Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Goldener Schlüssel 3 stars

Rathausgasse 72, 3011 Bern, Switzerland

#26 of 36 hotels in Bern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1188 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.1
    The room was like in an attic slanted roof and one person...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was like in an attic slanted roof and one person could hit their head getting in and out of bed. The room was very small and too warm with only a window that opened and that the next room could access from their balcony.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.1
    Historic Bern - a little too close to all the excitement!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the room and when you open the window to cool it down at night, the people drinking and smoking below prevent any restful sleep. Great location if you don’t go to bed before 2:00 am.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    4.6
    No air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff put us on the first floor which is closed to the construction site. When we opened the window, it was noisy, and when we closed the window the it was stuffy because the lack of air conditioning. Overall bad value for the price anf comfort.

    The room is clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.1
    Good for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom/toilet had been added into the room and just had a sliding door that didn't close properly. I was fine because I was alone but would have been embarrassed if I was travelling with someone. It also meant that the bedroom smelled a bit at times. In the morning there was no hot water in the sink or shower. The proximity to the Zytglogge is great but it goes off very loudly every 15 minutes during the night!

    The location was excellent! Right in the Altstadt and in easy walking distance from the train station. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, even changing my room to allow me to check in early. The breakfast was lovely with a good selection to choose from and great service from the staff. My room was clean and a kettle with coffee was provided, which you don't often find.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice property in center of town, but not great during heat wave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was understaffed, and the lady working was obviously overwhelmed making coffee and trying to serve everyone. Staff was doing their best to cope with 'Europe during global warming' where everyone is going to need fans and AC even in traditionally 'cool' climates. Of the three rooms, one had a swamp cooler provided that kept mom and dad more comfortable at night, and another room had a small desk fan, but the 'basic' room had no fan and was so hot, we put our kids at another hotel for our 2nd night. Less expensive rooms face a noisy street so sleeping with windows open requires earplugs.

    Clean property in the center of old town, rooms small and typical for old town stays, but very nicely appointed and laid out. Front desk staff was very nice. Good elevator, and an elegant restaurant area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed not super comfy...

    The room was okay but a little small for 3 people (but you don't stay there long anyway... to sleep and off you go!). The breakfast served at the hotel was good and varied. The location is great; close to the Clock tower (though you must not expect too much form the "animation" which comes up every hour...). Make sure you go down the river and take a swim (not recommended for children because the current is strong but there are many public pools in the park). Bring waterproof bags not to leave your valuables unattended. The Altes Tramdepot is a cool little brewery located right over the bear park and their terrace overlooks the river. Good food and ambiance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.7
    Nice people, nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you come by car add 30 CHF to your bill per day, bed not so good. If you sleep streetside there is a lot of noise grom the street / bars & restaurants

    Nice people, nice location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Short, comfortable stay in Bern's wonderful Old Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Weather was hot, and the room did not have air-conditioning.

    Excellent breakfast - wonderful breads. Located in the old town, and close to the main rail station and city centre (easy to get to). Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.3
    Good location, but the standard rooms are too small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The standard double room was very small. As a couple with just one small case each, we found that it was very cramped - since there was almost no space to move around the room.

    The location in the Old Town of Bern

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    Friendly personnel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bathroom is too small; the room does not have air conditioning; the street was extremely noisy in the evening and during the night;

    Friendly personnel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Very convenient for visiting the old centre of Bern which is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were 2 bars opposite which on one night celebrated well into the early hours! The road is also being dug up to lay new drains with work starting at 6am, which we know is permitted. This only affects the rooms on their street side. Keeping the windows fully closed reduced the noise significantly but if you like some fresh air at night not so restful.......

    Very convenient for visiting the old centre of Bern which is charming, good for shopping and great variety of bars and restaurants. Hotel provided excellent breakfast and the staff were pleasant & helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Bern and a big clock on the next street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and bed a little uncomfortable. No coffee or tea pot machine in the room. Although the evening manager opened the restaurant during the Sunday evening to provide us with hot water for tea.

    Centrally located. Location was ++ and staff was attentive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    4.6
    Unexpected disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unbelievably for a family room the bathroom consisted of a puny structure like those you expect to find in trains or planes, with a flimsy transparent sliding door, located smack in the middle of the room ! Absolutely no privacy. On top of it the molded shower overflowed. Not precisely my idea of a resting stop.

    OK beds by swiss standards

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.1
    Functional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bett was really hard, my shoulder and my neck were in pain when i got up the next morning.

    The location is great, in the middle of everything but still quiet. The room was big, with a balcony and a nice view. Breakfast was ok, not something special.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.8
    Giant delusion !!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive. Not worth the money. Terribile noice across the street from pubs, with closed windows difficult to sleap. Bathroom was pre-fab, strange, like made in wardrobe. No welcome water bottle in room, no tea, coffe or boiling macchine, for this price unexaptable. Breakfast ok, but was hoping for better variety, very hard wokring lady and kindly.

    Location, but is not enough for that price. Helpful Staff in reception and in breakfast room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Great staff good, but very noisy location, made it difficult to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having air conditioning made it necessary to have the windows open and being located next to bars and restaurants made it impossible to have a good nights sleep.

    Location was good in terms of having access to restaurants, shopping, public transport and tourist spots. Also staff where very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    The staff were very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very helpful. They went out of their way to help make our stay more pleasant. They had a bike that my wife could access while I attended a conference. The hotel is very conveniently located in the old city and was a short walk to the conference centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.4
    The hotel is located in the center and was easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price/value doesn't match, but guess this is normal in Switzerland. The bathroom is an improvised solution, the door from the bathroom could not get closed. The room could be cleaner. There is much noise in the hotel, you could hear people talking from another rooms. Poor breakfast. Although this has nothing to do with the hotel, I need to mention that the streets nearby are overfilled with homeless people and drug addicts.

    The hotel is located in the center and was easy to find. The Room was spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Will return when in Bern again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minus point of this hotel is that single person rooms are very small, although I would say it is a fare size for the money you pay

    Good breakfast, great location, very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    For this price I expected more.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small, eg. hat not enough space to open a suitcase, was not sparkling clean although acceptable and soundproofing was also poor. Breakfast is basic.

    The hotel is centrally lokated only a 10 minute's walk from the main train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    6.7
    Great location, poor value - wonderful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small came across a bit worn (paint flaking) with an very small & dark combined shower / toilet cabinet. Installations in the guest room were a bit dated. Common facilities such as the stairwell, lobby and breakfast room also showed a good deal of wear and were not kept as clean as the guest room. Breakfast was not up to the level I have come to expect in Swiss hotels. Due to this, the hotel did not meet my expectations in view of the rather high price charged (CHF 250 per night).

    The location (right in the middle of the historic center) and staff (very friendly & helpful) are outstanding. The room itself was quite clean, and quiet (looking out onto a courtyard) & the bed comfortable for a good sleep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money, very well located and nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows and sheets seems outdated and are not very comfortable, could be easily updated.

    Good value for money, very well located and nice breakfast. The bathroom seems like a box inside the bedroom, it’s quite strange but it was ok and very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.3
    The location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a room with windows on the street side on Saturday, and it was very noisy with opened windows because of pubs. With closed windows there were not enough fresh air. Next time we would book a room not on the street side. Breakfast was fine, but I missed omelet or other hot food.

    The location is great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    The staff on the front desk and in the restaurant in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff on the front desk and in the restaurant in the morning were so friendly and accommodating. The location was perfect! We really enjoyed our stay in Bern. Thank you!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel Over all good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in particular

    Good Property nice location easy to go around the places, nice breakfast. Overall well spent money on stay, would recommend others as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.1
    In heart of Berne's historic old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to park in a large public garage about 500 meters distant. Hotel has been around a long time, and seemed a little tired.

    Offered immediate access to pedestrianized historic center of Berne.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.9
    Great value hotel with some slight inconveniences.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the breakfast and the coffee was uneventful. Rooms are small, no air conditioners so if you travel in summer it can get hot. Plus, it is very noisy at night from the nearby cafes and a club right in front of the street.

    I loved the proximity to old town. It was clean and nice staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.4
    Will I stay again? No
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on weekdays at 8:30am!!! Ended up starving during travelling on that day to Zurich. 7:30Am breakfast during weekends!!! No kettle in rooms risk of dehydration. Small tv. Few Breakfast options. Struggled communicating with English! No options for vegan so my partner ended up starving in one night as location was remote. No menu options for haft board despite they serve 4 courses (fixed course I guess). Noisy during weekends due to celebration of a wedding during stay. No fridge in rooms. Sauna bags should not be displayed within room as guest would expect to take it home as part of their room fee but it will cost them 50 euros if they taken it home (notes too small in the leaflets)

    Bedsheets was soft, radio in the shower room, shower room was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.1
    Very close to tram lines to go anywhere in the city.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Air Conditioning and in 90+ weather it was mandatory to leave windows opened. Extremely noisy in the street until 1:30-2:00 AM. Ear plugs are essential but one can not avoid second hand smoke that wafted right into our rooms. Non smoker Americans beware in warm months. Parking was 10' away and $30/day

    Very close to tram lines to go anywhere in the city. Access to Aare river was good and fun. Going to university of Bern medical center no problem on foot (25') or by taking two separate buses ( 15-20') with free pass available for entire stay with room at no extra charge. Very good breakfast was included.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel in old town of Berne; rather expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds are very hard (though my son liked his.) Room rather plain and dark. We paid extra for a room in the back thinking it would be quieter, and there was still a fair amount of noise from outside. Would have done just as well with a less expensive room in front of hotel.

    Nice location in the heart of the old city. Breakfast was fresh and varied, very tasty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.4
    The hotel is over rated and over priced compared to their peers in the world.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though it was very hot and oppressive in our room the management refused to activate the air conditioning, quoting some "law" that it couldn't be activated if it was cooler outside than in. After bitterly complaining we were offered a larger room which was not so stuffy.

    Staff were mainly friendly and helpful with one exception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.9
    All I need for a successful business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is good but a little too basic, low money for value ratio (Euro/CHF exchange rate!)

    Goldener Schlüssel is a very convenient city hotel in the center of the historic part of Bern, rooms are small but fully equipped, minimal design, people there have a friendly and attentive service attitude

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel in a good location (convenient to bus stop and walking). The staff was friendly. Our room was moderate size and had a good use of space. I wish there was a fan in the room, as the warm weather made it a bit hot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.3
    The heart of the old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is not close to the train station.(The hotel is in the old city ,so I didn't mind it....) No minibar

    The hotel is in the heart of the old city .Super! The Clock Tower (Zeitglockenturm) is very near here. The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    5.4
    friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very poor choice of breakfast, we didn't liked the bathrooms, front rooms are extremely noisy and we had to change our room and paid for the difference, no choice. it was music festival season and we were informed about it. we were told they are not allowed to play music after midnight and even after the festival it was extremely noisy because there are so many restaurants on the street. we could not sleep specially my 3 years old daughter was quite upset.

    friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.9
    A really Superb location in the heart of the old city and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive for what it was, but that's probably just Bern!

    A really Superb location in the heart of the old city and nice facilities and staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    6.3
    Functional but overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking. Bathroom facilities functional. Shower only. No shampoo or soap. Croissants and coffee in morning lamentable.

    Clean. Comfortable. Excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice Hotel in Noisy Hip Area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Management was unable to change our room the first night. Our 1st floor front room facing the street was extremely noisy due to bars open til 3 am. No fan or ac on hot, humid night. Opening windows resulted in smoke entering room from patrons below. Had requested smoke free/pet free room due to severe allergies so wondered why room had been assigned to us? Paying more the second night for a quiet room and cot to be added to a double room at the back of the hotel vs less expensive triple room at front with 3 regular beds which was more comfortable but noisy and smoky and resulting in sleepless night. Recommend double or triple glazing front windows to reduce street noise and adding a fan or ac to the front rooms. People slamming their doors and talking in the hallway.

    Nice rooms with windows that opened. Convenient location in old town except for noisy bars on the street. Regular beds in double and triple rooms were very comfortable. Good breakfast. Very nice dinner menu with outdoor or indoor venue. Lots of towels. Good security measures at hotel. Management was able to change our smoky/noisy room for our second night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.8
    Great city. Lots of additional costs that the advertisement excluded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Adding costs and false advertising. I dislike additional costs such as city tax at 6% per day per person. The advert said guest parking. This is false. There was no parking and the only parking was public parking at 30 euros a day.

    Great city and location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    The people who worked there were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people who worked there were very helpful and friendly. Our train was late and we came in past midnight and someone waited for us. They also gave us advice and tips on what to do and lent us a waterproof bag to use when we went in the river. The breakfast was good, the room was clean and comfortable and the hotels location was excellent. We enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    5.8
    Very centrally located but single rooms very small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot and we'd emailed ahead asking for fans. We had three seperate rooms, which were tiny, on the top floor. Part of the room was taken up with a bathroom pod, and there wasn't even enough room to have a suitcase rack in my room. There was only one fan provided, and that to the largest (!) room! We got another the next day. I understand it is an older building, but I wouldn't recommend the single room if it is hot. With my window wide open all night to get some air, there was no privacy from the people in the building opposite.

    The battery had died in my safe and the man came up immediately to fix it, and also the stopper in the sink, which was leaking. The breakfast was good, if limited. Cereal, breads, boiled egg, cheese, ham, cold meats and a great choice of teas. The young man serving in the breakfast room was very polite and helpful. All in all the staff were very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location for a one-night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the pre-fab bathroom was a great solution to adapt the customers needs, it is small and lacks privacy: the door is a semi-see-through. If one needs to use the bathroom during the night, the room will be very bright. As we were traveling with children, that would be nice to have a mini-fridge and a kettle in the room.

    The hotel was perfectly located, 800 m from the central station or 2 stops by bus or tram, a few steps from the Zytglogge. They gave us public transportation daily passes for the length of the stay, a very nice touch! Breakfast was simple but very good and nicely presented. Staff was absolutely fantastic!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.7
    Go for NON-street view rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy street, with open-air bars. Perhaps due to friday night crowd, but we couldn't sleep till 3 am. Closing the windows would've helped, but since there is no individually controlled air conditioning in the rooms, we had to choose to either suffocate, or stay awake until the party-goers had enough fun/drinks. Uncomfortable pillows. Bathroom built-in the room. Not really practical. Can't imagine anyone bigger than XL size to fit in. Complicated and expensive parking.

    Located in the old town, very close to all sights. Very clean, good size rooms. Kind and helpful receptionist!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    A comfy room right in the heart of the Swiss capital.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room street-side, which was a little loud in the evenings as you're right on top of bars, cafes, etc. If you aren't a night owl, request a room away from the street.

    The location is perfect; right in the heart of the old town. Shops, cafes and restaurants are right out the door. The breakfast buffet was included and had terrific, simple options. The hotel restaurant was genuinely one of the nicest restaurants in Bern. Delicious food!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    4.6
    Not suit for family and children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Standard double room is quite small for 2 persons with big luggage. Room have no space. - Restuarant on base floor is noisy until 10:00 pm and smoky up to room 2nd floor. - Better to go hotel by bus. It is not easy to walk to hotel with big luggage. - Breakfast is not good. - The hotel may not suit with family and children.

    Staff is quite helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    4.6
    avoid, not worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was OK but the hotel was primitive. the mattresses MAYBE 2 INCHES DEEP, FELT LIKE SLEEPING ON THE FLOOR. A/C not available in spite of ad and when it is only desk controls its. Hot and uncomfortable in room as a result. Bathroom tiny, became whole shower when curtain did not really contain water. Sink so small could barely wash face. No toiletries--even motel in Arkansas have shampoo but this place nothing. Towels thin and non-exorbant.

    not much. good location, but that's it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.6
    very good location most of the places of interest are at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    No toilet soap provided just shampoo.

    very good location most of the places of interest are at stone throw distances, cleanliness, both family rooms provided to us were very spacious, lady at reception (sorry I forget her name) she was extremely decent and helpful. Breakfast was good with limited choice, could have more choice for kids.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    6.7
    could do better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    inconvenient access to wardrobe room cleanliness ok, but outside "balcony" hadn't been cleaned in a very long time

    friendly, welcoming staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.8
    Bern, the place to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is very conveniently located off the Main Street through old town. This kept the crowds down yet was very close to lots of things. The owners were very helpful in suggesting things and providing information. The public transit pass included in the booking made it simple and easy to get around town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The modular pre-fab bathroom is efficient, but the translucent walls and sliding door provide less privacy than usual.

    Located in historic district close to shops, trams, clock tower, excellent and reasonable Mekong restaurant, river. Room was quiet. Weekend flea market and sidewalk sales on the next street over were fun.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.5
    Room is conveniently located close to tourist area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were a little hard.

    Room is conveniently located close to tourist area. Room was clean and neat. We used Bern as a base to visit other places and the hotel was 5-10 minute walk from the train station. Nice breakfast spread.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    Nice for a short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedrooms small without wardrobe and the bed quite hard and unconfortable.

    Location was very good. The staff very kind as they tried to assist me in all I needed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    10
    A perfect 24 hour break from the snowy Alps in Lenk
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carrot soup and mixed salad were 5******. Breakfast with all local products ( I tasted fresh) was excellent. Room on street let in NO noise, had to open the window to hear the bells ring the hours.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    6.7
    Room comfortable and warm
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    High room rate Very small bedroom Poor equipments: nothing offered for the toilet, no equipment to make tea

    Room comfortable and warm Free WIFI Beakfast correct, but with limited choice: only one ham and two cheeses, without any vegetables Very nice breakfast room with wooden roof

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    6.7
    You can find better at this price range
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main problem of this place is that there's no noise isolation at all. You can hear everyone chatting around you, people stepping above you. The wifi is free and good most of the time though sometime unstable. I was on a skype conversation and had to call back a couple of times. I stayed in a couple of hotels in Bern and there is definitely better for this price range.

    staff is friendly and helpful, everything is clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    9.2
    The location is excellent and the staff friendly and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a little hard however may be because that is how beds in Switzerland are.

    The location is excellent and the staff friendly and very helpful. Couldn't fault them!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    10
    Great Location in Old Town, Close to Restaurants and Sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows too soft.

    Very nice reception staff. Location in old town was great. Room with 2 beds was good sized, large shower stall (big step down to floor), good water pressure, room on sink for personal stuff plus another shelf. Safe in closet at good level (i.e., not on floor). Wash cloths in bathroom! Upon check in you get a free bus pass, which we used to get acquainted with city and outlying areas. Adequate breakfast. Get adapter plug from front desk as soon as you check in as they use a different 3 prong plug. Several plugs in the room. Very good wi-fi in room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    9.2
    The location was perfect, in the heart of Bern, one minute...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was quite small. Toiletries are provided quite expensive. The bathroom is in a plastic cabin.

    The location was perfect, in the heart of Bern, one minute walk from the parliament. The atmosphere of the hotel is romantic. The breakfast is tasty with cheese, müsli, fruits, joghurt, etc. The room was clean. The hotel has also a lift. The staff was really nice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    7.1
    Good hotel with some room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is tiny, no sound isolation at all, the shower also kept switching between warm and cold which in winter is less comfortable... At 7:30 in the morning the cleaning ladies started chatting loudly in the hallway as the sound isolation towards the hallway is not great you could hear everything.. it got to the point that a guest in a neighboring room went to the hallway and told them to be quiet.. which they were for a bout an hour. At 9 they started again... nothing wrong with chatting staff but they could maybe wait until 10 am which is also when most people will be checking out or are at breakfast As mentioned the breakfast is great but to improve is individually wrapped butter to avoid a big piece which ends up getting slaughtered by the guests and doesn't look very appealing very quickly...

    Great location, super central and in a nice street with cafees and bars Very nice breakfast, crunchy and fresh bread, perfectly cooked egg, big tea selection- the buffet is simple but what is there is very good I booked a room with street view and in the comments asked for a room on top floor so that it is as quiet as possible we got a room on the top floor towards internal courtyard - very nice to take have taken this into consideration The room is simple but the bed is comfortable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    7.9
    Location, location, location!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, location, location!!! Right in the middle of the beautiful old city centre of Bern, which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site, it is the oldest Hotel Restaurant in the City. Yes, some Hotels have larger rooms, but you will be hard pressed to find a better city centre location. The restaurant is well above average and the Buffet style Breakfast, whilst not sporting the largest selection known, contains items of above average standard – quality above quantity – works for me every single time!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    7.5
    Location is super, right next to all the attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Asked for a quiet room which we got. But it was in the attic which meant roof beams blocking the way to the bathroom. If you book here, ask for the courtyard rooms but not in the attic. Also breakfast included but only so so.

    Location is super, right next to all the attractions. Lots of cool cafes, restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    9.2
    Not cheap, even for Bern, but hard to fault
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was pretty ordinary; I pointed out an issue with the bed, but there was no follow up; some smell of cigarette smoke throughout the hotel

    Great position, staff/owner v helpful; my room was v quiet

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Except a little bit hot,everything is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Except a little bit hot,everything is great!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    Good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soft pillows, hearing the people talking in the next room, hot and no air conditioning, small room.

    Fabulous location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.4
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds very hard, curtain was hanging off rod.

    Great location. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.9
    Stay in Berne
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was a little hard. Room basic but functional

    Very nice and friendly staff. Room to the back very quiet. Very central!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.3
    Location, value, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lightning problems, room was a little delayed to be ready

    Location, value, staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.2
    Very central, clean, comfortable and provided breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Very central, clean, comfortable and provided breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    4.2
    Expensive and a lot of noise and hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive and a lot of noise and hot

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    The staff, location, the cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC

    The staff, location, the cleanliness

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.5
    Nice location, expect very small rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I had was really small although I took the room with double bed.

    Location is perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Amazing location in the heart of the old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with more than one pillow

    Amazing location in the heart of the old city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very ordinary breakfast and the pigeons (and pigeon droppings) on the balcony of the room.

    Great location and very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    the staff is shinning.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no

    the staff is shinning. i love that.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: