Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Kreuz & Post 4 stars

Dorfstrasse 85, 3818 Grindelwald, Switzerland

#30 of 39 hotels in Grindelwald

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 328 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room North Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) there were some watter from the ceiling right on our bed. They did not spot the elakage before and promissed to fix it ASAP. Next guess shall be fine. 2) Ski room is a bit challenging in the moring with the icy road.

    People extremelly frindly, nice decoration and good food / restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room North Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am sure that back in the 1980s, when the Hotel was furnished, it was the height of fashion. But it is very tired and dated and needs more than just a lick of paint.

    The location is what you are paying for

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Suite with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not have heat for 2 day. Hotel stuff brought us 4 heaters and because of pressure we lost power 30 minutes before the new year! Hotel stuff have us a free champagne but it still did not fix the problem for next day and for a stressed new year eve! Also half of the stuff do not speak english!

    Great hotel. Location is the best and the view of the eiger just breathtaking. I took the panorama room it worths the money! Most of the stuff were very politely and nice!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room North Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room looked on to laundry building & car park- mountain view took some imagination.

    Very helpful staff, upgraded to double room without asking. Good food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was near the elevator. So everytime you can hear the loud sound of the elevator which was very annoying.

    The staff and food at the restaurant. Of course the nice scenery from our balcony.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We've been going to this hotel for 20 years or so. Lovely location which although busy, is fantastic for watching the world go by, either from your balcony, or the outdoor bar/café. Good food, comfortable and spacious rooms, and of course fantastic views. so good for transport, as the charming little station is adjacent, and the bus stop opposite.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    staff of reception were extremely friendly and helpful ,they did spend lot of time to guide me what to do and also I lost my bag which they helped me to find it easily. im very pleased with their service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has a perfect location, nice facilites and excellent staff. After some hiking around of this area, the relax area in the hotel (jakuzzi, etc) was great to use. View from the balcony is great! We will definitely return back very soon. :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Junior suite was not worth it's money. But the quiet location of the room was appreciated.

    Staff was very friendly, good breakfast choice and coffee. Great location to take off skiing either side of the village.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Aside from the restaurant the hotel alone did not meet the value. Rooms were basic, definitely not lux.

    Hotel restaurant was the highlight and the most value. Would recommend eating there even if not staying at the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's nothing much wrong with this hotel until you compare the price with others in the area. Having stayed in Grindelwald numerous times we were expecting much better for 340chf per night considering there are similarly well-presented hotels in the area that cost less and I can think of at least one outstanding hotel that is priced about the same but is much better on every level. For this kind of price I would expect the toilet roll holder not to fall off the wall repeatedly, towels that had not seen better days, more than a sachet of shampoo and a small soap per person in the bathroom amenity dept. and considering that it is quite a big hotel, the wellness area seems designed for people that know each other REALLY well. The breakfast is adequate, about what you would expect, and it seems the ham slicer is set to it's thinnest possible setting. It may seem I am complaining on a high level but the price to quality ration is not up to scratch IMO.

    A clean and well looked after hotel nicely located in Grindelwald with typically pleasant Swiss mountain decor. Our room had a recently renovated bathroom, and a shower that didn't leak onto the bathroom floor! Quite a novelty in a hotel!! The double bed was comfortable but of course it was of the obligatory Swiss two singles put together style, so when you roll over you may fall into a glacial crevasse. We had one dinner in the restaurant and what we ate was fairly good, although the staff seemed a little stressed at times.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room North Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location can't be beat...right next to train (to slopes and interlaken), right next to Buri sports to rent gear and a super friendly staff. I've stayed here multiple times

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room North Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee was undrinkable - horrible, both mornings. They should also offer 'fresh' orange juice at the prices charged. We had to ask several times for the buffet to be replenished with cold cuts and cheese.

    When asked, they made me a freshly boiled egg, but that was not obvious nor offered.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't like European style blankets. One big quilt. Either too warm or too cold with it off.

    A good view of the Eiger as advertised. Like the balcony where you could sit outside and enjoy the view.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much but it will be better if more aggressive help from hotel staff.

    Location is perfect, that just nearby the train station and our room faces exactly the Eiger mountain.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of this property is fantastic. We opted to pay for the Eiger view and we weren't sorry! The breakfast room is beautiful and it is completely worth including in your reservation. If we ever go back we will only stay at the Hotel Kreuz & Post. Fabulous stay!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast buffet does not have much option. Hotel being really near to station/bus stop,so not so silent place specially the eiger view balcony rooms.

    Property located just next to Grindelwald station. Super market coop is 2 mins walk. the hotel staff are cooperative and room service is prompt. Beds are comfy and bathroom clean and spacious. Nice food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room North Side
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Because it is off season, there was not much entertainment in the hotel or in the town at night.

    Excellent location: so close to the train and bus stations. We enjoyed the fresh mountain air and the glacier water from the tap

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room North Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our view was of the back of the hotel, but it was ok. Our friends who paid about the same price had a small sitting area and a balcony, but it was still ok for us. Probably quieter not to be facing the street.

    The staff was very helpful at the front desk, and home-style food in the restaurant was very good. The location was perfect for us since it was so close to the train station.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was too much compared with the facility which was so old. I booked aroom with eager mountain view and what i got is some thing else..breakfast was not that good .. Etc.

    I didnt like.. I dont know how they got rating almost close to 9?!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Very basic hotel…not worth the price -no coffee/tea facility in the room -breakfast much less than any other standard hotel -reported a problem with the water mixer in the shower (could not take a good shower) and it took them 3 days to fix.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room North Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Grindelwald in July and August, on a Wednesday means one does not sleep. There are concerts which last until 11.30pm, then we were woken up by drunks at 3.30 am, bars having disgorged their inmates, so we only slept between 12 midnight and 3.30 am. The hotel was fine, the location pretty bad!

    Beds were very good, breakfast very good too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room North Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had to sleep with the windows open as the room was very hot which meant it was quite noisy.

    Comfortable beds and well equipped rooms. Staff i have always found friendly and helpful. The hotel is very well located only 3mins from the station and in the centre of Grindelwald. Breakfast is ample with all you would expect and served in a room with lovely Eiger views.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room North Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was small in my room. no shampoo and body soap are ready.

    This hotel is very close to the station and easy to find. They accepted very early check-in. it was so helpful for me.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room North Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed is clean and comfortable. The bathroom is also very clean. The room is not big but very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive

    The location and staff are great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Suite with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the suite room was very poorly furnished - in fact basic really

    food and service was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room North Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant service

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room North Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot in the room, though the heating was off

    Lovely crew, excellent location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Suite with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We should have been offered a late check out for the price paid.

    Gut.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to stay longer

    Fantastic return to this hotel after 25 years. The staff were excellent, friendly and happy to help

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.1
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room North Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Friendly . Close to everything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room North Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most convenient location, right next to train stop. Breakfast was great and rooms were tidy. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very limited

    Location is perfect

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room North Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was over heated, far to high a setting that couldn't not be lowered t a more comfortable level

    Location and helpful, friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room North Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed sheets were too short

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room North Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location ideal. Friendly staff were very helpful. Great bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room North Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was amazing, the room was cozy, I love the soft pillows and warm duvet!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room North Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    I received a very nice upgrade and was happy about the location. I didn`t have to walk far with my luggage.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service and food was excellent. The room was clean with good space and a magnificient view from our balcony.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room North Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The eiger view is stunning and the location is extremely good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room North Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staffs are very friendly, the hotel is just next to the station. Software and location are perfect and the rooms are comfortable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    every things

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room North Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't coffee and coffee pot in the room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location right beside train station great views from room clean comfortable room with good breakfast and facilities

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Right next to the train station in the middle of town with great views of the Eiger

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is amazing and the owner she was so polite

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room North Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very friendly and helpfull staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is too simple, no egg ..

    Pillow is too soft.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel. Stunning views of the mountains from our balcony. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent experience!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Right next to the train station with great views!we got upgraded for free as the hotel thought we'd need more space with the children..very thoughtful of them!

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The pillow, seemed a bit worn out, but the bed was comfortable.

    Great Location, Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Clean room and quiet. I would come back again.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Way too expensive for what it was!! CHF 440.- for this standard double room per night is an insolence! (they just put 2 single beds together) like that, I am not surprised, that the swiss hotel industry is suffering. Wake up guys!!

    Great and very convenient location. Very nice Restaurant on the ground floor. Helpful and friendly staff. Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room was too old the carpet smells and the bed was too old I won't recommend it here the the reception charge me 285 instead of 270 no big deal but the most important is honesty..the old lady wasn't so nice I think she's the owner that why she act that was but thanks to booking they fix everything

    Just the location

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    we wanted to use warm Jaccuzi but temprature was not reall warm.

    It was my 6th wedding anniversary trip and they upgraded room to suite. It has fantastic view and location of hotel was really nice. You can get the free voucher for grindelwald indoor swimming pool and it was reall nice as well.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing at all to mention

    The room was very spacious and modern and the staff at the restaurant was very friendly. I very much enjoyed my stay and the food was delicious!

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could be better value for money. Rooms at rear of property offer limited view of mountains. Not a wide selection of vegetarian options available in restaurant menu.

    Good location for access to facilities, especially close to train station, but if your looking for a quieter location other places could be better positioned. Very good breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is very near the train station.Our room has a very good view of the mountain.The room is also very warm and beautiful.I think it's the best hotel of there.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can’t beat the location; just off the train with rooms looking at the mountain range. Lovely and very helpful staff; no need to visit the tourist center; the hotel staff were so knowledgeable and went out of their way to find the answers to questions. Our room was small, compact, efficient and perfect for our needs. Clean, lovely linin, comfortable bed, frig, flat screen TV with channels in a variety of languages including English, fast and free internet. Large bathroom; only lacking in amenities. Buffet breakfast represented good value at 15 CHF; all the normal food plus made to order eggs and bacon. There is a lovely view from both the breakfast buffet room and the outdoor café.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This hotel has an excellent location, just some steps from the train station. Good breakfast. Quite nice restaurant. Great views in front of the hotel and from the room.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This is not a fancy place but excellent value and great convenient location.

    Stayed here when participating in the Eiger Trail Race. Had a very. Ice spacious room. Convenient location opposite start, friendly and helpful staff organized some breakfast and coffee (race started before regular breakfast available). I also had lunch there which was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location of this hotel is excellent, 2 mins from the train stn, opposite the bus stn and right by the restaurants and shops. Rooms are of a very good size clean and comfortable, although they can get hot without A/C. Always found the staff very helpful if needed also.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant ok value. Restaurant staff although professional could have been more friendly and attentive.

    Very professional and helpful reception staff. Rooms were spotless as it seems for all Swiss hotels Cooked breakfast made to order. Don't let this put you off, at least it hasn't been sitting for hours out in the open. Best scrambled eggs I've had.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Well run establishment. Hotel opposite railway stn. Very convenient for going up to Junfraujoch. Really enjoyed the spectacular mountain scenery. Restaurant was also very good.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    As with all ski hotels it was a little on the warm side in the rooms

    Location - directly opposite train station Views - overlooking Eiger Restaurant on site was excellent Cellar bar was good for drinks later in evening

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms are quite basic and functional. Simple things like tea/coffee making facilities would improve things.

    Fantastic location near the station, sports centre and centre of town. Very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Frustrating access to the mountains. The trains are slow and the Mannlichen Gondola is overwhelmed.

    Spacious rooms, excellent food and great location for skiing as opposite the bus and train terminals.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No lounge area for the children to run around, where parents can sit and relax and keep an eye. There is a small play room with toys though.

    Perfect position next to train and opposite the bus station. We went to Grindelwald for the sledge runs, which were fantastic! The half board food was good, the evening set menus were different to what we'd normally choos but certainly did not dissapoint. Staff helpful and courteous, thank you especially to Marianna who looked after us with a perfect mix of humour and manners

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had the best scrambled eggs from their breakfast. All the staff I found to be very friendly!

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    All staff is friendly and kind

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The man in the reception is not friendly and helpful at all,It is a unpleasant check in.

    Location is great,the restaurant service are very good.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very good and firm mattress

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: