Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostellerie Saint Georges 3 stars

Rue du Bourg 22, 1663 Gruyères, Switzerland

#5 of 6 hotels in Gruyères

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 500 hostel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect, at the center of the town, next to the castle. The room was super clean and the bed was confortable. The owner was really nice during the stay providing suggestions on what to do in the area. The breakfast was also quite good with hot croissant and toasts. I would definitely recommend this place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not applicable

    The hosts were exceptional, in friendliness, good advice about the area (so good I did not have to go to the local tourist office) and in helping out - after I left the premises - when I lost my wallet: they contacted me when it was found on a train and rang me with all the information for me to retrieve it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had problems during check-in - We have been there during official check-in time, but the door was locked and nobody opened when ringing the bell. We managed to enter with a group of other guests who had a key, once in everything was fine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice if restaurant was open in the evening as other seems to be the only place in the bourg that is not solely oriented around cheese. Nothing wrong with the cheese there is only so much the system can take. Tea or coffer in roomy would be good especially with restaurant bar closed in evening

    Helpful staff. Beautiful building. Simple and stylish roomso. Perfect location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shops carry the same old tourist stuff.

    Super friendly staff, incredible location, quaint property inside the fortified town. Mountain view rooms have the Alps and the fortress walls vistas. Great value in a very expensive country. Fondue, Swiss wine, a castle, museums, and this wonderful little hotel make this small, historic town a worthwhile stop.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We live in the German part of Switzerland and our French was very limited, and the lady that was serving us, couldn't speak English which caused a little confusion. But when we returned later in the evening to ask if the restaurant was still open for a drink the gentleman who we spoke to had a good level of English. By the way, the restaurant closes relatively early. So we had to go to another restaurant nearby for a night cap.

    We're were attending a conference at the cheese factory, and came day the day before. The hotel is right in the heart of the village, which is beautiful. When we checked in we had to wait because although I had booked 2 twin rooms they had been made up as doubles. They kindly gave us a drink while they separated the beds. The rooms were clean and comfortable for an overnight stay. Possibly a little small for a longer stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a wonderful old hotel, with a great location, and very friendly staff. The dining was excellent. The building is a little tired, and there is some deferred maintenance (2 light bulbs out of 4 in our room were out), but I would stay there again. I especially enjoyed the evening bar and the balcony.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel did not have AC so of course the noise from the street could bother some people. Personally I was fine with that as it was a remote village and didn't expect AC. I couldn't be more pleased with this hotel overall.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great room, beautiful view of mountains and nice to be away from the busy square at the height of tourist season! Restaurant terrace out the back is lovely and would be so pretty in wintertime with a dusting of snow on the mountains! We plan to return in winter :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was quite a bit of noise outside the hotel in the morning from early morning deliveries...but thats to be expected in such a small village! Apart from that all was fantastic :)

    The staff at the hotel were absolutely lovely, the owner Christiana was so welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful. The food was excellent and the room was comfortable and clean. The owner could not have been more helpful and made our stay even more enjoyable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a deal breaker but Reception and on site restaurant close a 5pm at least during lower season. Though the village as many other restaurants still open just next door so not an issue really for late diner. Notes: - Few stairs to climb to reach the room. - Parking is free but 5 minutes walk from the hotel on slightly steep and paved street. None of this was an issue for us.

    Very quiet. Comfy bed. Large shower part.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast offer could be better. We ended up Having it at their neighbour, who had a nice buffet breakfast for good value.

    Comfy bed, nice reception, the drawings at every room door are charming!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A'la carte breakfast consisted of exactly one croissant, there was nothing more available during our 2 night stay :)

    Perfect location, wonderful rates!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect, right in the center of Gruyeres. The relatively new owner, who is clearly proud of the property, is extraordinarily helpful and deeply involved in running everything - from doing the check-in and seeing if I wanted a drink to making sure my fondue flame was properly adjusted at dinner. The building is charming, the dining room has a first-rate view, and the room was clean and also had great views. Quiet almost goes without saying - most visitors to Gruyeres depart by sunset, and nothing stays open very late in the evening. It is just peaceful and atmospheric.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel should not operate in the off season. They do not operate with a proper staff or amenities. This was our second stay at this hotel. If it was the first our experience would have been very negative and off-putting. When we arrived around 1:30 pm the front door was locked and there was no one around. After some time a cook opened the door and let us in. She was there only to provide us with our key and left immediately after. From that point on there was NO staff at the hotel during our stay. No towels had been supplied so we did some exploration and found the linen closets ourselves since they gave us the keys to the building. We were literally the ONLY two people in the building during our stay. This is not a negative rating but a warning to set expectations. We really like the hotel overall and would stay there again - but this was the strangest hotel stay we have had in a long time.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was great!

    Staff where brilliant, friendly, and made us feel at home :D we where given great recommendations for food and sights. Also as we where the only ones staying we where allowed a late checkout for free :) can't recommend this place enough! Also the mountain views where stunning!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating in the room was not too strong.

    The restaurant serves delicious Italian meals and excellent wine to accompany each dish - well recommended by friendly staff. A big thank you to all staff, especially to Mateo, the hotel manager who always took the time to listen and attend to our needs. Valli & David 2017

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved the hospitality of the manager and staff. He recently took over this hotel and turned it to a super comfortable and homely place to stay. Oh that glass of Prosecco on arrival and the warm croissant at breakfast coming from the oven of the restaurant were treats not to forget.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negative remarks

    Since the hotel was to be closed for refurbishments one day after our departure, it is difficult to say how it will be after reopening, in any case we were satisfied. After the works it will be even better. As in all historical buildings in the village, the rooms were quite small but comfortable and cozy with a personal note in each room, the staff attentive to special wishes and very kind

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was about to start renovations. I'll love to see the new look.

    Friendly atmosphere. All the staff were Italian, who were extremely hospitable. Breakfast was fresh, good quality and plentiful, with excellent home baked patisserie

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast buffet very poor. Restaurant and bar closes at 9pm, they were unable to serve any extras or even coffee after our meal! No boiler or coffee machine in the rooms or reception either.

    Excellent location. Authentic decorations and furniture. Half board dinner was very good. Staff were friendly. Room size is good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Was all perfect and exceeding our expectations.

    We are a couple in our late 30s with a 5 years old child, living in the German side of Switzerland. We found the Hostellerie at the very last minute and thank god we did!! Although in the same very quite (no cars allowed) square there are other hotels/restaurants, the Hostellerie St. Georges is the only one to have a huge sunny Wintergarten with the best view over the mountains, where one can have a genuine breakfast (buffet) or a delicious and generous lunch/dinner both included in the half-board. Our ROOM was a delight, with panorama (the same the Wintergarten has) soft silky linens and fine bedding (we slept like babies, as well as our daughter). The HOST and his STAFF are simply fantastic, making you feel truly at home, always smiling, very professional and super accomodating, effortlessy. Here the guest is the king. The FOOD is delicious and presented with an eye to beauty. They also have pizza but we did not try it (but looks like a true Italian one). THIS IS THE NEW MANAGEMENT SO ALL PREVIOUS REVIEWS DO NOT TALK ABOUT THE PRESENT. BEDDING and many other things have been changed or renovated and many others will come as brand new! The LOCATION is just perfect because you can forget the car in the free of charge parking just outside the square and visit the Maison du Gruyère or the Castle at short walking distance, also with a stroller. Many, many walking options all around and short distance to the ski facilities. This is a perfect place for childreen too with countless activities during the summmer or winter (rodelbahn or sledge paths). We will definetely come back with friends and relatives because here we found our piece of paradise! Thank you for the best accommodation in town!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hostellerie was closed at night for meals because it was approaching the quiet season. However there were some other restaurants in the village where we could eat.

    We liked the attractive room with its window boxes, inviting beds.and good furniture. Staff were helpful and the buffet breakfast overlooking the mountains was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First they took too much money from the credit card and after a few phone calls where they said they pay us back via bank, they just managed to give us the money back in an envelope when we arrived. Wondered what they would have done if we had canceled. Chamber was very small, fortunately we just had to sleep there. Do not recommand to stay here for more than one night. Staff was chaotic. Oh and btw: if they reply here for defending themselves, like they did on some other occasions, that would not speak for them at all - at least not if they try to defend for their money-back chaos. :)

    Breakfast was quite rich and good, dinner (fondue) had a good taste.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was uncomfortable, the check in and check out process were a little haphazard.

    Breakfast and view while eating were excellent. Room was fine and location superb

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room on top fl;oor, no elevator, narrow stairs. However, they offered and I accepted help to carry up our suitcases. I could not have done it.

    Super location in a small town. Friendly, cooperative owner and staff. Great restaurant arrangement, with super views. We had lunch therez, it was fine.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spiral staircase is hard to maneuver. Room is HOT in summer, no fan and no air conditioning. Noisy in mornings from street deliveries to hotels and restaurants.

    Very clean

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found some conflicting information about whether or not they could accommodate children (in the end they did, very happily) but this was not clear when booking.

    Excellent breakfast - best croissants I've had in a while, and great coffee.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast is not good, there is no egg, no omelette, and just one type on cheese, but we are in Gruyere!!! the view of our room was the city thus a lot of noise.

    great location. the woody room with a nice stuff. I really like this hotel and I recommend it.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hardly anything at all - just the rain and that was beyond anyone's control!

    The warm welcome and flexibility from owner Giovanni and his staff when we arrived later than expected. Nothing was too much trouble. He was very accommodating and went out of his way to make us feel welcome, offering a drink on arrival and organizing a cold platter of local ham and cheeses since we were too late for the restaurant service. As I was travelling with an elderly relative he changed our reservation to a more accessible first floor room. Throughout our two day stay he was always around to greet and chat with guests - something which added to the pleasure of our short stay. The fact he spoke impeccable English is a bonus for an international clientèle.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very small Beds were singles which we had to push together Breakfast was very basic, but there was only a few couples staying there so I kind of understand their limited provision.

    Location was great

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our host was wonderful and the room was perfect. You can't ask for a better view than we had upon waking in the morning!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    beautiful view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in is a bit late at 4pm.

    Spacious, wood interior room with view of square. Tasty light breakfast. Friendly proprietors.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is just the perfect place to enjoy the old town of Gruyère.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in the center of Gruyere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking. A little too far if you have to carry all your luggage and have a problem with your knees

    Coffee and croissant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows and beds are soft

    Very close to the castle

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were so nice and very helpful when we needed help finding accommodations in another town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i'm used to helping myself at breakfast so didn't like having to keep asking for coffee or bread

    right in the centre lovely building

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner, restaurant and bar shut.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing! I loved the room and location. Probably my favorite spot in Switzerland!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No overnight staff, hotel was closing at 5p.m. and opening next morning at 8 a.m.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was too small.

    Location, excellent staff and the view from the Restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff and excellent service

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant opposite

    Friendly owners and staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A very quiet property right in the centre of the village. Mountain view from our window. The owner Giovanni was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast offered, but was aware of this at time of booking.

    Beautiful building, great location, comfortable room and welcoming staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location on top of gruyer village. The owner Givani was very kind and friendly. I will come back again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The high bathtub !!

    The view from Room #2 had an awesome view of the mountains.The St Georges Pizza.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. The room is well prepared and everything well explained upon our arrival. A great experience despite the short stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Impersonal decoration. Inexperienced staff.

    The location was fine.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm, lovely hotel. Detailed presentation at every level. Thank you to the owner for making this possible for us to enjoy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful hospitality, staff, service. Felt like at home. Excellent restaurant cuisine.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Housekeeping could have been better. i e towels not folded. Also bed not made up as one would expect.

    Great position.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice breakfast. They let us store our bags til check in time.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very nice

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service went Beyond expectations and extended a pleasant breakfast beyond hours :)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    more light in the washroom

    breakfast was great and fresh

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If breakfast could have bee included with the room for the rate that we paid.

    Right in the center of the old town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Chocolate fondue on the menu!

    The location in the town was great. The owners were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    in the heart of the town, with fantastic view from the rooms and restaurant/breakfast salon.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy room near street

    Location!!! Great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic views, great breakfasts, comfortable rooms

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom facilities old and tired. Bed uncomfortable and mini bar sparsely stocked.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The management, staff, food, sheets, pillows,

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wish the restaurant stayed open later.

    The homemade pizza in the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine.

    The location in the heart of Gruyeres.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a little bit small but this is to be expected when renovating such old buildings and we did not consider this a real detriment - but for those travelers who expect or require large airy rooms then this is a consideration.

    The location of the hotel along the single old street in Gruyere is absolutely charming. The rooms are quaint but well done and comfortable. The restaurant in the hotel had a good staff and the food was delicious. Breakfasts were good. The view from the restaurant terrace is wonderful. We traveled in the off season and it was like having Gruyere to ourselves. Great day trips include a visit to cheese making demonstrations or the Callier chocolate factory in Broc.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    To be waked up at 05:00 with a scratching noise... of a jeep that was shoveling the fresh snow in the main square ... having the windows straight on the square was not a nice wake up... hotel should tell to the "winter cleaning" to do it after 06:00.... not at 05:00...

    Location, in the very heart of Gruyeres/Greyherz Cozy, old style

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    All parking is outside the medieval town center, and we did have to trudge uphill in the rain with our things on occasion. However, before 10AM and after 6:30PM, we could enter the town to load and unload our bags in front of the hotel.

    We loved the comfortable beds, the high-quality breakfasts and the convenience of having a nice restaurant with mountain views right downstairs. The restaurant staff were particularly kind and patient with our toddler, offering smiles and colored pencils to entertain him.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although the room was really clean, we cannot describe it as good. Extremely narrow, almost no window, no air conditioner... Our feet slept outside of the bed, because it was really small.

    The staff was really nice and the localization could not be better (even though all hotels there are basically in the town centre, because it is a little town). It was also nice to have a 10% discount to the Chalet, the restaurant where we wanted to go.

There are also 40 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: