Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grindelwalderhof 3 stars

Dorfstrasse 155, 3818 Grindelwald, Switzerland

#23 of 39 hotels in Grindelwald

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 291 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 72

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we didn't like having to pay extra for parking, but this is the situation for a lot of the hotels in the town. Also the breakfast included was too good and we ate too much!

    Very nice scenic walking and shopping on the main street in the town from the hotel location. Also easy to drive downhill to the train station for the very scenic ride up the mountain to Yongfrauyoch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A lovely small hotel in the heart of town. Uninterrupted views of mountains. Nice room, ensuite & beds good. Balcony views. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony with great view. I think it's so fascinating when you have a walk around the valley (after all the shops closed and not too many people.) Though, the time I visited was freezing ,I felt warm inside my heart.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff was not 24hrs. Even day time no staff on the desk.You need to call them to come down.

    My mom and auntie loved souna. Good location with Eiger view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment First Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Fabulous apartment for our family of 5, which included 3 teenagers. Its a very spacious apartment in a great location. The bus stop is just outside the hotel, and its only a very short walk to the godola. Breakfast was great - simple, but set us up for a day of skiing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment "Eiger" (2 - 4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet was ok, could have done with being a more varied selection.

    The staff were friendly and courteous, everything was clean and in good order.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If there could be more choice for breakfast would be better as if stay longer, it become a bit boring !

    The view of this property from the balcony is unbeatable!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The madam at front desk seems not to know how to do a good work as a hotel keeper. She shouted insults at customers and showed very bad attitude. I paid for, not bargain a stay -- I never meet a such a hotel front desk lady/sir before, no matter in United States or other parts in the world.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment "Eiger" (2 - 4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    excellent location to railway station and cable car to the First. Nice balcony with tremendous mountain view, we had wonderful dinners there. cooking is super easy, a supa is just down stair. very cosy accommodation!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the large front balcony was very commanding with the mountains right at the door steps and a good Location for going up to either of the Valleys including the Youngfrau and Murren. The breakfast was everything you needed and conveniently located within the hotel near the room. The Hotel was situated in the main street in Close Walking distance to the Train Station, Shops and Restaurants, however was still quiet with noise not being a Problem during our stay. We were able to sit outside on the balcony and look down on the main street and the mountains. It was a nice place to relax and take in the scenery. The room was neat and tidy with simple finishes and comfortable bed. The children had a Sofa bed folded out which was fine and a small Dining table and chairs were provided. The room was very spacious and the bathroom was clean and modern. The reception staff were accommodating in allowing us to check in a Little earlier (instead of just storing our luggage) which allowed us to work around catching a 1 pm Train up to the Youngfrau.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting was poor. The view not as good as the front rooms and no lock for the bathroom door

    The space. The size of the bathroom. The ability to cook.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfort, we got early check-in which is always a huge plus. There are 2 bus stop in front of hotels, which is convenient if you don't want to drag luggage's around.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walk from the train depot in the snow and rain was a bit much, seeing it was a little up hill in places. We were told it was a 5 minute walk but lugging our luggage behind us in the snow took a bit longer and we were expecting it to be much closer. That is the only complaint we had about the Hotel. Overall our stay there was wonderful. The room was small but lovely.

    The view was breathtaking. We loved the patio where we could sit and enjoy the view. Breakfast was very nice and the service was great. They even went overboard and provided us a packed breakfast because we were leaving to early in the morning. They were very friendly and the room was very clean. It was centrally located in the heart of town. We could walk either direction for stores, restaurant's, and gorgeous views of the mountains or town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is big and comfortable, there's a nice balcony. we were not able to go to the hotel the first night because I hurt myself during skiing and the hotel kindly change the booking for us (it was not be able to change).

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually, there was not much wrong with it. The pillows weren't great. Breakfast was good, but a bit same-same. The hotel facilities were clean and well maintained, but a little old. There weren't a lot of power points and not in the most convenient locations. Really splitting hairs here, though!

    The location was great! In the middle of the town center. The ski bus stop right in front of the door, a little supermarket next door and the "First Bahn" was just around the corner. Breakfast was good and the staff very helpful. We were even able to use a room to shower and get changed after a day of skiing, after we had already checked out. The sauna was great, big enough for 2-3 people and on demand (although sometimes already occupied). For Grindelwald and the location the price was not too bad.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    3rd bed (for our daughter=adult) was not a real bed but a couch turned into a bed. so the comfort was disappointing. the shower was waggling from left to right and back, did not stay stable. Staff was polite but too much silent towards guests. electricitiy sockets for our handy phones were troublesome to reach.

    Welcome sweets on our bed (see photo). Open buffet with normal expected breakfast. Nothing extra. We had balcony with view to the Wetterhorn (see photo). Towels were clean and were changed every 2nd day. Room was warm but bathroom less (most probably due to the continious aspirateur above the toilet). We could park our car just behind the building for which we were glad about. We were thankful for the tea/coffee maker inside the room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses dipped a little in the middle when sitting of lying in the bed which is noticeable if you are a heavier person.

    Hotel is in a great location, has underground parking for $12 per day which I highly recommend to anybody staying here in winter! The room we stayed in was a decent size for the price we paid.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room but okay need for electrical outlets conveniently located.

    Excellent location and beautiful view of Eiger Mt right in front outside your balcony! Unforgetable!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is fresh and the service was good. But the choice was limited cause of the number of kinds of food.

    I thought that the hotel is organized very well. Every process was easy and fast from check in to check out. Room condition was great and every staff was kind.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we could have stayed longer!

    We loved this hotel. Everything that we needed and nothing more. Location was perfect. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were very good. Staff were friendly and accomadating even when we forgot to pick up our after-hours key and had to call manager at home. She was there in less than 10 minutes to let us in and refused to accept anything for her assistance.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment "Wetterhorn or Jungfrau" (2 - 4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Comfortable stay with the family. Friendly staff, clean and 7 minutes stroll to the Grindelwald train station. Would recommend to other travellers.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a short walk from train and had a beautiful view of the Eiger. Staff were helpful and the rooms were comfortable with a balcony to enjoy the views on long summer evenings. A beautiful village to access Jungfrau region

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, big comfortable rooms, beautiful views from balcony

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Lovely hotel and superb staff. Couldn't wish for a nicer place to stay. Very clean, comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location and great staff!! Very helpful!!! Loved the town!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment First Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaness.

    Facilities in room especially kitchen.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is really nice to introduce us the town and gave good trip advices

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    sauna area was very small and a little cold

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were so friendly, and the breakfast was amazing. Especially the view from the room balcony was insanely fantastic! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Apartment First Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The view, furniture, kitchen.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment "Wetterhorn or Jungfrau" (2 - 4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient location. Next door of supermarket and walking distance from both railway station and a cable car.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Group
    • Apartment "Wetterhorn or Jungfrau" (2 - 4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great and the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best location from what I know. Mountain view in your face. Rooms are good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located 5 min walk from the station. Small and cozy, with a great view on mountains. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not have

    Breafast View from the room Nice service

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staffs are staying in the night.

    Very good location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast served was very badic

    Location .. it's located about 15 min walk from the station .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast may start on 7.30.

    The breakfast was delicious. The room was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment "Wetterhorn or Jungfrau" (2 - 4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely location, very close to Grindelwald station and the First Gondola. Easy access to 3 excellent ski areas.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The porridge was tasty and healthy

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, easy to get around. Nice facilities, but a bit over priced

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment First Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See earlier review

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room price

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment "Wetterhorn or Jungfrau" (2 - 4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed a second TV and cost.

    Great for families ( 2 boys 13,11) in a great location, right down town and across from mini golf. Room was spacious.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing!

    Our family room is spacious with a balcony which could see the nice view of snowberg. Staff is very nice and helpful. Can take yellow bus free!

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a little small for two of us with snow gear and a couple of bags, but we did fit.

    Fantastic location with a bus stop right outside, short walk to the train station or Grindelwald First gondola if you don't want to wait for the bus, and plenty of places to eat nearby. The included breakfast was fantastic when we were still at the hotel after 8am. The service and friendliness of the stuff was exceptional; they really went out of their way to make us feel valued and welcome.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Apt. faced back ally way and was quite noisy without much privacy.

    Very conveniently located in the heart of town. very helpful having he supermarket right below.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location was very convenient, just next to many cafes n restaurants, a grocery store right next to it, decent sized units, very helpful staff ( one lady there who was always available!)

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    If it' raining...

    Warm place, great view, location compared to Interlaken, security, good breakfast, easy to access Jungfraujoch, cozy & lovely place to spend a week there, etc.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had to let run the water a long time to have it hot for my shower - would have been nice to warn me beforehand.

    Very clean, nice balcony, very forthcoming service, spacey apartment

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They wouldn't let me keep my car in their park garage on my last day. Very inconvenient. If you're a skiing purist you will want to be closer to Mannlichen lift. Hotel smoking area was outside my room; made my room smell like smoke.

    Hotel was clean and breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not very comfortable bed and a bit slow internet, however this is nothing comparing to all positive things

    Very good location in the very center of the village. Clean rooms (room cleaning each day). For this type of hotel and price room was comfortable with balcony with stunning view on Eiger. Nice and helpful staff. Nothing disturb. Bottle of vine on arrival which is lovely.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Really friendly and accommodating. We were able to check in early and location was great - right in the middle of town with bus stop right outside - although only 5 mins walk to the ski lift / train either way.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Clean and there is a supermarket on the ground floor. The breakfast was delicious. A nice view !!!

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    In the apartment, bedrooms and bathrooms do not have locks. Huge inconvenience, when one stays in the group.

    Good cleanliness.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Yes and yes

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy due party guests from Avocado Bar

    breakfast. Location

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Eiger view. Parking. Close to the station.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The lighting in the bedroom Was very dim- made it difficult to see to play cards etc.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Preparation for the breakfast looked a little late.

    After check-out, staff allowed us to keep our luggages in the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Parking outside too small, inside u have pay

    Location and breakfast Too expensive for Eiger room

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast without eggs.

    It's wooden house with classic furniture. Nice bed and good kitchen with supermarket downstairs.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. comfortable room 2. friendly staffs

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Internet wifi isn't strong enough

    Location and scenery

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No coffe or milk in room

    Excellent view of Eiger from balcony

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    View

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had no complaints at all

    Location of hotel was great and breakfast was lovely. The room was clean and always warm

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff good be friendlier

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    excellent location close to station, resturants and ski lift. Efficient and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast all days the same

    Very friendly staff, large and comfortable rooms, centre of the city

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Superb cosy little hotel in the middle of Grindelwald. Will definately stay again if I get the chance.

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 72

Guests also reviewed these properties: