Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel St.Gotthard 4 stars

Bahnhofstrasse 87, City Centre, 8021 Zürich, Switzerland

#69 of 122 hotels in Zürich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2293 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.3
    Very impresse
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our cleaner didn’t remove used glasses or empty rubbish bins

    Staff helpful and friendly. Double glazed windows so even through hotel is right on Bahnhofstrasse room was quiet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.6
    We really liked this location and the helpful staff. Room modern and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Typical city room, quite tiny. The beds were firmer than we are used to but the second night we got a topper for the mattress and that made all the difference!

    Great location, right on the famous Bahnhofstrasse, the street for all the exclusive shops. Short walk from train station. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Rooms newly updated. Enjoyed the outside cafe owned by the hotel, watching the people go by and a wonderful gnocchi dish!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    It was a quick walk from the railway station at the tip of a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was a quick walk from the railway station at the tip of a high end shopping street and an easy walk to the lake. Although in a busy area it was quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel on great location easy excess to move...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lifts i dnt like very old lifts

    Very nice hotel on great location easy excess to move everywhere staff is soo friendly n helpfull i give 10 out of 10 for every thing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.3
    Location is perfect for business and leisure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no adequate ac and the rooms are extremely hot, stuffy and uncomfortable. The pillows are too soft and with the hard bed it makes it a difficult sleeping combination. Despite staying in the hotel 5 times in a 18 month period they still have incorrect details for me at check in. In the last 14 days ive stayed in 8 different hotels across Europe & Switzerland and unfortunately this is the most disappointing. I visit the city at least 4 times a year and i believe i will need to find a new base as the last 2 experiences here were disappointing.

    Location is perfect for business and leisure. Door staff incredibly friendly and helpful. Appreciated the free upgrade as the basic rooms are small.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.9
    Cleaning was not thorough- one day they forgot to give me a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleaning was not thorough- one day they forgot to give me a new soap and even took the old one away overall a stingy policy on toilet paper and tissue paper. Noticed there is NO HAIR CONDITIONER.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.9
    The location was great and the staff are really helpful,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is not pram friendly as there are stairs with no ramps which is difficult for children

    The location was great and the staff are really helpful,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    One Night in Zurich....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked this property for our last day in Switzerland. The hotel was very nice and the location awesome. There was a malfunction of AC so we did not get to stay there. It was ridiculously hot when there. The staff at the property helped us move to another hotel around the corner. They were very helpful and we appreciated them taking care of us this way! Next time in Zurich I would love to stay there! It is also across from the train station so very convenient!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    The location is unbelievable - yards from the station right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price I paid a continental breakfast Would have made it such an amazing stay - but only a minor issue

    The location is unbelievable - yards from the station right on the main shopping street - trams 50 meters away - beautiful fresh orchids at the door and the staff at the desk and right throughout the hotel are 100% service driven -

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    The stay was simply magical.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of this hotel was in the heart of Zurich. It was ideal that the main train station was across the road. All major attractions are in close proximity. We appreciated that the staff went over the top to assist with directions and information.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    Effeciant and friendly in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    needs a gym

    If you want to stay next to the station, this is the place, it’s also on the main shopping road and a 10min walk to the old town. Very efficient and friendly. Staff always with a smile trying to help. And a nice breakfast room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    4.6
    zurich is great but this hotel was a let down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the first words spoken to us from the staff were "we need your card for a £100 deposit" just what you need after a 6 hour train journey. The air con was broken, the room was very small and for £370 for two nights it was a big let down.

    location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.8
    Love cation and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was not coold and they know thos problem from3 weeks do nothing . My bathroom was smelly they gave me % off because of that .

    Love cation and staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    Check-in process didn’t meet expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at midday and made all check in processes but waited til 14:00 to actually getting our room. We went for a walk And we came back to the hotel at 14:20 and our room was still not ready, we were asked to wait 10minutes which at the end it resulted a 40minutes wait with any type of apology or excuse. Surprisingly enough, once we arrived at our room, they were still cleaning it. Room was comfy but all this process made that our stay didn’t meet the expectations of a 4* hotel.

    Location was really good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location right next to train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I recently had knee surgery and asked for some ice to handle the swelling of walking all day. Hotel was not able to help me out with that.

    Great location right next to train station. Don't pay the ridiculous taxi fees to get to the hotel from the airport. The train was super fast, easy and cheap.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    Location is grate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot and the air conditioning did not work well. And it had terrible high noise! In the night the sound of air conditioner was horrible.and it was still very hot in the room.

    Location is grate

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Good room with airconditioning and balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like

    Good room with airconditioning and balcony. Close to old part,shops and less than 5 mins walk to the main railway station, valet parking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    The location was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and the manager.

    The location was amazing. The manager on Duty I think her name was Christina was outstanding. Any small inconvenience she took care of right away with a welcoming spirit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.7
    The staffs at the reception were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant staff rushed me to leave the breakfast restaurant because he said the restaurant can fit 40 people and they have 120 guests in the hotel.. He did ask me if I have finished my breakfast and if I have, then i can leave or sit at the lobby area. I think its not acceptable. If there are 120 guests in the hotel, then you should increase the capacity of the restaurant... Not rushing your guests to leave the restaurant!!!! Totally unacceptable. The aircond was broken. The room was extremely hot and I could not sleep the whole night. I complained to the Reception staff and he was very helpful and tried his best to find solution for me. Many thanks to him. He is the reception staff on duty in the morning (from 9am onwards) on 2 Aug and 3 Aug. When I complained about the aircond issue to the reception staff (on night shift duty) on 2 Aug thursday, they were absolutely not helpful and say there is nothing he can do about it. Absolutely terrible.

    The staffs at the reception were friendly and helpful. The location is very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.1
    - Near shopping center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is very well except for bad receptionist (young trainee?), including check in & check out periods. He is not humankind, bad service and not professional as ever seen.

    - Near shopping center - Near train station - Good accomodations

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Great 4-star hotel very close to the main train station in Zurich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning in some rooms not functioning properly. We had two rooms and the one room measured 26 degrees C when it was 27 degrees C outside.

    Friendly staff. Very comfortable beds. Very close to the main train station in Zurich.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Everything was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fantastic. Beds comfortable and pillows the b best I've slept on. Staff very friendly, and breakfast was great. I would definitely return to this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    We enjoy our stay in Hotel St. Gotthard,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the second time we stayed in this hotel, we like the good location for shopping, It is just opposite the central station, and tram station in front of the hotel. The staff is very helpful, the bed is comfort.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.8
    Location, staff, quality, cleaning
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC in my room was not working and couldn’t be fixed during the 2 night stay. However I did get a fan. I frequently visit the hotel and hope this won’t repeat for me next time.

    Location, staff, quality, cleaning

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Contemporary beautifully designed cozy hotel in the heart of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Contemporary beautifully designed cozy hotel in the heart of Zurich City. Steps away from central station. Spot less clean rooms. Comfortable beds. Staff upgraded us just for extra 40 euros.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    A convenient and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All good.

    Comfortable room with all facilities. Quiet yet convenient. Good breakfast with attentive staff. The lifts were a little quirky and small with luggage but manageable. It was easier to walk down the stairs to breakfast rather than use the lifts. We had no real problems though as we arrived too early for check-in but our luggage was delivered direct to our room while we were exploring the town. Front desk was very attentive and supportive. Beds were comfortable for myself but a little firm for my partner - this is always difficult to rate as some like very firm and some like it soft. So very convenient to Zurich main station especially with the underground walkways. The central location also made it simple to get to many city sights.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen staff squabbled about the fact that we ordered dinner 10 minutes before closing time. Food was burnt in retaliation for an order close to closing time.

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    We had a wonderful time in Zurich- we will stay at Hotel St Gotthard if we ever visit Zurich again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    The staff was very helpful- from the desk staff to the porters and the housekeeping staff; they were all friendly , very helpful The location of the hotel is ideal- 1 block from the central train station, l1/2 block to the tram tracks, close to lots of shops ad restaurants, close to the river and places of interest.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Great location with easy access to the main areas of...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location with easy access to the main areas of attractions. Staff members of the hotel were helpful and attentive! Overall a recommended hotel to stay in for any business travelers.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel in an excellent area and good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room we only got 2 coffees with 2 sugars and two creams. We like to drink coffe in the afternoon but it we had some in the evening then in the morning we didn’t have any. I’m sure that if we had asked they would have provided more but sometimes you don’t feel like asking. Just a minor inconvenience

    The location is excellent. The room and bathroom size very good especially for European standards. The reception staff was knowledgeable and helpful. The room was facing the main avenue Bohaffastraase but when the windows were closed it was very quiet. The train station very close.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Great stay great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    none.

    Top location, just a few step from the tram 10 halte, central station, stores, cafes, restaurants, the hotel it self has excellent cafes and restaurants., top staffs, clean hotels. Worth of time and money. City trip to Zurich? Or any kind of reasons to be in Zurich, i'll save your time to search a hotel, just stay in this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Exccellant location and very nice, cosy rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Beds are not very comfortable.

    - Located very close to the main station (Trains/Trams) - Located on a huge shopping street where you can find many good shops and couple of malls. - Very authentic interior and exterior design. - Rooms are very clean and spacious enough. - Bathrooms are spacious with all the needed amenities. - Staff are so polite and supportive. - Free wifi with easy log in without password nor registration.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    3.5
    Totally avoidable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Rude staff. Gave us wrong key at the time of check in and we enetered someone elses room. No apologies, just pretended it was usual! Terribly rude staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    A great place to stay in Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything! The location was perfect, very close to the train station & on the main shopping street. A lovely walk to all the tourist attractions! Breakfast was great! Good value for the prime location!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Needs a little sprucing up...otherwise great choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little outdated. The furniture needs updating. There was no view at all from our window. There were some dusty corners in the room.

    The location is probably one of the best in the city. The staff were friendly and sometimes more helpful than expected.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    We paid more for location and were rewarded for it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel had elegance. High ceilings and marble staircases to name two. The hotel staff were more than helpful. The room, bed and bath were wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel with nice staff in Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't know how long time will take to cancel my deposit, but it still didn't cancel. but I'm sure that it will be canceled soon...^^

    Staff was very kind and polite for us. he always checked our condition. so I was very satisfied. Even my wife remembered his name, cause she got positive impression from his service. :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Luxury stay at a clean, convenient, welcoming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn’t like was that I couldn’t stay longer. *G*

    My stay at Hotel St. Gotthard was first-rate. Every single staff member I met was warm and attentive. Most spoke very good to excellent English. The hotel is very comfortable and modern, with just abut all the amenities we spoiled American tourists are used to at home. When I couldn’t find my plug adapter, the porter found one for me (naturally, my own turned up later). Zurich is expensive, but I had a lovely room with a large, comfortable bed for about $220 USD which is very reasonable for the area. The hotel is one short block from the train station, which was just what I needed for my 7:07 a.m. train. Attached to the hotel is the famous Lobster and Oyster Bar restaurant. It is very, very expensive, but it is also very, very good. Check out their menu and prices on line if you are considering indulging. If I hadn’t been well under budget by that point in my trip, I would not have been able to afford the splurge, but as it was...fabulous meal with top-notch service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Reception was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extremely small for price paid. Would have expected more space for this price.

    Location to train station and main shopping streets was excelkent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there was another set of toileters for women, they have a masculine scent 😆

    The rooms are high standard, with luxury bedding and pillows. The rooms are quiet and comfortable. Every time I go to Zurich I stay in this hotel (so far 11 times).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Very nice rooms and nice canal view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A pretty good walk from all main attractions. Venice is pretty small so it’s possible but would have rather stayed more south on the island.

    Very nice rooms and nice canal view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    The bartender/waiter called our room after 10:00 pm and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bartender/waiter called our room after 10:00 pm and wanted to come to our room to collect money because he said the hotel computer system was down. Sooooo unprofessional. Seemed like a scam since this was actually added to our room bill.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel in the center of Zurich
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was expensive but not much choice. I knew most of the things in Switzerland were expensive, but with reasons.

    It was convenient while the building seems old and even historical. Room was spacious. If you close windows, you don't catch much noise from the beneath active main street of Zurich. I liked the balcony much, which allows me to relax while you feel a good air from the lake.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.8
    Terrible
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because for bookings received on internet from other countries and single travellers they make sure that the worst and the most claustrophobic room with no view is provided even if there are other rooms available. It seems they have no food for guests for breakfast as there were no plates no breads nothing Complete waste of money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay in comfortable hotel that met our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast food, while adequate, is rather pricey for selection on offer

    Great location close to railway station. Roomy bathroom with fantastic walk-in shower

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    The staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WiFi wasn't very stable especially on the beginning of my stay. It became better later though.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. I stored them at the reception before the room was ready, and they delivered my luggages directly to my room when I came back to check in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.8
    Except for the location, the hotel was not an attractive choice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was very old and worn out and mostly not adequately renovated specially the lobby, reception, elevators, etc. The room was so small for the price I paid and not inviting at all.

    The location was extremely good. The bathrooms were fairly renovated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    One of the best hotels in Zurich city center definetely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked everything there)))

    Perfect location: just few steps from railway station, very clean and nice area around. So friendly helpful staff. Rooms have been renovated and look great really.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    The location is awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a little on the expensive side for the size of the room that they offered but then again, as a first timer to Switzerland, everything was a little more to the pricier side. However bear in mind, if coming from the middle east, the rooms are tiny and the bathroom was almost non existent...thats how small it was. And the beds too were a little questionable.

    The location is awesome. Everything is so perfectly nearby and convenient. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful too. I don’t think you could have been anymore to the centre of the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    I like location and help from bell boys however the receptionist on the 23-24 April was not polite
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was not very nice he shouting on us when we were checked out and sat on the chairs infort of reception desk, he should inform us politely instead of shouting across the front desk to us and it were embraced a lot of people there. However the bell boys were very helpful to help carry luggage’s and call a taxi for us.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Not for the summer months
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was upgraded to a room, which turned out to be very noisy, due to a party happening just outside. I had to move late in the evening, which was an inconvenience. The second room was extremely hot and neither the airconditioning, which was clunky, noisy, and innefficient nor the open window were of any help. I could not sleep because of the boiling temperature and ultimately did not enjoy my stay. I do not recommend this hotel during the summer months.

    Very good location, clean room and bathroom, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    Average.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are stuffy and the ventilation is poor. I’ve stayed 3 times and each time feel the same. Even in winter it’s stuffy. Will be the main reason I can’t stay in summer as it’s uncomfortably warm with no air so reduces the ability for a goods night sleep. The beds are hard but not the worst.

    The location is the key selling point for this hotel. Staff at check in and the door are extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, good and clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on both days was good but unvaried. Changing some food items daily would help guests who stay for more than a day.

    Antonio at Reception and Hadi at the restaurant were excellent. Their helpfulness and service were exceptional.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.9
    Great place to stay... just wait till they upgrade the computer to 2018!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Computer in the business centre won’t connect to the Internet and the computer itself is from maybe the 90s!!! And whilst the Swiss make excellent watches, they have some way to go before they get their pillows right!! Breakfast at 33 Swiss francs seemed a bit steep.

    Central location. Walking distance from the Bahnhof train station. No need for a cab!!! Short walk from some of the main shopping attractions including expensive Swiss watches and delightful Swiss chocolates. Overall a great place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    A nice hotel at the center of the city.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A nice hotel at the center of the city. Quite easily reached from the main train station. Room was wide, clean and comfortable. Wifi was free with enough speed. Had several good varieties for breakfast. Close to good restaurants. Strongly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    friendly and conveniently located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is always very cold 😖

    The convinient location. And a very friendly staff that welcomes you and make you feel at home, some recognize you from earlier visits.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.3
    Good location but for the money, the rooms were in mediocre conditions
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Two times there were something wrong with the bathroom (shower door broken and low water pressure)

    The flexibility of staff to change my room. Two times there were something wrong with the bathroom (shower door broken and low water pressure)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to the railway station

    The staff were extremely helpful. The doorman seeing we were international tourists went out of his way to guide us to the more important parts to visit on our short stay. A great ambassador to the hotel. Everybody we dealt with was just as helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Probably the best location in Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Probably the best location if you want to see Zurich and also to travel by train elsewhere as the train station is just 1 min walking. Also, being situated on Banhofstrase you get everywhere just walking...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant stay in a charming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are stairs between some wings of the hotel. I was lucky to have just cabin luggage with me. It would be good if a receptionist would let me know about stairs when offering the help with luggage.

    The hotel is very close to the central train station and at a walking distance from lots of historical places. The hotel itself is very charming. It was lovely to listen to live music in the lounge.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.5
    This was the most expensive hotel per night on our trip across Europe - it’s overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very outdated inside - feels like the place has never been updated. Art Deco is cool, but it has to be maintained and looked after. Lifts are terrible; very slow and small, that’s if they even appear! Getting door knocked loudly from housekeeping at 0730am is not cool! Apparently you have to put your ‘do not disturb’ sign on door, or this is expected behaviour.

    Super comfy bed! Really helpful friendly staff. Great location to explore and make onward connections.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Brilliant location well designed rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Errr nothing

    BRILLIANT location yards from station entrance - better than airport hotels if travelling to airport as don’t have to wait ages for shuttle it’s a mere 10 mins from the station to airport and trains go there every few mins. Room very stylish decor well thought out and designed very comfortable- silent can’t hear room next door or above like most hotels. Staff seem like they work for family hotel that actually cares about its guests not like a chain hotel with pro forma service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    3.8
    The location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I was checking out I heard/experienced an allegedly gender offense by the reception. I still awaiting the General Manager to contact me (I already have email him without reply) to clarify such offense.

    The location. I selected it because the location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    6.7
    Below average this time.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and stuffy and I was staying in a ‘larger’ room. The maids located outside my door for the whole day to service the corridor so was noisy. Some staff were rude at times also. I don’t feel the facilities are up to standard in comparison to the cost. Current building work allows for noise level even on top floor. Sorry.

    Location is perfect. Doormen were welcoming and professionally turned out everyday.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.8
    Great location, helpful staff and value for money..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front office resource whose name began with M, don't remember the exact name was really good and courteous. We traveled from Davos and reached early hotel staff was not struck up on the check in time and it helped.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service menu was pretty limited, no drinks or desserts listed. Breakfast service was hit and miss but the scrambled eggs were nice.

    Quiet room, English channels on the tv. Nice bed. Well stocked mini bar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.5
    Good and comfortable stay. We will return to this hotel next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been complete if hotel had airport transfers although with proximity of St Gothard hotel to central train station, we did not have a problem getting to Zurich aiport

    Employees at main door, check in counter and chamber maids for room were all extremely customer and service oriented.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    nice small hotel with excellent service and fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    2 x duvet on bed with no top sheet = either very warm or sleeping with no covers.

    Fantastic location. Short 10 min walk to old city area and a very short walk to train station. Great breakfast. opening window in room clean and comfortable room hotel staff were exceptional

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.9
    It was close to the station Efficient check in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our economy double room was quiet (as requested) but on the 5th floor with a sloping ceiling. As it as small it felt quite claustrophobic with 2 occupants Lifts quite small. Leaving with luggage at a busy time would require forward planning!

    It was close to the station Efficient check in The room window opened but even without the temperature was pleasant for sleeping. Big plus after overheated public spaces and trains.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    Location excellent , service excellent , would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was overheated for us 😂

    Location was excellent 2 min walk from train station to all of Switzerland 🇨🇭 .... Hotel went out of there way to help us storing our suitcases for us for 5 days while we did a Swiss Alp rail store Brilliant service would highly recommend

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.8
    Rooms were comfortable and clean and a good value for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The temperature in the room was a little difficult to control. The duvet on the bed is the norm in Europe, but kept me too warm, but there are no options.

    Rooms were comfortable and clean and a good value for the price, compared to the avg rate in the area. Wonderful location. Staff was always helpful. The room was larger than the average European hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, great service and beautiful rooms with a lovely view over the city streets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little more than I would have liked to have spent, though I believe quite standard for accommodation in Zurich.

    This hotel is located in the the shopping and dining precinct of Zurich. The streets around the hotel are full of great shops and lovely bars and restaurants. The central train station is less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel too. The staff are friendly and welcoming. I was lucky enough to receive a room upgrade to a room with a lovely view overlooking one of the shopping strips. The rooms are freshly renovated and have everything you need plus more. We were only here for one night, though I wished we were staying longer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Prime location right by the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reasonable price - the room was just a bit too small for two.

    Prime location right by the train station. Courteous staff and very knowledgeable. Great atmosphere, though we didn't try the restaurant. Very clean and comfy, great and attentive room service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.5
    We just stayed one night and that was New Years Eve so in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We just stayed one night and that was New Years Eve so in total we were in the room less than five hours. Everything was well presented and very comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Comfortable & relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location is perfect, near main train station and on main shopping street. Easy access to airport train, trams and all public transport. Room and bed was very comfortable. Tip for economy room type-request for 5th floor room facing the ikea building. Layout is better and more spacious. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel St.Gotthard traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: