Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois 5 stars

Blumenrain 8, Old Town Grossbasel, 4001 Basel, Switzerland

#2 of 56 hotels in Basel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 221 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    The old-fashioned luxury hotel is spectacularly placed on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The old-fashioned luxury hotel is spectacularly placed on the river. We reserved an already expensive room and were upgraded - to a huge room with view on the water. Sadly, no balcony, plus honestly the decor of this gigantic room was all red-velvet, dark, plush and felt very old-fashioned, even claustrophobic. I felt the room needed a more modern, lighter decor with bigger windows. You need to reserve at the Brasserie in advance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay on the river in Basel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the most beautiful places we have stayed. Very fancy. Loved being able to have a room with a patio that overlooked the river. Definitely a 5 star experience. Wonderfully updated rooms that kept the historic charm of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.2
    That's what a grand hotel is all about
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Room River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was great, but a resonably lower price would be welcome.

    There is definitely an ambiance and elegance of a true grand hotel. A rose upon arrival and a jar of jam upon checkout were a nice touch. The river view and the balcony were great. Nice restaurant and the bar at the hotel. Regrettably, the three star place was closed at that time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.8
    classic luxury
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Room River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    some of the staff were not the friendliest

    beautiful decadent interiors, very classic, old-world luxurious hotel with amazing views towards the river! amazing breakfast too, and love the live piano music at the lounge!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Beautiful Historic Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Junior Room River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better.

    The room was beautiful and it had great views of the river. I love this hotel (my 3rd visit). And of course dining at Cheval Blanc is always a pleasure.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered room service; was meant to arrive in 15 minutes but took nearly an hour.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was amazing. The hotel is a historic attraction in and of itself and the riverside location is perfectz

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Best hotel with incredible service seen for a long time in this kind of hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room City Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Service in this hotel was above expectations!! The place is beautiful and the personal was the best I have seen, a wonderful stay at this hotel!! Let yourself be amazed in this wonderful hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    Expensive? Yes. Worth it? Absolutely!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had one awkward moment. The main bar is accessed by passing through the tea room. We were heading to the bar for an appetitive, when we were stopped by the tea room receptionist, who looked into the bar, decided is was “full”, and said we should go downstairs to the other bar. I have always thought that standing at or near a full bar is an acceptable practice. Well rather than argue we did go downstairs - to an un-staffed, empty bar INSIDE the cigar lounge! Huh? We are not offended by cigar smoke but we don’t want to breath it either. And were we supposed to make our own drinks? So back upstairs we went, and this time we ignored the tea room receptionist found an open lounge in the corner. The experience dulled our rapture momentarily but we recovered through the magic of gin. And at least we now know there is a full service humidor downstairs! hah!

    (With one very trivial exception) The hotel staff is the best you could encounter anywhere in the world. The lobby and common areas are gorgeous with sweeping views of the Rhine. At Christmas the space must be eye-popping! Our riverview room was a lovely with crimson fabric walls and rich wood tones, complete with period antiques, a separate hallway, a spacious bathroom, wonderfull closets, but above all a stunning view of the river! We dined one night Brasserie, which was very good, and this dining room as also where breakfast is served. We had dreamy views of the river in the morning from a cozy duce nestled in the far corner. Again, the wait staff was exceptional. My wife collects antique chairs and she found two matching Micheal Thonet cafe chairs at a flea market in the nearby University Botanical Garden. We brought them back to the hotel on foot, in a pouring rain, and the key desk manager immediately took them and dried them off and had them sent to our room. We didn't even have to ask! She just acted with such professional courtesy and kindness. The entire front staff is just like that. They are wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Best location for visiting Basel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy room next to elevator after asking for quiet room Reservation for afternoon tea was lost Bedding request for king size bed and anti-allergy wasnt looked at

    Lovely friendly staff Comfortable bed State of art technology Amazing Italian restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    The Three Kings
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you book a room for 500$ for one night and the breakfast has to be payed extra, the guest can be a little disappointed.

    The bar is really nice, the cocktails excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Iconic hotel with exceptional service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Room River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service, from check in to check out, was outstanding, from the front desk to concierge. We stay at 5 star hotels often and this service was exceptional. Our river view room was spacious with a large patio. The location was perfect, walking distance to shopping and the museum and only 15 minutes to the airport for a 6:30 am departure. The historic building is old but they have upgraded the amenities in the room. The complimentary drinks and snacks was a nice touch. We loved this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    9.6
    Excellent traditional classy hotel with excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room City Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurants were expensive.

    Traditional classy style hotel with first class attention to detail. Staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent choice for breakfast. Public transport was excellent and the provision of a free pass by the hotel ensured getting about the city was made very easy.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    10
    Delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Room River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A two inch pillow topper on the mattress would be heavenly, but the bed was really good considering I am in Europe.

    Truly the best hotel I have ever stayed at, felt completely cared for.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.6
    Very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room City Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel. Good size room. Enjoyed outside patio on the river for dinner and breakfast. Very good food. Large lounge and bar areas. Attentive staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    Great place but website is wrong on the room you get and forget a balcony total bogus lead on
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the photos of the upgraded room I choose we not the same room. They showed the presidential suite when showing the upgraded river suite, plus they showed a balcony in the description and the pictures and when asked they just said o well we don't have many balconys and as far as the pictures they just said that is a mistake but I know they are not going to change it. totally different room. would have choosen a less expensive room if I knew.

    nice place great food-good location. They just need to get their web site right

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Wow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Room River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wow

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    a true palace
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Junior Room River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Great for celebrating special occasion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a swimming pool.

    The location is perfect and river view a must. Interior architecture and decor. River terrace.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous two days in Basel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was great nothing to complain about exceeded expectations

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful experience and fabulous staff equaled a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Junior Room River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful experience and fabulous staff equaled a great vacation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.8
    Warm champagne being served
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Room River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm champagne being served We prefer it to be served cold

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.2
    Amazing luxury hotel in the heart of Basel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Room River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its a beautiful luxury hotel with fantastic staff, great interior design and amazing food & drinks.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee machine in tre room

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    Incredible hotel and a great experience.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Room and view were outstanding. The service was some of the best ever, many thanks to all the staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful room and view on the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Politeness should be a must in a 5 star hotel; this is not understood by all at the Trois Rois.

    Beautiful room and view on the river

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Location n service n facilities
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Room River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Location n service n facilities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Location, history
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing great time too brief

    Location, history

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel in a super location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Junior Room River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Old school Hotel. Restaurant was excellent and the location next to the river was brilliant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.1
    Outside lovely terrace, too bad people from town come to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Room City Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside lovely terrace, too bad people from town come to drink and smoke. also cigars. Had to move because of a guy smoking a cigar in my face.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    6.3
    Downhill after Service and Location. Unsafe bathroom shower.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Room River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Time limitations and pricing

    Broad choices

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Junior Room River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service at Les Trois Rois is exceptional. Based on my experience this is one of the best hotels in the world.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    Good concierge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Junior Room River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good concierge. Red rose present at arrival. Nice river view terrace.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    9.6
    superb place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Room River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    superb place to stay

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    10
    Traumhotel
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room City Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alles - wunderbar, perfekt

    The best !!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful stately hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Room City Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor high tea

    Bed fabulous

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    10
    Amazing place in an amazing city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Room River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't stay long enough!

    EVERYTHING!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.2
    Good but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Room River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small insect Room is so small Laundary is expensive Car parking is expensive Hotel is expensive

    Location Clean View Staff Quite

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.2
    Authentic European hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Room River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved having a 3 star Michelin restaurant in the hotel. AUTHENTIC European hotel close to great walking bridges and great shopping.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    9.2
    Staff excellent .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of tea / coffee facilities in the room .

    Staff excellent ... Special kudos to Katherina at the concierge desk. Excellent breakfast spread . The rooms very well soundproofed .

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    8.8
    Excellent service, wonderful food, fantastic location for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Soft furnishings in the rooms could be updated

    Excellent service, wonderful food, fantastic location for shopping and beautiful Christmas decorations. The building itself is magnificent and you feel a part of history. Best high end hotel in Basel.

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    10
    The lovely sense of comfort ,the
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The lovely sense of comfort ,the Excellence of the staff,and also most excellent food. Wonderful location right in the heart of the old town with a wonderful outlook over the river. So easy to walkout to everything.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.6
    We chose the hotel for the Rhine view and central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We chose the hotel for the Rhine view and central location. We were given a room upgrade on arrival to a very nice corner room with excellent views. Rooms are not particularly large, but are comfortable and well-appointed. High standards of service all round (including valet parking) as befits a prestige hotel. Enjoyed meal in the Brasserie (their second-tier restaurant) with efficient service and perfectly-done steaks with Cafe de Paris sauce. A free public transport pass is provided, enabling one to explore Basel's comprehensive tram network - though most of the points of interest are actually within easy walking distance.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    10
    A caring and professional staff at every level, a beautiful...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    everything was good.

    A caring and professional staff at every level, a beautiful and well preserved facility on the Rhein, terrific concierge service helped us plan and set up mountain day hikes and associated train travel, wonderful food at each and every meal.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    10
    The staff, hotel and location could not be topped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is expensive everywhere in Basel but awesome city. I would like a coffee maker in the room. I ordered coffee the first morning, $12, they brought me one small cup. Even a place in the lobby to go down and get a cup to go would be nice.

    The staff, hotel and location could not be topped. Outstanding! The transportation system is easy and great, right outside the door.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    10
    We liked everything about the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would of liked a coffee maker in the room. One cup of coffee to the room is $12.

    We liked everything about the hotel. We would get a River View room next time because the city view room is noises at night. The breakfast is outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    8.3
    LOCATION, COMFORTABLE ROOM, EXCELLANT CONTROLS FOR ROOM TEMP...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    SHOWER: WATER WENT ICE-COLD IN AN INSTANT. NOT A GREAT WAY TO WAKE UP! FINE DINING RESTAURANT CLOSED ON SUNDAY (& MONDAY).

    LOCATION, COMFORTABLE ROOM, EXCELLANT CONTROLS FOR ROOM TEMP & BLINDS EXCELLANT AIR SUPPLY MANAGEMENT SYSTEM

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    10
    First class staff and accommodations, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    O day of departure, asked to have our bags brought down. No one showed up, and when we complained,it did no good, When we finally carried our own bags (we are elderly), all we got was an "I'm sorry." Bad way to handle that and left us with a bad taste.

    First class staff and accommodations, excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    9.2
    Location,facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The celing too low.it's make me feel the room was narrow.

    Location,facilities

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    9.6
    Wonderfully comfy bed, what's not to like about this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was city facing and did hear some noise

    Wonderfully comfy bed, what's not to like about this hotel!!

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    10
    Both!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could't see TV in bed because of the wall.the rest was excellent!

    Both! I commented on the croissants and the super bed during our stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    9.2
    The food in the Bistro and breakfast was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The food in the Bistro and breakfast was wonderful. The room was luxurious, the staff extra helpful. NO complaints

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    10
    Location and well behaved staffs
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Location and well behaved staffs

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    10
    It was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was amazing! The food was excellent. Staff were exceptional. Views over the river were gorgeous.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    9.6
    Everything.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The small rooms are small! But still have all the amenities and outstanding service.

    Everything. Stay here at least once!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    9.6
    Exceptional hotel - fabulous staff and the best location in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Leaving...

    Exceptional hotel - fabulous staff and the best location in town....

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    10
    What a beautiful spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    What a beautiful spot. The moon was full and reflected in the Rhine along with the Christmas lights. An unforgettable night.

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    9.6
    Luxurious hotel, excellent door men and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Luxurious hotel, excellent door men and staff. Breakfast was good. and lunch in the two mitchelin star Cheval Blanc magnificent.!

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    9.2
    Location, bar, cigar lounge, atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, bar, cigar lounge, atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    8.8
    Position of hotel on the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant very expensive

    Position of hotel on the river

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    10
    Spectacular!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Spectacular!

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    10
    Excellent staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent staff ..beautiful hotel..very comfortable and a great location

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    10
    Romantic room overlooking the Rhine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Romantic room overlooking the Rhine. Wonderful staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    9.6
    all but reservations
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    reservations for restaurants through Booking.com did not work

    all but reservations

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.2
    Great service, beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great service, beautiful location. Complimentary minibar.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    8.8
    Very comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very comfortable hotel. Excellent breakfasts and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in!

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    7.9
    great location
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very expensive, horrible room service

    great location

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    7.9
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very expensive, room service not good

    Amazing location

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    9.6
    Helpful concierge and all staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Helpful concierge and all staff Good size room Wonderful public spaces

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    10
    very complicate use of the TV
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    very complicate use of the TV

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    9.2
    Excellent location friendly and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Gym small and limited equipment

    Excellent location friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    9.2
    Great location of the Rhine.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location of the Rhine. Had a terrific dinner at the Brasserie.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    10
    Th e decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Th e decor.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    10
    Room, view and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Room, view and food.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    3.8
    Air conditioning is weak and we could not sleep well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Air conditioning is weak and we could not sleep well. Temperature control of hot water in bath room is old type, and inconvenient.

There are also 42 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: