Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel de l'Ecluse 3 stars

Rue De L'ecluse 24, 2000 Neuchâtel, Switzerland

#15 of 19 hotels in Neuchâtel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 491 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 74

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location to the center area. Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Parking next door in the garage. Clean room and hot shower. Would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel operates an unusual 2-key system - when you leave the hotel you are supposed to use the interior-door key to unlock the exterior-door key, but if you forget, then you can find yourself locked out (which I did). They have a procedure for getting you back in, but I don't understand the rationale for the 2 key system.

    I have previously stayed in this hotel, a few years ago, and found the rooms to be basic, but included a kitchenette area (desirable for some) at the compromise of bathroom area. The room I stayed in this time (rooms 100-300) are in a new part of the building, and are large, modern, spacious (a suite basically). Don't know if the price I paid was the regular price for this room, but very impressed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was somehow funny that the room has a small kitchenette, but with no accessories, so practically you can't use it. I can't see its role.

    Very close to the centre, walking distance from the central station. Clean and confortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchenette was very small and old, no kettle or oven, just a little fridge and two electric hotplates, and there was no kitchenware at all in the room, I needed to go and pick it up at the reception. It would be difficult to cool a real meal there.

    Very comfy bed! The room was simple but comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no parking available at the hotel. There are 2 garages closed by but expensive.

    location walking distance to the city , access to public transport. Friendly and kind staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was quite small and equipped with cheap furniture from Ikea and no kitchen utensils (why is there a kitchen then?), however it was still relatively comfortable. The problem is that the hotel management seems to trying to save on everything and so I was consistently running out of soap/shower gel and toilet paper. Not something you expect having paid such a price. All in all, a quite expensive option for what you get but, alas, there are not many places to stay in Neuchatel and a large majority of them are even more expensive.

    Nice location in the very center of Neuchatel, right next to the castle.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room stayed very hot but was impossible to sleep with the windows open as the traffic noise was horrendous. I would recommend they install air conditioning.

    Beautifully decorated large room. It was very nice and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no AC and when you wanted to open the window it was pretty noisy from the traffic outside

    Perfect for a weekend trip! great location -close to the station , to the castle and the lake! we had a room with a tiny kitchen which gives you the possibility to prepare something to eat, even if there are a lot of good places to eat in the beautiful village. The bed was confortable but a little bit squeakily.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very disappointed to find what we thought we had booked wasn't what we got. Kitchenette is there but there was no utensils, plates, cutlery etc. Empty cupboards. No tea making facilities. Not that it was necessary but there was also no patio?? The bathroom is very small.

    The location was only a short walk to the centre of the shopping area. There is a supermarket next door. This is also where the carpark is located. Be prepared to walk up about 15 stairs from the street to reach reception.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking at the neighbouring LIDL parking hall was very expensive. The room did not have AC and very hot because of the hot weather outside.

    Does not look too appealing from outside, but very nice, peaceful and clean once entered the courtyard. Our room at the top floor was nice with a view to the opposite hill slope with gardens. Staff was nice and helpful. Parking at the neighbouring LIDL parking hall was very expensive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was my second time in Neuchatel and I chose again Hôtel de l'Ecluse. The hotel is really close to the centre and 10 minutes walking from the train station. The rooms are comfortable and clean. There is always hot water. Also, the stuff is very friendly. If I go to Neuchatel one more time, I will choose again Hôtel de l'Ecluse.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room did not have good wifi. I don't know if the problem was that the room was in the 3rd floor but the Internet was too slow.

    The hotel was really clean in a good location. The staff was friendly and the room was comfor table.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    About 15 minutes walk from railway station. Breakfast started quite late and being in the french part of Switzerland had nothing hot apart from coffee and not a very wide choice.

    Good selection of yoghurts for breakfast. Friendly welcome staff. local free public transport ticket. Set back from main road so quiet (but up some steps and not very obvious either in the dark).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we needed a family room we were in the attic- very hot and we had to ask for an extra fan. One of the fans then short circuited the plug with an alarming burning smell. When we asked for a new fan ( it was unbearably hot) they gave us a heater! The room was very cramped. due to the eves and they have a kitchenette fitted but no crockery.there was no safe. The lift only went to the 4th floor and our room was on the 5th-nightmare with our heavy cases and didn't notice this when booked- is this advertised? Also there were very steep steps up to reception and we didn't see a lift. Bathroom very small. Although central the area is quite rough and there were drunken altercations outside from the neighbouring salvation army hostel. They woke us up on the Friday night but were less trouble on the other 2 nights. Terrace area attached to the breakfast room had tables but not set up from breakfast - needs a no smoking sign as when we had our breakfast it was just used by smokers which made the eating area unpleasant.

    Central position. Recently renovated, nice staff, good breakfast- with fresh figs and plums from their garden. Very easy to get to the quay for boat trips, the chateau and old town. Half a mile down hill from the station . It is a 3 star as advertised. Great view of cathedral from eve window

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No utensils whatsoever for the little kitchen. The entrance to the hotel was difficult to find.

    the location is good, just a few minutes on foot from the centre of town and the lake, not too far from the station. The room was big. Having cooking facilities is a good point.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to carry our luggage up stairs to enter and from the 4 th to the 5 th floor as the elevator only ent to the fourth floor.

    Comfortable beds, beautiful breakfast are and magnificent view from our dormer window on the 5 th floor!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a room that promised a kitchenette - all we got was a minibar! Our room was very noisy - the street out front had truck traffic all night. Also not a very atmospheric block - although a short distance from a nicer area.

    We had a very late check in after getting on the wrong train! The person at checkin was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was no smoking, but people are allowed to smoke in a lounge area close to the hotel entrance and too near to the room windows at the first floor. This was disappointing expecially in summer when windows remain open.

    Clean rooms and kind staff. Position very close to the city center.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price for the size and location of the hotel was a little high. No coffee/tea facilities in the room. Top floor attic type room with no A/C could be really uncomfortable in hot summer weather.

    Bed comfortable and generally quiet area.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - No air conditioning in room is big issue because in warm weather (was 25C outside) you HAVE to open windows. Yet even 3 levels above ground we could hear the noise from the busy street (motos...). - Parking not free around or at hotel.

    - Extremely comfortable bed. - Pet friendly for our small dog. - Very central location, close to lake, station, museums. - Friendly staff that changed us room for providing extra bed as well as baby kot. - Top quality modern facilities (elevators, bathroom, bed, baby chair, baby bed, breakfast, etc.) except no AC.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are rooms in a separate building which are very noisy because on the main street. Very bad in Summer when you need to leave the windows open (no air conditioned)

    Hotel very new, well maintained. Good position, close to the city center

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception a little stoff but were helpful when asked Only issue and not the only motel ive had issues with through booking .com Is that i still have a frozen amount on my card done 2 days before check Even though ive paid the bill it is still frozen 4 weeks after checkout Be aware of this with online booking Once i found this was going on With other motels i just got yhem to use the frozen amount as payment

    Breakfast and accomadation great

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe fruit salad for brekky & a toaster to use as we r Aussies 😄

    Comfy bed spacious room kitchenette great location walk to lake

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tiles of the bathroom were dirty!

    Big family room Good breakfast Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy street. Very hot inside. Could not cool via thermostat

    Newly renovated. Comfy bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit warm and could not turn heat down any further. Also a bit noisy to open windows.

    Breakfast was good. Beds were great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was very slow.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The smell in the room.

    Room was ppottlesly clean and the cleaning was done excelletly every day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The man behind the counter was not welcoming - no smile or showing that he was pleased to meet the guest

    Clean and location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 13 nights

    I had a very nice stay and slept very well. The staff is friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great. Groceries close.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast fairly limited choice. Situated on busy street

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first part without lift and the bathroom really small

    The friendly staff and the location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly personnel. Super clean and modern.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security process with keys over the top.Not without it's hiccups.otherwise great hotel

    Location.Great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    GReat Coffee, super helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak wifi.

    Comfy. Spacious room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little dated.

    The staff at the reception was friendly, welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the location near shops, restaurants

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bed was ok but could have been softer?

    The location is excellent. The free transportation pass for our stay was a nice additional surprise

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The kichenette wasn't much of anything. There were no cups,forks, spoons etc. and when we asked it from the reception we got unfriendly reaction from the staff. Bathroom was very very small. Breakfast 15 CHF. Limited services.

    Friendly staff (despite 1 unexperienced person), location of the hotel is great. Public transport costed nothing due to the visitor card received from hotel. 2 good restaurants and small grocery shops within 50-100 metres.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking was a little tricky....it cost 13CHF a night to park down the road.

    Lovely big room and friendly staff....room was very clean and well appointed. The city centre was close by with lots of really good restaurants to choose from.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overall it was a great value for the money spent, but breakfast should be included in the cost. "Warning" don't go to McDonald's in Neuchatel. I spent 40 Frank's for a couple cheeseburgers and fries. Eat out on the town. Crepes instead!!!

    Excellent location, the staff was friendly and the room was very nice!

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Complementary water bottle, tea / coffee materials and a small kettle in the rooms would add more value to the property.

    Near to city centre. Clean premises. Supportive staff. Speaks English, other than locally used languages.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    a kitchenette was provided, but you have to ask for cups/plates/saucepans etc to be provided. Also no tea or coffee making facilities were provided in the room (just a minibar)

    close to the old town and a good sized room

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Whatever you do, don't leave any personal possessions behind you unless you think you'll be back at the hotel any time soon. Several phone calls and a couple of emails later, I'm still waiting to receive three pairs of shoes which I'd left behind in the room before checking out in mid-August. So much for customer care. Oh and our room was overpriced, in my opinion, even though it is in Switzerland.

    Good location. Friendly receptionists. Good, secure hotel-key system.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the building is ugly (well located, though) as well as the street. the bathroom is small relatively to the room size.

    clean, quite fancy, efficient staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows too big. If you plan to use the kitchenette (which we did not), you need your own dishes, utensils, pots, etc.

    Location. Newly renovated. Perfect base to explore Neuchatel old town eand nearby Jura mountains. Friendly owner.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The noise levels in the morning (ok it's a central location, but noise was mostly coming from inside the hotel)

    Very friendly staff. Located centrally. Good bed. Room very clean.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    With the windows open because of the heat there is a lot of street noise both traffic and human. The first night some hotel guests sat on the terrace and talked loudl for hours.

    The convenient location and the spacious room. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We received free entry into two museums during our stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast not in my taste. A few types of bread, some cheese and ham, etc, but I expect much more for 15 Franc. No air-condition. I paid 420 Franc for 3 nights, which definitely is too much for this hotel.

    The location is great. In the city centre but still not that noisy.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Couple

    The bathroom is really very small like the TV also bad positioned in the room. But what I didn't like at all was the attitude of the man at the reception. I booked a double room single use. At the very last minute my girlfriend managed to stay for the night. Therefore we asked if this was possible. Instead of saying yes, but it cost additional 40 Swiss francs this guy started shouting saying that she was not even allowed to enter the room and other things that didn't make sense. Eventually when we suggested to pay the surcharge he let my girlfriend in. Definitely a poor experience. There are better alternatives in Neuchatel.

    Not too much actually, I can say that the room was clean.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The smell of chemicals in the room, the size of the bathroom was tiny, the kitchen area was useless, no utensils to cook with anyway. It did not feel very comfortable.

    It was clean and easy to reach by foot.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My bed was near a window near a main street. It was very noisy, and the bed shook every time a bus or truck drove past. Eventually I figured out that the only way to fall asleep is to lie on the couch wearing earplugs and to continuously play white noise at maximum volume all night. (Also my bedsheets were dirty.) Avoid!!!

    At first impression, it looks pleasant and modern

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great personel - nice and ready to help.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise from the elevator in the 'discreet' room. Had to pay for breakfast and parking.

    Good location.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Guest should be notify of a lift in this hotel. We hv to bring our heavy luggages via the stairs to the reception at the 2nd level.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Family with young children

    The lack of free parking

    Very friendly staf, the room was very clean and well furnished

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Parking was difficult to find on the street and the parking garage accepts cash only.

    Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpful, friendly staff, spoke English. Bathroom was small, comfortable bed, otherwise nice room.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Receptionist was really nice!

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No selection of Arabic or English TV channels.

    cleanliness and location

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is located really close to the city center.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing.

    Well located, efficient and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - very loud - street a few meters from the windows - personnel - expensive

    - very nice and quite large room

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    La situation

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small and uncomfortable bathroom, expensive breakfast and low value for money (overpriced as most of the hotels in Switzerland).

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, staff

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I was charged CHF 48 more than was quoted by Booking.com for a 8 day stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    shower-holder broken, wifi broken

    Close to city center, clean, new

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is too expensive, Wi-Fi hardli works

    The room is spacious and the bed is comfortabke

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    I appreciate very comfortable Jensen bed and also fast Wifi connection.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly owners and good food - plus a warm stove

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Guests also reviewed these properties: