Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Gletschergarten 3 stars

Obere Gletscherstrasse 1, 3818 Grindelwald, Switzerland

#1 of 40 hotels in Grindelwald

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 379 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    view from window was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    drainage is not good in bathtub

    view from window was perfect. Every staff was nice and kind! close to First cable bahn. Breakfast was nice and coffee in the morning is fatastic

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    The owners were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were amazing. They made our stay magical including a beautiful anniversary dinner. Our room was fantastic, the meals were great and the views stunning. I would return in a heartbeats

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It's a traditional alpine hotel, wooded and flowery. The place is decorated with artifacts that belong to the history of the hotel and the family that runs it for over a century. It feels like being a guest at somebody's home, rather than being a guest at a commercial establishment. The hosts are warm hearted, kind and helpful, happy to chat with guests and offer advise. First we had a front room with a porch facing main street (and the Eiger). Great views but slightly noisy. On request we moved to a back room – peaceful, and facing the green First – really win-win options. For those seeking Grindelwald for hiking in the Jungfrau region, no car is needed. The Jungfrau Pass can be bought at the hotel. It provides flexible and effective transportation across the region: trains, buses, cable cars. With it one reach places (like Wengen which is car free) by train, and leave across the mountains by cable car, or hike only one ways

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful location with good views, great hosts in a quite part of Griendelwald
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful owners and staff. They helped us plan our transportation to and from Jungfraujoch. Great service , especially during breakfast- they remembered we were a party of 6 and already set the table for us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    FANTASTIC stay with excellent hosts in a traditional Swiss hotel with the most stunning view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in our room was not good. The room need more modern lighting as well as the rest of the upstairs hotel corridors. However the lighting in our bathroom was very good. The WiFi signal could be a bit stronger.

    The service was excellent. The view from our balcony was STUNNING. Our bathroom was lovely, well lit & modern. Very happy with the view and bathroom. Loved our discount ticket for First. Gabriela and Gerard were EXCELLENT hosts. Loved it is in a quieter part of town, but still a short walk from all the bars and restaurants. Really liked Gerard excellent Snapps with beautiful bottles. Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.5
    Great stay at Hotel Gletchergarten!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little away from the train station and we were aware of it. There were buses going to and fro (bus stop just outside the hotel) however only until 6 pm which we were not aware of, this meant one had to walk back after a long tiring day. But the owners were kind enough to pick us up which I thought was really great.

    It was a lovely family run establishment, free pick up/drop off to the train station, good breakfast, the rooms were lovely and the view from the balcony was amazing, and clean n pretty modern bathroom. They also had a laundry machine/dryer in the basement which was an added plus. Basement was also equipped with a TT Table, Billiards etc. Helpful owners and friendly staff!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    Spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is about 1 km from train station but you can take free bus and the bus stop is near the hotel.

    Spacious room. There is big terrace for my room with nice view of church.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Great hospitality and memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    So grateful to stay in this hotel for 3 nights. Room is cozy, clean and well decorated. The view from the balcony is spectacular and that makes me just don't want to leave my room. More importantly, you can really feel the dedication of the hosts in every corners when you walk around in this beautiful chalet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    A fantastic trip to a picture postcard location.....everything you imagine and more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have loved a breakfast tea in the room along with the fruit infusions.

    Perfect location. Gary and his wife were very welcoming. The staff were very polite but in a relaxed way. The hotel is literally 3 minutes walk from the centre of Grinwald. The scenery is stunning!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Very memorable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    It’s a bit far from the main drag and the Grindelwald station, but I didn’t mind doing the walking to get some exercise. The room was comfortable and had a balcony. The staff was all friendly and helpful. One nice lady at the reception even offered to pack up some breakfast upon seeing me leave early in the morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent family-run hotel with great view on the mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    Excellent service and friendly staff; great view on the mountains from room (nr 30); very good dinner (half-pension, only 34fr/pers); located at the end of the village (5m walking distance from centre but quiet zone); close to mountain lifts; got an upgrade for the room; comfortable beds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    I want to go back one day. I miss the sounds of the church bells ringing and also the flowers were
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The property was lovely, everything about the hotel was excellent. The breakfast was very nice served in a charming setting. This is a family run hotel, they were helpful and very accommodating. The location was awesome. Didn’t use the car while in town at all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Highly recommend for the best stay in Grindelwald !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed on the third floor and the water pressure in the shower wasn't the best but this is probably due to the age of the building and being on the top floor.

    Home away from home, a real gem in Grindelwald, a family owned and run hotel that is impeccable. The owners and their staff make you feel very welcome and are extremely helpful with planning your adventures in Grindelwald and the mountains. Breakfast was excellent and the view of the glacier from the breakfast room with the gorgeous red geraniums and garden are so special and memorable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel, Great location, Nice people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is Switzerland so expect to pay a lot of money for accommodations\, food and drink. You will pay twice what you would pay in Austria, The view from our hotel made the expense bearable

    The hotel is very nicely detailed and very comfortable. It has history and the owners are 4th generation. Their pride and service is very evident. The location of the hotel, with our room at the front(facing The Eiger, Jungfrau) was nothing short of spectacular The waiter and waitress were fantastic and quick

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Great location and staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location in Grindlewald! Beautiful hotel with comfortable beds and balcony with an amazing mountain view. The owners are so friendly, warm and accommodating. Delicious and fresh continental breakfast with tasty homecooked dinner! Highly recommended!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Delightful and exceeding our expectations on every front
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly hotel owner and staff. They made our stay in Grindelwald so much easier by offering rides to and from the train station, offering various train and cable car tickets at the hotel counter and free advice on what to do / where to go. We booked a superior double room and the view from our private balcony was just breath-taking. The hotel is also conveniently located right next to the grindelwald first cable car station and a bus stop. It’s about 5min away from the grindelwald train station on a bus. The location also avoids big tourist tour groups.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    The location was great with a beautiful view from our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was great with a beautiful view from our balcony. The owners were incredibly sweet and friendly and helped us pick the best locations to hike and enjoy the town. Cannot recommend this place enough!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Outstanding in Grindelwald👍👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Travel a lot. Property is special because of 4th generation active owners. They are there with sleeves rolled up. From 120 year history and collection of original art, to a 35 year French chef employee, to real silver wear in the dining room....this is one of the finest hotels and stays we have had in 20 years of traveling. Bravo to Gabi and Gerhard!,👍👍

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Perfect Swiss experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    The view was fabulous! Friendly and extremely accommodating staff. Absolutely what I wanted in a Switzerland experience. Homey, quaint and immaculate! Can't say enough nice things about this stay!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    A beautiful authentic Swiss experience with all the bells and whistles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a very nice authentic, upscale Swiss chalet style Hotel, being a Swiss Expat and living in the USA, I very much enjoyed my stay here. The Hotel management is helping with any questions you may have, for example lift tickets, bus thickets, hiking routes, sledge rentals and anything you may need to know to enjoy your stay. Management is super friendly, always available, easy to talk to and you can tell they love what they do! 5Stars!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    The view of the room is superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view of the room is superb.The hotel free up grade us to a big room comes with a nice view. Love it 😘 The hotel serve dinner also good . I love this place definitely will come back again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    The owners make their hotel feel like a home from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My only comment would be more fresh fruit at breakfast :-)

    The owners make their hotel feel like a home from home. They were exceptionally welcoming and always on hand to answer questions and serve drinks :-).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Charming Hotel - Great Hosts, Location & Room!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price is a little high but you're going to get that anywhere in Switzerland. It was well worth it! :)

    The location was fantastic! Right on main street in Grindelwald - easy to walk to everything. The bathroom was modern and wonderful! We loved our cute room and amazing balcony - we spent all of our time out there! Then finally the BEST thing about this place was the husband/wife team - they were stellar to work with. Loved our time here and all the artwork - truly a charming and unique hotel - would DEFINITELY stay here again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    Accessible and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Gabriela and Gerhard gave us a warm welcome when we arrived and we had a choice of rooms. The front rooms facing the Eiger are more expensive and we chose a back corner room with a view of the Wetterhorn and a pleasant grassy slope with other chalets. This room was quieter as it didn't face the street. The hotel is older and retains a historic air, but the facilities have been nicely updated. This is a family-run establishment and it's obvious from the attention and care that the staff exhibits that they want their guests to feel all their needs are met. Keep in mind that the hotel is almost a mile from the train station with a couple of hills. You can walk it with your luggage, but they're glad to pick you up at the station. The location of the hotel is conveniently just 5 minutes from the First tram station, which is the starting point for fantastic Alpine hikes; and also the Kirke (Church) bus stop is right across the street--the view from the hotel of the Eiger looming above the steeple is very picturesque. The hotel provided us with free bus passes which were quite convenient for getting around town, and a substantial discount on round-trip tickets for the tram to First. The breakfasts were filling and satistying, with muesli, fresh yoghurt, eggs, fresh fruits and veggies, and assorted cheeses, cold cuts, and pastries. There are common rooms to discover including a nice lounge with a very historic, traditional feel, and downstairs a game room with ping-pong and other games. Staying here was a very pleasant experience and we recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    This small hotel radiates old-world charm and hospitality...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This small hotel radiates old-world charm and hospitality with modern day comfort and cuisine. The owner-innkeeper and his wife are warm, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. We were delighted with this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Hotel Gletchergarten - a highlight of our Grindelwald stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved everything about the Gletchergarten. The staff was delightful, the property is beautiful, and located in a gorgeous part of Grindelwald that's slightly (as in a ~5 minute walk) beyond most of the hustle and bustle. We had a large room with a gorgeous view of the Eiger from our balcony. Breakfast was wonderful. In short, highly recommend!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    It's great to know the hotel family during the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit small and water can be stronger - but that's very minor issue.

    It's great to know the hotel family during the stay. We were offered to choose the room we like and we enjoyed the balcony and the view a lot. Our room was renovated and it's comfy to stay in.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    Very nostalgic hotel with pretty views and a very Swiss feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nostalgic hotel with pretty views and a very Swiss feel. Nice staff but not as attentive as we would have liked. We had to go looking for them. Breakfast was very nice and the town itself is a gem.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Great experience in Grindelwald @ the hotel Gletschergarten
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bigger towels after you take a shower

    The location & view was perfect, we were picked up at the train station and brought to the hotel by the owners. Very friendly owners & personnel in the restaurant, great food and service for dinner. Great breakfast I would come back in hart beat.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location.lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great lovely Mountain View. The receptionist was very nice and friendly Gabriela and Gerhard (the family owner of hotel).good breakfast i like the fresh milk ;). Washing Machine For clothes and dryer .I forgot my wallet at the hotel and Gabriela sent it to me by mail she was great women. I will come again sure

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    Comfortable room, stunning scenery, knowledgeable, attentive management. A great home base!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything

    Family owned for four generations, run by owners who can answer any questions about the area, transportation, food, landmarks, history, hiking trails, etc. Views of the Eiger and surrounding mountains from the hotel. Breakfast of breads, croissant, fruit, yogurt, cereal, meats and cheeses (even cambozola!).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    A pleasant, comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very expensive stay when a solo traveler but possibly this is just the area or because it was Eiger race weekend.

    I was lucky to get to stay in one of the new modernized rooms which was very nice. The staff were so incredibly helpful all weekend and prepared an early breakfast for us pre race. Thank you!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Will visit again soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic property in a spectacular location. Very clean and comfortable room. Good balcony to sit and enjoy the views. Lovely family running the place and very nice professional staff. Great breakfast. Overall, a fabulous place, already looking forward to visiting again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.8
    A family hotel with amazing view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Oh if must say something, I don't like the smell of the shampoo and body wash very much.

    Friendly, homely, clean, beatuiful balcony with amazing view, sufficient spaces for an extra bed for kid, has entertainment facilities (ping pong, table soccer, piano..) The family staff could be more helpful, picked us up at the train station, helped us to book the train tickets of Jungfraujoch. It was a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.5
    Views from the hotel were absolutely stunning and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of staying here was astronomical due to the Eiger race that weekend. I thought it was expensive to pay the same rate of £230 a night whilst friends also staying had a much better and renovated room for the same cost.

    Views from the hotel were absolutely stunning and the staff were the friendliest and most helpful I've ever met!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Very confortabe and warm room, with enough space and...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Very confortabe and warm room, with enough space and beautiful balcony. The view is awesome for the mountains. Staff very friendly and concerned with the guests, give all the information needed in the check in. As me and some other guests were doing the Eiger Ultra Trail, it was arranged for the breakfast that morning to start at 5:30 so we could have a good breakfast before the race. A place to come back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    Incredible views, adorable small town, just what I pictured for Switzerland
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is an uphill hike to the hotel from the train station with your luggage, but if you call them they will come to get you. They dropped us off when it was time for us to leave.

    The draw to this hotel for us is that it was Swiss Chalet style and had incredible mountain views right from our rooms balcony. Having a continental breakfast included was a big bonus because we found food in Switzerland to be pricey. They also helped us with tickets to Jungfraujoch so that we didn't have to wait in line, train schedules, bus passes, etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Lovely Swiss Chalet on the way to the Jungfrau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had dinner there all 3 nites. Owners could not have been more charming or helpful. Very comfortable and great location. We awoke to the top of Eiger Mountain through a skylight over our bed!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Our stay was everything you want in a hotel and more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we didn't like, except to have stayed longer

    From the moment we stepped through the door we felt welcome, the staff were helpful kind, food excellent and fresh, room superb and view unsurpassed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    Newly renovated room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Initially, hotel had bookings for 2 nights but I had booked for 3 nights. It was later sorted out quickly and was due to similarity of other guest names.

    Newly renovated room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Great place to stay in storybook Swiss village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owners were very sweet and professional. They strived to make the stay as pleasant as possible. It's a 10 minute walk to town which was just perfect to get away from the hustle and bustle. Large balconies made it perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    The best place to stay in Grindelvald!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite stuffy as the weather was amazing - I hate to say there was anything I didn't like as the hotel is wonderful, but the room was too hot at night time.

    Super helpful and friendly owners; beautiful, traditional property but with a really modern bathroom; extremely clean; very large terrace with fabulous views; marvellous choice of a continental breakfast. Loved it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Great hotel in Grindelwald!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner, in summer warm in the afternoons.

    Staff is friendly, competent, eager to help. Family owned business and you can tell they love it. Great location for hikes or to go up into the Alps.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.6
    Perfect family hotel, amazing view and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Remember to contact for pick-ups from the train station. It's about 1 km from the station. It's very nice of the host to take us to the train station.

    This is a family hotel and we had a really nice stay there. The hosts are great and easy to communicate. They gave us good suggestions for sight-seeing. It's only 5 minutes away from the cable car station to First. The breakfast is perfect. Lots of choice and good quality. The hotel is a traditional chalet, amazing view from the balcony. I'd love to come back again and stay even longer.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    A charming Swiss Chalet experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    We liked everything. The choice at breakfast of cereals, bakery fresh breads, fruits, yoghurt and jams was delicious and the half-board evening meals were beautifully cooked and presented. The management could not be faulted in their welcome, their courtesy and their willingness to help tailor your needs to the local services available. Good management should generate good staff and this was certainly the case.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel in Grindelwalt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A Perfect hotel in everyhing with a traditional history. I was fallen in love with this hotel and Grindelwalt. Because of this hotel, I will go to Grindelwalt and Switzerland again. Dinner was wonderful. And breakfast was also fresh and healthy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Perfect hosts in a perfact location - hard to find better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no part of our experience that was less than ideal.

    This is just one of the best hotels. The owner-managers could not be more helpful and gracious - they particularly helped in providing up-to-date information on the best hiking areas including what was opening up for the season. We have stayed before and surely will again. The hotel location is ideal - in Grindelwald but 10 minutes easy walk away from the centre of town so the location is nicely quiet. There is a convenient bus to get you to the cable car and funicular. Food was excellent. Everything is just ideal.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Perfect location and very gentle staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was super gentle and helpful, they helped me booking tickets for the main attractions and planning my activities day by day. Without their tips I would have missed a lot. Location is perfect. Just 10 minutes walking distance from the train station, 4 minutes walking distance from the starting point of the gondola to First. Parking available for the guests for free.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    Beautiful views, wonderful hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real complaints. The room was small but that was clear before I booked so it was no surprise to me.

    The Michel-Breitenstein family go above and beyond to make their guests welcome and happy!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    A hotelier with passion!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to add!

    The owner is very nice and very helpful. Would help us predicting the weather, picked our family up from train station. Breakfast is delicious, with large choice of bread. As well service was quick and friendly. The half board food is excellent, and they can always adapt to your need. Nice to see a hotelier with passion!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    9.2
    a perfect week in Grindelwald Hotel Gletschergarden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything was perfect ,the owner and the staff very friendly and competent comfortable bedroom ,good breakfast after dinner a cozy fireplace for a good night drink

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    10
    Excellent Swiss Experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom fan can be heard in bedroom, the fan comes on with the light, no other light option in the bathroom Minor disturbance as the entire place is so quiet you could hear the clouds float by.

    Great traditional family owned Swiss styled hotel. Love the super service from Gaby and Gerhard. Really good ski and boot rooms Wellness room is new and modern . Great breakfast , excellent expresso . Loved the art works on all the walls, painted by Gaby's grandfather and lots of old handmade skis and photos . Easy to get to everywhere in Grindelwald .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    10
    Loved Grindelwald and loved this hotel - home away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The owners of the property were fabulous. They picked us up from the train station, gave suggestions on places to visit and the best times, checked the weather/snow webcams, sold tickets for the trains, cable cars, attractions etc. Thry went out of their way to make our stay fantastic. Apart from that the hotel was in a good location, the facilities were good. There is nothing I could fault.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    10
    Would go back tomorrow!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only complaint (and it's really more a personal preference) pillows were too soft!

    We just thought the hotel was gorgeous, very quaint and exactly what we were hoping for in an Alpine Village. The owners were extremely welcoming and very knowledgeable and helpful. Food was excellent

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    9.2
    Perfection at the top of a mountain!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds, that's it, was perfect otherwise

    The staff were extremely helpful. The heated towel rack was added bonus. The wellness section was great. Breakfast was a typical European breakfast, and a good one!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    9.6
    A Warm and Cosy Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    better insulation between the rooms because one can hear everything, footsteps, voices and all...

    The cosiness of the whole place with wellness amenities, the personal touch and service of the owners

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    10
    Everything was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Everything was perfect! Incredibly friendly staff, very comfortable bedroom and bathroom, amazing views, good breakfast and lovely evening meal. We felt very looked after and had a wonderful stay. Thanks.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    8.8
    Great family run Chalet in Grindelwald.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds are bit worn, and the rooms a bit small, but this is to be expected for an old building. Like everything in Switzerland, it is overpriced for what you get (coming from Euro or USD), but still a good value in the context of Switzerland.

    Friendly family run hotel, excellent location, very welcoming and eager to provide recommendations. They can even print ski passes at the hotel, recommend a location for rentals, and have a room to store your gear that is easily accessible from the street.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    10
    An outstanding hotel with a very friendly and Helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Gabriella and Gerhard were always there to help and advise. For us the service provided by all the staff and family was of the highest quality. Our Christmas break there could not have been better

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no negatives

    All staff were wonderful, owner operators were excellent, spent time telling us about the history of Grindelwald and made suggestions for restaurants and sights to see.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    LOVE EVERYTHING HERE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTHING!

    This Hotel is so good ! Everything is just perfect! The owner, his wife and son are all so nice! and our room is upgraded for free. they can also help you do the tickets to Jungfrau. we take a good look at the pictures hanging on the wall all over the house, impressed by the over 100-year-history of the cozy hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    Excellent location,at the outskirts of town but an easy walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent location,at the outskirts of town but an easy walk in to everything.The owners take a genuine interest in their guests experience...that's how you remain on top

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Owners of the hotel were very helpful, accommodating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners of the hotel were very helpful, accommodating!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Superb! Gery and Gaby are wonderful hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Awesome place

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    5.4
    Good location, few minutes to the restaurants, typical Swiss...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really old hotel, we did have a renovated bathroom though. Room smelled a bit.

    Good location, few minutes to the restaurants, typical Swiss house.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is at a bend in the main road out of town so there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is at a bend in the main road out of town so there was a lot of traffic noise for such a small town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.3
    great traditional hotel, perfect service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    great traditional hotel, perfect service. beautiful landscape out of the window. we love the cappuccino in breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.1
    It’s ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee or tea in room

    Large balcony

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    quite place in the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    quite place in the town. easy to go First. Dinner is good!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful views, friendly welcome and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Beautiful views, friendly welcome and value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    One of the most beautiful places i have ever been
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very welcoming and friendly owners in an area of outstanding beauty

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    The staff is very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    The staff is very helpful and friendly. The room is spacious and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Loved the awesome view of the mountains, friendly &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the awesome view of the mountains, friendly & helpful staff, delightful meals

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    The staff was phenomenal and the location was beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was phenomenal and the location was beautiful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Great accommodation and excellent service in a wonderful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Owners are very friendly and helpful. 2. The breathtaking views from the window. 3. Very comfortable mattresses. 4. Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: