Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Albergo Mirador 3 stars

Via al Lido 28, 6612 Ascona, Switzerland

#9 of 37 hotels in Ascona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 942 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    Nice Ambiente, Welcome-Drink.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice Ambiente, Welcome-Drink. Very friendly staff, rooms are spacious and clean with balcony, bed very comfortable. Excellent breakfast buffet. Location perfect, close to town but in quiet environment.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.6
    Good breakfast, within walking distance of the main part of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was tight, but worked out. And the floor was uneven between the bathroom and bedroom in my room, stubbed my toe a few times! But eventually I figured that out.

    Good breakfast, within walking distance of the main part of town. Great communication from the staff. Very accommodating even if you're arriving late. Which was nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.5
    No complimentary wine, or champagne as discribed in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complimentary wine, or champagne as discribed in the booking.com website, there is a coffee pod machine in the room but there is a charge ( CHF 1.5 per cup ) for tea and coffee.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Super clean, free parking and a fantastic breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to pay to use the coffee machine in your room, the hotel didn't answer our request for light snacks as opposed to prosecco or flowers (as offered by the hotel).

    Super clean, free parking and a fantastic breakfast. Free toiletries and a super comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Perfect with two small 'buts'
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were not comfortable and the AC was too loud.

    Everything else, the location, the design, the breakfast, the room, the staff, the outdoor seating....

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely small hotel in quiet area with renovated rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beautiful terrace has too many bees flying around making breakfast outside difficult

    Lovely small hotel in quiet area with renovated rooms All you need at a good price

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This hotel is just the right size and in just the location to help you chill out and enjoy Ascona. It’s in a quiet location but close walking distance to the main promenade as well as being close to the lovely beach. Anna at reception was very nice a friendly and would be very obliging when asked for assistance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    excellent welcoming staff & value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outdoor terrace needs a makeover. More shadow place and make it more cosy to spend more time there, because the place itself would be very nice, now it's just missing the "lounge and chill-area"-factor.

    Amazing staff, very welcoming and helpful!!Bicycle for free for the whole time to get around, was really nice!welcoming drink (aperol spritz) was extraordinary! And - when you check out you get a little water bottle for your way home which has such a lovely touch. Hotel itself is "older",yet they tried with little modern touches here and there to give the hotel an uplift, which makes it much more stylish. Bathroom is newly renovated!Breakfast has a tremendous variety and everybody will find something they like.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    A lovely hotel with a relaxed atmosphere just about 8 mins...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely hotel with a relaxed atmosphere just about 8 mins walk from the old part of Ascona. We loved it & would certainly stay there again. Esther the receptionist is very helpful & friendly. She was able to help us find an excellent restaurant & made the whole stay even more special. Thank you.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.7
    Location and staff were very friendly and obliging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were placed in wrong room which was bery cramped..however we were given a discount and staff were very obliging but it obviously wasnt what we had asked for...also i didnt feel that the rooms were tied and cleaned to a high enough standard during stay but they were clean on arrival..i also felt that they could offer more small snacks eg..crisps etc..and i felt 9pm was quite early for no one to be on reception as we werent given an emergency number to ring..

    Location and staff were very friendly and obliging..breakfast was lovely maybe a couple more cereal choices for kids and more fruit choice..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Enjoyed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could add some veegtables to breakfeast.

    Good location for Jazz festival, golf and walking near lake and parkes. Nice big room, newly decorated. Good airconditioned. Comftable beds. Clean. Excellent breakfeast. Nice and freindly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.1
    The staff were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was generally clean except for some sand that was still in the shower. The shower gel provided was empty, left by the last guest. And toiletries are not replenished. So we got our own stuff instead. The discarded toiletry bottles possibly left by previous guest was in one of the cupboards. Coffee making in the room is chargeable. So better off stay in the lobby if you need a warm drink. Or bring your own Nespresso capsules.

    The staff were nice. There were no lifts to the top floor so they helped us move the luggage during check in and check out. Big thanks. Room floor was clean, especially on 2nd day. Nice to have drinks in the lobby in the afternoon/evening. Owner takes pride in creating a cosy ambience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    As with our first stay, breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was surprisingly small during our second visit, so next time I would pay more attention to room choice.

    As with our first stay, breakfast was great. Parking is easy. There was a happy hour, free buffet just buy drinks. Easy walk to beach and marina full of restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Breakfast was terrific.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charges for use of in room nespresso coffee machine. Never seen that before. Seems silly.

    Breakfast was terrific. Our room with the balcony was quite large. Staff is helpful. Location to public beach and pier was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice place to stay with 2 children and aldo for couples. Very new and well decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room for 4 people but the room was finally for only 2 people althought in the booking web site it said 4 people. I had to call booking to solve the issue and I finally had a 4 beda room but I had to upgrade the room to a better one althought the price was still raseonable.

    Room, vews from the room, everything was very new, the breakfast was great and the location too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    Warm, friendly stay at a well-renovated hotel. Very good quality for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Number of available parking spaces too small. Often had to park away from hotel (but not far!).

    Friendly welcome. Newly renovated, clean & tidy room. Well priced. Smaller hotel size.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Gentle staff, extremely smart locatio, 2 steps from downtown...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gentle staff, extremely smart locatio, 2 steps from downtown and 2 steps from lake shore. Quiet due to state of the art sound insulation and windows in every room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow was not very comfortable

    The stuff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean. The breakfast is so fresh and good quality. We would definitely go back again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    The highlite of my twenty days in Europe.@
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not to many people on the street respond with a tip of the hat or a warm smile. Maybe they know anyone with half a brain will want to stay here forever thereby messing up the very cool place the Swiss have developed here.

    The breakfast was outstanding. Absolutely every item was fresh and always at the right temperature. The entire hotel was manicured and well maintained. I was impressed with the cabinetry in our room.. just like this wonderful country; well made and smartly designed. At first I was a bit put off by our sharp witted host, but youknow, he was riight on about each and every thing he told us . His passion for excelance will be something I will never forget. Switzerland was a humbling experience for this American. The walks were just like the hotel. Streets clean ,yards trim ...I could go on for another hour.... the highest marks for all aspects of this stayI shall return and encourage anyone to make this wonderful peaceful establishment their home in Ascona...Wow!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    Mirador is a comfortable and pleasant hotel providing good value for money.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wi-fi kept dropping out. Don't know if that was because I used up some imaginary data allowance but I just couldn't stay logged on for more than a few seconds from the second day of my stay.

    Mirador is a comfortable hotel, on a quiet street slightly away from the bustle of the harbour and the big resort hotels on the lake front. Bed very comfortable and bathroom had a good shower. Breakfasts were excellent and catered for all tastes. Nice to have bacon and scrambled egg! There is guest parking. I was reliant on public transport and the bus to Locarno - a short walk to the bus stop - is every 15 minutes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Perfect hotel for what I needed which was just somewhere to sleep and shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water and fruit in the room upon arrival is not replaced throughout the stay. The water would have been very much appreciated as it was so hot at the time of my visit.

    A really clean hotel, ideally located for central Ascona and the lake, bars and restaurants this bar also does fantastic cocktails.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    Very nice renew hotel in a great location- few minutes walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very nice renew hotel in a great location- few minutes walk distance from the old city and the lake promenade of beautiful Ascona. We liked very much the hotel and the lovely city. Great breakfast with tasety breads and local cheeses. We stayed 5 nights and got a nice room with little balcony. Although it was raining we spent a wonderful time and enjoyed sooooo much! Thanks a lot especially to friendly Marcel and Aline who were really kind and helpfull. Grazie mille!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Hotel in great location with fabulous breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Although there were 3 pieces of fruit and 2 bottles of water free in the bedroom, there was no coffee and tea making facilities there, although of course you could have had that downstairs at breakfast.

    The hotel only opened in April this year. It was in an excellent location just 5 minutes from the harbour, bars, shops and restaurants which overlooked a pretty lake with mountains in the background. We stayed 5 nights and if you stay 4 or more you each get a free bottle of wine. They also gave us each a free bottle of cold water when we left... and there was a free buffet every night from Wednesday to Sunday each week. Everything was spotless and the breakfast had more choices than most - all fresh and very tasty - I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon is a killer. It was too hot to switch it off, but once it is on it blows cold air strait on you, no way to deflect it up... we both catch cold as a result.(

    Nice hotel at the ecxellent location, very friendly and helpful staff. Large room in attic.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    Very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was much smaller than we expected - the info on the booking.com said 35m2 and it was maybe 20 m2. "Sitting area" mentioned in a description was limited to one armchair. Rooms are nicely designed, but a bathroom was very simple (more like a hostel standard) and with some mold under the shower.

    Very nice staff. Good breakfast and possibility to eat it on a terrace. Good location - close to the center, to beaches and to a bus going to Locarno. The view was very nice, but widows were overlooking a street which was not very busy, but still quite loud.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    2.5
    Not Apllicable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby. Very much looking like a place we were looking forward to stay.

    I really liked the lobby but they offered another "4 star hotel" as they only had a single available. They had charged my debit card May 5th or there about. My Stay was 06/16. After they told me I had cancelled, I showed them my emails and confirmation. They told me they only were obligated to offer me a higher star hotel. They gave me the option of the delta hotel. Yuk. Ascona was 89% booked so we needed a place to sleep safely. It was not at all a comparable location nor room. Filthy. Additionally, they whisked us away to the dive and we had to leave, prior to the "free" breakfast and pay for a car to Locarno at 7:00 am for the Bernina Express, due to the out of the way location. Glad to get out. We also had to return following dinner via their shuttle at 8:00 pm or again pay for a car. Rediculous. Ducks swimming in the pool which is a health hazard and very disgusting. I guess we could have spent the night on the swing set and kiddie slide located in the yard of the delta hotel. Really? What kind of scam are they running or is it ? No help available. I am now in Pontresina and loving it!

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.9
    Cool hotel with great views + delicious breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms - I think they left them out of the renovation and they could definitely use some upgrading. The shower was very small. The door to the bathroom also had two holes in it - possibly for vents, but as it was - they were just holes. It seems as minor, but someone forgot to finish the details and that's really not acceptable to have holes in your bathroom door. Reservation issue - I think this is something Booking.com needs to correct. I specifically stated TWO people when searching places; however, hotels can offer Single person room rates and they are listed under the two people search - this resulted in me having to email the hotel and pay an additional $40 for the room. You have to be sure to read every little detail when you are booking a room.

    The room was quite spacious and bright, the décor shabby chic - I liked it! The breakfast was delightful along with the staff. And I loved the wood pallet carts. There is a large outdoor patio off of the reception area with soft seating and table I imagine will be much more crowded in the summer. From the hotel, it's a very short walk to the public beach and also to old town. We had a very nice stay & while the balcony was on the alley, you really can't go wrong with the views in Ascona!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    9.2
    a very positive experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing at all

    A very friendly and helpful team (almost) fully renovated property very good breakfast quiet location and close to the center great service

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Warm, friendly vibe and the perfect place to stay while exploring the beauty of Ticino!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such wonderful and kind hospitality! The gents running the hotel were just lovely-helpful, great advice and thoughtful. Breakfast was beautifully presented (and delicious!) and just a lovely relaxed vibe. Great, quiet and picturesque location. A five min walk (if that) into the main part of town & lake, or the bus is close to get to Locarno (sometimes I walked). Order a drink at their bar and you have a lovely outdoors area to relax. Loved it. Danke & grazie!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.2
    The decor and design of the hotel were great
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor and design of the hotel were great

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Very clean, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small

    Very clean, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice little hotel. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small rooms and beds.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Family atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Loved location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved location. Near Lake and Restaurants. Well appointed rooms and great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    As one is an amazing town an the hotel is in a excellent location to stroll down to the waterfront!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was a disaster even do I asked for a car park and have been promised to have one!

    Staff very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Rooms are very clean and modern breakfast was good and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Rooms are very clean and modern breakfast was good and the staff is excellent. We loved the Appero Buffet at the evening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, perfect for a short city trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To get to the hotel you need to take a very long flight of stairs.

    Location and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    Location, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room

    Location, staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    The hotel was at great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was forgotten to be cleaned but when we asked for it, the staff found a way to get it cleaned.

    The hotel was at great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and excellent value

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice place, convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could be a bit bigger, but it was ok.

    Very good breakfast, very good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast, clean room and good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent breakfast, clean room and good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.9
    Overall a good place to stay but expect noise from other guests and the restaurant/reception area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls seem to be made of paper and you can hear the guests in the next room very clearly.

    Breakfast and the staff were all really nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.3
    excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    furniture not in good condition

    breakfast is excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Pleasant environment, friendly staff, delicious breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleasant environment, friendly staff, delicious breakfasts. Close to the beach, waterfront,migros and bus stop. Hotel is new and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.6
    Extremely friendly staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly staff; great breakfast; calm location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.9
    They had an very nice apero buffet for free in the evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had an very nice apero buffet for free in the evening. We just paid for the drinks :) And the staff is very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.6
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is super friendly and helpfull. I felt like at home. The breakfast was really delicious and with many varieties of items. Great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.5
    Excellent breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small room and very small bathroom.

    Excellent breakfast! Parking in front of the hotel. Clean room and hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.2
    Very good place in Ascona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small.

    Excellent breakfast, nice and quiet place, everything new and clean, welcoming people, not far from the lake.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.5
    great experience!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great experience!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.3
    Staff was very helpful and obliging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff was very helpful and obliging. Breakfast was nicely prepared.

    Stayed in April 2017

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: