Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hirschen 2 stars

Hauptstrasse 11, 3800 Interlaken, Switzerland

#10 of 51 hotels in Interlaken

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1305 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Coffee machine and excellent selection of teas (which is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not great - bland, limited selection of fruits and vegetables Reception and staff not very welcoming. I went in the summer and it was got very warm in the room even with the fan. They didn’t warn us about the tiny mosquitos when you open the windows, which got awful at night and My friend had severe rashes all over her whole body.

    Coffee machine and excellent selection of teas (which is great because beverages are expensive in Switzerland and easily add up to your costs). Super cosy and warm decor Pretty clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    We were very pleased with the breakfast.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I laughed when I read reviews about the ceilings being too low. They were actually pretty low, but it is all part of the charm. I'll take a spotlessly clean room with low ceilings over a dirty room any day.

    We were very pleased with the breakfast. The restaurant was listed as under renovation online but it was open and delicious! The family room was perfect for our needs. The outside space with playground and games was great. The staff was laid back and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.2
    Overall it was fabulous because of a wonderful staff member who made a huge positive difference.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is hot during heat waves.

    We loved the helpful woman at the desk. Our first night was hot (heatwave) and noisy (Saturday night) She moved our room and made a really frustrating situation (traveling with kids-one sick) a total dream (amazing room).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    love the hotels it's very traditional but clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    love the hotels it's very traditional but clean and comfy. I left my passports in reception and staff keep it for me..thank you very much for that kindess

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    Very good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable pillows 😊

    Good location, 10 minutes bus ride from Interlaken OST, rooms are fine and clean, as well as breakfast. Christina, at reception and everywhere, is wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.8
    A great place to stay. Would come back and recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For the most, there are no complaints. We did request a room change which was a bummer because we had to go to a smaller room. We had had a large room overlooking the street but the hotel is located on the corner of a road busy with traffic. It dies down between 9-10pm but starts up again early. It became an issue because the hotel has no air conditioning and we had to have the windows open. Thankfully, a room opened up the next day and we heard no traffic with the windows open.

    Hotel Hirschen is a wonderful hotel which includes a great morning breakfast. We did not have dinner but their outdoor seating was full every day. Very accommodating and friendly staff. It is an easy walk to the city center with shopping and eating. However there are some great restaurants just down the street - Thai (the best I have ever had), Irish and sandwich places. A bus stop is across the street.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    When in Matten by Interlaken one must stay at the Hirschen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What was there NOT to like.

    Being a historic building, the stairways are narrow and steep but staff were so helpful to carry the luggage to and from our room. So no problem at all. We were asked by a staff member without asking for help. Service is genuine at this hotel. The restaurant serves wonderful food too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    1/good location(close to the no.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1/The pillow is really uncomfortable. I think that cannot identified into a “pillow”, it was a back cushion. 2/if you close the window while sleeping, it will be very stuffiness at night.

    1/good location(close to the no.105 bus); 2/nice decorated room; 3/good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was good and the traditional Swiss restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it's a bit hot with one fan only and the ventilation in the room could be improved. Not enough hanging places in the bathroom, no space for wet swimming suit, separate used vs new towels...etc

    Breakfast was good and the traditional Swiss restaurant serves very good dinner. Location is good...convenient but also away from the crowd.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Really nice and very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the guests were talking outside my room at midnight on a couple of nights

    I have some food intolerances and the staff very kindly provided me with lots of gluten and dairy free breakfast options, which they bought especially. Thank you, much appreciated!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    Don’t go in the summer if it’s warm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is located on a rather busy corner. The room was tiny and with the hot August night our windows had to be open. The street was loud and light. Tough sleeping. We had to ask for a fan. Otherwise no way we would have been able to stand it. the Restaurant food was good but very expensive and slooow service.

    The hotel is very pretty and clean . It is located In a good area to get to many things. The staff was friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.0
    Too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    190 Swiss Francs with breakfast far too expensive for what you get. Rip off, Mini bar empty. No drinking water in room. Main road with heavy trafic. Bathroom no proper curtains,

    Wifi and breakfast good. Close to center.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.8
    Good location, cute restaurant and easy to use laundry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt understaffed had to wait a while to be checked in. Even though we booked months in advance we were put in a tiny room next to the cleaning closet. The shower was horrific, the water temperature was inconsistent and would go from ice to boiling in a second

    Good location, cute restaurant and easy to use laundry

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.0
    Breakfast is very good and the restraunt quality is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room temperature is very hot and there is no aircondtion even though temperature is very high.

    Breakfast is very good and the restraunt quality is good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Hotel which is also a historical monument
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is not close to any of the train stations (but it is actually quite convenient if one realizes that it is on a few bus routes). The bathroom was small (but understandable given the age of the building).

    The building is an attraction itself, as anyone can see from the photos. The room was clean throughout our 4-night stay. The Dyson fan was useful particularly in this hot summer. The restaurant is awesome. We met some locals who recommended it and we also recommend so after having dinner there, twice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ceiling was very low, but it was an old traditional Swiss building so it was okay.

    The room was in decent size and clean. The bed was comfortable and bathroom was newly renovated which was very nice. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was good and everywhere in the building, I can see how much the owner takes care of the facility. If you want to have an experience staying in old traditional house in Swiss, this is the one. I also loved the windows of the building. By the way, there is a bus which you can take to Interlaken like every 30 minutes. You can also walk to Interlaken Ost which takes about 20 minutes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advice for tall people. This is a historic heritage building with low cielings. Mind your head! 😊

    Beautiful relaxed athmosphere with stunning views of the Alps. Home made style beautiful breakfasts, friendly, relaxed staff, simple and quick check in and check out procedures. Very clean, country style accomodation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    The perfect traditional Swiss experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay at Hirschen was the perfect traditional Swiss experience. After an initial mix up with our booking the issue was rectified and the remainder of our stay was fantastic. The property is over 300 years old, however the modern amenities are beautiful and the breakfast is yum. Our host was lovely and so helpful and was always willing to help us and provide advice. We loved Interlaken and our only negative was that we wished we had stayed longer. We would certainly stay at Hirschen again if we returned to Interlaken.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    We had a pleasant stay & would recommend to friends to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator to transport our luggage but the friendly owner helped us with them.

    Central location to city centre. Good food around hotel. Pleasant, friendly & polite service personnel. Food at Hotel delicious & price reasonable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Swiss Chalet Styled with Restaurant & Good Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Seeing Jungfrau on a clear day, beautiful chalet style hotel, good breakfast, helpful staff, convenient bus stop nearby but be sure to look at time schedule.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful house
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air conditioning, so it can be quite warm in the summer and rather humid after rainy days.

    It’s a beautiful house and the area was nice and pretty. The breakfast was good and the staff were nice. The room was clean and the private bathroom was spotless.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful scenery, adorable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lack of air conditioning and the fact the walls were quite thin. It didn't ruin our stay in the slightest and we would definitely stay again, but it was very hot in the rooms, and to have the window open meant the traffic noise was quite loud as our room was right by the road.

    The hotel was adorable! Really lovely setting, beautiful views from the balcony for breakfast. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were a decent size and the breakfast was pretty good. Be aware if you are tall like we both are the ceilings are quite low! The hotel has a lovely garden to sit out in the evening and order food or drinks from the restaurant. Across the road there's a great bar called Barracuda and a 2 minute walk the Irish pub 3 Tells does great food & beer too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    *The hotel room is quite big with a nice view and equipped...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    *It will be great if the hotel room is equipped with a tea kettle. *The hotel is a little bit far away from the train station. If you carry luggage, it is recommend to take the bus to the hotel. If one goes by walk, it will take around 10-15min to Interlaken West station and 20min to Interlaken Ost station.

    *The hotel room is quite big with a nice view and equipped with a refrigerator. *No air conditioner but open the windows is fine in May and the room is also equipped with Dyson fan. *The breakfast is good. The staff are nice and they have put a piece of chocolate on the pillows to serve as a gift to the guest. *Free transport card within Interlaken.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel with class and charm!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very spacious, very clean, and comfortable. The hotel is 350 years old and they’ve kept the original charm, walls and floors. But brand new comfortable bed, couch, flat panel TV and newly renovated bathroom with glass tiles. The perfect combination of old and new and the balcony was huge!!! Nice staff and walking distance from the city center and they have on site parking and a beautiful dining room for breakfast!!! Loved our stay here. It was perfect!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Great Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was disconnecting quite often, however, you don’t really need internet when you travel to a place like Interlaken.

    The hotel was amazing, we were staying in room number 10 which was quite big, with an amazing view to the mountains. Very clean and the lady who runs the hotel was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was super tasty and all freshly made from bread, milk, jam, honey to meat and egg. The location was really good. Overall, much more than a 2 star hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Old charm, new room feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little far to walk to station compared to a lot of places in town.

    Nice clean room. Charm of an older traditional hotel but nicely renovated rooms. Good breakfast included. Visitors Pass very handy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Traditional family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit distance from two stations. Towel has not been changed daily.

    The atmosphere in this timber house is lovely. The householder is friendly and breakfast is also good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Loved the place, wanted to even stay longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water kettle, but not a deal breaker.

    Loved how it looked like a traditional Swiss home from the outside but had modern comforts inside. The breakfast buffet was awesome!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed our stay very much , would recomend your Hotel and would come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    perhaps coffee , tea facilities in the room .

    we enjoyed the size of the room , very good bathroom , and balcony. great location for the Bernese Oberland.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Old heritage building with modern rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift to take luggage upstairs but kitchen staff does it for you on request

    Old heritage building with modern rooms. Owner was very nice and helpful. Decent morning bf.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice, but unless I had a top floor room I wouldn’t stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm with no way to cool it down. If you stay here ask for a top floor room, the room we had was very very noisy from guests above due to the wooden flooring.

    Lovely friendly staff. The room was large as was the bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    2.5
    Don't do it! Unless you don't mind a shared bathroom and dark places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is basically a Hostel. Don't expect the privacy of a 2 star hotel room! It wasn't apparent from the pictures nor descriptions that it was a shared bathroom situation. The room was very dark red painted with wooden floor and ceiling and extremly depressing. The entire hallway to the room was very dark. It looked like it was a storage/laundry room converted to a bed room. It was smelly and hated myself and the entire experience. The front desk was unattended and empty all of the time and you basically need to fetch them from a restaurant downstairs. When I asked to upgrade to a brighter room the front desk would only show me the "white painted room" only from her computer screen even though I was willing to pay more. Since the pictures looked deceptive the first time I didn't want to risk it again. The location is 15 mins walk from train station on a busy street which makes it less ideal. The entire structure is wooden and when other guests walk around it gets loud and noisy. I have stayed in another 2 star hotel in interlaken and it was by far a much better experience. Do yourself a favor and spend your money in a much worthy places in interlaken. Don't be misled by the suspiciously misleading "glowing reviews".

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Incredible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel started in 1660. Facility and restaurant were incredible, as well as the staff. Locals consider the Hirschen Restaurant the best one in Interlaken.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    It's a nice small hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ceilings are too low, my husband is of average height, but he hit his head on door frames several times during one day stay. Our room was quite small, my two year old also had problems with open window, table edges etc.

    It's a nice small hotel. Staff is friendly and hotel is very clean. I would mostly recommend it for couples without kids or solo travellers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staffs doesnt seem welcome but they did explain everything. The bed is okay, the pillow is not comfort at all. Overall, it is clean and still good to visit again.

    The location is good, and the room is nice also. Very new.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was not included in the booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included

    Breakfast was not included in the booking. It would be great if breakfast is free. Location of the hotel is quite a distance from train station. You neef yl take a bus to reach the hotel. Overall, good experience!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    The overall hotel was a pleasant stay though there were a few factors that could be changed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 'Hirschen' hotel was overall very nice, although there are a few factors that could change which would make us give the hotel a better rating. Firstly, the ceiling of the entire place was very low, so if you are a tall person hoping for a good stay, one must be aware of certain door frames. Secondly, for our opinion, the pillows were very flat and didnt support the neck of the head. Finally, even though the bathroom was very nice, one must climb over the bathtub in order to get into the shower. This could prove to be difficult for older ages.

    The 'Hirschen' hotel was a very good hotel itself, with working facilities and good service. The cost was fairly reasonable considering it is a hotel in Switzerland. We enjoyed the facilities they provided for us especially during breakfast. The coffee machine was one of our favourites during the stay. For the actual rooms of the hotel, it was very nice, from the beds to the bathrooms, it was comfortable and had easy access.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    It was a great stay.. Worth the trip..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We arrived early morning and was greeted by the lady at the counter. She had us check in though it was supposed to be at 2pm. We booked a room for a shared bath but was upgraded to our own private bathroom with a bathtub. She was so nice and helpful not only for the check in but also for the tourist information regarding the boat cruise. She was kind and helpful and patient. It was such a relaxing place to stay. Like being at home.. comfortable and full.. Their breakfast was worth it. I do think that the price was worth it. Location was also good as it was only a few stops from Interlaken west train station by bus 105. Really enjoyed our stay in here.. Would return again.. Oh! and they had the hot wine placed at the reception area every evening.. I guess its to warm up the guest after being out in the cold the whole.. Such a warm gesture..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    Staff is very friendly, both the lady staff are very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food could have been much better, not much choice in food unfortunately.

    Staff is very friendly, both the lady staff are very hospitable and helpful. :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely little place, conveniently located with the bus stop...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely little place, conveniently located with the bus stop right outside connecting to the Interlaken West and Wilderswil station (for the train to mountains). Cosy little room with wooden fittings and floor and a huge modern bathroom. The breakfast buffet was by far the 'most value for money' meal I had in Switzerland. The owner is a lovely and helpful lady who even offered us a free upgrade. Special mention and thanks to the lady managing the restaurant as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.7
    Location, friendly staff and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like sharing a restroom with a dirty toilet seat and shower with other people, I didn’t like the pillows and hotel staff smoking downstairs in the restaurant.

    Location, friendly staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a little bit far from the center. Appx 15 min walking.

    Comfortable. Clean. I really like the decoration. It was like i am staying in a swiss village.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Good location within walking distance of everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location within walking distance of everything. Recommend a taxi or the bus that stops in front of hotel for to/from train stations if carrying luggage. Breakfast and restaurant were good. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.9
    The bathroom is outside the room, which is fine for me but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom is outside the room, which is fine for me but the thing is that the water temperature was so unstable, either too hot or too cold, this really disturbed me a lot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Our room was huge and amazing. It was new with great modern features but kept it's charm of the property. Breakfast was the best selection and quality of our whole trip. Location was great with only a 5-10 min walk to all things central. Bus stop is also across the street. The restaurant was convientent, authentic and good value. We will absolutely stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful place!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wonderful old house, great and helpful staff, even organised shoe polish privately for me, family run, great and charming atmosphere about the old house, wonderful surprising breakfast! I cannot understand the complaints of other guests, all they complain about is clearly stated in the hotel's description. And that it is somewhat noisy because of the street is not their fault, being the oldest guest house in town I am sure the house was there before the road was :). Great new windows, once closed, it's quiet. Rooms very well and nicely refurnished, Restaurant good. Definitely best value for money, I definitely will be back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Excellent location in Interlaken with the free bus stopping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location in Interlaken with the free bus stopping outside the hotel. Staff were very friendly and the dinner we had at the hotel's restaurant was delicious!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.3
    Easy walk from train station, bus is a 2 min walk away,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy walk from train station, bus is a 2 min walk away, quiet location, easy walk into centre of town, food options and pub a few doors down. Great front desk service helping us plan our day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Our two bedroom suite and bathroom were amazingly up to date for such an old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a bit out of the way from railway stations, a good fifteen minute walk although buses available.

    16 century outside but 21st century bedroom suite inside. An amazing renovation. Lovely big restaurant .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.2
    Perfecttt !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very narrow stairway up to your room if you have a big luggage .

    Very clean ! Nice hospitality and location is nearby restaurants and activities agents !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    9.6
    value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    no kettle in the room

    the setting of this place was beyond our expectation!very neat and clean. A combination of modern and traditional elements/ambience made our stay a memorable one

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.3
    Convenient place to stay for travellers on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had no view apart from the neighbouring alleyway. Shower not working properly - either burnt you or was icy cold. This room is next to the cleaners staff room and they start work very early and can be noisy.

    Traditional Swiss style chalet. Even rooms with shared bathrooms had their own sink inside the room. Warm during winter. Very close to the bus stop and within walking distance to town centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe you should put a label on the food, so that we know for eg chicken sossage, beef or bacon.

    The location very convenient, 2 mins walking to bus stop (104 & 105). Fall in love with the exterior and interior design. Surely will stay here if I visit Swiss again. The bedroom was spacious, comfy and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.3
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check out time is too early..at 10..should be at 12 oclock like others

    The hotel is so pretty n cozy..surprising that it just 2 minutes walks fr train station. The staff who welcoming us is very nice n helpfull. We got a very comfortable country style room with a nice view out there...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.8
    Lovely clean room and bathroom, nice selection of breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is served from 7 am, unfortunately the warm meal (omlett, sausage, mushrooms or the variety of the day) was not ready until 7:30 when we had to check out. It made me quite disappointed because i was really looking forward to my last breakfast at the hotel.

    Lovely clean room and bathroom, nice selection of breakfast, only 10-15 minutes walk from the train station of Interlaken. Pretty view from our windows to the mountains (which are all around anyway :) ) Enjoyed the Fondue at their restaurant downstairs

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.1
    It is a good place to stay - good ambience and spacious room. Easy excess to public transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities is the room was lacking - no coffee making facilities, kettle and mugs for us to make our own coffee. Was told to use the facilities in the common kitchen but the kettle was not working.

    I like the ambience - the hotel looks very traditional and have superb scenery around it. It is clean and the room was also spacious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.5
    Amazing beautiful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Honestly I didn't find anything that i don't like there.

    Breakfast was good, enjoyed. Amazing stay, loved the wood work. Although the property is old but they have maintained it really well. Loved the room, its beautiful. Staff was good. Bus stop was like in front of the property. I would definitely come again here. Very clean and calm peaceful place. Interlaken West station is just 2-3 minutes in bus and by walking will be like 15-20 minutes.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Home away from home in Hirschen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful and the room was comfortable .The mini fridge was good . The location was convenient and on site parking was available . There is a restaurant however we did not try it out . The breakfast had a good selection . Nice Mountain View’s .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    A very enjoyable stay in beautifully refurnished hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was good but could be a bit more personalised and warm. But overall, for a 2 stars hotel, it was very good.

    The room was spacious and very well equiped. THe breakfast was great with something different each day. The restaurant was also good and very cosy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Quiet, comfortable, cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints at all from me.

    Very comfortable and private room. Comfy bed, TV (not that I switched it on), plenty of storage space and a very spacious, modern bathroom. Plus a chocolate on the pillow on check in was a very nice addition!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.8
    Great customs, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were way too soft. Breakfast was a little bit limited. There wasn't any vegetables available.

    The room was spacious, with one sofa and bigger beds. The shower facilities were good. The building is beautiful, with traditional European construction and a very beautiful garden. The room is very cosy and family-like. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast room is very beautiful and all the cutleries were very traditional and beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.9
    A taste of true Swiss history and hospitality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard pillows

    We were looking for an older hotel with history and a true Swiss feeling. Breakfast was very good with good assortment of food. Their restaurant was very good. Loved the staff!! Very helpful and very good conversation in English. Only took a cab from train because of bags. Easy walking to town. Took the bus sometimes which is 100 feet from hotel. We experienced exactly what we were looking to experience; a taste of Swiss hospitality away from the commercial hotels.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    3.8
    Uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could be more cleaner and bigger. Not recommended for people who hate closed in spaces. Pillows not up to hotel standard.

    The bed uncomfortable. Restaurant Great food. Rooms tiny.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Interlaken is a stunning place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The steps to reception and the bedrooms were steep and narrow, and if you had mobility issues I think you would struggle.

    The rooms were extremely comfortable and the building is stunning. The breakfast was a magnificent spread with an awful of of choice. The staff were extremely accommodating and very helpful. We also dined in their restaurant, and loved the food and the choices available.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    This guest house is a true Swiss experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's no elevator, so if you have problems climbing steps (check-in one flight up from street, all rooms upstairs), particularly with luggage in hand, this might not be the place for you.

    We had a private balcony with a view of Mt. Eiger. Fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.5
    We loved the feel of this historic inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel seemed understaffed. There were times you would have to wait several minutes for, or just go track down the reception clerk, because he might be in the restaurant serving meals. Cleaning supplies were stored in the hallway leading to our room.

    We loved the feel of this historic inn. The room we were in was updated, clean and spacious. The breakfast were very nice. Easy access to bus routes. We were given bus passes to get to the main part of town and all the way to Iseltwald.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic property with great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were spacious and the breakfast was very good. There is a restaurant on the bottom floor that served excellent meals. This property also provided free transit passes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    if it's traditional you want then this is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there's nothing to as you can't fault perfection

    the refurbishment has made this hotel exceptional and perfect our friends loved the whole experience and friendliness of the staff. the shower was the best I've ever encountered in any hotel previous

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Absolutely marvellous. Wonderful Swiss gasthof with reasonable prices and lovvelyviews and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed longer than first planned and could have got a better deal by rebooking through booking.com rather than verbally at the desk.

    There is an excellent cooked breakfast which changes everyday. There were also very good facilities for self catering - small cooker, microwave, crockery, fridge. There was a laundry room for washing which made it much cheaper to launder clothes. The location was near the town centre in an area with companies for activity holiday with a cooler less package holiday vibe than the centre of Interlaken. There is a very good Swiss restaurant with fondue, raclette and excellent stone cooked steak.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    5.0
    Overall stay was ok; nothing really wrong but would look elsewhere if I went back to Interlaken.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good 10-15 min walk from town centre. Not a great location. There is no lift so you have to carry you suitcase up a narrow staircase. No air-conditioning so was like sleeping in a sauna. Hugely overpriced but then so is everything in Switzerland!

    Breakfast ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    Good location, breakfast, easy parking - low ceilings for tall folk!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel seemed expensive for what you got - but then this is Switzerland! Low ceilings which made the room feel claustrophobic especially for my husband who is tall - at 6ft 3in his head touched the ceiling and therefore meant it was difficult to use the shower. Staff were not around a lot and a little forgetful when dealing with them.

    Breakfast was great with a variety of food. Location was also good with a quick walk into town. Parking was also easy at the property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.9
    Good little place to stay if you're looking for something cheaper in Interlaken
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ceiling height might be too short for some, pillows and blankets not the most comfortable

    Separate rooms were nice for larger parties, bathroom facilities were better than some others I've seen, near a bus stop to Interlaken West and Ost, cheaper than most places! Great restaurant downstairs outside of breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Cosy traditional hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel had a very traditional feel to it and the rooms were huge and comfortable. The hotel was also located 2 bus stops away from Interlaken West Station and was easily accessible. Would recommend it to people visiting Interlaken.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.8
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building is over 300 years old so don't expect air conditioning in summer. If you're lucky there some spare fans available. Lack of public transport after 8 p.m but Interlaken West and OST is only 20mins walk away.

    We booked the family room which was perfect for 2+2kids. Breakfast is good and the little old lady that helps keep the place clean is so cute and friendly.Rooms are clean with a nice rustic feel. Very Sweedish.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.3
    A historic inn, well located, pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great place to stay, homely, family ownership which gives a sense of caring for guests. Walk out the door and you look up to the Jungfrau. Easy to walk into the centre of Interlaken

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: