Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gletscherschlucht 3 stars

Postfach 72, 3818 Grindelwald, Switzerland

#13 of 39 hotels in Grindelwald

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 186 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean, attractive room, comfortable beds, great view, very good breakfast. It is away from the busy village center. The Lütschine stream flows in front of the hotel; the entrance to the spectacular Lütschine Gorge is adjacent to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mostly good view, but also next to a gravel mill(?) which was ugly and made walking on the street a bit harrowing.

    Staff was very friendly. Room was very nice, with a good bathroom. Good breakfast. A little out of the way, which can be a plus or minus depending on your plan, about a 20-25 minute walk to town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly. For the breakfast, which is included, they were generous in providing a variety of foods to accommodate my numerous allergies. The room was spacious and clean. The location is not close to town, but the hotel provides a free bus pass to use on the bus that stops directly in front of the hotel each hour to take tourists to the gorge hike that is next door.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second time for us to stay in last year, same great experience. Loved location, off the beaten tourist path. Good breakfast as usual. Great staff, very friendly, remembered us from previous visit. Free bus pass was nice, especially since it stopped in front of hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was always very friendly and helpful since the time we arrived til we did the check out. The restaurant's menu was good and the service very fast. Despite being 10 min from town, transportation was not a problem. The bus stop is just a few steps and the hotel gives you a bus card for the usage of it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owners were very attentive to our questions, plus handicap situation and accommodated us. They also gave us ideas of what to see during inclement weather. Loved Grindelwald and hope to return some day to do more sightseeing. Amazing scenery!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Postfach 72, 3818 Grindelwald, Switzerland is not an address. It is a PO box. This made it difficult to find! Booking.com, please fix this! as of October 28, it is still listed wrong.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from the train station(2.5km). No shuttle, only one bus(no.122) per hour. The last bus is 6pm (from station) and 6:30 pm(from hotel)

    Delicious breakfast, very nice staff, nice view, comfortable, cozy sauna(7CHF), clean room, just near glacier canyon. If you have a car, this hotel is the best choice in Grindelwald.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little far away from the town to walk but they provided a free town bus pass that we could use.

    Lovely staff, yummy boiled eggs for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no kettle in the room BUT we got hot water when we asked for and cookies :)

    The staff. They were friendly and helpful even though we were late. The location is great, the place is very well kept and comfortable. and the view is just stunning all round.The breakfasts were very good. high quality products. No eggs but we got them when we asked for them. We also got coffee on the way :) We would like to go there again. Highly recommend it!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The location of the structure it's really close to the Gletscherschlucht (we really recommend to visit it!) and the nature around the hotel it's fantastic! There's a bus stop to the town just in front of the structure (the bus is free with the guest card). The breakfast it's really good and the staff it's really friendly (they came to pick up us in the middle of Grindelwald with their car because we were not able to find the hotel in the darkness of the evening when we arrived). We will surely come back again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    Everything! Its located just next to a glacier cave, opposite to bustling small town of Grindelwald. Its 25 mins walk to the town via a beautiful trail surrounded by pristine landscape or you can always hop on a local bus. The place is run by a warm family, making you feel it as comfortable as your home. The breakfast was wonderful. I would like to go there again and hence would highly recommend it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free tea and coffee in the room. You have to get it from the restaurant downstairs and pay for it.

    The view is very picturesque and the room comfortable. The attached restaurant has good food and service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat difficult to find the hotel but worth the effort!!!! Construction on one of the roads made it difficult (via our GPS) to find the hotel.

    The staff were very friendly. It was so picturesque with a flock of sheep being brought down from a higher pasture right beside the hotel our first morning there. The glacier canyon was also right beside the hotel which was a treat to visit and soothing to listen to at night The hotel restaurant had very good food which was both very reasonable in price and very convenient after a long day hiking and walking. I would definitely stay here again upon coming back.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The top floor room just below the roof was very warm, no airco and no option to open more than 1 window to get a breeze. The roof window was giving a lot of light early morning so if you wake up when it gets light.....the pillows did not give any support at all. I developed a terrible pain in my neck after the 2nd night. During the 2nd night there was also a lot of noise from neighboring motor bikers. Not sure what sound they made but it woke us up several times.The expected quiet location was not for us. We decided to check-out after the 2nd night and skip the last night. They charged us 2 nights but did not ask anything about the stay. Later they came back that we had to pay the 3rd night. So I went back to pay for the 3rd night (we slept only a half night and paid for 3...) and told my story. Lady was not listening, just ask if I wanted to pay by card again. Gave it another try but again no response. Maybe she was focused on the payment and not that familiar with English however again no question about how our stay was or why we left earlier or whatsoever....Haven't had a stay like this in the more than 100 booking with Booking.com. Internet worked not very well. Location would be good if it was indeed quiet but it was totally not.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of amenities and no bus after 7. Had to walk 30 min.

    Great view, people, free bus to center every one hour, cleaniness.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to add.

    Friendly service. Quick and easy breakfast. Free bus pass. Discount to Grendelwald First.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    average breakfast, poor pillow

    clean room,nice staff, excellent location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    tea facilities missing :(

    Staff were lovely! Tucked away out the back of Grindelwald this little hotel was basic but very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We spent less time

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly out of town but there is a reasonable bus service.

    The ladies that run it are lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice people

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of waterfall Location Road to it was closed due to roadworks Very expensive

    Breakfast staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    excellent location off the beaten path, jus what we were looking for!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi could've been more reliable

    The cleanliness and the friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning location. Cool in the summer heat. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was excellent, quite. Lot hiking trails near by.. All in all it was value for money.. We left with plenty of good memories!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, great views of Grindewald, listen to river at night.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was closed on arrival we were checked in and then the lady left. No restaurant no bar no kettle in your room to make a drink so we took the bus that arrives outside the hotel to find that we would have to walk back as it was the last bus back to our hotel, my husband had to walk back to get our car so we did not have to walk back in the dark after dinner. The Sauna was closed the whole time. The entrance to the glacier was closed for refurbishment until June . You would think the hotel would inform guests when booking.

    View of the mountains and that the weather was good.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Personal choice but the split beds which are common in CH and DE and are represented as double beds never really work for me. However, it is fair to say that this is how it is done in CH and DE and as the saying goes...when in Rome do as the Romans do :)

    The staff. They were friendly and helpful even though we were veeryyyy late. The location is great, the place is very well kept and comfortable. The breakfast was generous and the view is just stunning all round.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was isolated from town Center and there was not proper transportation to get to the hotel Only one bus goes after every hour until 18.30,after this time no transportation to get to the hotel and only one taxi work in the whole town and no gurantee that you will get that!!! Also you can't walk from town Center to hotel because it's not suitable in the winter time too dangerous, long walk and too dark and slippery roads.

    The location was good,brilliant view from the room.cleaniness was good too.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No dinner on Tuesday and Wednesday nights which obliged us to take the car for dinner (with 2 kids) Internet connection not reliable.

    Super nice area, bus at 100 meters. Very nice and friendly employees. Super clean. View is fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast was limited.

    There were some beautiful hikes that I wouldn't have experienced if I had not stayed at this hotel. The gorge was worth the 6 francs. It was very quaint and the staff was friendly. The bus service was very helpful. Only a few minutes city center.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Downside was that the hotel was far from town. When we arrived in the pm, there was no bus service and only one taxi van transporting people to their hotels. 2 of the beds were upstairs in a loft, so my husband and son had to climb up on a steep ladder with their suitcases. During the night, they had to be very careful when using restroom going up/down the ladder.

    Coffee and food were good. Staff was very helpful and pleasant. Hiking in nearby trails and the gorge behind the hotel were awesome.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi was a little tricky. Had to go outside to get a good connection.

    We loved our stay here. The innkeepers were fabulous! One didn't speak much English but took such great care of us. Even hung our damp clothes out to dry and returned them to our room ironed and folded. I have never stayed in such a clean hotel! It was spotless! The location is outside of town which we liked. Right by many wonderful hiking trails and an incredible gorge. You hear the rushing water of the river from the rooms. Great playground for kids. The bus stops right in front of the hotel every hour until 6:30pm. It is a long walk into town. We would stay there again in heartbeat.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Abit far out of town for evenings out

    Very nice and comfortable room Helpful staff Location good for the walking we wanted to do Lovely view into grindelwald Free parking

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    place is a far from where the action is so need to travel far. Suggest to rent a car!!!

    the hotel is exactly by the canyon/falls that i guess would have been a big loss if we missed seeing had we not checked-in in this hotel. Facilities and staff were perfect for my 2 year old.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location. Bus transport to the town is only once an hour and no service after 6.15 pm.

    Perfect place to stay, Everything was neat and clean. Breakfast was good. Dinner also served with beautiful view of Grindelwald

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is only a single bus travelling every hour till 18:16 from Grindlewald train station

    The place is perfect if you want to stay away from the bustles of a city (even by Swiss standards, it's supremely quiet and serene). The staff was really nice. The place (we travelled during winter) was perfect and scenic.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything. Very clean and quiet, free bus at the door every hour, great breakfast. Close to the gorge.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner menu was limited although food served was very good.

    Friendly atmosphere, very good bedrooms. Friendly and attentive staff. Peaceful

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was nice and the staff were very friendly

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stafff and cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent service, room and view and very friendly staff!

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Switzerland is generally very expensive.

    Outside of town--Bus service at front door. Hostesses were top of the line.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Everything. Amazing place and location.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No double bed was available for a couple. Lack of dustbins around the hotel area.

    The location and scenic view around the hotel

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rather expensive menucard, perhaps better to take half pension

    Beautifull room,clean, nice view, friendly staff

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Guests also reviewed these properties: