Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Harder Minerva 3 stars

Harderstrasse 15, 3800 Interlaken, Switzerland

#51 of 51 hotels in Interlaken

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 171 hotel reviews

6.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    5.8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    5.7

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    5.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.4
    Does the job, albeit poorly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facility is old and the room really showed the years. The walls are paper thin so the other guests' (several) loud noises could be heard well. The breakfast was enough in terms of offer, but the very empty and old space where it was served gave it a somewhat sombre atmosphere. The handling of the check out was very bizarre as I had received notifications that the payment would be handled at the property, but nobody at the property could confirm if the night was paid! In addition, the manager was not on site and none of the employees seemed capable to explain or help... eventually, we had to leave as we had a commitment to attend to, but overall very confusing experience. I kept telling myself "it's only for one night", but it was definitely very lacking and put a negative blemish on an otherwise lovely weekend.

    It's a good location in town, not far away from the station by foot. It was a one-night stay for a trip and it did the job, although it was very rough around the edges in terms of comfort.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.0
    The worst three-stars hotel I have ever stayed in my life
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m not sure why this hotel got three-stars. If price was cheap, it was acceptable just to sleep, but price was too expensive for three-stars class with such quality. The rooms were so dirty that there were many spots on carpets and walls, smelled like sewage. The bed linens were tacky, smelly and damp. The hotel is fully booked by Asian group tours and the smell of the grand floor Chinese restaurant easily comes in and stays at in the rooms so long. The security was terrible because all the room keys are hung at the unattended entrance and these keys are easily taken by anybody. Breakfast is too minimal and you can have it dark and damped at Chinese restaurant. Hotel manager was very kind and helped our stay so much, but even with such great hotel manager I can’t stop giving you negative feedback. If you enjoy your stay at Interlaken, please reconsider to find another hotels or Airbnb especially for family travellers.

    Hotel manager was very kind and had a great hospitality.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.8
    Average hotel. Great Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Looks like and old building and the hotel. Rooms are small but reasonable. It is a small but expensive hotel. Good enough for 2-3 days stay.

    Location was great. Wifi was ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.5
    Proximity to the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity to the town. It is a tired hotel, not rundown (yet) just tired, It needs some serious injection of effort to build it back up. In its day it would have been wonderful as can be seen in the breakfast room - you can visualise what this place must have been like and the stories it could tell.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    AMAZING HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is historic and absolutely beautiful, the staff are amazing and we could not thank them enough for their amazing hospitality. When we come back to Switzerland we will definitely be staying here again. The perfect hotel with the best staff!! Everything you need

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    4.6
    breakfast was ok and the old dining room in this hotel is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedroom had stains &/or burns and marks in the carpet. The bathroom stunk - something like a sewer smell.

    breakfast was ok and the old dining room in this hotel is interesting

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.7
    Great location and friendly Manager!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast spread is extremely limited and housekeeping staff needs to be more attentive to details.

    Location is fantastic and Manager is very friendly and flexible for offering something beyond the normal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.8
    Location was good!
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    toilet and shower is very small and no accessories. we've been told by the reciptionest that if we dropped water on the floor , we will be charged .. actually the toilet is small and no window inside!

    Location was good!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception is not all day. When we arrived a 3pm we had to wait and eventually someone came but she didn't smile at all. But later we met another lady at reception who was very helpful. The hotel itself need attention. The room was fine though. The breakfast was minimal, I do not recommend you pay for it, go outside instead, the town is a one min walk away.

    Great location, within walking distance of the town and station. Nice room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.3
    When we checked in they did not have the room we had booked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpeting on the stairs and hallways is really old and there was a very heavy smell of cigarette smoke. I was happy to see that the bedroom we were in had a hard floor and no smell of smoke.

    When we checked in they did not have the room we had booked so we were upgraded to a larger room :) So that worked out well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location with good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were like been using for 10 years, otherwise all is fine.

    The room is bigger than we thought; actually not that huge but we didn't expect anything big in Europe. This room is big enought to sqeeze 3 of us in. The hotel is in very good area; close to transportation (5minutes walk to train station and pass all along with interesting shops). Restaurants and convenient stores are nereby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.2
    much better than it appears 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the check out time of 10.30 is a bit too early.

    hotel was old style, but rooms newly refurbised, bed very comfy and the view through the window was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable bed, good view, not great staff or facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on the smaller side and had an unusual smell. There was no safe. We asked for a late check out 12pm (1 hour late) and arrive back to our room at 11:30am, with the key, to find our bags in the hallway. There was no staff to be found ANYWHERE, including the front desk. We were in jeopardy of missing our train in efforts to find a staff member, so ended up leaving the key on the front desk and left.

    The bed was super comfortable and we had a view of Harder Klum from the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    7.9
    Value for mOney
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom was TINY .The carpets need to be ripped off and replaced. We did not have hot water one day- possibly because a tour emptied the boiler... they were so rowdy - no respect for other passengers/travellers but the manager was very supportive when i complained. It is evident that walls are extremely thin ...

    Breakfast was great. Beds were comfortable. Good location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.1
    Good location to see Interlaken but travel light.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, bed was too soft for us, no room ventilation other than opening a window.

    Location was great. Close to park where paragliders come in, close to restaurants and main strip. Service from the manager was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    5.4
    Harder Minerva
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets in the room needed to be replaced, they were very stained and worn. The dining room for breakfast lacked about atmosphere. The hairdryer in the room did not work.

    The location and the staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel manager!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a bit dated. Breakfast was weak.

    Nice hotel manager!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    3.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its an old haunted place. No proper management. And not worth the money they charge.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    5.0
    I don’t like it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs and breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast did not have an appropriate offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast did not have an appropriate offer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Great value for money and really great stay! Thanks :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really great place!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated, and for one night it was freezing as the heating in our room did not work.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    It was an ok choice
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Irresponsibility of staff

    Owner and location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could not provide a breakfast which suits a diabetic person. Variety was limited and all are suger based.

    The staff was very nice and welcoming

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Hotel that value their guest a lot
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly Manager and staffs. They really value the guest staying with them

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    2.9
    Sheets were clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Smell of urine in the bathroom and the standard of service or lack of

    Sheets were clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was so-so

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.5
    A great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not good

    A great location, helping staff and very good wifi

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    3.8
    Stay only if travelling alone and you need a place just to sleep & take a shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    poor ventilation & care

    nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.9
    Excellent Hotel Manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel Manager was very friendly went the extra mile to make us feel welcomed! It has been a very pleasant stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.8
    Located 8min walk away from Interlaken West
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its affordable. Fits into budget.

    Located 8min walk away from Interlaken West

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    8.3
    Location of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast is the same from day 1 till the last day

    Location of the hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old infrastructure

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    5.0
    Breakfast is very bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast is very bad. Breakfast timing is 7-9. But most of the items got over by 8 itself. Poor lighting inside the room. Bed not sufficient for a couple.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    7.9
    The bed is very comfortable , almost the most comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast is not that tasty, and the traveling groups in this hotel are quite noisy.

    The bed is very comfortable , almost the most comfortable bed that I have ever experienced. Price is acceptable, and the location is good.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    3.3
    Close to central location and bus stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very dirty and small rooms. Bed not at all comfortable and hardly any space to move around. Bathroom very dirty. Staff very rude and un-professional

    Close to central location and bus stop

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    7.1
    Location beside the main street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Outdated decor. Lift not working. Old carpets.

    Location beside the main street. Nice staff. Good coffee. Close to Coop (you know what I mean when you will get there ;) ) Nice view from the window overlooking Alps.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    7.5
    We used the hotel as a base.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No safe in room. Double bed one side was against Wall.You could hear lift noise. Lift broke the morning we left and had to cart our luggage down 3 Stories.

    We used the hotel as a base. The price was right. Hari was very helpful in finding tourist locations. This is not a 4 or 5 star hotel. Very basic but filled our needs. Pub and Restaurants 2 minute walk.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    7.5
    The rooms were nice and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was a disappointment. Beds were very soft (far too soft for my liking). Rooms were VERY noisy - more specificically, you can hear everything happening in the halls. Was woken up several times by drunken hotel guests at all hours of the night/wee hours of the morning trying to get into their rooms. Not impressed!!

    The rooms were nice and modern. Very clean. Shower was great!! Good water pressure. In a good location also. Great pub behind the hotel. Free parking after 7pm.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    2.5
    Nothing everything was horrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    TV doesn't work, wifi has low signal, breakfast was horrible, they refused to call taxi for us when i was unable to walk due to injury. So horrible staff. Never stay here.

    Nothing everything was horrible.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    7.1
    Good location to go to Alps.
    • Couple

    We could not sleep at all night. The walls were really slim and we could hear noise in the next room. Everything they do, it could be hear (shower, steps...). They were really noisy guests, very impolite and no considerate. It was a very bad night. We could not rest.

    Good location to go to Alps. Very nice town surrounded by mountains.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    7.1
    Good location, not far from lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didnt had internet one day. But that wasnt so important.

    Good location, not far from lake. We were by our car. Very beautiful lake. Personal gave us for free public transport ticket in city. By car we traveled all arount both lakes, road goes 2m from water. VERY beautiful!!!!!!

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    7.5
    The hotel is very close to the town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No free carpark provided. Fortunately, no carpark fee payable during the hours 19:00 to 07:00.

    The hotel is very close to the town centre. Breakfast, in the form of buffet, was nice and rich.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    6.3
    The room was nice with good & clean furniture but heater...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    During my stay for 2 days, hotel lobby was closed from 1130 am to 2 pm..which means if you come between this time to check in, you have to wait till 2pm to check in..although the stated checkin time is 1pm

    The room was nice with good & clean furniture but heater is turned off at night ..which is very strange & not good :(

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    4.2
    the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the receptionist was never around. we had to try 3 times to check in before we saw him. the housekeeping that would come out cannot help the client, nor do they try to help the clients. the carpeting in the hallway and rooms are stain and worn down. You can hear every conversation between the room walls and hallway.

    the location

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    5.0
    The hotel is definitely not a 3 star hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is definitely not a 3 star hotel! Very old rooms, the sink is actually located in the room, not in the bathroom! Dirty elevator, etc. Poor breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    5.4
    That we wanted to be at Interlaken.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - No parking - Staff not experienced and not nice. - Not very deep clean - Old hotel.

    That we wanted to be at Interlaken....and the hotel is there.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.9
    Easy 10 min walk from Interlaken West.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Soaking wet carpet outside of bathroom; bathroom door was warped and would not shut - awkward! Might have been ok had we been in a different room (arriving after midnight and leaving first thing wasn't worth switching rooms).

    Easy 10 min walk from Interlaken West. Was able to call and get in easily despite late (after midnight) arrival.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    4.6
    We got to our hotel and immediately checked for bed bugs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We got to our hotel and immediately checked for bed bugs (this is something we do everytime we travel). There were two under one of the pillows. We immediately left our room and called the receptionist (it was after hours). I explained that there were bed bugs but she was not familiar with what they were. I explained they were awful and that we wanted a full refund since we would not be staying at the hotel that night. Thankfully another hotel across the street had rooms availble and we checked in with them at 11pm. Hotel Minerva refunded us the next morning. Be careful of bed bugs!!

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    4.6
    Good location near the town green.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Concierge was very helpful when we showed up with our nephew and needed a cot for him to sleep. Switched our room to accommodate him at a nominal charge.

    Good location near the town green.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    10
    great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If can provide some hot food for breakfast like fried eggs, baked mushrooms, tomato will be much better.

    great location. really close to both ost and west train station,the tourist information center and casino.staffs are very friendly. I arrived very late, before I came, they asked me my arrival time and wait for me with patient. Good price as well. really recommend this hotel if you visit interlaken.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    8.8
    Nice hotel with a scenic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing as such

    Nice hotel with a scenic location. Very close to Interlaken West station. Customer friendly policies.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    4.2
    Rooms were spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms were spacious

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    7.9
    Great location - very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location - very central Nice clean tidy room Lovely clean modern bathroom Tea/coffee facilities

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    7.5
    Internet was good, fast and reliable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was not good. Need to be replaced.

    Internet was good, fast and reliable. Basic hotel to rest and sleep after long day exploring interlaken.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    6.7
    Hotel provides basic breakfast and location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The toilet had a foul smell, but was still bearable.

    Hotel provides basic breakfast and location was good. Staff was friendly.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    7.9
    Staff is very kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff is very kind. Room clean.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    7.9
    best value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    best value for money

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    7.5
    Location is quite good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could be better.

    Location is quite good

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    7.9
    Location excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast could have been better...breakfast room very big & cold.

    Location excellent.....bus and train station both within walking distance.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could have better options....

    Everything....

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    5.0
    Heater not warm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Heater not warm

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    5.4
    Poor breakfast, dining area smelt of last nights Chinese...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Poor breakfast, dining area smelt of last nights Chinese dinner service

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    7.5
    The best location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Expensive. Caro

    The best location. A melhor localização.

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    2.9
    Someone knocking our doors in the midnight a lot of times...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Someone knocking our doors in the midnight a lot of times and we can hear everything outside in our room! All the equipment are old and horrible

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    4.6
    The male receptionist
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dirty furniture in the rooms, carpets old and dirty.

    The male receptionist

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    9.6
    Excellent staff and location at an affordable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent staff and location at an affordable price

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    2.5
    None
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast

    None

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.2
    the receptionist gave us a lot of great tips, she was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing comes in mind

    the receptionist gave us a lot of great tips, she was wonderful. the rooms are large and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    6.7
    No one at the reception after 3 PM, had to call a number to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No one at the reception after 3 PM, had to call a number to request check in

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    6.7
    Location
    • Couple

    Staff . One guy serving resciption as same time resturant so i have to wait to get served

    Location

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    5.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was bad, old hotel, no staff, the bed was not comfortable at all.

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    4.2
    ???
    • Family with older children

    breakfast is not enough after 8:30 am

    ???

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    7.9
    Very kind and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Less options for vegetarian food in restaurants

    Very kind and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    10
    Room and Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room and Service

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: