. The towels looked and felt old.

    The location is great, right in the Paquis. The bed is very comfortable, with good pillows. The room is functional, with a long table, and two recliners. The staff was responsive and friendly -- including during my 5 AM checkout! He even noticed that I had been over-charged one of the taxes, and promptly reimbursed me.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Novotel hotels never disappoint. A very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing that I can think of.

    The room was large, beds were extremely comfortable, the air-conditioner in a hotel actually worked and the buffet breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable bed and room.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definately should be worth noting the Hotel parking is in a pay parking and it costs 30chf per day.The hotel detail page on Booking say parking is "Available". It is available but it's not included in the tariff even though the 30chf per day is a discounted rate for hotel guests. Also, we got the final bill and were billed for one 58chf breakfast we didn't ask nor take. We asked to remove the breakfast cost and staff promptly deleted. But Staff, please pay more attention on such things.

    Comfortable bed and room. Little spa (sauna, hammam and relax room) opened till 1.am. Room very clean. Congrats. The hotel gave us the city travel card saying it's offered by the city of Geneva. Great value. We could go everywhere for free for 3 days using buses trams and even yellow boats.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    It was nice! Like it! Will stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not soft pillows and the heater in our room was not working. The staff ended up putting portable heater for us! Got cold because it was so cold the first night before the portable heater!

    Spacious and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    The toiletries were not replenished 1 day and paper coffee...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The toiletries were not replenished 1 day and paper coffee cups were not replaced after the first day. Had to track down a cleaner to get some more. Also the tea and coffee was not replaced.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    4.2
    Bad experience, not like what you would expect from a 4 star hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa is awful, the hamam had fungus in it and a bad smell, the shower caps were not working properly due to lack of maintenance, and it took 3 minutes to get hot water. No drinks/fruit in the spa. Not even plain water. The location is bad, in the red light district of Geneva.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.4
    breakfast room under renovation without any information
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast room under renovation without any information room temparature impossible to adjust - freezing cold slightly below usual Novotel Standards

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice stay at novotel Geneve center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Realy nothing Breakfast can be better

    Location is great every things around you just few steps you will find the restaurants, coffea as well as markets and lake Highly recommend this hotel for others

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.5
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a reservation of 3 rooms. I requested to have 2 rooms connected. I was given random rooms even though it could have been arranged better.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    The staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit busy but staff tried there best to keep food out and area clean

    The staff was friendly. Good parking area. Was a short walk out to see the water.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.7
    The elliptical machine in the gym was making a noise and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elliptical machine in the gym was making a noise and could not be used and also the gym is extremely small. The location is convenient for getting to the train station but in the evening it is not the safest area to walk around

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was way beyond expansive. You see, I used to live in Geneva up until 18 months ago and I cannot believe their price!

    Breakfast was good... Although they include it in the bill without my prior approval...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.1
    They supplied a 3rd small bed for us as we were 3 male...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The SPA area could have been up kept better

    They supplied a 3rd small bed for us as we were 3 male friends and the room came standard with 2 double beds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Perfect overnight stopover with plenty of room for our toddlers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service food very expensive.

    We arrived early but they had a small kids area near reception to keep them occupied. The rooms were great - super clean, and the suite we had was huge. Area great - lots of restaurants, and little supermarkets.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.8
    every things was fine the hospitality and the staff perfect...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    around the hotel a lot of drugs dealers and prostitution and they always look at you when you hang out

    every things was fine the hospitality and the staff perfect and the hotel are great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.5
    Location close to the train station, good breakfast, nice...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nearby streets have a lot of service providers in the evenings.

    Location close to the train station, good breakfast, nice interior in the hotel. Friendly staff. If you need taxis, they are waiting in the front of the hotel. Some small shops and also restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    loved the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the immediate area is not great, this is not the best part of town with some prostitutes in close area and a lot of youths on street corners

    convenient friendly and helpful staff Thai restaurant "Pad Thai" close by was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.3
    Location was nice with most facilities located in the nearby...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast spread was not much with very limited options. Coffee was generally on the cold side and bread was dry and stale. Paper cups for glasses??

    Location was nice with most facilities located in the nearby surround.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.1
    Location is great and hotel modern and clean with parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was shut for renovation which we were not told about in advance. Room service did not allow us to order from the full menu when we checked in at 10.20pm as the chef went at 10.30pm

    Location is great and hotel modern and clean with parking next door.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    4.6
    Not good for families and over cost
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Red area and cheep ladies on the street Very noisy from outside neighbor and shops 24/7 Very slow checkin and out Inverted Strong Beds slopes!!! Very high price with low profile rooms Poor food list No complementary water or snacks! Paper cup only!!

    Safe inside for families Connected rooms available Near the arabic restaurants and lake TV channels with arabic

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    4.5
    For family is scared think that you be stayed over a prostitute area and drug dealers !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no ramp from main door to the check in counter! Stairs .....Stairs... The bedroom should be updated the wall as a marble ceramic at least ,and the toilet was dark as the water as brown.rooom de luxe 710!

    Breakfast is so good!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.2
    Great base for a short stay in Geneva.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The layout of the breakfast room was awful and caused chaos at peak times. Menu in the bar restaurant was very limited for a hotel of that size.

    Good location just back from the lake. Smart room with good in room services. Substantial breakfast choice hot and cold. Staff very efficient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.5
    Few minutes walk from the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered room for 3 person but they gave us room with twin bed. Should go to the reception again to ask for the extra bed. Pretty far from the city centre

    Few minutes walk from the station. Great amenities. Some nice restaurants in the surrounding.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Very satisfied!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift cards sometimes weren't work properly and I had to come back to reception to update it, apart from that all was working properly.

    Very clean and comfortable, with a great location in the city centre easy to reach train station and visit the tourist attractions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    Good location, would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable springy sofa bed for the children (I know as ended up sleeping in it!) would pay extra for a room with 2 double beds if returned again. If travelling with children that are old enough to complain about an uncomfortable bed or don't want to share, bear this in mind!

    was dubious after reading other reviews about being in the red light district, but followed advice and turned right out of the hotel and completely avoided it, no problems whatsoever. Short walk to the lake, plenty of restaurants nearby so location is great. Travel pass from hotel very useful and includes use of the shuttle boats across the lake. I emailed ahead requesting a quiet room, we were on floor 6 and other than the new year fireworks at midnight there was no noise. Lots of families in the hotel when we were there. Busy at breakfast but good selection available.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Great room and hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The neighborhood feels less safe during the evening/night hours.

    Great room and hotel. The staff is really helpful and always at hand. Access to city center and public transportation is just excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    6.7
    Room was clean and tidy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked in, i was told that the breakfast is included but at the time of checking out, they gave me an invoice of CHF 300 which included breakfast for everyday and the city tax. After arguing that i called the hotel when making reservation to ask to include the breakfast as the other two who stayed with me left 3 days before the check out date and the receptionist agreed to include the breakfast, the staff did not listen and said he cannot see anything about it in the system. They also charged me for breakfast on the first day but the check in time is not till 2pm and the breakfast time is till 10am so how could they charge me for breakfast on that day. I realised after making the payment so emailed them about it but still have not had any reply back. Really disappointed.

    Room was clean and tidy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.8
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not like the area, I think the hotel stuff should talk with police and asked them to not allow some people groups be on hotel conner (or around it)- this looks very unsafe and gives guest (at least for me) not very good vibes. As personally I've been couple times got noticed by the same band of people and called like 'blond' and so on (excuse me for my bad french .. ) .. not really happy about that at all.

    I love the fact that it is closed train station and the city centre, also nice breakfast and spa facilities are open until 1am. Rooms are clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    3.3
    Bad neighbourhood!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad neighbourhood!!! The hotel room looks old compare with photos shown on booking.com Room facilities is bad..one bathtowel provided even though we booked the 'executive room'!!! No toiletries product have been given except (shampoo/bath gel/lotion). Very disappointed!!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    2.5
    Definitelty won't recommend this to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The room looked nothing like the image online. The room was extremely small and felt dirty considering it was a 4 star hotel. Furthermore, the location was at the heart of the Red Light District and we felt unsafe especially walking the streets beyond 9pm.

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.2
    Great Hotel , love Geneva
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a hot tub ion wellness spa at hotel only chill out room sauna gym ! Would have made it perfect

    Fantastic location just get your free train ticket to centre Geneva before you go through to main airport entrance is sign posted, train 10 min max , go strait out the entrance of the station & the lake is 4 min walk in front of you , the hotel the same great for lake , old town station etc Great Breakfast 🥞

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    Large comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a large vehicle which was too high for the hotel’s underground car park.

    Large comfortable rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.9
    Great place in terms of location. no real sofa bed, you literally sleep on the sofa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    their RF hotel room key cards are old and a little tempermental. we got a suite and the kids slept on the sofa, not sofa bed exactly so not very comfortable. not an actual bed.

    They offered us free transport around Geneva via transport cards, which is nice. we didn't get to use them because Geneva is just a transit stop. Great location- walking distance from the main station. lots of food nearby. U can even buy sim card from the convenience store just across from the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    7.1
    Nice, quiet hotel with an excellent hot breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our heating was not working on the first night...... 0 degrees and no heating. The lobby is small with very few seats for socialising. The room was overpriced for location and services delivered.

    I like the hot breakfast which is hard to find in Geneva. The room was modern and spacious.the staff were helpful and spoke fluent English.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.8
    Loved Geneva. Lots to see and do even as a solo traveller.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like cardboard cups provided in room with kettle etc! Also only 2 powdered milk sachets......enough for only one drink. I asked reception for a proper cup, saucer and spoon and they sent me to the bar to ask. I was given these no problem so happily enjoyed my drinks in the room after.....solving the milk problem by buying fresh milk from the local supermarket ( of which there are many) and storing it in the minibar. The breakfast was disappointing for such a good standard hotel. Greasy pale sausage and bacon. I was put straight off and didn't even try it. Usually eggs are fried fresh by a chef so you can ask how you want it cooked. Also usually have choice of omelette. Madeleine's extremely dry and disappointing. Limited choice of fresh breads on offer and only 3 types of dry cereal. I stayed in a 3 star hotel for skiing in Feb and the breakfasts there were amazing, no comparison, especially given e extortionate price of breakfast at this Novotel. I had read hotel was next to red light district but was still shocked to see so may prostitutes hanging around the streets on my first afternoon. Didn't see any after that for the rest of my stay so maybe I just strayed down a few undesirable streets. Would be better if the hotel advised on streets to avoid when walking locally.

    Very comfy bed. Good powerful shower with easy controls and lots of hot water. Not too far to walk to station, trams, boats etc. All local public transport free with travel card issued by hotel (including the yellow water taxis) and very efficient. Glad for fridge in room to store fresh milk I bought in the supermarket for my coffee.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    2.9
    Never again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room is really old, I had to ask for bedroom slippers. Carpet were stained n smell. No bathrobes in room. No bellboy to help with luggage, had to ask someone to help. Gojng home at night is a nightmare for a single lady as I got approached by dodgy guys across the street from the hotel and there were no hotel staff in sight n took them a while to open the door I could have gotten attacked! Waiting tome was so Long they let 5 aircrew skipped the queue when I was waiting for 30 mins already and no apologies at all. Horrid service! Gave me wrong invoice for auto checkout where they charge breakfast automatically and don’t seem apologetic at all. I will not recommend this hotel at all. I seldom spare time to do reviews but I do it when I feel a lot about it and this time was a lot of negativity.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood was very noisy the saturday night until sunday 6 am.

    The fact I got a rebate card for the parking cornavin (my car was too high for the hotel parking) and the free public transport card for the entire stay in geneva.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Better than I expected! It was awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    The location for shopping and eateries and sight seeing, and the privacy. The staff are amazing. I would stay there again and would recommend to others. Everything ran very efficiently! Mathew at front desk was exceptional.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.3
    Fair accommodation for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is really shady. Remote for TV was half functional. Room was not good for family with grown up children, but good for couples.

    Breakfast was good. Beds were super comfy. Rates were very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    6.7
    Hotel with good logistics and bad neiborhood
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neiborhood seems to be really bad.

    Walking distance from the central rw station. Swift access to boat jetty with possibility to cross the lake in 5 minutes. Very convenient for a short stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    3.8
    I don’t recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the property is very bad at night and it’s not safe We asked for an early check inn they wanted us to pay 65 CH just for 2 hours We asked for separate beds they told us we must pay 20 CH per night Very materialistic,

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    6.3
    The hotel was nice but the location horrific.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was nice but the location horrific. I got in at 19h on a Sunday evening and could not walk out given the amount of adult activity going on in the streets around the hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Very good and would stay there again when returning to Geneva
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only two coffee whiteners at any one time which is just enough for 1 cup of coffee, not everyone drinks black coffee !!!

    Room was very spacious, free soft drinks from mini bar in room, all replenished daily. Nespresso machine in the room along with some capsules and tea and coffee

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.3
    The stay was good, however location is not so good particularly at late evening and night time
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    By the time the toast was ready breakfast became cold (warm food to higher temperature and/or replace the toaster with a faster one). Bath room towels need replacing: Very threadbare (i.e. warn out).

    The internal atmosphere was very good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    Great stay in Geneva
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a good hotel but the location is poor. There is a night club nearby and occasionally late night yelling in the street.

    The hotel was clean and comfortable, staff were friendly happy to help avoid the red light district the hotel was at the edge of.breakfast selection was excellent. Very nice, walking distance to the lake and rail and bus station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.9
    Lovely hotel , close to the waterfront, shame about the seedier side of life encroaching so closely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t feel safe on local streets due to drug dealers loitering in doorways and street corners . Prostitutes outside shops . Had to explain to my children what they were seeing and would have preferred not to have been confronted with this.

    Nice comfortable room , helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    I will visit this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in process takes time but this because stuff try to answer everyone questions.

    Modern, easy to access you can walk from the train station or the bus main station and room was comfort, the stuff cooperation and helpful. and it is in front of the lake. even there is a lift for bags near the door.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.3
    It's a cosmopolitan hotel receiving delegates from different parts of the world.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet floor was made of wood so the smell of the urine was very strong. I complained but they were just sorry and could not do anything.

    Great location, good breakfast and friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.1
    comfortable on the whole
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    i only found it a little expensive considering it was'nt that close to the jet

    it was a tripke room which was super comfortable and spotlessly clean.breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Good stay with friendly staff, but, a bit expensive.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area behind the hotel is a bit risky to walk around after 9pm at night, lots of touts and 'nightlife' active behind the hotel. However, within the hotel, it is of no importance or nuisance. We asked for two empty bowls from the kitchen and we were billed Euros 5 as a 'Service charge' which I felt was unnecessary when we were paying more than 200 Euros per night in room rent.

    The location, just a walking distance from the main train station and eateries. Also, the hotel provides a complimentary public transport ticket for all the people who stayed which I felt was a very nice gesture.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Beds were exceptionally comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eggs at breakfast looked great but didn't taste like real eggs. Mayb i missed the sign saying they are vegan eggs?

    Beds were exceptionally comfortable. Bathroom was spacious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent hotel, beautiful room, very clean, little sauna...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    my key card didnt work on several occasions so it was a bit of a hassle to always go back to reception to change it.

    Excellent hotel, beautiful room, very clean, little sauna and steaming room made my day after a long day of meetings! Probably the best hotel I ve stayed in Geneva (I usually stay in 3-4 stars hotels and travel there 5 times a year!)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable and relaxing, but restaurant and bar prices were way over the top.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was not much lounge space around the hotel, and the food and drinks prices in the restaurant were way over the top.

    Location was good and there were many decent restaurants in the area around the hotel. The buffet breakfasts were really good with a big selection of hot and cold food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    AMAZING HOTEL FOR THE MONEY PAID
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Immediate surrounding area.

    Very Comfortable Bed and room. Large bed(s). Good and responsive Staff. Clean and nice room. Value for money for a family stay. Walkable distance to city centre and main commercial/shopping street. Overall Very good hotel for the price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    2.5
    Bad experience
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location-unfortunately, a lot of prostitutes very close to the hotel. Made walking with family rather uncomfortable.

    Location-close to city centre and lake

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Novotel is a known hotel in a wonderful location in Geneva
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location ... Location .. Location ... Novotel doesn't need to be defined. The services, cleaness, and breakfast all are excellent. In the lobby, they have PC computers with internet access and free printing service. Everything is close, the lake, shops, restaurants (especially Halal) are within few minutes on foot. There is a car parking just beside the hotel entrance, with an affordable daily charge at the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    Overall nice hotel, with its own underground parking, in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall nice hotel, with its own underground parking, in the nice area close to the center and with a good selection of nice restaurants just on the same street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door to the washroom opens directly to the bedroom.

    Breakfast was very good.clean and friendly staff. Location very central and near lake side and train station.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: