Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Gottardo Garni & Osteria

Via San Gottardo 18, Muralto, 6600 Locarno, Switzerland

#10 of 41 hotels in Locarno

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 574 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Osteria was closed and we were not informed about it. We had to search another restaurant to have dinner.

    The room was tidy, bed -very comfy, breakfast - nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived quite late on Saturday when the receptionist had already been off, however she arranged everything so I could get my room without any delay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The insulation was not that great, we could hear people talking in their rooms and in the hallway

    - The woman at the reception was very friendly, giving us advice for a dinner place at our arrival - The room was clean and modern

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. The hotel is just a short walk from the main train station and from the lakefront. Good selection of food for breakfast, bed was comfortable and the front desk staff was helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit too hard.

    The owner is very welcoming, always smiling and ready to help. The bedroom was cute and well equiped, and we appreciated having a balcony with a beautiful view over the lake. Breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was still being cleaned when we arrived at gone 5.00pm, so we had to wait in the bar but the drinks were on the house. No tea or coffee making facilities.

    Locality to town centre, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice to have had a fan in the room. The single pillow was a little too thin for me, I would have preferred it if there was a spare set of pillows in the room.

    The host was super friendly, and very nice to deal with. The breakfast was good, with some nice home baking. The location is good as it is a pleasant walk to the main station. The price was good for the region and the season.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lighting in the corridor is motion activated, but reacts only with huge delay. I had to use my phone's torch on several occasions in the otherwise windowless corridor. While breakfast was available earlier upon request (7.30 instead of 8.30), there was no one at the reception for check-out. Also repeated calls on the internal phone did not help. I had to wait quite a bit and almost missed my train due to the delay.

    The location is conveniently close to the train station. The room was newly renovated and offered everything needed for a short stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit hot in the room at night to sleep, it would be good if there is a fan provided.

    The staff is very friendly and the place is about 5 minutes walk from the station. Nearby there is a good restaurant called Osteria Chiara.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could be included, but the price is reasonable.

    The sisters and the employees are very kind and polite. They provide a personal feel, very cozy and pleasant experience. The room is comfortable and has a great view. Bathroom is good and even has natural light (so rare these days). Cappuccino is delicious!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Although breakfast started at 8:30, our request to have it at 7:30 on a Sunday was met with a cheerful 'of course, no problem'. The hotel is a short (<10 min) walk from the train station and city center. Rooms were very clean and comfortable; the interior was modern. Breakfast was wonderful, with a diverse selection of fresh and home-made food. Would recommend this hotel and stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly stuff! Rooms are nice and clean. Breakfast is nice but I missed some fresh fruit... but that's just a little detail. :) The hotel is in a quite area, 5min walking from the train station, or you can take a bus also for 5min. You can walk to the lake or city center or take the bus (station is just in front of the door) that take you to the city center or all the way to Ascona. I would totally recommend this hotel! :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited facilities, a bit old fashioned. Breakfast is just ok, not so many varieties.

    Hotel is about 10 min. walk from the train station and the main square (Piazza Grande). Nice old building, rooms are renovated. Nice and helpful owner.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was that as it was hot we slept with the window cracked open and it got a bit noisy in the night. But still very nice.

    Lovely place, lovely, polite, friendly staff, convenient location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner said that the entrance to the shower was too narrow ! But she is rather big (smile) We found the mattress a little too hard

    Pleasant, friendly, quiet, clean and nice view to the lake, very good value

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly staff, warm dishes for breakfast, close to the station, bright room interior, very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice breakfast with fabulous home made jam and great bread.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing springs to mind.

    Great welcome. Good service. Good value for money .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom towels a bit old

    We received a Ticino ticket that allow us to travel free for 24 hours in train,bus or tram. Discount in many attractions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should tell me the parking is chargeable...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very hard beds. No ventilation in the room (very hot). Noisy late in the evenings (racing motorbikes and cars)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioner

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, was excellent

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Excelente Atencion !!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, great breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All was perfect and the Staff extremely helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Helpful and nice staff. If you want value for money this is your choice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattresses were a little hard

    The quaintness, and view from the balcony Staff very helpful and friendly Very quiet

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All good.

    Breakfast was awesome!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows need to be different

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -thin walls let us hear noise from other rooms -early time of check-in & check-out

    +perfect breakfast (included) +excellent staff +our room had a terrace

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad to say

    Love Locarno and Ascona....so much to do and see. The hotel was not too far from Train & Bus station and also only a short walk to the lake

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No bad experiences, just would have liked a kettle in the room and a second pillow. But that's not a deal breaker!

    Great location, lovely view over the rooftops with a little balcony, super shower. I needed to iron a pair of trousers, which they kindly did for me.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very friendly and helpful...lovely young ladies, Enjoyed breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No fridge.

    It was cool!!!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Fantastic breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was great, clean hotel, friendly staff

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: