Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Terrasse am See 3 stars

Bahnhofstrasse 2, 6354 Vitznau, Switzerland

#6 of 8 hotels in Vitznau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 115 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.7
    Hotel conditions must be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Romantic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are not many activities you can enjoy in this area, except for the Rigi mountain, which I really recommend. We tried to rent some bikes and it was impossible to find in Vitznau or surroundings. I think there are more beautiful areas in Switzerland, but this is up to the preferences of each. The hotel is a historical one, but even so I think it needs some refurbishment. The room we received, the romantic double room, was very small, so was the bathroom. The bathroom ventilation was broken. If you go there, go with your own shower gel, shampoo and so on. The quantity you receive is quite small. The breakfast, in my opinion, was very poor. And the breakfast room, in my opinion, seemed like a retirement home for elderly. For the price we have payed, 250 eur/night or even more, we did not receive what we expected.

    Good location, close to the lake. The view from the room was very nice. The train station to depart to Rigi Mountain is very close. I recommend going there, you will get some awesome views. We received a 20% discount for the trip, by staying at Terrasse am See Hotel. Staff was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.8
    Location and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the rest of the staff were helpful but the reception manager was extremely rude as we were late in check in and spoilt the experience for us. I have never been told off by a hotel staff before and doubt anyone would find that acceptable behavior.

    Location and views

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    A great hotel in a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few bits of maintenance need doing but this is very forgiveable, given how good everything else is.

    Great location, friendly responsive English-speaking staff, good food, old world style.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    This is a hotel where you can relax and feel the atmosphere...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we only stayed 3 nights. Better planning next time.

    This is a hotel where you can relax and feel the atmosphere of old days’ holidays. Every detail was taken care of and everything had a thought behind its existence. Prifessional renovation of the furniture. Good restaurant with a breathtaking view.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Nice romantic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in by hotel owner / manager. Very helpful / fluent in French and English besides German. Very nice room. Breakfast was included and was an amazing buffet. Restaurant provided a nice selection of food and was a great value for the price. Nice terrasse on the lakeside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    Really enjoyed our stay! Beautiful setting! Excellent service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though the cog trains were within steps, they were noisy early in the morning as they were getting ready for their daily runs.

    The ferry boat and also the cog trains to Mount Rigi were within steps. The views from the hotel were breathtaking!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Gracious and elegant retreat on a mountain lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is a treasure, a retreat to a more gracious time and place. Mme. the proprietor was extraordinarily kind and helpful with our plans. Our room was one of the most beautiful we have had in many travels, full of light from the lake. Our walks in the mountains and visits to the nearby thermal baths were sweetened by returning to this lovely hotel each day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.9
    the location it's a historical hotel which I like very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the noisy parquet floor

    the location it's a historical hotel which I like very much and l'd like to thanks the helpful and friendly leady in the reception

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Old world charm with modern comfort and AAA views!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are functional but a bit dated, especially the shower curtain in the bathtub instead of a glass wall or just a shower stall. But it was clean and worked well so only a very minor point of attention.

    I spent a few days here last year and this time it was just as lovely. Old world charm with modern touches, a haven of quiet comfort and the most fantastic views over the lake. The food is very good - the tomato soup the best I've had in years if ever! - and the staff very respectful but not stiff as in some places. I look forward to my next visit...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location hotel facing the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is kind of cheap..

    Location of course! Just facing the lake! And a huge terrace that kind of belongs to the room. Internet is OK as well with simple password. Very pleasant reception.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.2
    Very charming place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very charming place. Very charming staff. Uncomplicated and friendly. It has a historic atmosphere. Beautiful view to the lake. Breakfast with the view is just amazing. Excellent kitchen, specially if you are looking for a romantic dinner.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Mesmerizing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location. Fantastic view from the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    Top location !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top location !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable and relaxing stay made special by the care of the hotel manageress.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location in a beautifully kept hotel. Very good food at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    6.3
    fabulous location on lake luzerne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms are tired

    fabulous location on lake luzerne

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    5.4
    Bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    It was beautiful and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every things it is nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    The staff is very kind, explaining every details about tours.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Romantic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    uncomfortable door key.

    Beautiful view. Wonderful service from staffs

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.9
    Superb view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow service in the restaurant

    Terrace, view, nice tenant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast did not have a large variety

    next to cog train up Mt. Rigi

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.3
    Relaxing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to be very quiet....

    Lovely view of the lake from the resturant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    9.2
    The location and views from our balcony were amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant appeared to be understaffed. Breakfast was so so.

    The location and views from our balcony were amazing! Pia was also very helpful with great trips for Mount Rigi tours.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    9.2
    Location on Lake Lucerne and at the base of Mt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel itself is old and shows its age - if you like a modern style and plush accommodations, this place is not for you.

    Location on Lake Lucerne and at the base of Mt. Rigi make this hotel a great place to stay if you enjoy great scenery and hiking. Our room had french doors opening out onto a large terrace overlooking the lake - we spent a lot of time out there! Dinners were good (and reasonably priced), and the included breakfast (also good) made this hotel a good deal.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.6
    Excellent staff, location, and facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent staff, location, and facility. Room was charming, immaculate, and large by European standards. Breakfast room has a stunning view of the lake, and breakfast itself was delicious. Proprietor very knowledgeable about the area, goes the extra mile for her guests. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    8.8
    I have to say I loved this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have to say I loved this place. It's a 19th century railway hotel right next to the paddle steamer dock on Lake Lucerne and at the foot of the mountain railway. The hotel is a mixture of original fixtures and some new fittings, slightly shabby chic but 100% original and with the biggest and deepest bath I've ever seen.The food isn't amazing but it's a unique place. It's great

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    7.1
    Excellent location - Loved being next to the Train depot for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Victorian in the modern era should not mean austere and cold. The public areas need to have some welcoming warmth injected into them. Breakfast service was poor, the hotel was full but there was one young girl on to cover everything including setting up outside for the day even at 8 in the morning

    Excellent location - Loved being next to the Train depot for the Rigi and the boat dock I like the intent of restoring an old Victorian Hotel to it's former glory

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    9.5
    Beautiful views across the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Evening meal was REALLY expensive, but that's Switzerland I guess.

    Beautiful views across the lake. Hostess incredibly patient and helpful, taking lots of time to tell us about the local area etc. Lovely breakfast. Terrace was great with table, chairs and umbrella for welcome shade. We sat and watched the sun setting over the lake one evening, which was an unforgettable experience. Lots of swimming in the lake. Just a wonderful time.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    7.5
    The view (if you get a room with lake view) is about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Romantic room had two separate bed pushed together which skated apart with very little provocation. On several occasions had to go hunting for staff. Noticed we were not the only guest having to do that. Also noticed some rooms a lot better than others. This place could be so so much better with a bit of thought.

    The view (if you get a room with lake view) is about it. The view and Location is what gets this place its ratings. Also noticed some rooms a lot better than others. Breakfast room has fantastic view of lake

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    10
    Hotel is situated in an excellent location accessible by all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Hotel is situated in an excellent location accessible by all means of public transportation. We upgraded to a room with balcony and the view of lake is breathtaking. Definitely would stay in again and renowned to a friend.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    10
    The view is the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was farther from Lucerne than we expected but worth the drive.

    The view is the best. The staff was great. The manager helped us plan our trip for the next day and some amazing places to go.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    8.8
    Friendliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room for New Year's dinner could have been decorated a bit more stylish.

    Friendliness. Hotel next to station with trains to mount Rigi. Free parking next to hotel. Very good kitchen.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    5.0
    Completely overpriced even at Swiss standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Completely overpriced even at Swiss standards

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.6
    Staff were very accommodating with the children given that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No wifi in the rooms. Only in the lounges.

    Staff were very accommodating with the children given that we arrived late in the evening.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    The couple who runs the hotel is so friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing.

    The couple who runs the hotel is so friendly and helpful. They were wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    5.8
    The best location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Poor breakfast.

    The best location.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    6.3
    view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no car park

    view

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    8.8
    Excellent location and very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Excellent location and very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    7.1
    The lady owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lady owner. Charming and helpful

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    8.8
    The owner of the hotel did her most to make sure we had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner of the hotel did her most to make sure we had a great visit

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    5.0
    The location and views were amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bit dated for the price.

    The location and views were amazing

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: