Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Thermal Hotels & Walliser Alpentherme Leukerbad 3 stars

Dorfplatz 1, 3954 Leukerbad, Switzerland

#40 of 56 hotels in Leukerbad

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1664 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Outstanding experience !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outstanding experience !!! They were able to overdeliver what was expected. Large family room, thermal baths of the hotels ( indoor, outdoor, + one very hot indoor bath), excellent breakfast (really good , with splendid view of the moutains!) and +(what was not expected) free valet parking (even until late afternoon of the checkout day), discount on the main thermal bath of the city for the next day, free minibar, free access to the public thermal bath in front of the hotel. And well, excellent service from the staff, always kindly and ready to help. Thanks !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice older hotel with relaxing thermal baths and spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Bain Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing we found odd was that we were there in late June and it was "off-season" so many things were closed. And the very friendly hotel receptionist directed us twice to a restaurant that was closed, which we thought odd as you'd think the staff in a tiny town like this would know these things. Not a big deal though.

    The best part of this hotel is that it had thermal baths!!! We hiked over the pass from Kandersteg with packs and soaking in the baths was a welcome relief. They are spacious and clean and there is a sauna, an indoor pool and an outdoor pool with jets. The room was nice--the typical Swiss room with two close together twin beds. Perfectly comfortable and plenty of space. I read a review saying the hotel was run-down---it is not. It is merely an old building. Imagine you have some flooring in your house that is perfectly fine but if you wanted to really show off and had money to spend, you'd replace it. But you don't need to. That's how our room was. The restaurant associated with the hotel across the street was fantastic! The breakfast was amazing--a magnificent spread. The staff kindly let us stow our bags during the day and use the baths all morning before we caught our bus to the next leg of our journey.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.3
    friendly but but shabby and overrated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Bain King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was dirty and shabby, and wifi was not working, also not the next day. The hotel is nice, but certainly overpriced for a 3* which hasn't been renovated for ages. Carpets and furniture are disgusting...

    staff was nice and professional, they invited us to the thermal bath. Nice views and mountains.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    We stayed in the Hotel de France (accross the main building)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the Hotel de France (accross the main building) - was renovated a year ago and is now very nice. Good breakfast (as usual in this hotel), and during our stay not only the entrance in the hotel-own spa is included, but also in the Alpentherme :-) .-)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.8
    Nothing special. Old rooms, non renovated. Dont expect something special. Very modest room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are totally outdated and used. We can see that it was used and not renovate since years. Although it was proper, the facilities in the room are used and not modern. When you arrive in the hotel, the reception is very modern. But when coming in the room, you are disappointed. If you look something modern and fresh or renovate, you can forget. It's a mass product for mass people. But the pricing is too much for what it is.

    Hotel is 2 min from the thermal pool and hotel self has thermal pools. Parking is perfect. Guy take your car and park it for you. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Central and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Bain King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a bit shabby now, but all in all great experience.

    Central and comfortable. Quiet rooms and good service. While it may seem a bit pricey for what it is the discount at the Walliser Alpentherme & Spa next door make it a good deal. Also the free baths at the hotel are decent. Breakfast also nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    Location and breakfast was good stuff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked 2 single rooms one of the rooms had double bed and was good room size where the other one had very small bed with small toilet, what we didn’t like we were charged same rate for these room. Also weekend rates are more expensive then during the week. Over all we enjoyed our stay.

    Location and breakfast was good stuff friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    5.0
    Huge disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Panoramic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have stayed in this hotel many times during the last 22 years. Unfortunately, we experienced the down fall of this, once a great, hotel during the years. The major attraction for our repeating returning to this hotel was its in-house hot pools and sauna area. Although the hotel has decreased its service level, the rooms had been wearing down, we still loved their in-house hot water pools. This time we booked a suite--their best rooms. Upon check-in, we did not get the room as it was previously agreed. There were two lamps in the room that did not function, where they could change one of them. One of the windows could not be closed, after it was repaired, we were told not to open it again. The heating equipment that is only one meter beside the bed made noise constantly, so it disturbed our night sleep. However, the biggest shock is when we went to the out-door pool: we met an extremely dirty pool with dark green algae covering the bottom and wall of the pool. When we touch the bottom, it was slippery due to the algae. The other two pools were also dirty. My daughter and I had very red eyes in 48 hours. We shortened our stay from 6 to 2 nights!

    The breakfast is good with nice fresh croissants and good coffee. The location is still good for skiing and wellness combined. Some of the staff we met are friendly and service minded.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    Good value place to ski & relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of fried food in the Hotel de France annex in entrance and corridors.

    Nice rooms & prime location in centre & right next to main baths. Free shuttle to the ski lifts in am. Cute village in dramatic landscape.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Great stay. Leukerbad, with its hot baths and spectacular winter walking, is great for non-skiiers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Bain Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As other reviewers have said the decor was a little dated and dark throughout the hotel. However it was clean and comfortable.

    Breakfast was really great. A lot of variety and excellent service. The hotel swimming pool exceeded my expectations as there wasnt very much about it on the website. It was not in service the first day we were there which meant we were offered free access to the main thermal paths you reach through underground tunnels. This was a big plus!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel in leukerbad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maison Blanche King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t go to baths after check out and had left the hotel, while others checked out in bathing suit and went to the baths nevertheless. Minor point.

    Bath in the hotel (free), bigger baths connecting from the hotel (need to pay entrance). Breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    5.0
    Such a shame for such a nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Maison Blanche King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Worst thing about the stay was that the mattress of one of the beds was broken and I had springs sticking into my back. Staff gave me an extra blanket which made it bearable. The room was small and charmless, needless to say that the whole hotel is out of fashion, but at least it is tidy. In our room, the bathroom was in a terrible state, clean but so old it looked like it could fall apart. The shower tray's enamel was broken (see picture), the hairdryer did not work, staff gave me another one that worked, but later in the day and the shower gel smelled of aftershave (not so pleasant one). The linen was synthetic, cheap and uncomfortable. I did not sleep well and was not satisfied with the stay, which I explained to the person in charge and did not get any refund or discount or even sympathy. It seemed like he was used to it. Whatever you do, don't book room #342. I would even suggest you book another hotel just a hundred meters away: Parkhotel Quellenhof, which does not provide tunnels but where we had a wonderful dinner and appreciated the quality and charm of the restaurant and the pleasantness of the staff, this place seems absolutely fabulous and on some nights even cheaper !

    The real good point about this hotel is that tunnels lead you to the Alpentherme without having to go outside. The location is excellent as it is at the top of the village of Leukerbad. Staff was nice. Hotel spa was pleasant and clean, although very old-fashioned, it looked like it had been built a hundred years ago. Breakfast buffet was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    4.2
    The place is old, not very well maintained and there is a big issue with the staff. 2 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maison Blanche King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Majority of the staff members are not interested in the guests, on the contrary they treat us (guests) like being a pain.

    Some staff membres are great, mainly at reception and the housekeeping part.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.3
    The kindness of the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Maison Blanche Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small and had no views. Breakfast room was crowded and we had to line up to get our coffee from the machine.

    The kindness of the staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    5.0
    The food at the breakfast was cold, hotel stuff not helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Bain King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food at the breakfast was cold, hotel stuff not helpful, we were entitled to the 10% discount for the ski pass, but hotel did not tell us about it when we were asking for the directions to the ski lift!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.1
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maison Blanche King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the beginning we were given the wrong room. Staff in a hurry to close the breakfast buffet at 10am, taking out all the food when many guests were still eating - not at all nice. Long queues for check-out.

    Very good location. Lovelly village. Good breakfast. Very pleasant indoor and outdoor pools. Right next to the main spa. Good parking option for 14 CHF per day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    6.7
    Relaxing but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Bain King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff poorly trained, gave conflicting answers but were friendly.Very disorganised. All facilities cost extra. The free hotel pools were slimy, so not properly cleaned. It was a confusing maze to find whatever you needed. No coffee or tea service in room. Very little is as advertised, and the big pool and spa are extra, when the advertising indicates they are included. Check in took 2 hours - promised an upgrade in compensation, but it never happened. Other hotels in the area are way cheaper, even adding the extra half spa cost.

    The thermal pools and the view. Restaurant meals were good but limited for vegetarians. Not the selection they advertised.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    6.3
    The town is nice. The hotel is disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maison Blanche King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is far from lobby, small, not ventilate enough, on the ground floor which the pedestrians on street may knock out window. The nice Walliser Spa is actually not included in the package. And the front desk staff told us a wrong place for breakfast.

    Nice environment in Leukerbad.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.9
    Overall great with great fcailities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maison Blanche King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was very crowded with a wait for a table and food. Also checkout was crowded and slow.

    Room was good with a great view. The spa facilities were excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.3
    Very close to the leukerbad, just next to it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Bain King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is 1 men staff at the pool was not friendly with Asian, very disappointed, but the rest of the staff was kind. The pool was a little bit confused us to get into it.

    Very close to the leukerbad, just next to it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • De France King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decor is a bit outdated. During our stay, the carpet in the walkway was flooded. It was being fixed on the day of our departure.

    There is little to complain about. All staff were friendly and very helpful. The spa facilities were incredible. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.1
    Good value for the discounted price paid. Would not pay full price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maison Blanche King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleaner not clean the room or removed dirty glasses. The hotel looked tired and desperate need of a refurb.

    The spa facilities were good and there was a good breakfast buffet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.5
    Very nice overall but the hotel could improve the service level (not enough staff).
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • De France Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service could have been better. There was not enough staff, so there were line ups to use the spa, line ups to check out etc. Also, for a wellness hotel I would expect a few little extras, like kettle in the room to make tea, and tea/water available at the spa.

    The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Perfect Gateway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • De France Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Leukerbad is absolutely amazing especially in winter season where you can swim in hot thermal water while it’s snowing on your head such an amazing experience The walliser center is great the sauna village is really nice and relaxing ,the irish roman bath is a must do especially for couples it costs 52CH per person for two hours where you can enjoy two hours in an area especially reserved for you. The hotel is verh comfortable and clean big bathroom comfy beds spacious room and most of all amazing view on the village especially when it’s snowing Fulfilling breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    This was my first visit to a spa hotel, it will not be my last.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • De France Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wifi, but the hotel is aware of the problem and is trying to rectify it.

    Excellent choice of foods, so whatever your fancy, it can be accommodated!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    Rooms are renovated and good .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • De France King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking very badly organized . The bath / thermal area of the hotel is very poor ( old and not very clean) . Fortunately, the hotel is linked with a thermal center that is great . Still additional cost ( with 50% discount )

    Rooms are renovated and good .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    6.7
    Outdoor pool was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • De France King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The steamroom didnt smell very nice. The grotto pool was in need of decorating. In general the place was just a little run down and in need of a serious refurb - carpets, bathrooms etc.

    Outdoor pool was lovely. Bedroom was quaint and the bed was comfortable. The sauna was great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    It's convenient if your goal is to use Thermal spas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maison Blanche King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and bathroom was a bit shabby, they shouldn't use these rooms for guests because it might be clean but it certainly doesn't feel fresh...

    Breakfast was very good and location was excellent. Enjoyed Spa area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    The hotel was clean and spacious, the staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was clean and spacious, the staff were very helpful, polite and friendly. Restaurant - food of a great quality and great value 4 courses for 45 chf. Thermal spa, in such an amazing setting, a real experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.7
    Great - exept a unbelieveable checkout
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • De France Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms in the Maison blanche building are simple and need renovation - but everything is very clean. Unfortunately the check-out process was a nightmare. It has taken us 35 Minutes to check-out. One single line with angry customers. Other personnel where present in the "manager of duty office" - but have not opened up a second line. The process itself needs improvements. Example: We had to pay with our credit-card before presenting us the bill. The answer to our question: This is our standard process and if something is wrong with the bill we will cancel your payment and start again. Recommendation: Just throw your keys to the service desk and leave (like a express check-out in other hotels) - they have all the information needed. Last experience stays in memory. Too bad to get treated this way at check-out after a otherwise nice stay in this hotel. Not sure we want to come back again (and heard the same comment from other guests waiting in the queue).

    Great location. Hotel-Spa (free of charge) and Alpentherme are both very nice. One of the best breakfast buffet we ever had.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    Good option for enjoying leukerbad baths
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • De France King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor felt a bit dated - in need of modernisation. Some parts of the hotel were a bit scruffy. Weren't able to let us check in an hour early unlike other hotels we have visited in Switzerland.

    Breakfast was great - lots of different options. Staff were helpful. Good discount on access to public baths. Quiet bedroom. Good location to restaurants in town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maison Blanche King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Cozy. Traveler must to have hot spring in outside of the hotel. It will show great experience. Clean and good bed. I really enjoyed it. Staffs were so kind.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    This one of the hotels I would recommend for visiting: good...
    • Family with young children
    • Maison Blanche Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This one of the hotels I would recommend for visiting: good location, complete relaxation and calmness, friendly staff and it is quite clean everywhere. I have not seen such a tremendously clean dining HALL ready for breakfast- as if they have been waiting for the royal family not us! If you take into consideration the Thermal basin and saunas available for the same price you will understand how lucky you are. Thanks a lot. I wish this hotel prosperity! It is good for investing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.5
    I must recognize that breakfast was excellent. I spent a good time at the Thermal pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • De France Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out at 11 hrs and I couldn't leave my luggage. Basically, check in out at 15hrs then 11hrs you must be out and I want to pay to continue the thermal but I had not a real answer. They should be cleared with the guests.

    The bed was the size of a sofa? I could not sleep at all. I rather pay more next time and have a relaxing time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    6.3
    Not impressed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value vs. price...at the daily rate I could have stayed in Waikiki or at the Bellagio! Tv did not work, room cleaning missed cleaning our room! So in conclusion the place is nothing spectacular look for cheaper alternative!

    The baths and breakfast! Staff was awesome very helpfull!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    5.8
    seems to cater mainly for bus tours?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maison Blanche King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking in garage some distance away from hotel, sent to regular pay parking facility.. driving there, walking back, chf14 per night to park in addition to cost of stay. seemed a little dated/dilapidated? overall could do with some renovation.

    breakfast, proximity to mountains, spa facilities

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    4.6
    Would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • De France Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was not helpful; receptionist had a surly attitude. We had a twin room confirmed, and she sent us to a double when we arrived -- my daughter was in a wheelchair, so I had to wheel her and deal with the luggage, and then we arrived at the room and saw that it was not the twin that had been confirmed. I called the receptionist to ask them to send someone to help us with the bags so that I could just push my daughter's wheelchair, but no one answered. So I had to repeat the journey back, pushing wheelchair + dealing with luggage. Not a nice way to start a weekend break. Receptionist also told me that it was more expensive booking through Booking.com.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    5.0
    Short stay but will not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were uncomfortable & the pillows are the worst I have ever used in any hotel. I reserved the family room on line with one adult & two kids & was not told of the extra charges for having 3 people in the room, even if they did not need to put any extra beds in the room. The room and bathroom is dated & in major need of refurbishment. The clotheshanger in bathroom is broken. The room was not particularly clean (dead flies on the windowsill). The spa area is very dated & in need of a major update.

    The breakfast was good with ample selection. The location is very central and convenient to all amenities. The restaurant attached to the hotel was good & reasonably priced, even if the service was a little slow. Very convenient underground connection to the Alpentherme Spa.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    6.7
    We have stayed here many times over the years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast table with chef making freshly fried eggs, pancakes could be brought back. A telephone operator to answer the hotel phone would be brilliant - this might actually bring more customers.

    We have stayed here many times over the years. Unfortunately, the property has gone down. The service (really due to lack of staff) is poor.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    5.8
    Great location, terrible execution
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filthy, stinking hallways and an ambiance of youth hostel. In-hotel spa was mold-covered and semi functional. Bar service in pool area never materialized despite posters and bell advertising it. Staff claimed that "in our country a king room is a single bed for one person..." so we had 4 twin beds for 5 people. Good job they had a spare room available.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    4.6
    Connected to the public bath but overprice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • De France King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    We book on a De France King Room - Annex which is an old building. For the price we paid we should have at least free bottled water and coffee/tea inside the room. Nothing special but an old room and need refurbishment. Beds are separating midway because it's a combination of 2 single beds at least they should bind the legs of the beds to avoid moving. For it's price it is overrated. Breakfast is nothing special.

    Only good thing is you have 2 options on the thermal bath the one owned by the hotel and the public bath which is bigger but must pay extra 15CHF/person.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    6.7
    Not what it used to be, but still nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Maison Blanche Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is clearly on hold. The pools are not being maintained as they should be. The rooms are tired. The once fabulous breakfast buffet is now just ok. It's a grand hotel and needs to be refurbished under new management. I do hope this happens soon.

    The pools are still quite nice. The piano bar is great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    6.3
    Nice hotel but needs renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maison Blanche King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At our arrival, we were told that the room would be ready at 15h. We came back at 16h and still had to wait until 16:30h. The Lady at the reception gave us a voucher for a welcome drink as a compensation for our inconvenience, she said. In my memory, we have always received a voucher for a welcome drink. This was nothing special. Our room was spacious, but the sofa had cigarette marks and the sink in the bathroom had scratches which looked like cut fingernails at the first sight. Overall, the rooms need some refreshment.

    Very good breakfast, own thermal baths, nicely located hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    7.5
    Good clean hotel with in perfect location with a very good infrastructure & unfriendly personnel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • De France Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personalmangel! Reception will drive you CRAZY! You will need hours to get any kind of info! One person is serving a crowd. I got a room card and as soon as I wanted to ask about things like ski room, ski pass etc... the girl was talking to the "NEXT". I received the ski reduction card only because while buying ski tickets the selling person told me that I have to ask for it in my hotel. So... because the people are so overloaded they seem to be unfriendly.

    Frühstück- perfekt! Bett- auch bequem. Sehr sauber. Perfekte Lage nicht weit von der Gondelbahn;im Zentrum; Thermalbad in dem Hotel ist sehr gut. Very good infrastructure.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    7.1
    The in-house spa is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maison Blanche King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I agree with what others have written, the hotel could do with a renovation. It is too expensive for what it offers. The Alpentherme is not worth the money - it only has 2 pools! overall this was a very expensive trip, everything in Leukerbad is way overprized - you can have more for a lot less money in Austrian spa towns. - which is where we will go again next time

    The in-house spa is great. The breakfast is very good. The staff was friendly. The location is wonderful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    7.1
    Wellness weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Maison Blanche Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Swimming pool area poor in relation to jacuzzi etc, it is not possible to get room before 15:00-very strict timelines.

    Comfortable bed, good location, well maintain hotel with design from '90 will require soon general upgrade. Very good breakfast-variety of options. Good wifi.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maison Blanche King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be better if renovated and also it could be more comfortable if we had 2 bathrobes per person as they get wet and dirty easily and if you go twice a day at the baths it doesn't feel nice going with the same wet bathrobe...

    The baths of the hotel were really nice and quiet too!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    8.8
    Spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maison Blanche King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spacious room Delicious and rich breakfast Underground connection to Alpentherme Spa facilities The piano player every afternoon till late in the night The late check-out possibility

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    7.5
    When we arrived Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • De France King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived Booking.com had told the hotel we booked a twin room - whereas infact i had booked a king room and had the confirmation to confirm. Apparently this was the 4th time that day the hotel had the same issue. Luckily the hotel could change our room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    9.2
    Staff really friendly on arrival, Gave us a map where to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maison Blanche King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff really friendly on arrival, Gave us a map where to park the car. Bit of a splurge stay for us but was only overnight. Rooms are nice clean and cosy and spacious, bathroom is okay, I think normal for European taste. Spacious and clean. Definitely a nice place to stay. We didn't use the hotel hot springs/pool but we went to the famous ones across the road (there's an underground passage that takes you straight there which was perfect because it was snowing!). The outdoor hot spring was just amazing and we were able to walk there in the fluffy towel robe and slippers provided. Breakfast amazing - great selection. Overall really nice. A bit pricey but a good treat.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    5.4
    Too expensive for the services and quality this hotel provides
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maison Blanche King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom sink didn't drain; small shower; shower head didn't stay in place when taking a shower; water temperature in shower fluctuated; bedding too hot; WiFi for only 3 devices

    The location of the hotel is good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    7.5
    Fine, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maison Blanche King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) Arrival time. Their site says "rooms available from 3pm". We arrived early (1pm) and were asked to come back a little later, although we did leave our bags in the (unguarded!) room near the reception. We came back at 2:40 and asked if the room was ready.. they didn't even call the cleaning staff, just said "no, sir, not before 3pm"... I expect better for this price, at least a quick-check with the cleaning staff to see if ours was ready. 2) Bar... can a hotel really have a bar that only opens at 5pm???? If you want a beer at 3pm or a drink after lunch you have to go over the road! 3) Furniture a little dated in the rooms, and no fridge. 4) Still some rennovation work going on there (e.g. corridoor/walkway roof going to the rooms), so maybe it'll improve.

    1) Staff were kind. 2) Pools in the hotel are nice, no real need to go to the main SpA at all. Not crowded if you avoid obvious "rush-hour" times. 3) Great pianist in the bar. 4) Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    8.8
    The service has much improved since my previous stay in 2015.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Bain Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    One of the managers in the restaurant De France was rude and unfriendly, luckily out of my four dinners there, I only met him once!

    The service has much improved since my previous stay in 2015. Most of the staff I met were friendly and service minded. Upon check-in, I was given a room which was just besides the elevator that made noise. I asked for room change, which was solved by a friendly staff and I god a much better room away from the noise. This good service has ensured a different and better experience fro me, therefore, it was very much appreciated. As every time I return to this hotel (numerous stays since 1996), the in-house thermal bath was the best attraction of this hotel. The room was clean and the towels changed. Wife connection was very good and stable. The breakfast is good, with fresh bread, fruits and excellent coffee from the machine. Overall, an excellent experience, will return again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    7.5
    great location and spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • De France King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was hectic with food not being topped up quickly when the buffet ran out.

    The hotel Spa and thermal pool was excellent. Close to the main thermal spa which was superb.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    7.9
    The property has changed ownership for the 3rd time in 2-3...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maison Blanche King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property has changed ownership for the 3rd time in 2-3 years. Some goodies granted by Lindner have been cut off by Heliopark and some more by the new owner. What next....?

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    4.6
    Bad choice for Christmas weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • De France King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    We checked in on Christmas eve, really looking forward to spending a nice weekend stay. BUT.... 1) no hot water in the bathroom! When we spoke to the receptionist, he suggested we take a dip in the external spa pool if we really needed to clean ourselves!!! 2) breakfast room was huge and yet under-staffed. Food trays were empty, only one coffee machine in entire dining room that had at least 40 tables, guests were drinking orange juice out of teacups! 3) check out took 40 minutes because there was only one receptionist working on Christmas Day. We couldn't wait to leave the place.

    Good location....that's about it.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    9.2
    A must visit village and spa!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maison Blanche King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very bad smell in lobby either from toilets or the spa area (?) Although a very nice bar area with fireplace, they didn't never put it on!

    The excellent view. Very nice spa areas Easy access to nearby villages and town.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    7.9
    Great thermal facilities inside the hotel!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maison Blanche King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the waiting lines in the front office broken facility in the room (the lamp doesnt work, the shelf is loose)

    the amenities in room are nice: slippers,bathrobes, chocolate ...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    6.3
    Do not book hotel de france
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • De France Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hôtel de France building was a dump...furniture broken and dated..beds were below comfort standard. The lift for direct access to the thermal baths was not working. The hotel information on booking.com was misleading..

    The staff and manager were very helpful and understanding. After I venting disappointment to the staff and manager, I was able to leave the room without being charged.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    6.3
    This hotel used to be one of the best of Leukerbad and the way things go, it is loosing its soul...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maison Blanche King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom are getting so hold... as well as the decorations The Chef who used to prepare omelette in the morning is no longer there

    The Staff was really great and very welcoming Extended the time for the bath

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    7.5
    A spa week-end at half price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maison Blanche King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need renovation- paint chipping of windows ; bathroom cupboard coming apart; carpet old and worn in places; pool still nice, but grounds need help; value for money only if à last minute deal ( or other major discounts); 50% off minimum.

    Love the area - mountain walks spectacular! Hotel 4 star w/ private spa Pool @ 36* & Grotto @ 39*; breakfast is still plentiful, even if there's less on offer than in the past. Nice bar area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    3.3
    Horrible!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Maison Blanche King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is one of the worst hotels I have ever been to! The hotel is absolutely overpriced, NOT clean and the facilities are old and dirty. I have seen a lot, but this hotel is among thr worst I've ever seen. In fact, we checked out 1 day earlier and took another hotel.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.9
    Comfortable hotel for a hiking holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maison Blanche Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Expensive parking.

    Very good breakfast, nice and friendly staff. Even found a pyjama offered on my bed. The hotel is nicely situated. We could use the baths from 7.00 am to 10 pm.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    7.5
    Centrally located and easy walking distance from the bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maison Blanche King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was a little tired and dated in its appearance but absolutely no impact on our stay at all. Merely an observation.

    Centrally located and easy walking distance from the bus terminal. Easy access to Alpentherme via the underground tunnel. Good range of breakfast options.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    7.1
    Good if you're going to Alpentherme
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • De France King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    When traveling in your car, This hotel is very very very very HARD to FIND (Your Navigation does not work) Old town's roads give your endless one-ways and dead ends. Plus, Parking makes you crazy too. You have to park your car in the Alpentherme's pakring lot and its entrance is on the opposite side of the town.

    Nice Room. Great Breakfast. Easy indoor access to the SPAs Comfortable Beds Get Discounts on Alpentherme entrance.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.2
    Lovely place! Definitely stay again there
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • De France Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning but it's so quiet at night so it's not a problem to open a window

    Very nice hotel, with lovely helpful staff, free spa in hotel and discount coupons for Alpentherme. Breakfast are tasty, big choice

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    9.2
    Great location and buffet breakfast, with its own thermal pools!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Bain Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the rooms are in need of a facelift, but they're still fine!

    We have been coming here twice or three times a year for many years. We love the buffet breakfast (a large selection of cold cuts and cheeses, many different kinds of bread and pastries, an omelet station, and hot foods like bacon, sausages, pancakes, etc., and beverages - although they no longer have Eilles loose leaf tea :-( ). There's an underground passage that leads from the hotel to the Alpentherme thermal baths, so you can go there in your bathrobe and slippers. There's also a discount on admission to the Alpentherme baths. The hotel has its own thermal pools (one indoor and one outdoor), which is great when you come back after a long hike and do not feel like paying admission at the Alpentherme thermal baths. The hotel is located just down the street from the Torrent cablecar (which goes up to the ski area), and near the Gemmi bahn (up Mount Gemmi to the Daubensee, a lake at 2,400 metres). Great hiking!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.2
    Location, location, location
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Bain Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning , but thank goodness the weather was cool, but I do not know what I would have done if it had been hot

    Location, location, location Great breakfast buffet!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • De France King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small for the price and dated. A renovation of the roons is quite necessary.

    The location is great, right next to one of the cablecars, the town's center and the region's famous spring-waters. Staff was lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Great view and good swimming pool and Sauna
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Bain King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view and good swimming pool and Sauna

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Panoramic Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very good. We stayed at Panorama View room which allowed us to use the public therme for free of charge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    Rilassante zona wellness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maison Blanche King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rilassante zona wellness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    great hotel, very nice and friendly staff, excellent book...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Maison Blanche Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    great hotel, very nice and friendly staff, excellent book selection that you can buy for 3 SF or borrow in several languages

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • De France Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    Every thing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • De France King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not thing

    Every thing!

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: