Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Genève Cottage 3 stars

190 Route de Suisse, 1290 Versoix, Switzerland

#2 of 3 hotels in Versoix

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 165 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very ordinary and no hot foods replaced once they’d run out. Upstairs loft room was very hot and there was no fan or air conditioning. Room wasn’t cleaned or made up during our stay. No milk for tea/coffee making facilities. A very expensive accommodation for the location compared to other 3 star hotels that were closer to Geneva. Disappointed.

    Rooms were clean, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No aircon and I if I opened the window it was on the roadside so was noisy. No dinner options, however you can walk to versoix where there are a number of resturants

    Very friendly and attentive staff. They opened breakfast early so I could eat before leaving early. Breakfast was great with fresh egg,s bacon, crepes, cheese, ham, breads, cakes, cereals etc. Comfortable bed and room was big

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had trouble finding the cottage we should have gone past the Versoix Station and got off at the next station

    Very comfortable and a good size we were travelling with friends and stayed only for the one night

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was absurdly overpriced. The wifi was very weak in the room. The rooms are OK but it's a Bed-and-Breakfast, not any kind of hotel.

    The staff were very nice. The breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I CONGRATULATE YOU FOR THE VERY COMFORTABLE MATTRESS AND EXTREMELY SOFT PILLOWS. I VERY MUCH APPRECIATED THE CLEAN AND SPACIOUS BATHROOM HAVING A WINDOW. IT WAS VERY GENEROUS AND VERY KIND THAT THE MANAGEMENT KEPT THE HEATING WORKING ALL NIGHT LONG. THE STAFF WAS VERY FRIENDLY AND VERY HELPFUL !!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Isolated location. Ver expensive to reach by taxi fto Geneva. The rooms were not isolated at all, I could her the person having a shower next door as if it was in my room.

    The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. I was provided with a free travel card for trains, trams and buses to use duting my stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the position of this property downright dangerous. I have written to booking.com concerning their care of customers in terms of situations such as this and they haven't replied in a week even with a reminder. I blame most of our experience on booking.com and have used them exclusively for years. Having second thoughts. On arrival it is impossible to safely stop outside the hotel to unpack as the road is too busy. Also there are huge roadworks going on all along this busy route out of Geneva and this adds to the problems. The property should have called us to let us know what to do. We stopped as close to the edge of the pavement and we could with the emergency lights on. This caused all sorts of problems with impatient drivers in the road but we had no idea what the option was. My wife went in and the owner pointed us to a narrow side entrance. To get to it we had to go down the road to a roundabout and turn. On return we had to negotiate across the road and down the entrance which was partially blocked with a van. We managed to get the van driver to move slightly so we parked but would not be able to get out unless the van moved again this is not 'parking' as stated or defined on booking.com. Lord knows what would happen if a few cars turned up. The train station and some shops are about 5 and 10 minutes away by foot. However you take your life in your hands walking along the temporary pavement (Americans - sidewalk). It is dangerous due to a lot of traffic and the close proximity of vehicles and trucks. It's terrible. It is impossible due to barriers to cross the road. The barriers are on the other side of the road - there are none between you and the traffic!!!! We had to go out that night and walk back from the train station area in pitch darkness at 10:30pm. Absolutely frightening but iPhone torches helped. There are no facilities in the hotel.

    The rooms have been upgraded apparently and in fact were quite comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is far from easy public transport and the city center of Versoix where most restaurants are.

    The staff is very friendly. The cottage has a nice backyard and the breakfast is good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very bad smell at the entrance and a feel of old "hotel routier" all over. The picture portray a cosy nice place but the experience is not

    room was very spacious - shower nice

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I really don´t know in this time.

    Everything was great, but the best are kind people, with smile on their face and always ready to provide service. Special thanks for sweet lady from the reception, lower with dark hair, unfortunately I do not know her name.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is often no restaurant or bar, the place is only manned for a few hours per day, I arrived at 9pm and the hotel was locked it took me 30 mins to gain access, one night I came back food available but the rest of the nights all was closed up by 7:30pm

    The food was superb home cooked and reasonable price for the location. Staff are very friendly and go out of the way to please

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    next to a big road with lots of noise at night. if you go, ask for a room on the back side otherwise it is hard to sleep at night. the rooms could also be updated a bit. the curtains fell down during my stay for example. the staff was very friendly and they fixed it right away, but it did cause me a bit of stress for that night.

    very friendly staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To hot to sleep without airconditioning at august, when window is opeden, it was imposible to fall a sleep due to street noise. Recomend to choose room with windows to yard at least at summer time.

    Location near the beach, room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, no reception in working hour, quite far away from downtown but they give city transportation card,

    Vintage view, clean, free city transportation card,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like the fact that about everything was not convenient to reach / get hold of, that the mirror in the bathroom (for a nearsighted person) was so far behind the lavatory that I could barely see myself to take my make-up off, the fact that I had to grab and hold with 2 hands the chest of drawers so as to take out the tea bag. I did not like either the fact that no-one was at the reception when I got there, that they mixed up the envelope with my room's name on it and my room's key (not the same one), the fact that I could not get a drink at the bar when I got there. Actually about nothing was practical in the way it was installed : the worse being the key of the room and the card for the electricity chained together (meaning that you had to take out the card from the plug and therefore be in the dark to lock the door from the inside ) and the water that got poured on my head when I got in the shower, ruining my hairdo (I have long hair) because set such a way that the water could only get on the top of my head when I started running it. Not a nice hotel if you're on your own and expect some warmth or contacts with people.

    I liked the cleanliness of the room and its fairly big size, the decoration of it, the comfort of the matrass, the big space in the bathroom, the fact that I could make myself a tea / coffee since there was a boiler in the room. I liked being able to park right across the sreet. Very nice hotel for a romantic stay in a couple because of the very nice rooms (staying there for the 2nd time) and the direct surroundings (trees).

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast on the expensive side. But we know, all is expensive in Geneve.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The situation close to Geneva is great and the staff were wonderful and really helpful - I enjoyed my stay enormously

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peace full place not so crowded

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was big and had a kitchen that is well equipped

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is little bit far about 400m from the property

    Beautiful simple place

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was offered off site a 10 min walk .. Rooms are small and place felt cramped...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location and appearance of hotel. The photo on the booking site maybe great deception to business travellers

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was on a business trip. Its location was good for me. The hotel is fine and more convenient for me than others

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not Applicable

    Arrange for pick up from Geneva Airport.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could hear rats walking in the ceiling. Couldn't sleep properly

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell in the room was terrible. The room lacks ventilation from the bath conner. There was no door.

    Convenient location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was small and uncomfortable and there was no shampoo.

    Room was clean, staff was very nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beer was not on tap.

    Atmosphere - informality, helpful. Good choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!

    Nothing!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above. Must take train to restaurants and activities.

    A/C unit wasn't working in unit. Overall close to Geneva and great value for price.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No air-con and only window fronting on busy street meant it was nearly too warm with no practical means of cooling it. And this was in April.

    Otherwise, a well equipped, spacious and comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No one was at the reception when I arrived, but they arrived shortly after I rang the bell (I only say this because another reviewer made the same comment...and it happened to me too). At least they showed up.... Also, some street noise due to location on a busy street. Not much can be done about that I suppose, although they might investigate sound-proof windows for rooms facing the street. Also, the passage from reception to my room felt claustrophobic with odd curtains in the hallways hiding something (ghosts or toilet paper?), uneven walkways, and creaky stairs. I understand it is an old building, but it would seem that management could capitalize more on the old building status and charm, and minimize the creepiness!

    Convenient access off the motorway, located in a quiet lakeside suburb of Geneva, comfortable bed and nice bathroom with hot shower, very nice breakfast service, friendly staff, good value!

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    The cozy atmosphere Excellent food: breakfast bread and homemade jams, superior croissants and an expresso machine Sublime dinner Fancy rooms Confy bed Great shower

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The employees are very nice and the breakfast is very good and we had the best croissant ever. Even the cottage is shabbly looked from the outside, however, the inside is supprisingly very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    we had one tea bag and no milk. Luckily I found someone to ask for milk. After room serviced there was no more and no one to ask :(( Microwave plug did not reach socket. No attention paid to requests on booking form

    The room and shower facilities were good (we had a back room with shutters)

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    On side away from road, which was quiet and had a nice view to the garden. Facilities were fine - clean, good. It was near to the main place I was visiting, so 2-night stay went well.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There were ants everywhere in the room we stayed the first night. Our first intention was to leave as soon as possible, but the hotel manager arranged another room for us for the rest of the stay. To be fair, he was quite understanding and offered a breakfast as compliment. They say it was an unusual problem and there were no ants in the other room, but still... The first morning there was no hot water - they fixed it during the day, though. The rooms which outlook the road are rather noisy, so you definitely can't sleep with an open window. The ceilings are quite low and are covered with weird yellow something, which makes it look worse. The hotel staff do not seem extremely friendly. Breakfasts are quite poor for 16 euro and they don't provide unlimited coffee, you have to ask for each new cup.

    The location is ok, still close to the city of Geneve, but not that expensive (though it is still overpriced as everything in Switzerland). The hotel provides free transport cards (ask at reception), which is great. But you should know, that Mies, the closest to the hotel railway station, is out of Zone 10. They have a small garden on the backyard. The rooms that overlook it are quiet.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Coz it was build loooooooong time ago..u get that smell, other than that the stay was awesome.

    Antique feel of the hotel as it was built in 1600s. Breakfast was ok as there only limited options. Facilities was very good in comparison to rest of the Europe hotels.. spacious.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dirtiness and bugs all over the place . I toilet that I even take a picture. ..and sent to my friends to laugh. You need to step into the bath to reach the WC. ...almost fall down in the morning ...very dangerous! Spiderweb everywhere ...

    30 secs from the place that I want it

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bit travelling and walking needed tot get to the city or airport but trains are free so not a big problem. Cottage itself was a bit noisy because you hear other guests easily.

    Very friendly and helpfull

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In a city as expensive as Geneva having a microwave in the room was a great way to save a few dollars or francs. Beautiful old building in a nice area Helpful staff Clean room with nice decor Safe plentiful on street parking Free Laundry handy after being on the road

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None.

    We liked the friendliness of the Couple who manages the whole show. Felt like home.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    No elevator.

    Very close to Lake Léman and convenient to drive to downtown Geneva. Breakfast is nice.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wonderful, warm environment, family ran small hotel. Fine restaurant for dinner, super breakfast. All very comfortable and personal.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely stuff and delicious food

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-Fi connection not stable. When traveling for business a stable internet connection is a MUST.

    The staff is friendly The breakfast rich and good.

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quiet, no noise in the bush-facing room.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly staff, always willing to help

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    An expensive cab ride from the main rail station in Geneva

    Nice staff and nice little cottage....almost like a B&B

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    You could hear everything from the room neighbor. In two different rooms the shower needs to be cleaned up better. Bed is good so far.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    In the middle of nowhere

    Nice stuff.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Couple

    Junior suite warm and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unattended reception on arrival, but they turned up after 45 minutes to let us in.

    Comfortable beds, friendly staff, food.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Probably necessary to have a car if one needs to visit geneve.

    Very cosy. Also good location.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    no aircondition in rooms

    The back yard

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Too far away from the center of Geneva

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    None

    Very nice host. excellent welcome. excellent conversationalist.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    One woman from the stuff was really unprofessional & nervous

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Help with local travel

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No AIR CONDITION in acute summer heat - it is a heritage property. It has its limitations.

    Artistic touch of the owner in the property maintainence.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Non-existent sound insulation but luckily the other guests were not unreasonably noisy.

    Location, non-corporate style of decor.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    lovely and original decor, quaint garden. Quiet room. Restaurant was very convenient and food was fresh and well prepared.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    helpfulness and friendliness, good quality and range of food and good value

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very close to FIBA

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    It was comfortable, very professional and nice staff. It felt like a pretty home that I was invited into.

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Guests also reviewed these properties: