Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Meierhof 4 stars

Bahnhofstrasse 4, 8810 Horgen, Switzerland

#4 of 6 hotels in Horgen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 284 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not pay for the cheapest room but I had a room way worst than last time. Smaller and overlooking the sad internal courtyard. Facilities in the room are very basic - only shower gel. The room was not much clean when I arrived - hair in the bed and shower/sink not cleaned properly. You definitely pay too much for the service you get.

    I used this hotel for work and for what I need it was basically fine. The wardrobe is very big and there is a kettle in the room. There is a free coffee machine at the reception.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was a little pricey and too quiet

    Great location, 20 mins to the centre via regular trains Great views from restaurant and some of the rooms Comfortable bed Price was much cheaper than the cheapest accommodation in the centre and much better quality

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The glasses guy of the morning shifts on the front desk wasn’t helpful and was lazy enough to say I don’t know even tho our questions were basic and the computer was right in front of him. He also didn’t help us at the end when we asked about directions to a place and recommendations. The hotel doesn’t help in exchanging money even tho there was no exchange offices in Horgan and the hotel was far from Hb or the airport where we can exchange. They take 1 frank for 1 euro which is a very high rate for franks and not a logical one. We asked for a large bed on booking.com we were given twin beds. And that wasn’t very pleasing.when we asked to change they told us we couldn’t. When we asked for WiFi at the end we were told that we couldn’t cause we checked out. I understand this is policy from the hotel but it’s not a very friendly one. Customers are supposed to be treated as customers even after the stay. And not strangers after we check out.

    The Egyptian guy and the girl of the front desk were very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is confortable and the purple in the hotel is relaxing The panoramic view of the rooftop is nice aswell and you have a clear view of the lake and you can see the mountains aswell

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms a bit small

    Excellent front desk and breakfast staff, very good breakfast for the class of hotel, good location 5 mins from the motorway and overlooking the lake - rooms a bit small, slightly noisy at night as close to station, but not too bad - for sfr 108 it was a really good deal, but if i had paid 200sfr i may not have been so keen - overall, very well run, good place - try Olivo restaurant by side of hote, very good Italian, reasonable value

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Closed windows could damp the sound of the station well enough, but if you need to open the windows at night, you better be a heavy sleeper like myself, or ask for room not facing the station.

    The view of the lake at the restaurant is gorgeous, breakfast was my favourite part of the day. Handy to have train station a few steps away, and nice to have the gym available.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately there had been several things I did not like so much, e.g. the bed was to short and I am only 185cm big. In addition there is a very noisy ventilation system, which prevented me to sleep well. The shower (bathtub) is very narrow. Breakfast: scrambled eggs have been too dry. Bottom-line: a good price performance ratio is not given

    The hotel is located close to the lake and train station. Staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice and comfortable room. Despite being situated just in front of the train station, it is surprisingly quiet. Large choice of food for breakfast with a panoramic view over the lake.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very personalized ! Nice email and chocolate waiting in the room. Snall things maje the difference. Parking for free is a big plus too. The view on the lake!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's not the most modern nor most luxurious hotel; you pay the price for the proximity to Zurich and to the lake.

    Very friendly staff, little extras such as free cold water in the corridor and free coffee in the lobby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View of the lake, really lovely room, very spacious and no noise from the railway station nearby. Good parking right next to hotel. Children's playground and lovely park nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room very small and the beds overcrowded There is no AC on the room so you feel unpleasant in hot weather

    The location is very beautiful just near the lake The breakfast menu variable and good view from the resturant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toiletries were fab, and cute messages on them. Breakfast was great - waffels with maple syrup - yum - and it was exactly what we needed for the night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Air conditioning could have been a bit cooler. Also tour crowds in lobby a bit in the way, perhaps a better check in process might help for them as I am sure they were a bit uncomfortable?

    Meals good, front desk was helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of airconditioning... we had great weather during our trip across Switzerland:-), but it was much too hot in the room...

    Breakfast - reach variaty of hot, cold and sweet dishes! Sparkling and still water available on each floor everytime. Location - nice place in Horgen, hotel with view on a lake and 15 minutes by train to Zurich.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant staff were a bit slow. Price is quite high (although I suppose it is within average in Switzerland for this category of hotel)

    Confortable bed, incredible views of lake, perfect ubication in front of train station. Varied and tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no aircon no view old building value for money? NO

    location was okay, parking was available, free coffee in the lobby, halal kebab shop across the hotel and grocery stores

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was awful--not up to anything like the usual swiss standards. The muesli was actually rancid and the service was slow and uncaring. The room was tiny and loud noise from nearby bars and traffic necessitated closing the windows, but no ac, so you either sweat or get kept awake by noise.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Very good location - 50 m from railway station. Nice view to lake of Zurich. If window is closed - very quiet room. Fast Wi-Fi. Very polite and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, too small and old, the bathroom. The overall building. The breakfast.

    The position

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit worn

    The location is very good, just nearby the train and ferry.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything perfect

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing....thanks everyone in the hotel ( friendly & helpful)

    Wonderful everything..location staff comfortable bed big room .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall everything.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's noisy because of location next to main station of train and bus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk female was useless

    Close to the lake

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airco while iT was high outsider temp

    Refresh towels and sheets after 1 night

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being on the 2nd floor with a spiral stair way and no elevator.

    No elevator, Bed and TV were not aligned,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been a little better. Choice was good but toast and eggs were cold and coffee was quite bad

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice wiev from the breakfast room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditiong in the room Attitude of staff at breakfast - timing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was ordinary

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner which makes the tool not so comfortable in hot summer days.

    Overall good clenness and friendly staff. Well located.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room size was tiny, some of the staff were cold

    Location, food, some of the staff were exceptional

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price on thar evening

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small for the price. The room décor was a bit 'tired', could do with a new carpet and curtains.

    location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In front of the train station, receptionist Christina was great did great job.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great WIFI internet Great breakfast Great location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very easy to find out the main station Zurich hb excellent location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating wasn't strong enough.

    Good location n great staff. The view from the lounge and the room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old style door lock

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    a better hairdryer would be helpful and air conditioning is always welcome.

    friendly welcome, staff looked after us well, breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, Reciption, Room, Toilet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Starting from the service nothing was less than discribed: the place was quite, tidy and with nice views. the room was in a very good condition including the bath and the price was reasonable. I found it excellent, I recomend it to anyone!

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    I liked the stunning view on the lake Zurich, the personal touch of a friendly staff, the cleanness and comfort of the room and the proximity to restaurants, bars and other shops.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was not good at all, especially since we had to pay extra for it. The hallways smelt of cigarette smoke. The location is fine but there doesn't seem to be much of interest around. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant, although there is a diner next door.

    The hotel is good for a budget hotel. The room had a nice view. It had a full-size bath which was nice. The bed was comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They tried to put us in a room without lake view although it is written that all rooms are with lake view. When complained, the receptionist put the blame on booking. Had to talk to the manager to get an appropriate room.

    Free parking

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Family with young children

    Room was bit small . No hanger/stand to keep used towel in bathroom.

    Excellent location and professional staff. Lots of option for breakfast and great view from resturant. Room was really sound proof.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I wasn't feeling well and the staff were wonderful, giving me a room with a bath and ensuring I had some medicines for a bad cold. I was very impressed with the kindness of the staff, at breakfast too. The hotel is next to a quiet station and access is 100% flat even to the platform. Behind the station is the lake. You couldn't wish for better access!

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    One side near the railway, could be a little bit noisy.

    Very kind receptionist, who kindly changed our room for a more quiet one when we found the hotel was close to the railway. You can see the beautiful lake from the restaurant on the top of the hotel. Or you can just walk aroud the scenic lake. The breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My single room was quite small, there was no air conditioning and it got very hot. Opening of the windows was not possible due to the noise coming from the restaurant below and the train station just in front.

    I had requested gluten and lactose free items for breakfast and the stuff knew about it and were well prepared!

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didn't like reception ,staff and location.Not good management. Not good services. During my stay in the hotel we had many problems. During last 15 years I was in many hotels in different countries honestly I didn't have experience like this hotel that staff be unfriendly with guests.

    In this hotel nothing for like.staff so rude and unfriendly. They are so unhappy some people can travel and enjoy it

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    But on the flip-side, noises of trains are quite annoying, especially at night. Besides the hotel isn't air-conditioned (from what we experienced). It might be tough for some people at summer times.

    Location-wise the hotel is perfect! It's situated right next to a train station (Horgen). Takes only 2-3 minutes to reach the hotel from station.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No air conditioner in rooms. Found a very dirty towel in our room.

    A great selection of food to choose from for breakfast. Hotel located exactly in front of the river and a great place to have a walk. Free coffee and water. Perfect location to reach other places in Switzerland.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    May be another member of staff at check out time? A large "fussy" party was leaving so did have to wait some time to check out. Also 2nd visit and the 2nd time the lifts have stopped working.

    Friendly staff. Very polite. Very happy I was given the same room as my previous stay (unsure if on purpose or a coincidence) but had a great view. Thank you.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast could be better

    Location is very good just next to train station and next to the lake. There are also baths in the rooms. Some rooms have lake view which is perfect.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was not up to Swiss standards. Limited fare and not particularly tasty. Dinner in the top floor restaurant was markedly better.

    relatively reasonable price and value located adjacent to all modes of public transit.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bathrooms are too old.The room was not clean enough. The photo of the hotels looks nice but when you see the hotel it is completely different. It is not a romantic lake side hotel whereas they wanna sell the hotel like this . There is a train center between lake and hotel. Hotel is a very old building.

    Nothing.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overpriced for what it is. Small room with poor ventilation, opening the window let it the noise.

    Hotel was clean, the bed comfortable and a good breakfast was available.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Almost nothing except for a request for a room facing the lake that was not met (but still received a side view in the 4th floor).

    General comfort of the room / Very good design of the bathroom + very hot water in the shower / Free drinkable still and sparkling water in the corridor of the floor / Free self-ironing service available in the floor / Large and convenient private underground parking / Nice and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The weather on that occasion

    Nice breakfast and breakfast room, friendly personnel, good matresses

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The shortness of my stay.

    Everything was refreshing about the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful view out the window to the lake. Option of price reduction if you don't get the room cleaned.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely breakfast buffet!

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    N/A

    Gym facilities Strong internet Friendly and attentive staff

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff position lovely setting

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location....great views of the lake.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Location

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had problem to find how the hairdryer worked

    Very friendly reception and service.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nil

    New and nice room

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Towel slippers would be appreciated

    Location

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No hotel bar

    Fantastic position for lake and transport connections. Magnificent gym.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location, the breakfast

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no a/c in the room and noise from near train station with open windows

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - bathroom light switch inside bathroom (very rare) - aircon - friendly, helpful staff - location close to lake, ferry and railway

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Bedroom too small and hot.

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Meierhof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: