Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Kronenhof 5 stars

Via Maistra, 7504 Pontresina, Switzerland

#1 of 37 hotels in Pontresina

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 145 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Simply a dream of a place... a spectacular hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard Classic
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One very small remark: when the Head waiter was present at the hotel's restaurant everything ran very smoothly and to perfection(breakfast/dinner). When he was not there, one could tell the difference.

    This hotel is simply wonderful. The staff is excellent, the location is a dream and what I loved the most about our stay was the attention to detail. Everything was beautifully done and organized. The food was also delicious. We will be heading back to this gem of a hotel very soon. It is an amazing place!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    The spa is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard Classic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very grand indeed but for a younger couple it’s a bit old fashioned which is at odds with the luxurious modern spa. The room was comfortable but chintzy and fussy. Also, bike hire is pricey, we moved on to a hotel in Lucerne where they give you the bikes for free.

    The spa is amazing! Loved the facilities... very modern. Breakfast was also superb, great selection. The staff were super friendly and helpful. We also hired bikes straight from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    Amazing hotel, bad food in Grand Restaurant, don't book half board
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard Premium
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food in Grand Restaurant was terrible, back to the seventies. Just not a good match with this amazing hotel. Such a shame. Just don't book half board

    Just an amazing hotel, great room and excellent service

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Perfect repeat visit to and exceptional and rare hotel in sublime location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It may be too quiet and peaceful for young couples? Wine is quite expensive.

    This must be one of the very best hotels in the world. Quiet. Soothing. Staff exceptionally helpful and friendly (we had a flat tyre and one of the doormen leapt into the car with my husband to take him to the garage 5mins before it closed - then the hotel sent its chauffeur driven BMW to collect them) Duvets are thistledown light- beds supremely comfortable. The swimming pool is in a stunning building overlooking the mountains and glacier. The jacuzzi is huge - you can swim in it - standing areas with hot jets directed at your back. Breakfast is exceptional. Dinner very good. The half board option is good value.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Best best and this is a true grand hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Standard Premium
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yes, I can’t name one. It’s perfect. I still recall the mid 80s old man at breakfast room spoke thunderly loud and demand hot coffee. Lol. It’s nice to see an old man to be healthy and strong. His voice roared in the painted main restaurant. I almost falls when I walk near his chair and so does others too.

    I am a bit tired to review since I am watching Wimbledon finals and already made review for other hotels of my stay. But this hotel is almost the best of the best. It’s only short from view of st. Moritz lake and require one extra train exchange than st. Moritz. But it’s half price of badrutt and Kulm but at same or better quality. Easy to get up to mountain and the staff at hotel is super warm and friendly. Enjoy free ride to get to cable cart station. The $25 per person meal of halfboard plan is a bargain. It’s made in the same kitchen of grommets restaurant and the food is fantastic in quality and look. Despite the portion is a bit small but the tastes is as good as a $120 meal. My son got two main courses without extra charge. The breakfast is wordlessly perfect. It’s at highest quality of my trip. Quality and quantity full filled. The only missing is crepe and waffle. Maybe they do offer but it won’t be as good as Trianon palace thus it’s as good as none. But I found everyth No else is perfect. The spa is large and super nice. Jet pool , relaxing bed, grass, steam, sunna...just small shower and toilet area. Perfect place to stay and stay least three nights.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    View outside , hotel inside view and also food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Deluxe Premium
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t like staff push me from 11.30 am checkout room. I request for 1 pm checkout only 1 hour. But they push me hard for checkout 12. After paid huge amount if you can’t get 1 hour extension this sad. I never saw like this , like 1 hour late check out not acceptable. Some time lot of hotel after arrive they giving late rooms because rooms is not ready in this excuse like even I arrived 11 pm night and hotel told rooms not ready sir give me 1 hour. Any way I’m not happy for this behave , they have half board food restaurant and you can’t go without blazer , it is really crazy , we are in summer holiday why I will bring mu blazer , even I fly from Paris and keep all my blazer in Paris hotel because I want to use for t shirt and shorts and also small summer jacket. But they don’t allowed without blazer this dress code really crazy. Any way I have to cancel my half board because I don’t bring any blazer

    View outside , hotel inside view and also food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Amazing stay in Engadin with Family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Standard Classic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Deserve 6 stars :)

    Amazing Hotel, everything perfect. Staff excellent and very friendly with children especially in the Grand Restaurant. Spa also very nice. Overall very clean. Take half board for a perfect stay Breakfast is also amazing. XC Skiing tracks very near and top ski local. Perfect for family

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Breathtaking views, superb service & comfort, exceptional spa. Hope to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of drinks but expected it to be high in a five star hotel. No kettle in the room.

    Customer service excellent - we arrived at the station, rang the hotel and they sent a very pleasant young man to fetch us in the hotel limo. The view from different areas of the hotel exceeded my expectations. The mountains, forest and glacier . This was the view from the lobby, seated areas and the spa. The spa pool was large and surrounded by glazing so you could take in the magnificent view. The spa was wonderful and the best I have come across in a hotel. The hotel provided us with passes for the chairlift / tram and the one day we took to the mountain to do the hike. It was the most breathtaking hike I have ever done and I cannot wait to bring friends and family to experience the amazing beauty of the area. On the room front, beautiful room. Comfortable bed. Lots of room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Great hotel in a great place with great people and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect! In the baby room the hotel could add a dimmer but that's a suggestion and in no way takes away from the 5 star experience

    Very family friendly rooms, staff, nursery, pool, food and bikes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Our last night stay in Switzerland was memorable, thanks to the Grand Hotel Kronenhof.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Standard Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay at the Hotel Kronenhof went without a hitch or even a minor complaint. Looking back, we can remember no negative aspects to our stay, although we sure can remember many, many positive ones!

    I liked everything about the hotel to include the great value for our money. However, if I had to rate the top attributes of the hotel, it would be the staff. The hotel staff members were perfect in their duties and seemed to actually care that we were staying there, highlighted by Angel who picked us up and dropped us off at the train station, Katrin helping us at the front desk before and after we arrived, and the unknown but numerous wait staff at breakfast who made even that a memorable occasion. And just wait until you see the guest rooms and common rooms like the swimming pool!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    PERFECT!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They have a wonderful SPA (saunas, swimming pools, relaxing area)– they even offer you some non-alcoholic drinks and snacks. Be aware taxis are very expensive in this area. Breakfast is very, very good!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    Outstanding service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard Premium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding service!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Relax and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    all over hotel is good , excellent , and all staff was so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing all good , best hotel

    all over hotel is good , excellent , and all staff was so helpful . best hotel for stay this area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    In our room the TV was in parallel to the bed, so watching...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard Classic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In our room the TV was in parallel to the bed, so watching TV was difficult

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    great service and friendly people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Biosauna for men

    great service and friendly people!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    The endurance of a classic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Deluxe Classic
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location, great breakfast, great spa, great dinners at the Grand Restaurant. It keeps the air of the old times without being at all decadent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    its the best hotel in the world for sure .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard Classic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    its the best hotel in the world for sure . every thing was prefect . halfbord is hilghly recommended as they do have great restaurant .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Excellent. Would highly recommend. This hotel is a true gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard Premium
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel personnel - very professional, detailed oriented. Refined, classy food and service. Excellent atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.1
    Staff and pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard Classic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, saunas, dinners

    Staff and pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    9.6
    All of it, especially the style of the entire hotel and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of it, especially the style of the entire hotel and interior decoration

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    8.8
    Excellent facilities, food and service. Bed not the best
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Standard Classic
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a bit narrow and too soft

    Food was excellent

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    10
    Into my heart
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Grand Classic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non

    All

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.6
    Marvellous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard Premium
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No, everything is perfect.

    The cozy environment with friendly staff and yummy food!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    10
    The hotel staff are incredible, it is certainly a Grand...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had to go home.

    The hotel staff are incredible, it is certainly a Grand Hotel in every sense. We stayed as a surprise birthday present for my partner and everything was organized for us - champagne on arrival, strawberries, extraordinary vegan degustation at the restaurant - nothing was too much trouble. The grand sitting room for afternoon tea offers the most beautiful view of the mountains, the ballroom for breakfast is exquisite - as too is the breakfast, every taste / diet is catered for. The small personal touches really remind you of a by-gone era, service like this is rare these days - they even cleaned our car! We stayed in a junior suite and the room was spacious with a balcony and offered amazing private views of the snow capped mountains. The room was spotlessly clean and well fitted out - somehow it was magically cleaned whenever we left the room. We were able to relax and unwind in the beautiful spa which never felt crowded during the entire weekend. Everything is available, sauna, steam room, floating pool, spa, infinity pool and with the large windows and the view to the snowy mountains it certainly feels like an oasis. A pleasant village away from the larger St Moritz we are already planning our return to the Grand Hotel Kronenhof to relax and enjoy a little luxury!

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    10
    This Hotel will take you to the scenes of Titanic Movie ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This Hotel will take you to the scenes of Titanic Movie , the restaurant , lobby , reception and the entire staff serves you like you very very special , no mistakes , ultimate perfection , super professional , high trained staff . The indoor pool in one of the best in the world with a breathtaking view of the Alps. Be there to experience the ultimate level of hospitality. Remember to carry a blazer for dinning !

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    Everything was great (spa, staff very friendly, dinner,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hv to pay an extra for the parking, should be included in the price.

    Everything was great (spa, staff very friendly, dinner, breakfast, quiet room). Swimming (free) lessons were great!

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    10
    An amazing hotel, with history, location, great facilities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was absolutely nothing to dislike

    An amazing hotel, with history, location, great facilities and very friendly staff. A hotel with charm where you could relax in its outstanding " Wellness Centre ". The friendliness started with its Chief Executive who we met everyday. We very much enjoyed " Dining in the Kitchen " which allowed us to meet the Chef and his staff, an experience to remember. Easily the best breakfast we have enjoyed.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    10
    Location, driver to the ski areas, piano in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I wish I could live closer. It is a long way from home.

    Location, driver to the ski areas, piano in the lobby/dinner/bar, and the insane pool/spa area.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    9.6
    fantastic hotel in picturesque village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    felt it was very expensive

    fantastic hotel in picturesque village. staff very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    9.6
    Amazing spa and facilities, spacious rooms, friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing spa and facilities, spacious rooms, friendly staff, amazing breakfast and dinner (included in half-board), excellent service

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    10
    just about everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I was surprise of their interpretation of "Banana frappé" and their crème brûlée was very very sugary.

    just about everything...

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    9.6
    Very nice pool and spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very nice pool and spa. Meals in restaurant were of a very high standard. The staff were super helpful and went out of their way to help.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    10
    Staff is truly excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lunch buffet restaurant

    Staff is truly excellent. Rarity nowadays. Spacious spa with excellent facilities. Very good facials by Ericson Paris

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    9.6
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Everything. Especially balance reached between lucury hotel and being child friendly

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    8.8
    Nice room with great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Average concierge service, breakfast was ok.

    Nice room with great views Kids club

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    9.6
    I love the The whole package from the reception to the pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I love the The whole package from the reception to the pool and spa. The service in general was great.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    9.6
    The location, staff, hotel, SPA all is wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience

    The location, staff, hotel, SPA all is wonderful

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    9.6
    The whole package is just gorgeous !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The whole package is just gorgeous !

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Guests also reviewed these properties: