Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hôtel Suisse Majestic 4 stars

45, Avenue des Alpes, 1820 Montreux, Switzerland

#8 of 40 hotels in Montreux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1154 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was was not helpful and charged a bunch of extra stuff at the end. They were not helpful. Wifi was almost impossible to access and when you could finally get through it was very slow. Very expensive overall.

    The location and views are great. Very clean and spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only dislike was very minor: one small lift for the whole hotel was inadequate. Though the staircase was rather grand with art deco glasswork.

    Comfortable hotel in an excellent location close to the town centre, the station and transport links as well as being a few steps from the lakeside. The staff were friendly and helpful Our junior suite was spacious and well-equipped with glorious views over the lake and mountains. Montreux proved to be a good choice for a short break. Direct train from Geneva Airport. Good walking a short bus or train/funicular ride away. Good place to relax and watch the world go by or to amble along the promenade.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff could have mentioned the local discount scheme for those staying in Montreux Breakfast did seem a bit pricey but was very nice

    Loved the location and the breakfast and reception staff were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok but missing choice, especially for salmon, eggs (only scrambled, hard boiled and pan cakes available). Fresh egg station with omlettes, poached or fried would be nice). Unfortunately the excellent restaurant that evening had a buffet evening with only burger which was a bit disappointing for such a good restaurant. Also the bar closes at midnight which could be extended.

    Great setting in beautiful location overlooking the lake of Geneva. Beautiful rooms with all amenities of a 5* hotel. Excellent restaurant with stunning panoramic views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds are very narrow (though I guess it’s a standard size of a single bed) and very unstable! When you lie on them they move! )))

    Absolutely convenient location: near the railway station, lakefront, central. Beautiful building of Belle Époque style, constructed in 1870. Fantastic staff! All of them! Very good restaurant and bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    The location was fantastic, situated next to the main train station. Love the views of the lake from the hotel room. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect. The room was very clean and the staff were so kind and respectful. However, they need to provide more services and facilities to the guests so that the price would be more understandable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a sound like ventilation throughout the night. Also the price we paid for the lake view was more like trees and building's view than a lake. Ask, if you get the "booking.com" rooms if you are on the first floor. If the answer is positive do not pay the extra money for the lake view it is not worth it. (see picture)

    Nice big room, with comfortable bed/mattress. Clean bathroom, good facilities, nice location. The view from the restaurant was nice too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If staying here, I recommend paying a little extra to get the lake view. We didn't and ended up with a view of the station escalator. My main problem though with this hotel is that even though it says 'large double bed', it is in fact two good size single beds put together...but that don't stay together when you sleep! I even asked at reception after the first night and they said all rooms have two single beds put together. This was a huge let down as basically my husband and I ended up sleeping pretty much on separate beds.

    The view from the restaurant and whoever cleaned our room is doing an amazing job, cleanest bathroom ever! To the cleaner who cleaned our room, if you have any tips, please share them, I was so impressed!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The king bed was on wheels and made up of 2 twins that kept separating. Minor issue But other than that everything was fantastic

    Great location and property. Great starf

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym could have had some more equipment, food and drinks at the hotel restaurant were pricey but I guess that’s what you expect to pay for that view!

    The location of this property was perfect, views were phenomenal of Lake Geneva. Staff were excellent and happy to assist with all enquiries. The room was well kept, clean and overall luxurious. Breakfast was worth the investment, great range of food available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely overpriced and not comfy at all Huge difference between what you see on the internet/in reality Do not recommend.

    nothing, moved to another hotel, though lost money for two nights in this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    slipping gowns are too old waited for boiled eggs on the breakfast for 25 minute, had no more time-gone Be aware that you can order smth to eat to the room from the restaurant only till 22.00, later- nothing. If you book this hotel beforehand (as me)- price will be higher 50%.

    nice lake view (I stayed in room with lake view)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very expensive for the quality of room and the amenities. There was NO concierge !! The young lady at the reception desk was nice but not very well informed about the city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room temperature was extremely hot, even when we turned off the radiators. We had to sleep with the window open which was extremely noisy as our room was facing the lake and main street. We paid extra for this room but maybe we should have opted for the cheaper rooms on the other side of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Access cards to the rooms kept demagnetizing. Everyday we had to change them. We lost lot of vacation time with that (group of 6 people in 3 rooms).

    View from the balcony and the reposition L'Occitane bath amenities every day for each of the room occupancies.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not the first time I stayed in this hotel, but I was really disappointed last weekend. It was very cold in my room. I asked the staff at the reception twice to do something about it, but whatever they did, didn’t change anything. The radiators were always lukewarm. Sleeping under a warm duvet was ok, but when you get out of bed you start freezing. Besides, there were some long black hairs over the white bed cloth. Not such a big problem as the heating, but spoil the general impression from such a hotel. When I stayed there last summer, everything was perfect and I was very happy.

    The view was gorgeous!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price of a deluxe room, breakfast could be included. No kettle in the room for tea or coffee. Could offer guests a little chocolate on the pillows.

    Beautiful lobby, restaurant, and bar. Very comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound of the ac was loud .. need to be fixed in room 907

    The view was amazing.. decoration and hospitality so nice.. just opposite the train station and every thing close to you.. nothing to complaint about.. I definitely recommend this hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive and not good value for money. No tea/coffee in the room, room service would have cost £38 for one club sandwich and didn’t bother with breakfast as again for three of us it would have been £70 a day. Reception staff not massively friendly.

    Worth booking the lake view room- really stunning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception employees feel themselves as a kings !!! Very poor and rude service !!!! Not recommended because of unfriendly staff who can easily destroy your dream vacation .

    My bed .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one to help you with the bags, very very poor breakfast, no nespresso machine most of hotels now have, NO ROOM SERVICE ! When we called reception wanting to order something they said kitchen was closed and it was only 8pm and didnt give us anyother ulternative of from where we can order to be delivered , from the moment i stepped in to the hotel i didnt see any hospitality on any occasion unlike the hospitality in the 2 other hotels we stayed in on that same trip, i could go on for ever....

    Only the view and room size.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel door is literally across the street from the train station entrance. The views of the lake in the rooms, restaurant and bar are breathtaking. You are right across the street from the lake and it's amazing promenade.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered king size room and got 2 twin beds positioned together which was rolling out separately on every movement. It was horrible

    Location, view, historical building

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Great location across from train station, near city center. Historic hotel that is nicely and modernly renovated inside. Very comfortable rooms. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They seem to put bookin.com guests in worst rooms so ask for something else. Ours initially was over looking the roof. Ask for higher floor! I suggest getting a room looking at Lake. Worth. Every. Penny.

    THE VIEW! The location was IDEAL! Literally across the street from train!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    walk steps in the room above my room could be clearly heard at night which made it difficult to sleep. one of the rooms had an issue with the in-room heater but the staff your supportive and provided a heater. there was no coffee maker in the room

    Friendly reception staff, opposite to the train station, breakfast and coffee were good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    You walk out of the train station and across the street and you are at the hotel. Definitely spend the extra for the views of lake geneva and the mountains!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is ok . But the big problem for me is pillow. It’s thin and very very flat . The hotel should have more pillow in the cabinet for the customer didn’t like thin pillow .

    Nice location .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff did not deal with noisy guests in a timely manner or offer to move us until the last day. We complained every day. They seemed not to care despite receiving complaints from multiple guests. Cleaning staff did not properly make the bed. No turn down service or chocolates on the bed unlike every other hotel in Switzerland we stayed at. Air conditioning didn't work. Instead of telling us they turned it off for the season, they claimed it would just take a while to work. It never worked. Also, we had originally booked our stay through the hotel and canceled it within the proper time period when we found the dates available through booking.com at a lower price. However, when we showed up to check in, they said we had two reservations. I showed the cancellation email from their website. We didn't know until we were presented with the final invoice that the staff canceled our lower priced booking.com reservation upon check in and charged us the higher price of the original reservation despite having shown them the cancellation email. It took a great deal of back and forth and explaining to the manager. Ultimately, they corrected it. The service at this hotel just didn't match that of other hotels we stayed at during our time in Switzerland. They survive on their proximity to the train station and views, not on customer service.

    Great location across from train station and views of Lake Geneva.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a Deluxe lake view room, and assigned one floor above right behind their restaurant, we couldn't open balcony door when it was opened for business due to cooking smell. Room size was very small for deluxe room. Found patchy stain on bath towel which supposed to be clean. There was a long delay on audio for CNN channel

    Location, and L'occitane toiletries

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony was huge, but shared with all other rooms on the floor; so not really private. Better take the deluxe balcony instead of the junior suite.

    Big room, very nice view, good equipment.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have offered simple breakfast for the price charged.

    Location is so convenient, just directly beside Montreux station. Lake views at the room are awesome. I can view the beautiful sunset from my room. Toiletries from Loccitane are simply wonderful. English TV Programmes is a bonus!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything else. The air-conditioning was broken during the entire stay, and none of the staff cared! We couldn't open our balcony door for air because of all the smokers in the outside bar below our "lake-view" room. No help getting luggage into hotel, no concierge, no coffee or water in room. Keys stopped working the second day of stay. Room was very small and bed was extremely hard. Tiny bathroom didn't even have a place to hang hand towels.

    Location. Directly across street from train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service, could not even get a bottle of water after my wife was sick , no kettle or any thing to have a cuppa, no iron only one small pillow each in the bed very small room , food was trebbile

    , lake views ,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we left the restaurant, the maître d'hôtel asked the waitress in French if we have paid the check (which we obviously did) just in front of our faces. So please next time be a bit more discreet. If 2 people speak English while having dinner does not mean they do not understand French ;)

    It is worth booking a Lake view room. the view on Lake Geneva is just incredible. Compared to other Hotels in Montreux, the Suisse Majestic really offers a good value for your money.The restaurant has also a nice terrace.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The junior suite balconies are not very private - basically, bar a couple of bits of metal, you are sharing a balcony with your neighbors. They are also on the lowest level, so the views are not as good as standard rooms on the above floors. I don't think we would book a junior suite again. Also the fire alarm went off twice, one at 7am one at 3am on two separate days - no apology or explanation was offered for this very irritating occurrence.

    The hotel is a great location and the staff are very freindly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pay for parking when it is noted that a hotel has parking

    When I search a hotel I noted that I need private parking on the left side of your page, where a person choose different options. I thought it would be private parking of the hotel - free of charge, not of the city that I need to pay for it. You should be more accurate with information about parking, as I travel by car and finally my parking expenses are very high.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I stayed at the Grand hotel every summer for 3 years. Grand hotel got me upgrade and to stay in a room with good view of the lake Geneve. I really appreciated it

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a special treat, I booked a junior suite for the first night of our holiday. On arrival, our room was downgraded for "technical reasons" with no apology or refund offered by reception. The room was cramped and the beds uncomfortable. After I complained about my treatment, the manager offered us free breakfast as recompense. Breakfast was very poor: unfriendly service, greasy cold cooked food and a uniquely disgusting fizzy Bircher muesli. All the Swiss hotels I have stayed in previously have been excellent - I left this hotel feeling that it was relying on its location to overcharge and undeliver.

    The hotel has a good location and the staff who served us lunch on the terrace were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like the cleaning of the bathroom. The towels were not clean enough.

    i didn't try the breakfast because i didn't like the prices was expensive. I liked the big room and the beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive but you get what you pay for! No parking so you have to take your chance on the street, and no unloading area so getting two small children and luggage from car to hotel was a chore.

    Excellent service, great staff and really good facilities. Dinner was the best we'd had on our 6 week road trip.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    During we stay, the weather was cold. But the hotel still put cold air conditioner and air control is not really working. The room was way to cold for me .

    I have been 4 times to this hotel. It's definitely my favorite one in Montreux. The location is great , just in front of the train station. The room is just perfect with breathtaking views of geneva lake.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small problem at checking in. I stayed at this hotel in a lake view room with a friend in 2013 and truly enjoyed the view from the balcony. That was why this year when I took my parents to Montreux, I decided to book them a junior suite with lake view here (we booked two rooms this time; my husband and I booked a comfort room). However the junior suite that the hotel offered my parents was with very small windows, the view is much worse than what one can see from a standard lake view room . I requested to change the junior suite to a normal lake view room and was told we have to pay a change fee because the room was non-refundable. Luckily after speaking to the manager, our problem was solved and my parents got an upgrade to the junior suit executive that they loved. However the incident was a bit upsetting for us.

    Very comfortable rooms, great location, excellent views from the lake view room. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. We ordered room service and the food and service were simply great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, only a pool would have completed a five star experience.

    Excellent location, wonderful lakeside view, walk-in closet in the room, nice bed, bathroom, size of the room, the bar and amazing terrace, very good restaurant. Loved our stay here

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff. There was NO spot considered in front of the hotel to stop the car for unloading the baggages and this caused a lot of inconveniences for us. Expensive. Slow and small elavator. No kettle in the room.

    Very good breakfast and the location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Coffee coffee making facility available in the rooms! With the price they charged for the room without breakfast - it should at least have facility to make a good coffee in the room!! The staff could have been more cheerful and helpful. The staff was not rude or unhelpful...but I would say a little more aloof than friendly!

    Location!! Rooms are Clean with nice decor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nothing The hotel is really old! Old systems.. we have to hand the key room to the reception when we leave the hotel. Nothing like 5 star.. more of a 2 star hotel I would say.. When we booked the rooms the lady told us the rooms are spacious. When we arrived, we found the rooms are so tiny. Nothing but the bed. There isn't even a mirror in the room. The air conditioners weren't working. It was so hot. The curtain covers the vent of the Air-conditioner so whatever little air was not reaching us. We called the reception they said they can't do anything about it so we had to sleep in hot weather that night The toilet really smells. When we opened the water in the sink, we would hear a bubbling sound coming out from the bidet. It's really disgusting! We checked out next morning but they refused to refund us back the rest of the stay's money. It's a total rip-off!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps due to the busy season with Montreux Jazz Festival taking place, Overall the front desk manning was poor Many interns hence the service was mediocre Had to wait to be assisted in reception

    The restaurant has great views and excellent F&B serivice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No choice of pillows, cleaning staff walking into the room in the morning, breakfast not included in the price, the terrace bar closes at midnight, which shouldn't be the case at least during Montreux Jazz Festival, the staff was mostly abrupt and uninterested, all seems a bit overpriced for what they offer in terms of hospitality, interior design, and comfort. Finally, to say that the music blasting in the reception lobby is inappropriate would be an understatement.

    The location of the hotel is perfect if you're coming in by train. The terrace is magnificent and offers a wonderful view of Lake Geneva.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This hotel is in the perfect location. It is literally across the street from the train station, but on the other side is an gorgeous view of the lake! The bar is amazing as we had drinks overlooking the mountains and water. The restaurant is nice, a bit pricey for what you get, but the food was good and you can't get a better view. Our room was very nice, clean and spacious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main thing with Switzerland is that everything (including the Hotel) is over priced. I'm not sure why it is so overpriced but that's the only negative. Fair enough Montreux is one of the most beautiful places I have ever visited (and i do revisit) and is definitely worth a visit if your finances permit at least once in your life

    This is my favourite place to stay in Montreux (my 4th time at this Hotel). The location is very Central and right next to the train station. In my experience the views from your balcony (you must have a lake view if you go to this Hotel) are exceptional nothing like I've ever seen. It just something you have to experience

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Room had 2 single beds put together as a double, which kept drifting apart - such a classy hotel should have rooms with king/queen beds! - No parking facilities. Nearest long stay parking at the Station car park which is pretty expensive (~CHF40/24hrs). Given the proximity of the the hotel to the Station car park, it should be able to negotiate discounted parking rates for long stay guests.

    Great view of the lake, excellent terrace, fabulous bar staff and the lovely restaurant 45!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    see above

    close to rail station and lake Geneva/steamer pier etc. nice terrace restaurant with lake view. however,this expensive hotel indulges in overbooking. we booked a standard room with lake view. which was 'not available'. we were 'upgraded' to a poor quality suite on a lower floor. the promised lake view was obscured by buildings and the balcony was over a busy noisy main road. some room facilities not working. sitting area looked out on to steps up to station and was also noisy. (the room we booked and paid for months before was higher up and set back from the road.) bar service was poor. our bill was wrong at check out. a single receptionist was left to cope with a checkout queue and incoming telephone reservations.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant: the dessert was excellent, the vegetables were also excellent (+ a good choice), but the meat of both my friend and myself was very poorly cooked and seemingly of poor quality??! That does not match at all with the rest of this hotel, which is excellent in all regards!

    - very nice staff: they kindly and respectfully looked to find a safe place for our bicycles (although that kind of 'luggage' is probably not usual in this kind of hotel) - very clean - wonderful restaurant room with awesome view on the lake - Excellent and very kind service in the dining room -'Art Nouveau' windows in the stair case - splendid hallways with nice very clean carpets and interesting pictures of old Montreux - nice room with wooden floor - proximity to train station (just across the road)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is really comfortable and the staffs are all very nice. I ask them where can i get hot water, she just gave me a new kettle let me use in my own room. The hotel is just next to the train station, very good and convenient location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was large but a bit too hard and I woke with back ache each morning. Prices in hotel bar and restaurant are eye watering - but pretty much same throughout Switzerland

    Staff on front desk very good and friendly. Although gave a very poor restaurant recommendation - must have been worst and dirtiest restaurant in montreux that was recommended to us - luckily we walked out and did not eat there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff. I won't say it is bad. But......warmer hospitality to the customer is welcome.

    If there is anything worth to mention, it's the location. Just opposite the train station. Other aspect is fine. The view of lake side room is sensational. The room size is more than adequate.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room, Junior suite, was rather expensive, but very dack, with small window under the ceiling like as in prison and with unpleasant smell. I was very disappointed, asked change the room, but it wasn't happen.

    Location, fabulous view, restaurant - good breakfasts, very good meal for dinners, service good too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No nespresso machine in room

    This is my 4th stay at this property. I pick this hotel as the start of my swiss tour the hotel location is just perfect right on the lake. I haf booked a double lake view room and had advised the hotel that my 5 year old will be using exciting bedding to my surprise that they had prepeared a bed for him on arrival which was so kind of them. The hotel staff were excellent check in in no time also with check out. The wifi was excellent bed comfy view amazing bathroom very good amneties where excellent and of high standard. Thank you for the hotel for making our one first night memorable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price I was wondering if maybe the hotel wasn't really as nice as people had described. I had nothing to worry about! Wonderful location, great room, incredible lake view, delicious food, friendly and attentive staff. I would definitely return next time I am in Montreux.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish breakfast or at the very least coffee were included. It would also be nice to have a bottle of water in your room upon arrival .

    Unbelievable views of the lake if you spring for lakeside room which I highly recommend ! Beautiful older European feel hotel with great updated rooms. Lovely views from restaurant and bar . Perfectly located - easy walk from the train station - literally across the street if you are traveling from the train .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in my room was well appointed but small, two people could not use at the same time. I felt for the price the breakfast was somewhat lacking, could have had a larger selection but the service was good.

    Convenient location and a standard of excellence that an experienced traveler would expect. The staff is knowledgeable and friendly and they want to make sure your stay is enjoyable. The views of Lake Geneva are spectacular from both the rooms and the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor, depleted stocks, terrible coffee and average service- did not justify the high price. No tea or coffee in the bedroom. Check in not before 3pm.

    The fantastic views and great location. A very luxurious hotel. Welcome in room with hotel film on tv

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was Very firm. Restaurant staff were cool one day, warm the next... Coffee was standard Nespresso (fine for in-room convenience, but unimpressive in a good restaurant). Blackout curtains didn't do their job.

    Fabulous location, opposite the train station. Spacious room. Bright bathroom with an Excellent bath and good shower. Bright rooms. Pleasant reception staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering the room was expensive I was extremely disappointed and let down to find that my partner and I had twin beds that were pushed together with two separate duvets. I specifically requested a double bed. I wouldn't even expect these kind of standards in a budget hotel. You should get what you pay for! Apart from this, the hotel was beautiful. But sliding around on twin beds on wheels was ridiculous for the money I paid!

    Absolutely amazing location. Stunning view of Lake Geneva from the balcony and polite staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service at the reception was really poor, the staffs didn't have any smile during check-in/check-out. Breakfast has very few choices for such a price....and the service at the restaurant was just OK... The pillow of the bed was too soft...almost like lying on nothing.

    The location of the hotel is prefect, close to the train station and the lake. Room is clean, sound proof and the bathroom is really pretty.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. Food amazing!!

    Outstanding views, lovely bar and restaurant.Staff very helpful & do there best to find out the answer if they dont know. Few mins to freddie Mercury statue and taxi or bus to casino and Queen museum .You wont be disappointed 🤗

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking Requested double bed was given two singles pushed together, asked if we could be moved or given a double bed and the made up the two singles into a double.. hardly ideal given the price (250CHF) And our eggs were overcooked at breakfast not a big deal but again considering the price of breakfast soft boiled eggs it should be perfect!

    Amazing view/location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was expensive and it is full price for children wifi is not working properly at 6th floor

    hotel has a beatifull old buildingbut rooms are well renovated room was calm (although it is faced to train station) clean and spacious breakfast is enough fitness center is clean and modern bathroom items are L'occitane

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Airplay did not work well

    We were upgraded to the lake view room, which we appreciated. The facilities were great and the staffs were helpful, turndown service was good as well.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed is too hard for us. But it's the hotel's fault. Many hotels in Europe have beds that are too hard for North Americans.

    You can't get any more convenient than right across the Montreux train station. Friendly and helpful staff. Very clean room and facilities.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I left the hotel 3 messages ahead of arrival, didn't bother to answer to any ( 2 emails and one through booking). Restaurant is record high on price; we took 3 dinner starts (w/o wine) 160 franks. Completely unjustified even at top Swiss 5 stars hotel level. The bath is tiny, room heating, air conditioning only - noisy. The water based system was dysfunctional. Cleaning services, cleaned the room but didn't remove drinks we had. There's never someone at the front desk & once you get their attention they start multi-tasking.

    The location, the old atmosphere.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only bad thing is that the "queen" bed are two beds attached together where you keep falling in the middle because the beds keep on moving

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really nice hotel. Very clean throughout. Perfect when arriving by train as it really is just across the road. I usually avoid hotels near train stations but the area around the Montreux station is clean, quiet and safe. Staff were very helpful and we were able to check in early when we arrived which got the stay off to a great start.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: