Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of J5 Hotels Helvetie Montreux 3 stars

Avenue du casino 32, 1820 Montreux, Switzerland

#28 of 40 hotels in Montreux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 855 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location. Beautiful building and friendly approachable staff. Renovations being done at the minute but didn’t cause us any inconvenience. Will definitely be back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Location is fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are really old; it needs to be renewed. Even though we have mentioned in the booking stage that is was our honeymoon; the hotel didnt do anything special. Meybe they do not read comments when we are making the booking; or they didnt care.

    Location is fine. Rooms are quite big. Breakfast is fine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    Older style hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is definitely an older style hotel, but OK for our 1-night stay. The front desk only provided the free bus passes when we asked rather than providing these at check in. The hotel is currently undergoing renovations however we were not really affected by this as we stayed over a weekend.

    The bus station is conveniently located close to the hotel and it's only a short walk to the lake. There is a nice cafe serving breakfast close to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location and a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No bedside lamps and on arrival our television did not work. This fault was rectified by the next day and in the meantime we were given access to an adjoining room to watch television. We were not aware that renovations were underway but this didn't really cause any inconvenience.

    Great location and very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.1
    The size of the room was huge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem was the plumbing in the bathroom and the wash sink was weak and the door of the bathroom also needs to be attended to.

    The size of the room was huge. The view from the balcony was great. The staff were quite friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel with a bit of character - the lidt was installed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only (minor) quibble was that the roof terrace (with some decent views) was locked on the Friday evening - while the weather wasn't brilliant it would have been nice to relax up there for a drink before turning in

    Nice hotel with a bit of character - the lidt was installed 107 years ago. Location is very handy, 10 mins walk to the railway station, bus route outside, and a 5 min walk to the waterfront

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    A good place in a lovely city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The balcony is close enough to other balconies that if someone is outside smoking, the cigarette smoke goes directly into your room.

    The room itself is very impressively large! A full bathtub/shower, which isn't as common in European hotels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.0
    A horrible mistake!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we step into our room (No. 487), we realized that it was freshly painted. We had to keep our windows open until midnight, because it was nearly impossible to breathe under that intense smell... It was nice to see a bidet in the bathroom (which is something very common in Italian hotels). We thought the hotel management was sensitive about cleanliness. What a mistake! We realized that the bidet had no faucet and water could only run down through the bowl. They even did not bother themselves to put a soap on the washbowl. Following the shower, it was not a very good news to learn that hairdryer was not working. And finally, we had to pay 62 USD extra for breakfast (2 pax), parking our car overnight and a bottle of water!

    It's a very nice historical building in the city center. But positive factors start and end there!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Best place and price to stay in the moddle of Montreux
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there is a renovation going on in the hotel, but it is not disturbing at all

    Super location in Motreux, few minutes walk to Freddy, very comfy and spacious room, fantastic view, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Charming, vintage, beautiful hotel with wonderful staff!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The biggest downside was the noise. The casino is across the street and fancy loud cars are unavoidable. We couldn't keep the doors open from the balcony during the night because it was loud.

    Kostas was absolutely amazing. He helped with everything we needed. The hotel is extremely old and full of charm, which we love. The view was nice and breakfast was delicious. They even gave us a fan for the warm nights. Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    One of the best hotel in my swiss trip !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Various breakfast and delicious. Room quite wide enough with refrigerator. Bathroom also have a bath. Easy from train station with many supermarket around; migros & müller. Bus stop just 3 strps from front of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    Last minute reservation was adequate. Front desk staff were excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was little left to eat for breakfast at 9:30 am and the attendant did not care. The room was old and funky with questionable plumbing (like most old European hotels). The lock on the outer door required a key be left in at all times, and the door was difficult to close. Also, it seemed that we were given a room with no view on the second floor because we came in with Booking.com.

    Staff were fabulous, helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Our room was really large and beds very comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is undergoing major restauration Works. WE were there at the weekend so had no issue with it but if going during the working week expect some noise during the day

    Our room was really large and beds very comfy The location is perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Location, easy to walk in to the centre and to Castle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very warm in the room overnight - even with the large windows open in early May - but this was a small price to pay for the great view of the lake in the morning! Didn't check what the cooling options were for summer visitors so it would be worth checking reviews for that time of year.

    Location, easy to walk in to the centre and to Castle Chillon along the Flower Path. Bus stops just outside the hotel too so it's very easy to transfer to/from the train station and to other places in the area. Extremely helpful staff when checking in/out and when offering advice about your visit. We were offered a lovely large room with a great view of the lake on the 4th floor - no problem getting to it via the old-fashioned/feature elevator - it would be rude to call it a lift! All other info/reviews were helpful when choosing this hotel but - IMPORTANT INFO - If you have trouble managing steps, or carrying your luggage, then you'll need to check access options before booking as there are a lot of steps up to Reception from street level. This didn't affect us so didn't check the options...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    Spacious vintage room, no kettle or coffee cup,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we arrived hotel around 1:30 pm, I was so surprised that the room was not ready but it's fine The receptionist told us to come back at 2 pm. in that time he did not provide the check-in process so we did not get any free public transportation card or travel book. we got it after we back to hotel around 10 pm for what?

    There is no kettle or any coffee cup. Is it possible to be a hotel? The decoration of our room is vintage. I have never to the place like this before The lobby is on the second floor. If you have luggage you have to take the elevator which is next to the restaurant on the first floor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Little disappointed with the room on arrival, but loved our stay nonetheless
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Ours was a small room with poor ensuite provision, though our fellow travellers faired much better. Dated fixtures and fittings. No tea/coffee making facility in room but staff provided jugs of hot water on request.

    Hotel staff were lovely and very helpful. Great old building (listed) with a lot of original and charming features. £5m restoration currently underway with plans to modernise all rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    An ideal location for a good 3 star hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was little or nothing not to like. We had not been informed that a £5 million restoration project was been implemented up to 2020 that was not disclosed. However, it did not cause a problem.

    The comfortable and well equipped hotel was ideally located in the centre of Montreux on the main through road and within 75 yards of the beautiful lake and also opposite the Montreux Casino, housing the famous pop group, 'Queen' museum. The rail station was a 10 min walk and the free trams stopped almost outside the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location and service. Breakfast to be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was basic buffet. Expensive.

    Is an old building. The rooms are big and comfortable. Very clean. The hotel is under renovation, so not everything is working well. Nevertheless the staff is excellent and the location fantastic. Good internet connection.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 26 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't recommend this hotel enough. Has everything you could possibly ask for. No gym , but that is why you have the Riviera!Can't wait to return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms outdated, but it's plainly marked that the hotel is going through a major renovation and rooms will be updated in the coming year or two. They were nevertheless still comfortable and well kept

    comfortable beds excellent location good breakfast buffet friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    6.7
    The location is really all that is going for the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old rooms, required to leave your room key when you left the hotel. No wine glasses, nor corkscrew available to guests. Not permitted to eat in rooms.

    Close to Metro and restaurants. Right across from small supermarket

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    6.3
    Value for money but dont have high epxecations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The quality of the room and bathroom. Very dated and in need of refurb. Room service cleaner was poor. Bathroom never cleaned , ie towels tidied, capable of doing it myself but kind of thought it was done for you

    History associated with the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.3
    Great girls trip and cozy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one mirror for 4 ladies is not enough, the connection room was very small, I did not find the cabinets useful, for the reason that they take half of the room.

    Great location, parking availability, le brasserie

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    6.3
    Just OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Older hotel with small room. Breakfast was sincerely recommended by the desk clerk, but was disappointing in comparison to other Swiss hotels.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    Loved the location - so close to lake Geneva. Good supermarkets and eating places where nearby. Also the bus station was in front of hotel - easy to visit Chillion Castle and cities near Montreux (free transportation card was provided by hotel). Our room was extra large - with closet, 2 balconies and big mirror :) Staff was extremely helpful and friendly - the best ones I have met in my previous trips. Would definitely come back in this hotel if visiting this this region again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful building, friendly staff, comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful historic building, well kept. The staff is friendly. The room was big, had a seating area and was in the style of the building. The elevator, the staircase and the ballroom are what make this a great stay. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    Lovely place with many pluses
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WC zones look outdated, but operate properly.

    Our window view is unforgettable. I like vintage style of the hotel. Reception staff is very helpful and kind. Riviera card from the hotel is an excellent support for travelers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Great hotel, fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a great location just a short 2 minute walk away from the lake and everything you need is nearby within easy walking distance. The staff were great, I had a problem with the TV in my room and was immediately given another larger room ... Views of the lake from some rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Our room was very comfortable, clean and quiet with views of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very comfortable, clean and quiet with views of Lake Geneva from the balcony. The bus stops were right outside the hotel with restaurants, grocery stores and shops on the same street. Easy walk to the lake.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    We were only there for one night and we found it very convenient and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't a light in the sink/mirror area outside the bathroom and there also wasn't a socket in the area for the hairdryer.

    The location of the hotel was very good for our needs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed beautiful Lake Geneva and Chateau de Chillon, but otherwise not a huge fan of Montreux.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was more of a walk from the train station than anticipated, so if you have a lot of luggage, you will want to take that into consideration. It was over a 10 minute walk and when returning to the train station about a block of it is uphill. Additionally, this historic building is in need of some renovation to bathrooms, but everything worked as it should and we had no problems with water or electric. This was the only hotel during our Switzerland travels that did not include breakfast in the rate. The city in general is very much a "city"... traffic, tons of people, tends to smell a bit off. It doesn't have that "Switzerland" feel to it, but if you're looking for a more "downtown" environment, this is probably your cup of tea.

    If you appreciate historic architecture you will enjoy the details of this hotel. The staff is very friendly and it had the best mattress of all the places we stayed in Switzerland - double bed with NO gaping space in the middle! I had the best sleep I'd had in 9 days during our 1-night stay here. There are many restaurant/shopping options nearby and it was an easy walk to the dock for a lovely boat ride on Lake Geneva to Chateau de Chillon.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    Great place that was clean and had very friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom and room lighting could have been better

    The view from our room was amazing. We opened the french doors to the balcony in the morning and were greeted by a view of the lake and mountains beyond. Overlooking a rooftop garden (it needed some work, but having greenery in the center of town was great) and the casino across the street. The room was large. We had 3 generous, clean, comfortable beds to sleep in. The bath was large, unfortunately the light was out in the shower, but we manged. Close to great restaurants (they just opened their own on the street level, but we didn't try it). The desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. We even were given city passes that gave us many discounts and free bus travel. We were able to keep our bags with the desk while we explored the town before leaving on the train. Wish we had been able to stay more than one night. Highly recommend!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.1
    Disappointed with the lack of facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea, coffee making facility in room, no room service. Advertise 100s of TV channels....this is an ABSOLUTE LIE....more like 10 french language only. FALSE ADVERTISING. Room doors all had a small step to enter...wheelchair uers beware!!

    Excellent location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.8
    The rooms are tired in relation to their cost, Hot weather a problem, we looked out onto a weedpatch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was hot, portable aircon didn't cope the fan intermittent ,Our Room and a number of others were entered by a mentally challenged young man.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Great location for our cycle trip along the Rhone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv didn't work, the Internet was poor on the fourth floor. The food in their restaurant was very very expensive..

    They had safe storage for bicycles, provided a fan as requested, rent desk was extremely helpful, friendly and professional. The room was clean and had two balconies

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    6.3
    Pretty okay location, close to lake, close to Montruex jazz...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom wasn't too clean or modern. We stayed during a hot weekend and the fan wasn't really sufficient to cool the room down at night, especially for my preggo wife.

    Pretty okay location, close to lake, close to Montruex jazz festival (walking distance).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    Great location next to bus stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lock door of bathroom didnt work but it s a private bathroom so all good

    Literally next to bus stop with bus lines taking you directly to montreux train station, hillion castle, veyvey grand market etc all locations we needed to go! We ve got a double room with THREE balconies! Bright and beautiful!! You can walk to station if you like too!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    6.7
    Convenient stay in Montreal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was fairly basic, although had a lot of character. The single fan was insufficient for the hot, sultry nights. It was a three-bed room with no storage for clothing. Only one luggages stool meant two people always rummaging around on the floor looking for clothes in their suitcases.

    The room was large and roomy - good for the three of us to spread out. There is a bus stop right outside the door, and easy walking to the Lakeside and shopping.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    Central and well appointed in Montreux.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was very central. Staff were very helpful. Room was well maintained with everything you could need. Close to the lake and many restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.1
    nice size room, good breakfast, pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathrooms really need updating. Road noise from cars revving up outside makes sleep difficult. Hotel Helvetie name not displayed making it difficult to find.

    nice size room, good breakfast, pleasant staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    4.2
    HELLvetie - the hotel from the Shining
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom and sheets were disgusting, with obvious stains. Floors were creaky. The doors barely locked. There was no air conditioning, only a fan. The balconies touched, and the door to the balcony had a huge window, making it easy for people to break in. No safe was offered in our room, even though it was promised. One night, they gave us one missing towel. The bathroom had windows to the corridor, which I found uneasy. They didn't make one of the beds one night. Also pretty sure there were bed bugs.

    That it was still standing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Strongly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all

    Excellent hotel. Amazing interiors, overlooking Lake Geneva,beautiful view. Good food.Castle Chillon easy to reach via bus no.201 in 15min

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    4.2
    Skip it if you are traveling with your family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a 2 star property in my opinion,not a 3 star. The family room had a sink in the bedroom And the toilet was in a separate room from the shower. Also it was not that clean and the ambience was run down. We were given a room facing the main road with Buses moving out every 2-3 minutes - it was noisy from 6 am to 12 pm.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.8
    A cozy hotel right in front of the Montreaux Casino!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately the toilet seat was broken and would slide off as one sat on it.

    The breakfast was excellent and abundant with local cheeses, breads, pastries as well as yogurt, juices, hard boiled eggs and cereal. The room was spacious with its own balcony and also very clean. The hall is very big with lots of light. I'll gladly go back to this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.2
    Staff members were surprisingly caring and responsive...
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be amazing to have a fan in the room because it's too hot in summer even with the balcony opened. The light is also a bit dull in the room and in the bathroom.

    Staff members were surprisingly caring and responsive whenever we asked for something. It was more like a 4* service rather than 3*. Great location close to the lake, train station and restaurants. Clean rooms and comfortable beds. You definitely get a value for money there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.3
    Heritage but more than value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift is an old one and you will feel like staying in a heritage property.Its bit far from station and you have to walk(1 km) .Breakfast was not complimentary and costly(15 euro).

    The hotel entrance looks like a star hotel where as it's an old heritage property but renewed one.The rooms are extra large and you will feel like staying in a suite(I guess as its as per 1960s standard).The bathroom can be said to one more room.The window opens to the lake and famous Montreux casino and the main road.It's in front of bus stand from where you can get bus for the castle.The hotel is very near to the main famous Montreux lake front for your evening stroll.Value for money hotel.Comfy bed and a very very large room will make you happy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.9
    Basic and serviceable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel seemed a bit short on reception staff, but they were friendly and helpful.

    Hotel was in a good location for us to meet our friends and was well-appointed, with good cafe.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    6.3
    Good old Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cracking sound of the wooden flooring when u walk.

    Location was good. Near the lake and 10-15mins walk from train station. Got a big room thou furniture looks old but was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.8
    Positive and professional employees.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all good

    Excellent employees, accomadating and professional. We loved Jodi from Dominican Republic, she was very helpful and you can tell she really enjoys her job. We have very positive memories because we were treated with kindness and professionalism. Thank you

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.3
    Privacy in a interesting part of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No computer access for those seniors of us who don't use wifi.

    The helpfulness of the staff, the most. View of the Lake and so easy to walk from the Hotel to explore the area & lake. Reasonable price for a single travellor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.9
    Good stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wanted an iron but it took about 30 mins to arrive. Bathroom was small. Sink was separate and outside.

    Old rustic 150 year old hotel. I like the creaky floors. Good simple breakfast. Large, massive rooms overlooking the lake in the distance. Rooftop has a nice lookout area. The staff - Pascaline - was really friendly and helpful. Happy that she spoke good English.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.5
    Close to all shops and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to all shops and restaurants. It was a nice old hotel. The room was fine and comfortable, bigger than most other rooms, but it had a lot of empty space.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    10
    This is a'traditional' Swiss hotel, exuding graciousness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    I lived in Montreux until retirement, so i speak fluent french; nevertheless, the staff immediately move into English as a courtesy. The hotel is 'gracious'.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    10
    Space full
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If it will has a hot pot will be more convenient for us who used to drink hot water to heat it.

    Bed is soft and comfortable. We have a good sleep. The room is clean and classic. We really love this big space room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.3
    19th century hotel in the center of Montreux
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tub needed more cleaning (scrubbing)

    Very good location, just in front of the lake, the casino, plenty of shops (shopping centers) and restaurants downstairs. A few minutes walk to the train station.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    10
    Amazing Place to Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was one of the nicest we stayed in our whole trip. The staff as very helpful let us keep our luggage by e reception desk while we explored Montreux.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.9
    The only thing that is not old are the very comfy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and worn down with little isolations between the room, so you hear all your neighbors. Needs a refurbish.

    Centrally located, friendly staff and very comfortable beds. Despite the hotel itself being old, the beds and linen seemed new and good quality. One of the most important things in a hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    Great place to stay in Montreux.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower. But it was ok, I could use it.

    Excellent breakfast, spacious bedroom, friendly, helpful, courteous staff. A pleasant few minutes walk from/to the train station. Hotel Helvetie is also near the Queen Experience (inside the Casino) and a beautiful lakeside path, bordered by flowers + trees.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    4.2
    Disappointed now, but hopeful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    However now the rooms are too small and uncomfortable and often strangely configured to accommodate modern needs. No AC. Open windows can bring in cigaret smoke from below. Very few amenities if any in most rooms.

    This was once a beautiful hotel. The area you first see has preserved much of the old elegance.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    8.3
    Excellent location, clean, comfortable and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a bit strange as the sink was outside in the room and the shower room/toilet was very small. Not ideal if you are big person! However, maybe not all rooms were the same.

    Clean and comfortable - this is not a modern hotel and quite an old building - my room had a view through the opposite buildings to Lake Geneva from the small balcony. Would advise you book a parking space as it is in the city centre, they provide a secure underground car park. It is central to everything and just down the road from Freddy Mercury's monument and museum.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    7.1
    The room was clean, the bed very comfortable but the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was clean, the bed very comfortable but the furniture old. No parking, We requested parking which would have been 15 sf/day, but they didn't have any and recommended one by the shopping center.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    8.3
    Good location, old fashioned hotel, however required some improvements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel seems to be a bit under-invested. The layout could be improved.

    Excellent location, parking availability, nice old fashioned building, nice view at the lake.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    7.9
    Groovy Baby!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was alike a 60s time-warp, probably unchanged since the first Montreux Jazz Festival.

    It was alike a 60s time-warp, probably unchanged since the first Montreux Jazz Festival. Great location for access to the Jazz Festival. I had a large corner room, with balconies facing the lake and casino, and to the east.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    7.9
    Nice location, with nice rooms for an afordable price compared to other hotels in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice location, old building with nice rooms for an afordable price compared to other hotels in the area. Good bakery for breakfast just on the other side of the road

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Elegant, Old World Charm. Check out the elevator!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They should include breakfast at that price.

    The old world charm. The View and the responsiveness of the staff. The location is awesome too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    Close to casino
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to train and beautiful to the lake

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable visit to the Montreux festival with comfortable stay in friendly hotel ideally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor and room a little dated/old fashioned.

    large room with view over lake. Comfortable bed. Large thick towels. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location walking distance to Jazz festival and Lac Leman
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was wonderful easy access to Jazz Festival and to the lac Leman

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Location and restaurant!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and restaurant!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    I will baxk again monterux
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture is not as per expectation Also the breakfast is not sufficiently

    The reception team very cooperative

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    Staff was helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was helpful. Room was loud. Beds comfy. Parking available but difficult. Close to restaurants. All was Just ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.3
    員工友善
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    進出停車場不方便

    員工友善

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.8
    Big appointment good for friends, students and families
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big appointment good for friends, students and families

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom mirror and hand shower was fit for tall people

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Room good. Facilities good.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: