Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel du Grand Lac Excelsior 4 stars

Rue Bon Port 27, 1820 Montreux, Switzerland

#20 of 40 hotels in Montreux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1612 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite - Lake Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The access to the suites went through the clinic, with doctors chambers on both sides - little funny! Directions to reach could be clearer

    The view from the room was just outstanding, and the direct access to the lake side was a wow! Gave us full passes for the montreux riviera, very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not up to our expectations.

    The view is excellent. Peaceful, tranquil setting. There were minor items which can be further improved e.g a quilt which fits a king size bed. Ours did'nt

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Lake Side
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in cooperation with a hospital and thus we were stuck with sick and handicapped people. Not very relaxing! The supposed ground floor was minus three and since we did not like to use an elevator we had to walk partly through the clinic. But at night they closed the door to the clinic and thus we were imprisoned! Going back to the night guard we received snappy advice to use the elevator but never a friendly apology. Twice the room...a junior suite.....was not made when we came back in the afternoon.....complaining we again received snappy answers but never an apology. The pool which had to be entered from the outside....or on Sundays through the clinic...was deep 0.85 to 2.25 m but n e v e r had any life guard on duty. Thus it was possible that three teens played with a hard ball while I tried to swim calmly. Afternoons at the hall could have been so pleasant with the view.....but we were hampered and molested by poor handicapped playing the piano in a way no halfway musical person could listen to. And all the applaudants in wheel chairs totally do have a right to joy......but for us it was not a relaxing experience. Hotel and clinic are inseparable which is shown in many ways.... Pictures will follow.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel, and particularly our room had a stale musty damp smell. Old carpet and furnishings may be contributing to thid

    The view and position were good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite - Lake Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Normally, I wouldn't write negative reviews but in this case there are many little things that could've been improved. For example, one of the main reasons I booked the hotel was because it has an indoor pool. But, when we went to go swimming with the baby the water was even too cold for me to get in. The breakfast, for the cost, was very poor.

    The location of the property was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite - Lake Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old. Needs renovation everywhere. Very poor breakfast. Extremely cold pool. Definitely not 4 stars.

    Nice location and nice view of the lake from the room. Personnel very nice, changed the room for one with a better view when requested.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not wheelchair accessible at all - and switched us to a room that was just as difficult. They had a room that would have worked - but management did not want to give it to us. I was even willing to pay the difference....but they said we would loose the money from original booking all together.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony was not so clean

    The hotel is on perfect location. My room have really nice lake view. One of the best views I ever staid. Stuff is really helpfull.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a persistent and consistent draft in the room as the window didn't close completely. Poor heating in the very cold (but lovely) breakfast area. The staff preparing the breakfast room services was loud and unconsidered to guests seated in the breakfast area. We could have eaten in the kitchen ! Travelling with my two Chihuahuas (weighing 2 kg and 3 kg); I called the hotel to ask whether the charges of CHF 29 applied to one or to 2 dogs. Considering the small size of the dogs, the reception confirmed a charge of CHF 29 for both. Upon check-out, I got charged CHF 58. I don't mind paying additional charges for my dogs, but other hotels, such as Châteaux du Lac, at Divonne-les-Bains (F), or Châteaux d'Issenbourg at Rouffach (F) offer a dog welcome pack consisting of a feeding bowl for water and a titbit!

    We like the size of the room, the lake view ,the renovated bathroom, the indoor swimming pool and the location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved the swimming pool, huge and very clean. Restaurant expensive even by Swiss standards but plenty of places nearby to eat and The Coop supermarket! Recommend the Davinda Lounge for evenings.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom very old and in need of refurb. It didn't match the photos online. Steam room not working. Quite a walk into town. No kettle in room as stated online. decor in room poor and in need of a paint.

    Bed very conmfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had booked with a double bed and ended up with twin beds instead. I expected much better from the sauna, but I guess it is to be expected in Romandie.

    Breakfast was really good, and the location and view from the room were great. The swimming-pool is quite large for a hotel, although it is quite a treasure hunt to find it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - Lake Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food seriously over-priced. Minibar in room had only 4 bottles of water in it and Coffee Machine Provided in room (nespresso) all had no prices or minibar menu so when we checked out,we were surprised to learn that the nespresso capsules we used were charged for. Cheeseburger on room service menu was 38CHF!!!! Breakfast buffet could definitely use some improvement - only hot food available was scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages - would have likes more selection. Also, upon arrival at 9:30 PM there was no bell boy and we had to unload our own luggage from the car and take it up to our room ourselves. Same thing on check-out, they brought our luggage down to reception but we had to take it outside to the car ourselves.

    Room was very good, but mattress was quite hard.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything

    This is the place with the view! Staggering view, best bed ever and amazing staff. The restaurant is pricey but the food is great. Relax in the lunge and soak up the atmosphere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Swimming pool was a little too cold for recreational use (but rather ok for sports) and the hotel in general is a little old and could use a good renovation. The breakfast could have a little more choice (e.g. salmon and more warm dishes) and we would appreciate next time if the breakfast remains filled up until the end of serving hours (came at 9.50 and some food was not replenished, while breakfast was served until 10.15). All in all, this does not interfere with the stay and the view and location compensate for a lot.

    The view out of the lobby and the rooms is unbelievably beautiful and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The value for price at this location is excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It does not have a spa. It has a pool and, low and behold, small separate saunas in the locker rooms (the men one has also a small hammam, the women one, for some reason, does not.) However, this part does not belong to the hotel and it is actually located in the nearby residence, thereby making it accessible not only to the hotel guests but also residents and walk-ins. To add to this, in order to reach the pool area, one needs to walk almost 10 minutes and take two sets of elevators. It most certainly is not a luxury choice, as Booking.com calls it. Better off staying somewhere else for this money.

    Great view from our 5th-floor room with balcony. That's it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Worth the price paid for, generous room size, amazing view from balcony, overlooking Lake Geneva, French Alps & all the surrounding cliffs, highly recommended

    Worth the price paid for, generous room size, amazing view from balcony, overlooking Lake Geneva, French Alps & all the surrounding cliffs, highly recommended

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked food at breakfast was a little disappointing ... and cold! Continental spread was excellent.

    Excellent responses to request to change duvet. Thank you.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Lake Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices in Montreax are ridiculous wine £40 a bottle or one cocktail £20 ! Very expensive

    Beautiful junior suite overlooking lake ... a really relaxing and quiet hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - Lake Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is not a spa hotel. The spa premises are not for 4*! The family rooms are on the ground floor (it is lake side, but not much of a lake view).

    Very big family room with 2 bathrooms and really comfortable big bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I gave this property a low rating because it's old, crumbling glory. The word 'Grand' should be left out. It's a small 3 star property with a 5 star view. On arrival it smelled of take-out food. But no food and drinks were available to us, and it was 9.30 at night. Not even a cup of tea. No hotel bar, no room service. Receptionists were unprofessional. Old carpets. Pool was very cold. I hope someone will buy the hotel and give the much-needed TLC.

    All rooms have a balcony overlooking the lake. The view is totally outstanding. The pictures from the beautiful balcony are amaaaaaaazing! Rooms are spacious. Shower works well. Nice toiletries.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a couple of things listed which were missing in the room such as tea and coffee making facilities and there was no bathrobe.

    The room was really clean with a wonderful view over the lake. I ordered room service and the food was great. I didn’t have breakfast as I found it a bit expensive even by Swiss standards

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel advertising as a 4 star????? It doesn't deserve even 2 star !!!!!! Completely rundown place! I have never seen bathroom in such a state!!! Horrible!!! Maybe many many years ago it was a good hotel, but now it's absolutely disgusting specially for the price they charged. Strongly recommend do not book this place!!!!!

    The view from the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could use renovation. Furnishings are old and worn. Balconies have been overtaken by pigeons. They do try to keep the balconies clean, but more should be done.

    Lake views and location are great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is a little bit dated and in need of a new layer of paint. There were no coffee/ tea facilities in the room.

    The highlight of the hotel room was definitely the view and the way that the hotel is facing, you will have a nice view of the sunset. Rooms very tidy and clean and the bed was very comfortable. Location is a 15 minute walk to the station and the walk is a nice stroll along the river.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given an upgrade and the room was very spacious, had a sitting area and also a balcony. The hotel has prime position on the lake and the views were stunning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is great - the chemin des fleur (walking path along Lake Geneva) is right outside your doorstep. You are probably about a 15 minute walk to Chateau Chillon and 10-15 minutes from restaurants (in the other direction). It is also about a 10 minute walk to the Ferry stop. The hotel was nice - you can tell that back in its day it was quite grand. It's still nice, just not the magnificent place it once was. The staff was friendly and the food was good. We had breakfast at the hotel every day and enjoyed it; we also did room service one night and both liked our meals. The room was nice - balcony overlooking Lake Geneva. Hotel was very quiet - we could sleep with our windows open and listen to the water. The room was SUPER clean; the cleaning service folks did a great job. Overall we had an enjoyable stay here and would recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite - Lake Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    A tired old hotel, probably a jewel in its prime, badly lost in a time lock in the 1970's and in desperate need of a complete renovation. Dirty rugs, flaking paint, doors that don't lock, decor lost in time (for those who don't already know, we are in 2017, not pre-1975).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    There was a difficulty over enforcing the non-smoking policy one night with one recalcitrant guest, which was unfortunate for my breathing and extremely difficult for the excellent staff to handle. The staff moved us to a lovely alternative room.

    Pleasant, welcoming and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Comfortable and spacious room. Indoor swimming pool that was little used during our stay - wonderful; just the right temperature for swimming and exercise.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was not working when I arrived. In fact it did not work for 4/5 hours. Then finally they gave me access to another wifi network.

    Big rooms with great view to the lake, good bed, clean hotel, nice indoor pool, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reservation could not be found first and the receptionist seemed incompetent. The room was very uncomfortable not something you would expect to see today in Switzerland.

    Location by the lake

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a blown fuse in our room and lost electricity and light. Thankfully it was during the day but the housekeepers do not speak English. It was difficult to communicate being transferred ten times on the phone until somebody came to fix the problem. The kitchen closes at 9pm. The electrician leaves at 10pm. Any problems after these hours have to wait until the morning. We were not given robes and slippers in our room, we had to ask the housekeeper for them.

    The view of Lake Geneva is STUNNING! We had a room with a balcony and it was the best decision we could have made. The decor of the hotel and room is very romantic French with big bay windows and high ceilings. The room and bathroom were both a good size. The pool and spa are very quiet - a little awkward to get to as the easiest way is to walk out of the hotel and back in (it is the building next to the hotel) and the corridor joining the two is not well lit and slightly claustrophobic. The breakfast in the lobby offers croissants and bread, scrambled eggs, veg, cold meats, yoghurts, cereal, etc. You are seated in a breakfast room that over looks the lake, however there is a big tree that blocks the beautiful view. If you would like to have breakfast in your room, only croissants and breads are available. Anything more and they charge quite a hefty fee. The location is good, it is about a 20minute walk to the city centre though you can walk along Lake Geneva. There is a bus stop (201) just down the road from the hotel, about 5mins. This bus will take you anywhere you need to go! It is free with a pass that the hotel give to you at check in. Although it is pricey, it is still reasonable considering Swiss prices and the view of Lake Geneva. The food menu is limited, soups, salads, pastas, meats and fish. We ate here once, it is priced the same as a good restaurant in town so would not recommend eating here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The downtrodden aspect of the hotel. It looks like it's had too many touch ups over the years and needs to be given fully redecorated.

    The location is amazing and the view from the bedroom unbelievable and beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Going Home................

    The Hotel has a wonderful position on the Lake with the best views over the Mountains. Arrived early and the reception could not have been more polite or accommodating. Allowed us to check in early. Up to floor 4 - large room with balcony overlooking the lake breathtaking. Massive bathroom spotless and brand new. Everything you could want including mini bar. Hotel is lovely and will return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The provision of a kettle and the ability to make a hot drink would have been very welcome.

    Beautiful old-fashioned hotel with a fabulous view of the lake.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff was not very helpful, the information I was receiving from them was not sufficient or with lots of delay. The room was very old and the bathroom needed immediate renovation, including the walls as they were scratched and not very clean. Generally the whole hotel needs renovation as the carpets are dirty and old, the balconies as well. There were a lot of insects that bite a lot, too. The breakfast was very poor comparing to the price. SPA was ok but the lady was in a rush for another clients so she did the cure very thoroughly and quickly, that I had an impression that she wants to get rid of me to get to another client...

    The view is amazing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is tired and requires up grading, we moved rooms 3 times from the one we first saw. The corridors in the lower part smelt musty . The breakfast was very basic and expensive for what we got.

    The view and that it was not in the centre and close to the lake side walkway.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel needs renovation and refurbishment. The hotel lacks the 4 star quality it claims. The carpets are old, the bathroom smells of canal because it does not have proper exhaust fan, the air conditioner needs to be cleaned and maintained - it makes a lot of noise - the bed needs to be changed and the veranda needs a lot of love and care.

    The view is spectacular

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had requested kettle in room prior too arriving had to request twice once there before it appeared. Lovely hotel but felt slightly expensive in comparison to similar hotels in area like Eden Palace

    Friendly staff.. lovely location looking a little tired in some areas. Full Crack in one bathroom sinks shower was placed a little low for my height 5ft7 despite location felt slightly over priced. However staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired decor, was surprised that it is a 4 star hotel. Some sound travelling from adjacent room.

    Very spacious room and bathroom. Good views over lake.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent views across the lake from the balcony. The room service dinner was one of the best we've had at a hotel and reasonably priced compared to restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the building needs renovation but that doesn't mean it was not clean. They do their best to keep it good. The pool need extra care.

    It is very clean. Location wise was perfect. The food was excellent. Room service was fantastic. There was a very helpful young lady called Madelyn I think. She was excellent and always has a welcoming attitude and a smily face. All receptionists were very very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff spoke only French, could speak neither English nor German, contrary to the description on the booking.com. From a 4-star hotel one would expect at least English to be spoken. We also had trouble finding the parking spot (also misleading info on booking.com re parking). There is however a public parking in front of the hotel, but difficult to find a free spot. The hotel needs some refurbishing. Although my room has been supposedly renovated, it did not seem so.

    Lovely view from the room. The room (deluxe double room) was spacious. Breakfast was good. Air-conditioning worked properly, which I was grateful for, since the days were very warm, and the sun was shining to the room the whole afternoon. Pool was great, clean, not crowded, and big enough to go for a long swim, and not just to soak in it. Outside the pool there is a lawn with beach chairs, so one could sun bathe and enjoy beautiful view to the sea and the mountains.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift systems confusing meaning we found ourselves in some strange basement corridors which seem to be used as some kind of hospital. The pool is lovely but not easy to find ( seems to be next doors pool ) we didn't have any of the extras such as robe/kettle etc .... apparently I was supposed to request these. No hair dryer either but staff wouldn't believe me - some were quite rude. Very expensive in montreux.... you could easily spend over £100 just on one course . Car parking on street not in a garage... luckily we were there on Sunday which was free.

    The position of the hotel cannot be beaten . Direct views of the lake and ability to get onto promenade quickly. Bed was lovely, comfy and large .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No privacy between balconies. Dinner poor and ridiculously expensive. Restaurant mgr was curt and didn't have a word of English and he's in the tourism business!

    The view from bedroom was incredible.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tea making facilities in the room would have been welcome, plus, most of the balconies are not private.

    We were half board, which we never usually do, found the evening meal excellent, high quality and good choice. The ambience of the hotel was beautiful. location was superb, near ferry terminal and buses.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    For the price I paid, I couldn't believe there were no tea/coffee making facilities in my room so I had to ask for a kettle and then go out and buy a mug, tea, coffee etc. Also, the hotel is huge with many, many rooms but the restaurant is very small and only accommodates a fraction of the guests. I waited until the last night as I wanted to have a slap up meal so got there as it opened only to be told I needed a reservation as it was pretty much fully booked (the only table available was a single table embarrassingly close to the bar). I went into town instead. The hotel needs to explain to guests that they need to reserve a table in the restaurant...

    VIEWS! Absolutely perfect and breath-taking views of Lake Geneva and the mountains from the fourth floor, it's why I booked this hotel and I wasn't disappointed. Also, the proximity to the main town, the Casino and Freddie Mercury's statue was why I chose here. The bathroom was great, as was the TV (not used but nice to have), mini-bar (not used but nice to have a fridge) and furniture. Lounge areas superb with stunning views, swimming pool/saunas spot on and the staff were lovely and friendly. Room service was used once for breakfast and I couldn't fault it! I have read reviews about the hotel needing a bit of an update as it is a little "tired" in places and where I agree to an extent, I found the overall style of the hotel quite enchanting and old-fashioned.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dated, faded decor. Exorbitant room service prices.

    Rooms and hotel are spacious but in need of serious renovation - everything faded, chipped, or dirty. Hotel website does not accurately portray that hotel is shared with a health clinic so you have patients in adjacent rooms - very weird dynamic. Hotel charges 7 francs to bring ANYTHING to the room - absurd. Location and view of Lake Geneva were the only positives.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is superb and the view from our balcony was absolutely stunning. We really enjoyed our stay there which was also thanks to the friendly staff and great hotel facilities. Really recommend it

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is ancient history. Not quite up to standard. Old. Too loud music in the hall way. Noisy and not maintained airco in the room. Beds were old. Etc etc too much to mention. Far overpriced.

    Actually, nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet was not too clean, we found a clothes hanger which belonged to some item probably bought by the previous guests. Parking facilities are not great.

    Truly amazing view from a beautiful balcony, very comfortable and big room. A very charming hotel, although the design of the interior of the room does not fully correspond to its glorious past, as the original furniture looks like it has been replaced by cheap-looking but very functional furniture (we did not mind this, nevertheless). I would definitely come back here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's just a little bit shabby to be honest. Everything from the furniture to the carpets to the windows looks like it could do with some renovation. If this was done, it would truly be a 4 or 5* hotel, but I don't feel it's really there at the moment.

    The hotel is beautifully positioned right on the lake - the sound of the water in the morning was absolutely wonderful and the view incredible. Staff were really friendly and helpful. You can feel the hotel was incredibly grand and is perhaps not quite at that peak. Also the hotel seems to operate as a treatment centre with loads of different rooms for various illnesses and treatments. We didnt realise this at the time and it didnt impact on the enjoyment but was just funny to see.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Lake Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While booking room I booked this room only for view, But room 716 is on -3 floor from hotel base 0 floor and there was no view at all. Door to the lake was locked all times. There were bushes in front of the view. All in all there wasn't any view. I have been charged for the view. When I escalated matter to receptionist that I did book a room with view, I was told we are fully booked and can't make any changes. But that's not my problem is it !!! You are charging me for Junior suite with lake view either garden access or balcony view. I asked for balcony view. I wasn't given that. I am very unhappy with the services provided by this hotel. Montreux has become an unhappy stay because of this hotel. I would again recommend if you are Booking for Junior suite, Please avoid and especially room 716, it's not worth the price. *hotel doesn't even provide a cup of tea or coffee in the morning not even water Bottle, there is a rate card in your room, if you make a cup of tea or coffee in your room hotel will charge you from 3:00 - 5:00 CHF per cup of tea or coffee or even water Bottle. We arrived to hotel at 9:10 pm and called room service, if we could order food or either go to restaurant. We were told by receptionist, sorry our restaurant closes at 9:00 pm and no room service after that and there isn't anything that we can help you with. So all in all if you are arriving to this hotel anytime after 9:00 pm or late check in, hotel will make sure that arriving guests do not get anything to eat or drink. Not a service worth of 4 Star. Not at all. I feel like I was cheated both by the hotel and Booking.com Make sure you don't book Junior Suites for this hotel and if you do book please be aware there won't be any views and it's not worth the price as this hotel is very far from city centre, not well connected with local transport. Only Bus 201 goes to hotel that's too every 15-20 minutes. Not worth spoiling your Montreux stay.

    Room was big enough for Booking confirmation of Junior Suite. It was clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was quite pricey with surprise taxes at check out.

    Fabulously charming hotel with stunning views over the lake and mountains. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Included in the stay were free travel passes in the area which also gave 50% discount on boat trips on the lake and other activities. Although hotel was a ~15 minute walk from the centre there were regular buses so it was easy to travel in <5 minutes both to Montreux as well as Vevey or Villneuve.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old. No refurbishment apparent probably since 80's. Carpeting needs replacing. Barhroom needs complete overhaul

    Location is great. The view is spectacular. The staff are mostly very outgoing and friendly. Old style reigns.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite - Lake Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Be careful to reserve any standard rooms because it's not renovated. only Deluxe or a Suits. It's an old Hotel from outside but renovated from inside as the lobby and all rooms expt the standard rooms!! there is no Parking in the Hotel only few outside parking and always full. but you can park in the street parking.

    We Stayed for three nights with my wife and two kids in Junior Suite - Lake Side .. The staff was very helpful and friendly especially a girl from Lebanon and their billboy. it's just about 8 min walking from the city center if you use the promenade with amazing views. It was fantastic Suite in -3 floor with a King size bed and two full Bathrooms and seating area with two LCD. The suite has an access to the backyard terrace with a wonderful green area and lake view with two cheers and a table.. you can access to Lugano Promenade from the terrace as well. some of the suits in higher floor with the same facility but without a terrace only a balcony The seating area offer a sofa bed .. There is a handwasher in the middle of the room give you a facility to wash anything and no need to go to the toilet like we washed our infant feeding bottle. In the other hand I read in the other reviews many comments about there is a medical Center in the Hotel .. yes there is one but you'll not feel anything and don't care.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattress could have been updated. Felt a little like an air mattress, when my husband got out of bed, my side of the bed moved up. ??

    Beautiful old world elegance. Stunning rooms with high ceilings, crown molding and balcony view of lake Geneva. Blue awnings on each balcony. Beautiful windows throughout the hallways, lobby, and restaurant. Nice antiques in the hallways and stained glass windows. Great restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were awful, smallest pillow in world, no extra pillows in hotel when I asked!! Remember this is a large hotel!!! And I stayed 2 nights, really no pillows!!!!. Floor 4, stains on carpet.. exterior needs a good deal of work, soon.. I'd compare montreax to Blackpool, look closely and you see the flaws...

    Location was good, near chillion. Château, also near town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa is small and outside the hotel in a distance, but the spa reception very friendly and the mövenpick is a goo resting place.

    The breakfast could improve in terms of variation. I liked most the location of the breakfast room. I liked very much the overall hotel. A great location over the lake and to walk a long the lake. Wonderful balcony, Rooms with high ceiling, Room and bath spacious, calm, very clean and nice. The building is elegant and the reception friendly. Will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an empty bottle hidden under the curtain. Obviously the maid did not clean the room throughly. The neighbors were noisy. There were noises of people opening and closing the door even around midnight. The parking was limited. Not every guest could get it. If you couldn't find a spot on the hotel reserved parking, you would have to use the paid street parking. That is not a fair description of "free parking." The staff told us to use the bus and never move our car out because we were very lucky to find a spot available at the hotel reserved area.

    The view is amazing. They gave us tickets for bus ride and discounts for tourist attractions tickets.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very big and I kept searching for the pool for 30 minutes. The room walls are very thin you hear some sound from the room next to you.

    The location is outstanding and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The view is amazing as well. I really enjoyed the stay there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite - Lake Side
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived 9 pm and we were told to fetch our own luggage cuz after 5 pm there is no bell man and only one receptionist. Not a four star hotel standard!!! Plus there is No car park! You have to park you car miles from the hotel and pay the the city car park by hour. Luckily we were told by front desk we can purchase an all day parking ticket for 10 francs. When we're going to check out I was surprised by being charged for using the coffee machine in the room. They said there was a sign. I didn't see it for the whole 9 days. What hotel charges you for using the nesspresso machine per capsule ????? Plus the cleaning lady decided not to fill the toiletries for 2 days, and only after complaining to reception. Room Sevice stops after 2 restarts in the afternoon and stops again at 9.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    a little restauration in some facilities would be necessary for swimmers no foot bridge or stairs into the water prepared for guests, no chaiselounges or garden chairs available.

    Great Grand hotel charme, nice original interiors, great view, access to the lake for swimming, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bath is very small, and although they promise tea facilities in the room it takes a bit of effort to get it.

    The view from our room onto lake Geneva was fantastic. The room was spacious and clean. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was excellent and staff is very friendly and accommodating. The hotel has a rich history of famous visitors: Nelson Mandela, Blair, Sissy it hides some real historical treasures. The hotel is at walking distance from everything in Montreux and public transportation it also harbours a reknown health/spa clinic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One half of the hotel was set up as a Spa/Well-Being centre and it was not easy too realise that hotel customers were able to access this. Though there were internal liftsp the easiest way to get from the xcelsior to the pool was to leave the building and access via the garden- a very small inconvenience. A fridge and TV/Coffee making facilities in the room would help

    Beautiful setting- a touch of faded grandeur about this place. Views were magnificent- garden areas and swimming pool/sauna were well kept. exceptional ballroom/conference centre in the basement.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the hotel is situated in a wonderful place, on the lake and the promenade. it is elegant, quiet and with everything one needs for vacation and rest. we had dinner in the restaurant "magnolia" and it was wonderful. the service was excellent and the food and wine too. when we arrived to our room there was a problem with the television and they immediately changde our room to a better one.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had to change room because the air conditioning started leaking water but we got an upgrade so it was ok. The pool was a bonus but it was chilly. The balconies need to be cleaned. A kettle or coffee machine in the room would be a real bonus.

    The view from the room is what makes this hotel worth staying at

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking on the road outside. Had to change the disc every 3 hours until 7pm but it was free.

    Spacious room with a little balcony overlooking the lake. Great swimming pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and not comfortable at all. The staff was very good at night but in the day time not at service of costumer. I WAS disappointed cause was expe ting much more after reading comments of booking. I DON'T advice this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some noise from air conditioning (blight of many hotels)

    A stylish if slightly old fashioned hotel. Incredible views with room balcony overlooking the lake.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This hotel was spectacular! The rooms are ridiculously large and elegant. Location was wonderful and walking distance to town center and Chillon Castle. Unbelievable luxury for the price. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the surroundings in the front of the Hotel were not well kept. Trash and such.

    Loved being right on the Lake. It was the same picture I had when I attended school there fifty years ago.! Town has only improved other the years.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite - Lake Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only street parking and limited availability! We got lucky and after driving back and forth once, a spot opened up. Restaurant staff was a bit frosty.

    Hotel staff was very friendly, nice location and views

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms are dated but reflected on good price of room. Beds were rather soft for us...

    Lovely lake view. Large quiet bedrooms with air conditioning. Easy on street parking with blue zone cards. Easy access to beautiful lake promenade walk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The our side of the building was so dirty that the windows in the makeshift breakfast area was of putting to look out as all you saw was spider webs and years of dirt that has never been cleaned. it is time this hotel had a billion dollar re development. Staff were just plain rude and unhelpful.

    This hotel is filthy dirty on the outside and needs an immediate upgrade. Staff were the rudest I have ever encounterred in my 40 years of travelling the world. The location is away from everything and the food and service for breakfast was the worst I have ever had. Staff walked past you and never one cleared you used plates. We had to take them to the counter for which we got a dirty look. Once food ran out it was not replaced. You had to yell to get any attention and even then you were ignored. Their computer did not work and the staff reception staff were very annoyed when you asked for help. I would never recommend this hotel as their rates are far too high and it is definately not a 4 star property. Lucky if it get 2 star.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: